Burlington, NC 
Cedarock Park Share
Uploaded By: Bigbob777 Hole #4 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 203ft.   3 / 311ft.   3 / 407ft.   3 / 399ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Gold/Blue Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

2-4    5/5/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 201  Reviewed: 192  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cedarock is a classic, open course. Solid use of the terrain makes for some fun and challenging holes.
- Good variety of hole layouts. From several wide open (and less challenging) holes to doglegs; from tighter fairways to holes with elevation, the course has just about everything you'd expect from an open course. If you're looking for wooded holes, walk over to Wellspring.
- Surprisingly good elevation holes. There are a couple rolling hills throughout the course, and they're used to create some fun layouts. #9 is a solid, downhiller that will penalize you for going long. #10 & #16 include nice uphill shots to baskets.
- Dual tee pads and hole locations give the course four possible layouts, which should appeal to just about everyone. Good variety from am-shorts (great for beginners) to pro-longs (good for the big arms). Some of the holes even have three or four pads, with #5 having one for each color (layout).
- Excellent, descriptive tee signs. With dual tees and baskets, it's extremely helpful for the tee signs to have the color coding for all four layouts. It's especially helpful when there are more than 2 tee pads, or the tee pads are spaced out, as on #4.
- Course has good length. The longest layout is more than 7000 feet. Even the middle two layouts (am-long & pro short) average around 350 for each hole.
- Park as a whole is top notch. It's has a very isolated feel, is very well maintained and has great amenities throughout.
Cons: No major issues, only a couple small things that could be improved, or need to look out for.
- Call this petty, or being a stickler, but the color coding on the scorecards and the signs/pads were different. For example, red on the scorecards was actually blue on the tee signs and tee pads. Meanwhile, scorecard blue was actually the gold layout on the tee signs. Now the gold shouldn't be confused with yellow on the scorecards. And then there was green listed on the scorecards, but not the tee signs. Confused? So was I for the first handful of holes. My point is they're different, and the simplest solution would be to update the scorecard.
- Several tee signs were missing. There were holes in the ground where they had been dug out, so hopefully they'll be back soon. With so many holes playing so close, there was a little confusion on the holes where the signs were gone.
- Tee pads could be improved. Some were too short and some had the color fading off them.
- I'm not a fan of the metal, dark baskets. It's much harder to pick up when they're in the shadows, or in wooded areas.
- I wasn't a fan of having the two most open (or, at least 2 of the 3 most open) holes being back-to-back on #7 & 8. Also, the stretch of #11, 12 & 14 were all short, unimpressive holes. At least they offered birdie chances.
- The park is pretty far from civilization, so come prepared especially if the park's store is closed. Once you get off the interstate, and out of Burlington, you only pass one or two gas station before the park. So, make sure you have your food and drinks.
Other Thoughts: This is clearly the more challenging, and better, of the two courses. IMO, there's a big discrepancy in the overall quality of the two courses, that I'm surprised their ratings are so similar. Whereas Wellspring has an old school, small-course feel to it, Cedarock has aged relatively nicely. It does show its age at times, especially with the smaller, older tee pads.
- I love the polar opposite feel of these 2 courses, going from wide open to heavily wooded. If you don't enjoy at least one of them, I'm not sure why you'd be playing disc golf.
- It's also pretty interesting how close these courses get. You can walk from #8 basket/#7 tee area into the woods and be on #15 of Wellspring. So, you could actually play all 36 holes as part of a weird, long round if so desired.
- I thought #10 was a great hole with a creative layout. You're throwing from the side of a hill through an opening in the trees, at least 15 feet in the area, to a basket that's hidden from the tee pad. It's actually an easier, flatter shot from the pro tees because you're higher on the hill.
- The two courses are a solid 1-2 punch. You can easily spend hours here playing several rounds at both. It's an easy trip from both Charlotte and the Triangle area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long and a Bit Difficult to Navigate

1    9/3/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of nice open holes where you can let your arm go and just rip for distance. Still, there is enough variety to keep it interesting. You definitely get some exercise from all the walking.
Cons: Not easy to navigate for first timers. Signage is OK, but not great.
Other Thoughts: The day I played this course I was with two friends. Luckily, we were able to follow another group through the course. They were very familiar with it so it kept us on track. Make sure you have water when you play this one, especially in the summer, or you'll have a heat stroke.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Let em Fly!

