Franklin, IN 
Blue Heron DGC Share
Uploaded By: L.F.C.1892 Hole #2 (Taken 4/2012)
4 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Pretty solid course

2-4    11/9/2016   11/19/2016
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 52  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Great tee pads Nice, level pads on most holes that provide ample length for run-ups.
*Good quality baskets.
*Multi-use park that (or at least on the day I was there,) looks to be well-maintained.
*The designers of the course, while presented with mostly open parkland, have done as much as they could have done to maximize obstacles to provide a challenge and add interest.
*This may be something other people would list as a con, but I would like to commend the designers for adding several short holes. I know "bigger, longer, farther," seems to be the current trend in disc golf courses but I still like having a hole here or there that gives me that rush of excitement that comes from the potential to card an ace--and the short holes here are not just crammed in to get you from one long hole to the next; they actually are some of the more interesting holes on the course, with multiple flight lines and plenty of obstacles that can turn deuces into fours.
*While there is not a lot of wooded area with which to work, what is available has been put to good use. I'm a particular fan of holes that may start in the open and end in coves cut out of the woods, and you have several of those at Blue Heron.
Cons: *As I mentioned before, there is a lot of open space so some of the holes are bit bland. It's not a design flaw, it's just the result of working with what land was available. I played in November so it wasn't an issue for me on the day I was there, but I could imagine a round in July or August could be brutal with a lack of shade (not an issue for younger players, but we old, fat guys don't always do well in the heat.)
*Speaking of the heat, there was no water available that I saw (I apologize if I'm wrong on this.) Bringing your own isn't a big deal I suppose, but this is a 25-hole course and you don't get back near the parking lot until you finish so that may require a couple of bottles.
*Again, this isn't a design flaw so much as a fact of nature but there is virtually no elevation change. This matters to some. Not a huge deal to me.
*As the land is flat with a few small dips, I'd suspect that drainage could become a real problem if there's been a lot of rain.
*Some of the pars listed on the signs seem incorrect. There are "4"s where it doesn't seem any need to be a four. I am not a person who thinks "everything is a par 3" like some disc golfers, but many of these fours seem unnecessary.
*There are a couple of oddities with the flow, but if you just follow the signs you'll be fine (although I do think there could be some means of putting in a hole between 12 & 13 instead of just walking across that open field and past the #15 tee.)
Other Thoughts: 1-155'
Start with an easy throw, but you need to have some accuracy here. There is a line of about five trees to the left and the basket is behind the last of those trees so you'll need a bit of a hyzer for a RHBH. There are paths to both sides of the fairway that are OB, but shouldn't really be an issue. If you go too far there is a pond about 15 feet beyond the basket.

2-310'
Narrow fairway. The pond is to your left and there is deep grass (although it was cut down when I was there--you can still easily differentiate between fairway and OB,) to the right that doesn't give you a lot of real estate in which to land. The basket is at the end of the OB grass.

3-270'
This hole continues on along the right side of the pond and plays to the end of it. As the pond appears to be man-made, the ground is built up along the outside of it. The tee pad is up on top of this small elevation. A direct line to the basket would take you over the corner of the water but most will try to play it right-to-left, as the basket is tucked in behind a couple of pine trees about 30 or 40 feet past the end of the pond.

4-446'
Your first chance to kind of "grip it and rip it." Listed as a par 4--probably a "tweener" as a 3/4. There is OBto the left that only a really bad shot should find. Right off the tee there is some pampas grass to the right that shouldn't be an issue but will probably catch a throw or two. There is a bigger tree out in front of the tee a bit to the left that keeps you from playing your drive left-to-right, but shouldn't be a major obstacle. The fairway is wide open and there's a large planting of pampas grass about 400' from the tee. The basket is behind that.

5-290'
Wide open with a line of trees growing down a bit of a drainage ditch about 250' from the basket. There's a bit of an opening you need to hit in that line of trees to get to the basket, which is just right of that gap. It was dry when I was there but this area looks like it could easily become muddy and messy.

