Burlington, NC 
Cedarock Park Share
Uploaded By: Bigbob777 Hole #18 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 315ft.   3 / 453ft.   4 / 453ft.   4 / 633ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Gold Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Let em Fly!

5+    12/26/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: jrod17320
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you want to let your arm go this is the place. There are a few holes that only top pros can get twos on from the pro tees. If you want to learn how to throw far and accurate this is a great course to do it on. Some of the holes locations are set on places that are challenging to get a disc to hold which is good variation. Not an especially crowded course especially on the weekdays.
Cons: For how big some of the shots are its hard to understand why the teepads are not bigger. I understand its an old course though so its not too big a complaint. Im glad I know the course well by now because if I was a newcomer I would never know where to tee off. During the summer its hard to survive a round that long with no shade and 100 degree temperatures.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to make yourself better a better golfer. The teepads are notoriously small for such a big course which makes good footwork a necessity. I love the fact that this course makes the basket look like a little bitty spec in the distance! Go for it!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
Pros: Beautiful location in the middle of nowhere. Second course in park also. Great wooded and open shots. A lot of different shots needed. Up to 4 tees per hole. Benches one at least one tee on each hole. Saw a lot of birds and small mammals,
Cons: Could use better markings and some tee to basket markings on each hole. First time playing had to look for some next tees and proper baskets.
Other Thoughts: In spite of cons I just loved it. If you played it a few times or took a course map with you it would be great.


 

1    9/25/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Scazmatic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Decent variety of lengths, shot types, and elevation changes.

- Multiple pin placements, often making for two completely different holes, which I'm sure adds variety for regulars. Alternate pins placements usually staked with white PVC pipe marker for future reference.

- Well manicured fairways and greens.

- Friendly locals.
Cons: - Hole to hole signage is non-existant. Very difficult to navigate from one basket to the next tee, even with print out of aerial map.

- Tee signs don't reflect distance or pin placement.
Other Thoughts: I was in Graham, NC for a wedding and was thrilled to see a high rated course all of six miles from my hotel, so I gave Cedarock a go. The park was very easy to find and sits just a few miles off of the interstate. However, once inside the park things were a little trickier. To my surprise, though I knew there were two courses on site from my research, I was visiting during a tournament weekend, so there was an additional temporary course set up that added to my confusion as to where to start and which course to play. A few locals steered me in the right direction, luckily, but without that help it might be a little difficult to find your way. The practice basket is a good indication of proximity to the first tee, and the course start is directly off of the first parking lot on the left, as this site notes, but the tee markers are low to the ground and somewhat hard to spot. Signage in general could be improved.

I had wanted to play the "woods" course, but I ended up playing the more open course that starts by the parking lot. I'm still not entirely sure where the wooded course began, but there is a "figure eight" possibility after the 8th green, which I'm told puts you on the 16th hole in the woods. I didn't have time to check that out, but I'm told it's much tighter and requires a lot of precision.

My biggest complaint with the course, again, is lack of adequate signage. I was lucky enough to get the heads up from two locals behind me when I mistook an old abandoned tee box for the 3rd tee, but without their help and even with a map, it's still hard to find each hole's start, as there is some significant displacement between some baskets and the next tee, and there isn't always a logical flow to the holes. I could imagine the frustration and wasted time involved in trying to figure it out on your own.

I tagged along with the two locals for the rest of the round, and I really benefitted from their local knowledge. I don't know how much of the traffic was due to the tournament, but it seemed pretty busy and, given the number of courses in the area, it seems like there's a thriving disc golf community in the area. The guys I played with were good players and very friendly, so that's a big plus.

The course itself was in great shape, with all of the grass mowed short (probably for the tournament, I was told). Other than my issues with the signs, all the other amenities were great. There are a lot of complaints on here about the tee boxes, but I didn't think they were bad at all. They're probably a little shorter than some would like, but I didn't have any complaints. There are two pin placements for most holes, and the alternate pin is generally marked with an easy to see piece of white piping, which is a big pet peeve of mine at our local course, who doesn't mark (or use for that matter) the alternate locations, so you're flying blind should they change things up. Some pins change the hole completely, especially on Hole 9, so you might want to walk the hole/course before you play so you're aware of your targets. A lot of the holes on the front are extremely long for par 3s, and there isn't a lot of variety on a lot of the first nine, but the back nine mixes things up well and overall I though the course kept things dynamic.

Overall, I thought the course was great. The guy I played with said they change the pins every month, and there are up to three tee pads on each hole, so there's good variety if you play here a lot. It's challenging but fair, with some makable birdies and some tough pars, and I hope to play again someday.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Could Be Better

1    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: darkrivers
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open Layout with decent placement of the tees. Condition of grass and woodline was great, short grass and not overgrown.
Cons: Layout is strange on a few holes, plus I couldn't locate a couple of the holes right away from the tee boxes. Holes were not obvious on a few holes and took several minutes to find.
Other Thoughts: Maybe distance makers at the tee boxes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great to air it out

