Franklin, IN 
Blue Heron DGC Share
Uploaded By: L.F.C.1892 Hole #14 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 218ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wet and Woody

5+    6/13/2014   6/14/2014
Review By: jeffhoots
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: The nicest course in Johnson County, Indiana. A well maintained park with walking paths, a playground, and lots of space. Concrete tee pads with varieties of distances, obstacles, and shot shaping opportunities. Modern Discatcher baskets. The walk over the bridge between 9 and 10, over the creek, is one of the nicest disc golf course settings around.
Cons: A lot of water is in play. So much that I bought two Innova Dragons and one Innova Wahoo. Not the best layout, but not the worst I've seen either. 5 and 6 can be challenging because the path to get from tee to basket can flood. Also, for the tree holes, after finishing 12, what looks like the next tee is actually 15. Go past 15 into the woods, do 13 and 14, then back out for 15. A lot of unnecessary walking.
Other Thoughts: Being closest to my house, I consider this my home course. Accordingly, I make it challenging by playing all 18 holes and working though my water and tree issues (I get poison ivy just thinking about it). When I need to make it easier, I use the 5 teepad to go to the 6 basket (especially if the path is flooded as mentioned above), skip tree holes 13, 14, 16, and 17. I'm glad it is close by.

Great intermediate course

1    10/27/2013   10/27/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 19 grippy Innova Discatchers that have hole number on them. (18 holes + practice basket).

Concrete tee pads for most holes (see cons).

Challenging intermediate course.

Signage: course map. Signs for each hole include an individual hole map, par, distance, and location for next tee. Signs around the course point you to next tee if any potential for confusion.

Variety: long open bomb holes, short holes with obstructions (trees, etc), blind shots, wooded holes, anhyzers, hyzers, and several water hazards (a pond, creek, and a marsh). Each hole (with exception of the open bomb holes) are unique.

Many baskets are protected by trees, tall grass, or brush.

Water hazards: holes 1-3, 11,12, 15, and 16 have a water hazard. Always adds to the mental game.

Course map and disc golf info at kiosk.

Practice basket.

Trash cans and benches on site.

Solid course for the area. Not as many courses on south side of metro Indy area.

Easy to navigate for the most part (see cons).

Easy to get to.

Bathrooms on site. Very clean and beautiful park. Peaceful.
Cons: One throw pad per hole. This hole course would be so much better if there were alternate tee pads on each hole. They could be same distance, shorter, or longer. It would add that much more variety.

Holes 13, 14, and 17 have natural tees. Although I don't mind natural tees, this takes away from the unity of the course.

Backtracking / extra walking: hole 13 and 14 tees are next to each other going in opposite direction. Have to walk distance of hole 14 to get to 13. After hole 13, you have to walk the distance of 13 to get to tee of 14. After hole 18, you have to walk entire distance of holes 1 and 2 to get to parking lot. This could be solved if additional holes were added. There is room to expand.

Some poison ivy and burrs in the rough.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and will play it if I am in the area again (rare).

I honestly think this course needs to expand to 24 or even 27 holes. There is enough room and it would make this course that much better and would take away from the extra walking. 1 or 2 holes could be added between holes 6 and 7. A hole could be added between 7 and 8 on other side of tall grass. A hole needs to be added between 12 and 13 that ends at tee for 13. Hole 18 could be divided into 2 holes if the tall grass / wildflower area on other side of path is utilized. Two holes could be added after hole 18 that end at parking lot.

If alternate tees were added, a few more trees were planted on open holes, and additional holes were added, this course would definitely be a 4 out of 5.

It has room for growth and improvement. I will definitely play it again if I take a road trip to the south side. I would recommend it if you are in the area or looking for an intermediate course to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best course in Columbus vicinity

5+    12/1/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 52  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: Holes 11, 12 and 15 are some of my favorites around a marsh.

Nice concrete tee pads

Good signage

Very nice baskets

Good intermediate level challenge

Good length on several holes

Good chance at birdies or even aces on some of the shorter holes.
Cons: Hole 2 is a tough start with the pond on the left and OB on the right....maybe borderline unfair especially for beginners

Front 9 can be quite windy, though as another reviewer reminded me, it's part of the sport!

Holes 13 and 14 have a quirky layout

Other Thoughts: Bring a floater frisbee for the front 9. Signs are posted all along the pond not enter to retrieve discs, but at least a floater can be quite easily retrieved.

  Good course with a great back 9

5+    6/13/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: kinmar
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great variety of holes from open to wooded to protected by water.

- The back 9 really shines on this course with holes that curve around a small pond and jut into the forest.

- Good signage for the most part.

- Grounds are kept in great condition.
Cons: - Hole 2 is borderline unfair with OB in the wildflowers on the right and a large pond on the left. Leaving a pretty small fairway. (update: They recently mowed down some of the wildflowers effectively doubling the size of the fairway on this hole. It's much better now.)

- The front 9 is pretty open and can get rather windy. Though wind is part of the sport so I feel bad complaining.

- The layout for the back 9 is a bit awkward since you have to walk past 15 and into the woods to get to 13 then back track out.

- The tees are not great, I'm hopeful that they get replaced soon by concrete ones.

- There seems to be a lot of low cut stumps all along the paths for the wooded holes. These should be cut down or pulled out. (watch your footing on these holes)
Other Thoughts: Overall I would say that this course is a lot of fun to play and would recommend it to anyone with the possible exception of people just starting out. The possibility to lose discs is pretty high.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center