Disc Golf Store
Franklin, IN 
Blue Heron DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 147ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Wet and Woody

5+    6/13/2014   6/14/2014
Review By: jeffhoots
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: The nicest course in Johnson County, Indiana. A well maintained park with walking paths, a playground, and lots of space. Concrete tee pads with varieties of distances, obstacles, and shot shaping opportunities. Modern Discatcher baskets. The walk over the bridge between 9 and 10, over the creek, is one of the nicest disc golf course settings around.
Cons: A lot of water is in play. So much that I bought two Innova Dragons and one Innova Wahoo. Not the best layout, but not the worst I've seen either. 5 and 6 can be challenging because the path to get from tee to basket can flood. Also, for the tree holes, after finishing 12, what looks like the next tee is actually 15. Go past 15 into the woods, do 13 and 14, then back out for 15. A lot of unnecessary walking.
Other Thoughts: Being closest to my house, I consider this my home course. Accordingly, I make it challenging by playing all 18 holes and working though my water and tree issues (I get poison ivy just thinking about it). When I need to make it easier, I use the 5 teepad to go to the 6 basket (especially if the path is flooded as mentioned above), skip tree holes 13, 14, 16, and 17. I'm glad it is close by.

Great intermediate course

1    10/27/2013   10/27/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 19 grippy Innova Discatchers that have hole number on them. (18 holes + practice basket).

Concrete tee pads for most holes (see cons).

Challenging intermediate course.

Signage: course map. Signs for each hole include an individual hole map, par, distance, and location for next tee. Signs around the course point you to next tee if any potential for confusion.

Variety: long open bomb holes, short holes with obstructions (trees, etc), blind shots, wooded holes, anhyzers, hyzers, and several water hazards (a pond, creek, and a marsh). Each hole (with exception of the open bomb holes) are unique.

Many baskets are protected by trees, tall grass, or brush.

Water hazards: holes 1-3, 11,12, 15, and 16 have a water hazard. Always adds to the mental game.

Course map and disc golf info at kiosk.

Practice basket.

Trash cans and benches on site.

Solid course for the area. Not as many courses on south side of metro Indy area.

Easy to navigate for the most part (see cons).

Easy to get to.

Bathrooms on site. Very clean and beautiful park. Peaceful.
Cons: One throw pad per hole. This hole course would be so much better if there were alternate tee pads on each hole. They could be same distance, shorter, or longer. It would add that much more variety.

Holes 13, 14, and 17 have natural tees. Although I don't mind natural tees, this takes away from the unity of the course.

Backtracking / extra walking: hole 13 and 14 tees are next to each other going in opposite direction. Have to walk distance of hole 14 to get to 13. After hole 13, you have to walk the distance of 13 to get to tee of 14. After hole 18, you have to walk entire distance of holes 1 and 2 to get to parking lot. This could be solved if additional holes were added. There is room to expand.

Some poison ivy and burrs in the rough.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and will play it if I am in the area again (rare).

I honestly think this course needs to expand to 24 or even 27 holes. There is enough room and it would make this course that much better and would take away from the extra walking. 1 or 2 holes could be added between holes 6 and 7. A hole could be added between 7 and 8 on other side of tall grass. A hole needs to be added between 12 and 13 that ends at tee for 13. Hole 18 could be divided into 2 holes if the tall grass / wildflower area on other side of path is utilized. Two holes could be added after hole 18 that end at parking lot.

If alternate tees were added, a few more trees were planted on open holes, and additional holes were added, this course would definitely be a 4 out of 5.

It has room for growth and improvement. I will definitely play it again if I take a road trip to the south side. I would recommend it if you are in the area or looking for an intermediate course to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty, but design issues

2-4    5/26/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: gvan
Played: 111  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained and beautiful. I really enjoyed a nice casual round.

The other park amenities are not in the way, but you feel close to others in the park. Quite a few people stopped to watch and asked me about the game.

Some holes are great. 1, 11 and 12 are very good. a good shot will be rewarded, but there is some danger. 10 is a nice little hole that ends right into a little cove.
Cons: Poor design hampers this course. Some examples:
Hole 6's tee pad is in a bad place as shots from hole 5 may hit it. Plus, you have to walk back past hole 5's basket to continue down hole 6's fairway. A bridge could resolve this.

Too many tweener holes. Several are wide open and long almost guaranteeing a 3 for intermediate and above players.

13 and 14 are my least favorite kind of hole in disc golf. They found a spot in the woods where there was already a path and made it a fairway. They are short holes and the walk to teach teepad is longer than each hole. If I play this course again, I'll probably skip them. It's easy to do so as the basket for hole 12 is right next to the tee pad for hole 15.

Hole 16 and are also along preexisting paths in the woods, 16 is OK and 17 is quite good.

Hole 18 is 572 feet and wide open. A bit longer than a normal tweener hole, but again, there's not a lot of scoring separation on a hole like that.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course was fun to play as a stop during a road trip. It has a pleasant environment and some holes are well designed. It wouldn't be good for tournament play because of all the short, open holes and tweener holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best course in Columbus vicinity

5+    12/1/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 52  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: Holes 11, 12 and 15 are some of my favorites around a marsh.

Nice concrete tee pads

Good signage

Very nice baskets

Good intermediate level challenge

Good length on several holes

Good chance at birdies or even aces on some of the shorter holes.
Cons: Hole 2 is a tough start with the pond on the left and OB on the right....maybe borderline unfair especially for beginners

Front 9 can be quite windy, though as another reviewer reminded me, it's part of the sport!