5+    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: mhorlbogen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice length, wide open front to loosen up, tighter back nine for placement shots.
mutiple tee pads and basket placement
easy to navigate and bathrooms nearby
Cons: with the baskets short the green tees are too easy (great for people learning but not challenging for the rest)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/3/2003   5/23/2010
Review By: Doctor Whoov
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was the first course I played. Awesome!
Great bunch of folks down Burlington way.
Cons: None to speak of. Maybe that it's in the south so it gets HOT!
Other Thoughts: I really would like to get back down there now that I know what I am doing.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 STRICT 9INE

5+    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: AS FOR THE PADS OUT OF TOWNERS, THERE OURS. THERE MENT TO HELP YOU CONTROL YOUR FOOTWORK. THERES AN OLD SAYING ROUND HERE IF YOU CAN THROW AT CEDER ROCK, YOU CAN THROW ANTWHERE...WELL ITS TRUE. SO STEP UP UR GAME OR DONT COMPLAIN! this is the best training ground in nc. we have 2 top quality course. the field is the first one you come to in this park. depending on the month will dictate the basket plasment. they change every month but if u come out and want to throw longer ive got he holes for you. us locals call it he STRICT 9INE.(1)throw from hole one yellow pad to hole twos basket.(2)hole 3 yellow pad to 7s basket yank in right side of ceder(3)hole 8s blue pad to 8s basket bout 750 -800ft par 3 thats how we roll in btown(4) hole 7s yellow pad to 4s basket(5)hole 5s red pad (1st pro) to 6s basket(6)hole 9s yellow pad to 10s basket on the top of the hill(if on long baskets it will be hole 14s basket)(7)hole 11red pad(left one) to 12s basket there is an opening just make sure the hole is cleared(8)13s yellow pad to 17s basket(9) blue(very back) pad 18 to hole ones basket(at least 800ft some people play from yellow pad but thats for out of towners!)
Cons: TOP SCORE by rodney gilmore @ 3 OVER we play them all par 3 i belive he played 18 yellow pad to 1s basket
Other Thoughts: used to be a haven for disc golf before an a hole tried to rape a girl 2 yrs ago.cops patrol for the public, but theres no crime here. just a crime for not geting enough birdies.the park has everything from play groung, fishing pond ,camping,3 bike trails 5 or mor walkin trails, horse trails, waterfall, horse shoes, 4 shelters you can reserve, hay rides, fishing tourney boy scout camp outs, tractor days, over 400 acres of country fun, DONT FOGRT TO PACK YOUR TRASH OUT, LOTS OF JUVINELS LEAVEING TRASH, JUST TRY TO HELP.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Great Open Course

2-4    8/16/2011   3/20/2010
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nearly every hole on this course was a long throw over a field, so it really gives you a chance to work on your long drives. That being said, not every hole was the same. There was a surprisingly good mix of leftward, rightward, and straight shots. Elevation comes into play quite a bit on this course and further adds to the variety.
Multiple tees for every hole were a great edition. Any skill level player can play here (though, even the red tees might prove tough for a weak arm). There are also multiple pin placements that change every so often, further adding to the already great variety. Really nice signs have been added to every hole. They are top-notch, denoting the par, the distance, every tee placement, and the possible basket placements, as well as a next tee arrow. This makes the course very easy to navigate.
The baskets were nicely labeled with big signs on the tops that denoted the hole number. There were many other park amenities here (including another 18 hole disc golf course). There is also a little shop at the park that sells snacks, drinks, and DISCS.
Cons: The tees were often very very small. Far too small to do a nice run-up on. Some of the other reviewers who are obviously locals have jumped in to defend this, saying that it is to help you work on your footwork. Maybe that's true, but I still feel that some of these holes are so long that they require just a wee bit more room on the tee-off. On the weekends the park can be crowded (but this is also a testament to how great it is), so you may have to wait at some of the holes (luckily there are benches).
Other Thoughts: Between this and Wellspring, this park is great for a day of disc golf.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Cedarock Boys

5+    10/30/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UPDATE:
Beautiful well designed signage for every hole showcases both the short and long layout.

UPDATE:
New baskets! New innova baskets really assist in seeing the hole from the tee quick and easy. Makes the course look very sharp!

Wide open hole arrangement, you are going 200+ feet before any trees are concern on most shots.
Great place to work on distance shots and power hyzers.
Good turnout to sunday weeklys there for those that enjoy competitive rounds.
Neighbors a good wooded park (Wellspring), its possible to play the "Figure 8" and get 36 holes in.
Multiple Tee and positions for all holes and multiple pin positions for certain holes.
Cons: I like distance shots, but I know a lot of people don't care for repetitive "Throw as far as you can" shots back to back.
Easy to get lost out in the field as far as what tee to go to for the next basket.
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast to play, two of the nicest courses tucked away in Burlington. Wish they would put some more in!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Grip and Rip!

5+    10/1/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very long making it enjoyable to go out and let some discs rip. The course is very open with only the occasional tree in your way of getting to the pin. If you prefer a more technical game, the wooded course on the same site would be a better choice. A couple of very interesting holes including one on the front nine that is close to 70 degrees uphill. Nice course to work on rollers, if that's something you're into.
Cons: I love letting it rip but this is a little too open, even for me. Several of the holes are not accessible for deuces except for the biggest of arms. That means a lot of 100' approaches and tap ins for a three.
Other Thoughts: Great course for dogs although there is a ranger that roams around and makes sure they are on leashes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.