6-326'
Kind of an interesting use of the line of trees down the drainage ditch. You throw past the line of trees and need your disc to turn right once you get through. If you cut it back too far you'll be in the trees. There's no real punishment for going long other than being farther from the basket, as it's a big open field.

7-280'
You throw back across the drainage ditch, but the larger trees aren't growing at this part of it. The portion you need to clear here is more scrub and tall weeds than trees. The tree sits in the middle of three trees.

A-501' -par 4
The first of the new holes. There is a mando about 200' off the tee that keeps you to the right to avoid a park shelter, but it's not any difficult effort to avoid missing it--you'd probably play it that direction anyway. The fairway will turn to the left and the basket is tucked back in an area cut out of the woods.

B-128'
This hole is short but it's still not a guarantee that you'll be there for a drop-in. You have a narrow line through several tall, old trees that will force your throw to curve to the right from the tee. If you hit one of the trees you could careen into areas that leave you with little room to work.
I did just that and ended fairly close to the next teepad, too, so that's something about which to be cognizant if there are others on the course (I was fine--I don't think there were two or three other people there, and none near me.)

C-345'
Tee shot is in the woods. There's a pretty narrow tunnel to get you out into the open fairway, but once you get out into the open there are only a couple of trees that should provide minimal resistance for your approach to the basket. This hole is listed a a par-4 but doesn't quite seem like it needs to be.

D-342' (par four on sign, but seems incorrect.)
Tee shot is out in the wide open, with a couple of small trees that shouldn't be a problem to get around. The hole is tucked back in an opening in the woods. There are a couple of spots that look like they could be where you need to go, so make sure you're throwing at the right spot.

E-150'

Narrow line in the woods that arcs to the right. Hit a tree that sends you to the left and you might end up in the creek

F-354'
Par four, which seems like it would be unnecessary for a 354' hole, but given that it's a double-dogleg it really is an accurate designation. You have a narrow gap to get out of the woods but you need to turn pretty hard to the right as soon as you get out. The fairway runs along the woods and you need to turn left again to get back into the woods to get to the basket. You'll have to enter pretty low to get under the canopy to a well-guarded and you can't run much past the basket or you'll roll down into the creek.

G-298'
Pretty wide open hole. This one will become much tougher with time, as there are a few trees in the fairway that will mature but for now they aren't that big. The fairway curves a bit to the left and there is deep grass that is OB to the left.

8-287'
This is, to me, probably the most bland hole on the course. Wide open with no real obstacles other than the OB walking path left of the basket.

9-179'
Tricky little ace run. Looks easy, but then you realize that a straight shot has to stay extremely low to avoid the overhanging trees that run the length of the hole along the left side. A couple of trees out in the fairway keep you from getting too far right to avoid the canopy, and there is an OB path that runs to the right and curves around behind the basket. You could get an ace if you run at it...or you could skip over the path.

10-220'
Fairway is pretty narrow with woods to the right and a path to the left. At the end of the fairway the hole is back in a clearing that turns right. You can't hang your disc out too far to the left to bring it back this direction or you'll hit a tree that might drop you OB.

11-243'
This hole doesn't currently have a sign, but it's close enough to 10's basket that the natural flow should send you right to it and the basket is visible from the tee. Throw over the corner of a pond with lots of cattails and other weeds growing along the edge. A natural hyzer should lead you right to the basket but if you go too far before you hyzer you'll go into a couple of trees that knock you down; hyzer too far and you'll get into more weeds--don't know if they're OB or not since there was no sign.

12-324'
Listed as a par 4. More difficult than you think it's going to be. There is a pond to the left with lots of spindly, reedy "trees" about 15'-18' tall growing along the edge. There is a line of pines to the right that seem to make the fairway narrow as you get to the end of the pond. Some will probably be able to throw over the pond and go straight towards the basket but that's a tough decision, as there are more pines at the end of the pond blocking a direct line to the basket.

13-147'
Short ace run that winds down a narrow path in the woods. Plays as just a bit of an "S" shot.

14-218'
Another ace run curving to the right through the woods. Not a lot of a line but there is one there.