5+    12/26/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: jrod17320
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you want to let your arm go this is the place. There are a few holes that only top pros can get twos on from the pro tees. If you want to learn how to throw far and accurate this is a great course to do it on. Some of the holes locations are set on places that are challenging to get a disc to hold which is good variation. Not an especially crowded course especially on the weekdays.
Cons: For how big some of the shots are its hard to understand why the teepads are not bigger. I understand its an old course though so its not too big a complaint. Im glad I know the course well by now because if I was a newcomer I would never know where to tee off. During the summer its hard to survive a round that long with no shade and 100 degree temperatures.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to make yourself better a better golfer. The teepads are notoriously small for such a big course which makes good footwork a necessity. I love the fact that this course makes the basket look like a little bitty spec in the distance! Go for it!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
Pros: Beautiful location in the middle of nowhere. Second course in park also. Great wooded and open shots. A lot of different shots needed. Up to 4 tees per hole. Benches one at least one tee on each hole. Saw a lot of birds and small mammals,
Cons: Could use better markings and some tee to basket markings on each hole. First time playing had to look for some next tees and proper baskets.
Other Thoughts: In spite of cons I just loved it. If you played it a few times or took a course map with you it would be great.


 

1    9/25/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Scazmatic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Decent variety of lengths, shot types, and elevation changes.

- Multiple pin placements, often making for two completely different holes, which I'm sure adds variety for regulars. Alternate pins placements usually staked with white PVC pipe marker for future reference.

- Well manicured fairways and greens.

- Friendly locals.
Cons: - Hole to hole signage is non-existant. Very difficult to navigate from one basket to the next tee, even with print out of aerial map.

- Tee signs don't reflect distance or pin placement.
Other Thoughts: I was in Graham, NC for a wedding and was thrilled to see a high rated course all of six miles from my hotel, so I gave Cedarock a go. The park was very easy to find and sits just a few miles off of the interstate. However, once inside the park things were a little trickier. To my surprise, though I knew there were two courses on site from my research, I was visiting during a tournament weekend, so there was an additional temporary course set up that added to my confusion as to where to start and which course to play. A few locals steered me in the right direction, luckily, but without that help it might be a little difficult to find your way. The practice basket is a good indication of proximity to the first tee, and the course start is directly off of the first parking lot on the left, as this site notes, but the tee markers are low to the ground and somewhat hard to spot. Signage in general could be improved.

I had wanted to play the "woods" course, but I ended up playing the more open course that starts by the parking lot. I'm still not entirely sure where the wooded course began, but there is a "figure eight" possibility after the 8th green, which I'm told puts you on the 16th hole in the woods. I didn't have time to check that out, but I'm told it's much tighter and requires a lot of precision.

My biggest complaint with the course, again, is lack of adequate signage. I was lucky enough to get the heads up from two locals behind me when I mistook an old abandoned tee box for the 3rd tee, but without their help and even with a map, it's still hard to find each hole's start, as there is some significant displacement between some baskets and the next tee, and there isn't always a logical flow to the holes. I could imagine the frustration and wasted time involved in trying to figure it out on your own.

I tagged along with the two locals for the rest of the round, and I really benefitted from their local knowledge. I don't know how much of the traffic was due to the tournament, but it seemed pretty busy and, given the number of courses in the area, it seems like there's a thriving disc golf community in the area. The guys I played with were good players and very friendly, so that's a big plus.

The course itself was in great shape, with all of the grass mowed short (probably for the tournament, I was told). Other than my issues with the signs, all the other amenities were great. There are a lot of complaints on here about the tee boxes, but I didn't think they were bad at all. They're probably a little shorter than some would like, but I didn't have any complaints. There are two pin placements for most holes, and the alternate pin is generally marked with an easy to see piece of white piping, which is a big pet peeve of mine at our local course, who doesn't mark (or use for that matter) the alternate locations, so you're flying blind should they change things up. Some pins change the hole completely, especially on Hole 9, so you might want to walk the hole/course before you play so you're aware of your targets. A lot of the holes on the front are extremely long for par 3s, and there isn't a lot of variety on a lot of the first nine, but the back nine mixes things up well and overall I though the course kept things dynamic.

