Franklin, IN 
Blue Heron DGC Share
Uploaded By: L.F.C.1892 Hole #2 (Taken 4/2012)
4 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 WATER!

1    10/28/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: tonyreynol
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Nice tee pads. Lot's of challenge. Out of bounds areas. The signage is great. Variation.
Cons: The water holes can make it discouraging for players who can't afford to lose discs. 3 holes place next to a large pond, 3 additional holes play over a creekbed, and even 3 more holes play tightly around a large marshland If you're worried about losing discs, don't play here.
Other Thoughts: One of the nicest courses we've played. The wooded tees seem to be "forced" into the mix. Very narrow and not well thought out, although they are playable.

 Hole 2

1    10/7/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: k2Keith
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 11/20/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful park, and a great course. Nice baskets, tee pads, signage. Fair mix of open drives, water and woods. Plays around 2 lakes and a stream. 3 holes totally in wooded terrain. Water on hole 2 could be tough, but I like the challenge.
Cons: 3 wooded holes do not have cement pads.
One set of pads and one tee placement.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. Terrain used very well. No hills, but enough variety to make a good game. I would play this course regularly if it were near my house. Well worth the stop if you are traveling through the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/3/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: dickyp1113
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had all the things you first look for in a course, nice signs, baskets and pads. Brand new cement tee pads on 14 holes, the 4 holes in the woods not completed yet. Not sure about the clubs plans in the future for the last 4 pads, but this really stepped this course up. Very new innova baskets were great to have as well. Nice, easy to read signs throughout. It made it very easy to navigate the course, even as a first time player. Overall a decent mix of shots. More open shots in the front nine, but the few obstacles out there forced anhyzer/hyzer lines off the tee. The four wooded holes were short but had some difficult layouts that challeged after the more open front nine. #18 was a nice way to end it after the wooded holes with a straight on, open, 572' hole.
Cons: With only one hole (572' #18) being a long hole, not a very wide range of distances hole to hole and nothing to really let it rip with the exception of that one hole. Open front nine became a little boring after the second hole, just basically a drive and put all the way till 10. Nothing overally challegeing about the course, basically a 3 to 4 disc course by the second time you play it.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful park, with a great layout and overall amenities. Bathrooms right next to the parking lot to start. I thought the scorecards being offered at hole 1, even though this isnt a pay course, was a huge plus! Great place to play with your dog too. I brough mine and she had a blast! They also had doggie bag stations set up throughout. On a side note use caution on #2, a small lake on one side and depending on time of the year, really tall thick grass on the other is just begging to take your disc. Overall a fun play and worth this trip if your within an hour or so. Looking forward to playing this again soon and also for the ace race this Oct!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun little course

1    7/27/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: ashmgee
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean.
Good mix of open and wooded, dogleg left/right, technical short/open long.
Lots of room for improvement as young planted trees mature.
Very nice signage.
Very nice new baskets.
Lots of potential hazards, with wind as a factor on the open front 9 of the course.

Hole #2 was easily the signature hole on this course and had a little pucker factor. Not tough to par as a three, but easy to bogey or worse if you are errant off the tee.
Cons: Tees are not concrete or rubber.
Some holes play very short.
On the front open side a simple hyser would give easy birdie looks.
No restrooms that I saw.
No drinking water that I saw.
The flow is interupted by a odd transition around hole 12, 12, 14, back to 15.
Signage scores should all be par 3 except hole 18.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing this course. It was really clean and in a very nice park. The course has plenty of up side as the years progress as trees get larger on the front 9. Multiple pins could increase difficulty if they were added. Tees should eventually go to concrete or rubber, but the small pea gravel was not a problem.

Over all this was a nice course that didn't seem busy, and I would love to play again if I was back in Franklin.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Beauty

2-4    11/26/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: jenb
Played: 82  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my fortieth course played, and I'd say that holes 10-12 and 15 are among the most beautiful holes in gisc golf. These 4 holes surround a duck pond with a pier and the whole thing is nesteled back in the woods away from the blistering winds that plague the rest of the course. I give an extra half a point for this feature, because it is otherwaise a rather typical 18 hole course.

It is nice to finally have a public course in the area, and a full 18 holes at that.

Variety is there, and challenge is enough for most rec players. This is one of those courses that I immediately wanted to play again.

Tee signs are nice.

It's clean and deserted!
Cons: The front 9 is all open with a ton of wind, and hole 2 seems especially unfair to anyone who can't throw more than 300 feet with accuracy. That makes hole 2 not very interesting for long arms, and extremely punitive for others. Speaking for the short arms out there, I think a short tee is needed about 180 feet from the pin. That would give the ladies, newbs, and older gents a similar risk/reward option as the longer arms out there.

Pin placement to force approaches toward disc eating water on the front nine makes this course frustrating for new players, without offerring much challenge to highly skilled players. Dual pins are becoming more common, and second baskets away from the water for ams might be something to consider adding.