15-246'
Interesting little hole. You have to play around the corner of the pond, but going in it isn't probably an issue unless you clip the pine tree that's near the edge of it and roll in. You have to play a pretty mean hyzer, as a drive that goes too far straight will get into weeds/woods. The basket is tucked in pretty well near some larger trees.

16-245'
Very narrow off the tee, and stays narrow for a majority of the hole. It does open up a bit closer to the hole but there are also trees protecting the basket. It's almost straight to the basket but it does go slightly to the right.

17-199'
Another narrow fairway through the woods. The fairway turns to the left at about the 120' mark and the basket is behind a mound.

18-572'
Basically a wide open hole. There is a path way to the left that's OB but if you got over there you deserve the penalty There is deep grass behind the basket that is also out of bounds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Clean, sharp looking, butů

2-4    1/31/2015   2/1/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 286  Reviewed: 269  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Near the small parking area at Blue Heron, there lies a beautiful course kiosk with map, club info and sponsors highlighted. There's plenty of space to warm up on the DisCatcher practice basket before firing your controlled ace run at the first basket, but go easy: it lies a mere 15 or so feet short of the pond directly beyond. The summer wild grass field and the pond define the second fairway, which can't really be only 310 feet (my feeling was it's over 400?). The third basket hides around the corner of the pond, just four feet past the first pine. Then you'll play a half dozen holes in the windy open fields and through gaps in the medium vegetation across a drainage run before teasing the woods with the short ace run ninth.

Crossing the bridge to the three holes that run counter-clockwise around a second marshy pond, you come back into the woods for the unusual layout on 13 & 14, back out by the pond for 15, then back over the creek for two more woods holes leading to the 572', open hole 18. With distances in the longer Recreational to Intermediate range, this is a good course for those competitive levels.

The signage is excellent (with posts that include bag hooks), the level concrete tees (on most holes) are perfect for the distances needed, and the shot selection requires control on at least half the holes (more in the summer, when the wild grass areas are long). And many of the holes have clever 'greens' to contend with, such as the little grove on 15 (see picture).

The most challenging hole for me may have been 12, as I tried to 'S' my rhbh tee shot out through the gap between the pond-side vegetation and the small grove of pines on the right, and to ideally have the disc fade past the corner of the pond for the deuce opportunity. All the vegetation has grown considerably since the picture taken when the course was put in!
Cons: The flow of the course is...weird. You walk past the 15th tee to go out to the right (in the woods) for thirteen, walk back beside the fairway you just threw (it's roped to 'force' you into a secondary path) to throw 14 back to where you walked into the woods to begin with. It's kind of a shame that this stands out more than a 'signature hole'. Woods holes 13, 14 & 17 have no tees except a toe board. Since the terrain is dead flat, this stays muddy most of the time. Wonder if they could get a couple of wheelbarrows full of the compacted gravel they started with out here?

You need to keep an eye out for non-players using the paths in the woods: a major safety concern for this relatively busy park situated in the midst of so much suburban housing. Crossing the drainage run three times between 5 & 7 might be a real challenge in wetter weather. And I'm sure the course is probably too much of a challenge for beginners, when the tall grasses are in season: they're going to lose discs there, not just to the ponds (might be reasonable to have at least a few alternate, beginner tees on a handful of holes).

I know a lot of folks try to throw in a tough, long hole to finish with a bang, but playing here in the winter meant no long grasses on the finisher, so it became a heave twice and hope you're in range type of hole, instead of having any 'wow!' factor. I'm reminded of the line from Amadeus, paraphrased for disc golf course design: "One sees such a hole, and can only think, 'Salieri!'
Other Thoughts: The weird twin mud tees at 13 & 14 area also obviously the place to hang out in the woods, with the lone picnic table on the course. Can't imagine why it evolved that way ;)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wet and Woody

