Disc Golf Store
Franklin, IN
Blue Heron DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 147ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Hidden Beauty

2-4    11/26/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: jenb
Played: 76  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my fortieth course played, and I'd say that holes 10-12 and 15 are among the most beautiful holes in gisc golf. These 4 holes surround a duck pond with a pier and the whole thing is nesteled back in the woods away from the blistering winds that plague the rest of the course. I give an extra half a point for this feature, because it is otherwaise a rather typical 18 hole course.

It is nice to finally have a public course in the area, and a full 18 holes at that.

Variety is there, and challenge is enough for most rec players. This is one of those courses that I immediately wanted to play again.

Tee signs are nice.

It's clean and deserted!
Cons: The front 9 is all open with a ton of wind, and hole 2 seems especially unfair to anyone who can't throw more than 300 feet with accuracy. That makes hole 2 not very interesting for long arms, and extremely punitive for others. Speaking for the short arms out there, I think a short tee is needed about 180 feet from the pin. That would give the ladies, newbs, and older gents a similar risk/reward option as the longer arms out there.

Pin placement to force approaches toward disc eating water on the front nine makes this course frustrating for new players, without offerring much challenge to highly skilled players. Dual pins are becoming more common, and second baskets away from the water for ams might be something to consider adding.

The arrangement of holes 13 and 14 is unfortunate, but everything is marked and roped well.

Lack of multiple tees will hopefully be addressed in the future. This is the only public course for many miles and it needs to appeal to beginners as well as the intermediate players towards which it appears geared.

Still needs permanent tees. Glad to hear these are in the works. I am updating this part because I played after a three-day rain/snow and discovered that it is not called a wetlands for nothing. Tee 4 was several inches under water. I had to play 15 to 20 feet in front of it, and I hope the tee will be moved up to this position when permanent tees are added. Tees 5 and 7 were also full of water, but looked like they will be fine when the permament tees are added, so long as the pads are built up two or three inches above ground. Traversing to hole 5's basket and then from tee 6 to hole 6's basket required either a knee deep slog through freezing snow runoff or a long trek around. Not sure what to do about that. Hole 18 is the really bad news, because even though the tee was up out of the water, crossing to the tee from 17 required wading through ankle high water, and the same again to get from 18's tee to to 18's fairway. My gortex Targhee II mids were not able to keep my feet dry there. I don't know what can be done about that hole.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Blue Heron

5+    11/6/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: betts9
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bob has done an excellent job with the layout of this course using the available space to best of his abilities. Easy to get to and a good mix of short, intermediate, and long holes.
Cons: There are only 2 cons to this course. The first is the tee boxes which are currently a special blend that the parks and rec had on hand. It was very sandy when it was first installed, but has done a nice job of hardening in the last month or so. We are planning on installing cement tee boxes in the spring. The 2nd con is the transition from hole 12 to 13, which has you pass the tee on 15 and walk the length of 14 in the woods to get to the tee on 13, you then have to plan 13 and reverse field to get to 14. In the original course design it called for you to enter the woods at the opposite end and you would play 13 (which was reversed from its current layout) then 14 and exit the woods. However the church that owns the field that you would have had to cross to get to the other entrance would not allow us to use it and did not want anyone crossing their property. So we had to invert 13 to its current location and move the entrance to its current location. It is a little confusing, but it the best we could do with the circumstances.
Other Thoughts: This course came together rather quickly with Bob and I pitching the idea to the parks and rec and within 2 months we had outside financing and the course was up and running. we welcome any comments and suggestion and hope that everyone has fun playing it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/31/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Blue Heron is a very new course in a nice little park. It has some open holes, some prairie holes, some are wooded and water is in play on 5-6 holes. This excellent variety as well as a design that utilizes the available features of the land really helps to make for an interesting round. There's a nice distribution of long, medium and short holes as well. The shot selection is ok. There are three shots that force a turnover for RHBH players.

The tee signs look fantastic, there are bag hooks attached to the 4x4 for the tee sign and maps are available by hole 1 in a mailbox. The tees are crushed gravel or something like that. They were nice and flat so I had no problem with them.

When I was here the wooded holes looked considerably better then they do in the pictures. And as the course gets more use I'm sure they'll continue to improve.