The arrangement of holes 13 and 14 is unfortunate, but everything is marked and roped well.

Lack of multiple tees will hopefully be addressed in the future. This is the only public course for many miles and it needs to appeal to beginners as well as the intermediate players towards which it appears geared.

Still needs permanent tees. Glad to hear these are in the works. I am updating this part because I played after a three-day rain/snow and discovered that it is not called a wetlands for nothing. Tee 4 was several inches under water. I had to play 15 to 20 feet in front of it, and I hope the tee will be moved up to this position when permanent tees are added. Tees 5 and 7 were also full of water, but looked like they will be fine when the permament tees are added, so long as the pads are built up two or three inches above ground. Traversing to hole 5's basket and then from tee 6 to hole 6's basket required either a knee deep slog through freezing snow runoff or a long trek around. Not sure what to do about that. Hole 18 is the really bad news, because even though the tee was up out of the water, crossing to the tee from 17 required wading through ankle high water, and the same again to get from 18's tee to to 18's fairway. My gortex Targhee II mids were not able to keep my feet dry there. I don't know what can be done about that hole.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice challenge

1    10/12/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An 18 hole course in a town with no other courses. Newest DISCatchers with 3 sets of chains. Well designed, using all features of the park. Open "Rip-it" holes,water holes and wooded. Port-o-let between #8,#9. Tee sign post with bag hooks. I believe all holes have the possibility of another location.
Cons: The parking lot is rather small, could be a problem on nice weather weekends or a dg tourney. I played about 12:30 on a weekday and I believe 1/4 to 1/3 of the lot was full. No tee SIGNS,yet. A post, with bag hooks are there. Sand tee pads. Mostly flat.
Other Thoughts: As you pull into the lot you'll see a practice basket in the left, nice feature. Behind (West) of the practice basket, over the tall grass you'll see the #1 Discatcher. The #1 (245') tee is on the north side of the tall grass and south of the paved trail. Throwing toward the end if the grass line the Discatcher is in front of a nice sized willow tree. The low branches could be cut, and the grass, for a possible roller to the water. #2 (310') is to the right with very tall & THICK grass on the right and the pond on your left. A rather narrow & curving fairway makes placement key, for me. The Discatcher is to the right the end if the grass. #3 (270') tee from on top of the edge of the pond. The Discatcher is placed between pines and tall grass. A little walk for #4 go right and west about 125'. #4 (400') tee is cut out of the tall grass. Because the grass is so tall you won't see the post until your next to it. Throw to the 2nd mound with the Discatcher behind it. #5 (290') cross the paved trail, plays north over the dry creek. Which has mature tees, to the right, and underbrush. #6 (326') throw to the mound?.. No. The Discatcher is over the dry creek with it west close to the dry creeks underbrush. #7 (280') is to the left. Looks like #5 Plays opposite. Has 3 mature trees around the DISCatchers. #8 (287') take the paved trail north. The tee is under a good sized tree. Only one young tree is to the right of the Discatcher. Port-o-let between holes. #9 (179') plays between the woods, on the left. And the paved trail on the right. Which curves away making a wider fairway. The Discatcher is close to the treeline. #10 (220') go left over the bridge. Its on the right and plays to the cut out area in the corner. #11 (243') plays over an end of the marsh, with mature trees away from it making a narrow fairway, if you dont go for it over the marsh. #12 (324') has the marsh on your left and 6 large pines on the right. The Discatcher has some protection after the curve. I lost a disc in one of the pines. My dog was in the marsh chasing ducks and I notice I was running a little late. I threw from #13 tee,but threw to #15 Discatcher (nice green). After I realized what I did I just decided to skip them, due to time. For #16 (245') walk back over the bridge and into the woods on the left. A nice wooded hole with a curved fairway left. For #17 walk by #16 Discatcher 50'. You'll see the tee area marked with logs. You won't see the tee post, its behind a large tree. #17 (199') plays with the creek curving into the fairway. A ricochet could get you wet. The Discatcher was just behind a small mound. For #18 go back down the fairway a little and take the path out of the woods. #18 (572') is a wide open hole with tall grass behind the Discatcher. A little more blood, sweat and tears it will be a sweet course. Imho, if possible,any future alt. Pin placements should be on mounds, for a elevated putt. From I-69 & SR 144 exit its only 3/4 miles and takes 10 minutes. Until the tee signs are installed give yourself about 90 minutes for a round.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  First trip to Blue Heron DG Course

2-4    10/9/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: sdtayl
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes with hazards, holes in the open, and in the woods. lots of variety. Good job of tucking some of the baskets behind trees or other obstacles.
Cons: New, so needs more work, in the woods especially. Just getting played more will help.
Other Thoughts: #2 may discourage some, as discs can be lost to the left and right. It will be interesting to see how the material used for the tees works out. #11 and #12 will be tougher when the wetlands have more water in them. Really enjoyed this first trip. Played 2 rounds, and ran out of light.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.