5+    6/13/2014   6/14/2014
Review By: jeffhoots
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The nicest course in Johnson County, Indiana. A well maintained park with walking paths, a playground, and lots of space. Concrete tee pads with varieties of distances, obstacles, and shot shaping opportunities. Modern Discatcher baskets. The walk over the bridge between 9 and 10, over the creek, is one of the nicest disc golf course settings around.
Cons: A lot of water is in play. So much that I bought two Innova Dragons and one Innova Wahoo. Not the best layout, but not the worst I've seen either. 5 and 6 can be challenging because the path to get from tee to basket can flood. Also, for the tree holes, after finishing 12, what looks like the next tee is actually 15. Go past 15 into the woods, do 13 and 14, then back out for 15. A lot of unnecessary walking.
Other Thoughts: Being closest to my house, I consider this my home course. Accordingly, I make it challenging by playing all 18 holes and working though my water and tree issues (I get poison ivy just thinking about it). When I need to make it easier, I use the 5 teepad to go to the 6 basket (especially if the path is flooded as mentioned above), skip tree holes 13, 14, 16, and 17. I'm glad it is close by.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great intermediate course

1    10/27/2013   10/27/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 102  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 19 grippy Innova Discatchers that have hole number on them. (18 holes + practice basket).

Concrete tee pads for most holes (see cons).

Challenging intermediate course.

Signage: course map. Signs for each hole include an individual hole map, par, distance, and location for next tee. Signs around the course point you to next tee if any potential for confusion.

Variety: long open bomb holes, short holes with obstructions (trees, etc), blind shots, wooded holes, anhyzers, hyzers, and several water hazards (a pond, creek, and a marsh). Each hole (with exception of the open bomb holes) are unique.

Many baskets are protected by trees, tall grass, or brush.

Water hazards: holes 1-3, 11,12, 15, and 16 have a water hazard. Always adds to the mental game.

Course map and disc golf info at kiosk.

Practice basket.

Trash cans and benches on site.

Solid course for the area. Not as many courses on south side of metro Indy area.

Easy to navigate for the most part (see cons).

Easy to get to.

Bathrooms on site. Very clean and beautiful park. Peaceful.
Cons: One throw pad per hole. This hole course would be so much better if there were alternate tee pads on each hole. They could be same distance, shorter, or longer. It would add that much more variety.

Holes 13, 14, and 17 have natural tees. Although I don't mind natural tees, this takes away from the unity of the course.

Backtracking / extra walking: hole 13 and 14 tees are next to each other going in opposite direction. Have to walk distance of hole 14 to get to 13. After hole 13, you have to walk the distance of 13 to get to tee of 14. After hole 18, you have to walk entire distance of holes 1 and 2 to get to parking lot. This could be solved if additional holes were added. There is room to expand.

Some poison ivy and burrs in the rough.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and will play it if I am in the area again (rare).

I honestly think this course needs to expand to 24 or even 27 holes. There is enough room and it would make this course that much better and would take away from the extra walking. 1 or 2 holes could be added between holes 6 and 7. A hole could be added between 7 and 8 on other side of tall grass. A hole needs to be added between 12 and 13 that ends at tee for 13. Hole 18 could be divided into 2 holes if the tall grass / wildflower area on other side of path is utilized. Two holes could be added after hole 18 that end at parking lot.

If alternate tees were added, a few more trees were planted on open holes, and additional holes were added, this course would definitely be a 4 out of 5.

It has room for growth and improvement. I will definitely play it again if I take a road trip to the south side. I would recommend it if you are in the area or looking for an intermediate course to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty, but design issues

2-4    5/26/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: gvan
Played: 120  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained and beautiful. I really enjoyed a nice casual round.

The other park amenities are not in the way, but you feel close to others in the park. Quite a few people stopped to watch and asked me about the game.

Some holes are great. 1, 11 and 12 are very good. a good shot will be rewarded, but there is some danger. 10 is a nice little hole that ends right into a little cove.
Cons: Poor design hampers this course. Some examples:
Hole 6's tee pad is in a bad place as shots from hole 5 may hit it. Plus, you have to walk back past hole 5's basket to continue down hole 6's fairway. A bridge could resolve this.

Too many tweener holes. Several are wide open and long almost guaranteeing a 3 for intermediate and above players.