Overall, I thought the course was great. The guy I played with said they change the pins every month, and there are up to three tee pads on each hole, so there's good variety if you play here a lot. It's challenging but fair, with some makable birdies and some tough pars, and I hope to play again someday.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Could Be Better

1    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: darkrivers
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open Layout with decent placement of the tees. Condition of grass and woodline was great, short grass and not overgrown.
Cons: Layout is strange on a few holes, plus I couldn't locate a couple of the holes right away from the tee boxes. Holes were not obvious on a few holes and took several minutes to find.
Other Thoughts: Maybe distance makers at the tee boxes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great to air it out

5+    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: mhorlbogen
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice length, wide open front to loosen up, tighter back nine for placement shots.
mutiple tee pads and basket placement
easy to navigate and bathrooms nearby
Cons: with the baskets short the green tees are too easy (great for people learning but not challenging for the rest)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/3/2003   5/23/2010
Review By: Doctor Whoov
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was the first course I played. Awesome!
Great bunch of folks down Burlington way.
Cons: None to speak of. Maybe that it's in the south so it gets HOT!
Other Thoughts: I really would like to get back down there now that I know what I am doing.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 STRICT 9INE

5+    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.9 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: AS FOR THE PADS OUT OF TOWNERS, THERE OURS. THERE MENT TO HELP YOU CONTROL YOUR FOOTWORK. THERES AN OLD SAYING ROUND HERE IF YOU CAN THROW AT CEDER ROCK, YOU CAN THROW ANTWHERE...WELL ITS TRUE. SO STEP UP UR GAME OR DONT COMPLAIN! this is the best training ground in nc. we have 2 top quality course. the field is the first one you come to in this park. depending on the month will dictate the basket plasment. they change every month but if u come out and want to throw longer ive got he holes for you. us locals call it he STRICT 9INE.(1)throw from hole one yellow pad to hole twos basket.(2)hole 3 yellow pad to 7s basket yank in right side of ceder(3)hole 8s blue pad to 8s basket bout 750 -800ft par 3 thats how we roll in btown(4) hole 7s yellow pad to 4s basket(5)hole 5s red pad (1st pro) to 6s basket(6)hole 9s yellow pad to 10s basket on the top of the hill(if on long baskets it will be hole 14s basket)(7)hole 11red pad(left one) to 12s basket there is an opening just make sure the hole is cleared(8)13s yellow pad to 17s basket(9) blue(very back) pad 18 to hole ones basket(at least 800ft some people play from yellow pad but thats for out of towners!)
Cons: TOP SCORE by rodney gilmore @ 3 OVER we play them all par 3 i belive he played 18 yellow pad to 1s basket
Other Thoughts: used to be a haven for disc golf before an a hole tried to rape a girl 2 yrs ago.cops patrol for the public, but theres no crime here. just a crime for not geting enough birdies.the park has everything from play groung, fishing pond ,camping,3 bike trails 5 or mor walkin trails, horse trails, waterfall, horse shoes, 4 shelters you can reserve, hay rides, fishing tourney boy scout camp outs, tractor days, over 400 acres of country fun, DONT FOGRT TO PACK YOUR TRASH OUT, LOTS OF JUVINELS LEAVEING TRASH, JUST TRY TO HELP.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Great Open Course

2-4    8/16/2011   3/20/2010
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nearly every hole on this course was a long throw over a field, so it really gives you a chance to work on your long drives. That being said, not every hole was the same. There was a surprisingly good mix of leftward, rightward, and straight shots. Elevation comes into play quite a bit on this course and further adds to the variety.
Multiple tees for every hole were a great edition. Any skill level player can play here (though, even the red tees might prove tough for a weak arm). There are also multiple pin placements that change every so often, further adding to the already great variety. Really nice signs have been added to every hole. They are top-notch, denoting the par, the distance, every tee placement, and the possible basket placements, as well as a next tee arrow. This makes the course very easy to navigate.
The baskets were nicely labeled with big signs on the tops that denoted the hole number. There were many other park amenities here (including another 18 hole disc golf course). There is also a little shop at the park that sells snacks, drinks, and DISCS.
Cons: The tees were often very very small. Far too small to do a nice run-up on. Some of the other reviewers who are obviously locals have jumped in to defend this, saying that it is to help you work on your footwork. Maybe that's true, but I still feel that some of these holes are so long that they require just a wee bit more room on the tee-off. On the weekends the park can be crowded (but this is also a testament to how great it is), so you may have to wait at some of the holes (luckily there are benches).
Other Thoughts: Between this and Wellspring, this park is great for a day of disc golf.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.