My favorite hole was hole 12, 324ft. There's a tree line on the right, a narrow strip of land in front of you and lake on the left. The basket is just past the trees at the end of the lake. You want to throw a hyzer to get in behind those trees to park it, but the tree line on the right makes it a narrow gap and very difficult to do.
Cons: Navigation is pretty easy until you finish hole 12. You have to walk by 15's tee, into the woods to hole 14's basket and up 14's fairway to find 13's tee. Once you play 13, you walk back 13's fairway, play 14 and head right back to where you were to continue with 15 and the rest of the course. This is the only navigation issue on the course, but it is a big one. I've played out and back holes before, but this is two of them and it's a little ridiculous. There is a large yellow sign by the start of this long journey into backtracking to help people find these two holes which helps.

As I mentioned the tees are some kind of crushed gravel and they were flat when I was here, but I was here just two days after a tournament so I'm concerned how they'll stand up over rain, use and time. Hopefully concrete tees are in the works.

Other Thoughts: I had a hard time deciding whether to rate this course as a 2.5 or 3. Ultimately I decided on a 2.5 and here's why:

This course isn't very good for new players, there is water in play on a third of the holes and very tall grass on a couple others. That makes it very easy for a less experienced player to lose discs.

On the other hand, it's not challenging to pro and advanced players either. The front nine is basically wide open. Half of the back nine plays in the woods, but all those holes are very short making for easy birdies and the water holes are so short they aren't difficult either. I shot a 46 when I played here and felt like a left a number of birdies out there.

I guess this makes it a good intermediate level course. Players of that skill level should have enough control to keep their discs dry, but also be challenged by the various aspects of this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice challenge

1    10/12/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 169  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An 18 hole course in a town with no other courses. Newest DISCatchers with 3 sets of chains. Well designed, using all features of the park. Open "Rip-it" holes,water holes and wooded. Port-o-let between #8,#9. Tee sign post with bag hooks. I believe all holes have the possibility of another location.
Cons: The parking lot is rather small, could be a problem on nice weather weekends or a dg tourney. I played about 12:30 on a weekday and I believe 1/4 to 1/3 of the lot was full. No tee SIGNS,yet. A post, with bag hooks are there. Sand tee pads. Mostly flat.
Other Thoughts: As you pull into the lot you'll see a practice basket in the left, nice feature. Behind (West) of the practice basket, over the tall grass you'll see the #1 Discatcher. The #1 (245') tee is on the north side of the tall grass and south of the paved trail. Throwing toward the end if the grass line the Discatcher is in front of a nice sized willow tree. The low branches could be cut, and the grass, for a possible roller to the water. #2 (310') is to the right with very tall & THICK grass on the right and the pond on your left. A rather narrow & curving fairway makes placement key, for me. The Discatcher is to the right the end if the grass. #3 (270') tee from on top of the edge of the pond. The Discatcher is placed between pines and tall grass. A little walk for #4 go right and west about 125'. #4 (400') tee is cut out of the tall grass. Because the grass is so tall you won't see the post until your next to it. Throw to the 2nd mound with the Discatcher behind it. #5 (290') cross the paved trail, plays north over the dry creek. Which has mature tees, to the right, and underbrush. #6 (326') throw to the mound?.. No. The Discatcher is over the dry creek with it west close to the dry creeks underbrush. #7 (280') is to the left. Looks like #5 Plays opposite. Has 3 mature trees around the DISCatchers. #8 (287') take the paved trail north. The tee is under a good sized tree. Only one young tree is to the right of the Discatcher. Port-o-let between holes. #9 (179') plays between the woods, on the left. And the paved trail on the right. Which curves away making a wider fairway. The Discatcher is close to the treeline. #10 (220') go left over the bridge. Its on the right and plays to the cut out area in the corner. #11 (243') plays over an end of the marsh, with mature trees away from it making a narrow fairway, if you dont go for it over the marsh. #12 (324') has the marsh on your left and 6 large pines on the right. The Discatcher has some protection after the curve. I lost a disc in one of the pines. My dog was in the marsh chasing ducks and I notice I was running a little late. I threw from #13 tee,but threw to #15 Discatcher (nice green). After I realized what I did I just decided to skip them, due to time. For #16 (245') walk back over the bridge and into the woods on the left. A nice wooded hole with a curved fairway left. For #17 walk by #16 Discatcher 50'. You'll see the tee area marked with logs. You won't see the tee post, its behind a large tree. #17 (199') plays with the creek curving into the fairway. A ricochet could get you wet. The Discatcher was just behind a small mound. For #18 go back down the fairway a little and take the path out of the woods. #18 (572') is a wide open hole with tall grass behind the Discatcher. A little more blood, sweat and tears it will be a sweet course. Imho, if possible,any future alt. Pin placements should be on mounds, for a elevated putt. From I-69 & SR 144 exit its only 3/4 miles and takes 10 minutes. Until the tee signs are installed give yourself about 90 minutes for a round.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 New Southside Course