Holes 13 and 14 have a quirky layout

Other Thoughts: Bring a floater frisbee for the front 9. Signs are posted all along the pond not enter to retrieve discs, but at least a floater can be quite easily retrieved.

WATER!

1    10/28/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: tonyreynol
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Nice tee pads. Lot's of challenge. Out of bounds areas. The signage is great. Variation.
Cons: The water holes can make it discouraging for players who can't afford to lose discs. 3 holes place next to a large pond, 3 additional holes play over a creekbed, and even 3 more holes play tightly around a large marshland If you're worried about losing discs, don't play here.
Other Thoughts: One of the nicest courses we've played. The wooded tees seem to be "forced" into the mix. Very narrow and not well thought out, although they are playable.

Fun, Challenging Course, Good Variety

2-4    9/29/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: TheClarkFactor
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery

Not too crowded

Great variety (short v long, hyzer/anhyzer, open v. wooded)

Excellent pads, signs, baskets

Easy Access
Cons: Some holes very tricky for beginners/early intermediates

Several holes where losing discs is a danger

Some OB areas are muddy / full of briars & thorns

Layout is a bit tricky/awkward
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses that I've played. The variety is really what I go for, but almost everything about this course is solid. Beginners may find the course a little frustrating, but intermediate players will enjoy the challenges of this course and advanced players will like the fact that there are a few aceable holes and opportunities to try some new throws. Definitely not the same old park course. Worth the trip!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hole 2

1    10/7/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: k2Keith
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 11/20/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful park, and a great course. Nice baskets, tee pads, signage. Fair mix of open drives, water and woods. Plays around 2 lakes and a stream. 3 holes totally in wooded terrain. Water on hole 2 could be tough, but I like the challenge.
Cons: 3 wooded holes do not have cement pads.
One set of pads and one tee placement.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. Terrain used very well. No hills, but enough variety to make a good game. I would play this course regularly if it were near my house. Well worth the stop if you are traveling through the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    9/3/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: dickyp1113
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had all the things you first look for in a course, nice signs, baskets and pads. Brand new cement tee pads on 14 holes, the 4 holes in the woods not completed yet. Not sure about the clubs plans in the future for the last 4 pads, but this really stepped this course up. Very new innova baskets were great to have as well. Nice, easy to read signs throughout. It made it very easy to navigate the course, even as a first time player. Overall a decent mix of shots. More open shots in the front nine, but the few obstacles out there forced anhyzer/hyzer lines off the tee. The four wooded holes were short but had some difficult layouts that challeged after the more open front nine. #18 was a nice way to end it after the wooded holes with a straight on, open, 572' hole.
Cons: With only one hole (572' #18) being a long hole, not a very wide range of distances hole to hole and nothing to really let it rip with the exception of that one hole. Open front nine became a little boring after the second hole, just basically a drive and put all the way till 10. Nothing overally challegeing about the course, basically a 3 to 4 disc course by the second time you play it.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful park, with a great layout and overall amenities. Bathrooms right next to the parking lot to start. I thought the scorecards being offered at hole 1, even though this isnt a pay course, was a huge plus! Great place to play with your dog too. I brough mine and she had a blast! They also had doggie bag stations set up throughout. On a side note use caution on #2, a small lake on one side and depending on time of the year, really tall thick grass on the other is just begging to take your disc. Overall a fun play and worth this trip if your within an hour or so. Looking forward to playing this again soon and also for the ace race this Oct!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun little course

1    7/27/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: ashmgee
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean.
Good mix of open and wooded, dogleg left/right, technical short/open long.
Lots of room for improvement as young planted trees mature.
Very nice signage.
Very nice new baskets.
Lots of potential hazards, with wind as a factor on the open front 9 of the course.

Hole #2 was easily the signature hole on this course and had a little pucker factor. Not tough to par as a three, but easy to bogey or worse if you are errant off the tee.
Cons: Tees are not concrete or rubber.
Some holes play very short.
On the front open side a simple hyser would give easy birdie looks.
No restrooms that I saw.
No drinking water that I saw.
The flow is interupted by a odd transition around hole 12, 12, 14, back to 15.
Signage scores should all be par 3 except hole 18.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing this course. It was really clean and in a very nice park. The course has plenty of up side as the years progress as trees get larger on the front 9. Multiple pins could increase difficulty if they were added. Tees should eventually go to concrete or rubber, but the small pea gravel was not a problem.

Over all this was a nice course that didn't seem busy, and I would love to play again if I was back in Franklin.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Good course with a great back 9

5+    6/13/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: kinmar
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great variety of holes from open to wooded to protected by water.

- The back 9 really shines on this course with holes that curve around a small pond and jut into the forest.

- Good signage for the most part.

- Grounds are kept in great condition.
Cons: - Hole 2 is borderline unfair with OB in the wildflowers on the right and a large pond on the left. Leaving a pretty small fairway. (update: They recently mowed down some of the wildflowers effectively doubling the size of the fairway on this hole. It's much better now.)

- The front 9 is pretty open and can get rather windy. Though wind is part of the sport so I feel bad complaining.

- The layout for the back 9 is a bit awkward since you have to walk past 15 and into the woods to get to 13 then back track out.

- The tees are not great, I'm hopeful that they get replaced soon by concrete ones.

- There seems to be a lot of low cut stumps all along the paths for the wooded holes. These should be cut down or pulled out. (watch your footing on these holes)
Other Thoughts: Overall I would say that this course is a lot of fun to play and would recommend it to anyone with the possible exception of people just starting out. The possibility to lose discs is pretty high.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.