1    10/12/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: MacDaddy
Played: 143  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 30.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easy to get to, the park is right off of 31South, about a quarter mile south of IND 144. Pull right into the parking lot and you can see... a practice basket in a nice little meadow with some small trees scattered about. From there it is a short walk to the first tee. There are copious amounts of HUGE grasses growing everywhere, which provide significant hazard on several of the holes. Hole #1 plays down a nice grass fairway with a buttonhook pin placement behind some of the grass and in front of a nice weeping willow by the pond. A nice start. Hole #2, watch out! A fairly narrow grass fairway with water along the entire left side and some MONSTER grass lining the entire right side! The basket is hiding just to the right behind the grass. The rest of the front-9 is fairly similar, in that the holes are pretty open, grassy, have a smattering of trees with other large areas of very stout grasses. Which certainly do influence your game! The designer has done a pretty good job of getting the most "bang for the buck" on this part of the course. A nice mix of shots, and to some extent, distances.
The back-9 starts with holes #10, #11 and #12 playing around a small wetlands. Some nice holes and also some nice pine trees in this area. Then off into the woods for holes #13 and #14. These are two fairly short, but certainly tough holes! The woods here are thick, and are in the process of being cleared. Then back out to the marsh for hole #15, a nice right-to-left sweeeper that ends with the pin in a small stand of river birch trees. Without a doubt, my favorite green on the entire course. Holes #16 and #17 go back into the thick woods. It's obvious that tons of hard work has gone into clearing these holes and they are a nice addition to the course, #17 is a very cool hole! Hole #18 pops back out into the open with a wide open, long pump to the pin, in front of some more big grass. Overall, the course offers a nice variety of open and tight shots, short and long, left and right. And there is minimal opportunity for errant shots to cause problems with other park users. Nice new DISCatcher baskets, no tee-signs yet, but there are some very nice 4x4 posts up, with bag hooks. So I assume there will be some decent, or better, tee-signs appearing soon.
Cons: No tee-signs yet, so navigating can be a bit dicey. Lots of the pin placments are tucked behind an obstacle and are not visible from the tee. Cool for design, but a bummer when playing (especially the first time) without signs. But, I am sure this will be fixed soon. The wooded holes are still a bit rough. Lots of short stumps around, so watch your footing. The flow of the course works pretty well, until you get to the transition from #12 to #13. Whaaaa!!! How are you supposed to find the #13 tee? Right now you have to walk down the length of #14, from the pin to the tee, and then to the #13 tee!?!? And then, once you get to #13 tee, you play the hole, and turn right around and walk back down the hole to the tee, and then over to the nearby #14 tee. I just don't get it. The flow doesn't seem to work here, at all! Hopefully there is still some more clearing or signs or something in the future. Or maybe I just missed something...
And then there are the tee-pads. They are fairly small, I think about 4'x8', maybe 10' long. That's OK, but the surface is..... sand, kitty litter? I don't know, but it wasn't working at all for me. It is so loose and grainy, like what you might find on the beach. Every step leaves a small pothole and soon the entire tee area is lumpy and uneven. Too easy to catch a foot on a high point or step into a hole. Any player with ankle, knee or hip issues (like me), will find these tees pretty iffy. They were easily my least favorite part of the course.
I also didn't see any water or restrooms, but perhaps I missed it somewhere.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It is in a nice park, with a decent design and use of the available terrain. I am sure that as it ages, it will improve. It still needs tee-signs, but those are coming. And it still needs work on the wooded holes, and that will come too. Right now my score is being held down by the wacky flow from hole #12 to #13 and #14. I don't get it. And mostly, my score takes a big hit on the tees. Plain packed dirt would have been better IMHO. The loose sand was just too uneven and unreliable for my likes. Hopefully, it will be replaced with concrete soon.
Other than that, a fun course and a nice addition to the far south-central Indy area. I really wanted to give this course a 3 or even 3.5 rating, but just can't with the current issues.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  First trip to Blue Heron DG Course

2-4    10/9/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: sdtayl
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes with hazards, holes in the open, and in the woods. lots of variety. Good job of tucking some of the baskets behind trees or other obstacles.
Cons: New, so needs more work, in the woods especially. Just getting played more will help.
Other Thoughts: #2 may discourage some, as discs can be lost to the left and right. It will be interesting to see how the material used for the tees works out. #11 and #12 will be tougher when the wetlands have more water in them. Really enjoyed this first trip. Played 2 rounds, and ran out of light.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.