13 and 14 are my least favorite kind of hole in disc golf. They found a spot in the woods where there was already a path and made it a fairway. They are short holes and the walk to teach teepad is longer than each hole. If I play this course again, I'll probably skip them. It's easy to do so as the basket for hole 12 is right next to the tee pad for hole 15.

Hole 16 and are also along preexisting paths in the woods, 16 is OK and 17 is quite good.

Hole 18 is 572 feet and wide open. A bit longer than a normal tweener hole, but again, there's not a lot of scoring separation on a hole like that.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course was fun to play as a stop during a road trip. It has a pleasant environment and some holes are well designed. It wouldn't be good for tournament play because of all the short, open holes and tweener holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Columbus vicinity

5+    12/1/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 65  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 11, 12 and 15 are some of my favorites around a marsh.

Nice concrete tee pads

Good signage

Very nice baskets

Good intermediate level challenge

Good length on several holes

Good chance at birdies or even aces on some of the shorter holes.
Cons: Hole 2 is a tough start with the pond on the left and OB on the right....maybe borderline unfair especially for beginners

Front 9 can be quite windy, though as another reviewer reminded me, it's part of the sport!

Holes 13 and 14 have a quirky layout

Other Thoughts: Bring a floater frisbee for the front 9. Signs are posted all along the pond not enter to retrieve discs, but at least a floater can be quite easily retrieved.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 WATER!

1    10/28/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: tonyreynol
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads. Lot's of challenge. Out of bounds areas. The signage is great. Variation.
Cons: The water holes can make it discouraging for players who can't afford to lose discs. 3 holes place next to a large pond, 3 additional holes play over a creekbed, and even 3 more holes play tightly around a large marshland If you're worried about losing discs, don't play here.
Other Thoughts: One of the nicest courses we've played. The wooded tees seem to be "forced" into the mix. Very narrow and not well thought out, although they are playable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Challenging Course, Good Variety

2-4    9/29/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: TheClarkFactor
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery

Not too crowded

Great variety (short v long, hyzer/anhyzer, open v. wooded)

Excellent pads, signs, baskets

Easy Access
Cons: Some holes very tricky for beginners/early intermediates

Several holes where losing discs is a danger

Some OB areas are muddy / full of briars & thorns

Layout is a bit tricky/awkward
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses that I've played. The variety is really what I go for, but almost everything about this course is solid. Beginners may find the course a little frustrating, but intermediate players will enjoy the challenges of this course and advanced players will like the fact that there are a few aceable holes and opportunities to try some new throws. Definitely not the same old park course. Worth the trip!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hole 2

1    10/7/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: k2Keith
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 11/20/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful park, and a great course. Nice baskets, tee pads, signage. Fair mix of open drives, water and woods. Plays around 2 lakes and a stream. 3 holes totally in wooded terrain. Water on hole 2 could be tough, but I like the challenge.
Cons: 3 wooded holes do not have cement pads.
One set of pads and one tee placement.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. Terrain used very well. No hills, but enough variety to make a good game. I would play this course regularly if it were near my house. Well worth the stop if you are traveling through the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/3/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: dickyp1113
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had all the things you first look for in a course, nice signs, baskets and pads. Brand new cement tee pads on 14 holes, the 4 holes in the woods not completed yet. Not sure about the clubs plans in the future for the last 4 pads, but this really stepped this course up. Very new innova baskets were great to have as well. Nice, easy to read signs throughout. It made it very easy to navigate the course, even as a first time player. Overall a decent mix of shots. More open shots in the front nine, but the few obstacles out there forced anhyzer/hyzer lines off the tee. The four wooded holes were short but had some difficult layouts that challeged after the more open front nine. #18 was a nice way to end it after the wooded holes with a straight on, open, 572' hole.
Cons: With only one hole (572' #18) being a long hole, not a very wide range of distances hole to hole and nothing to really let it rip with the exception of that one hole. Open front nine became a little boring after the second hole, just basically a drive and put all the way till 10. Nothing overally challegeing about the course, basically a 3 to 4 disc course by the second time you play it.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful park, with a great layout and overall amenities. Bathrooms right next to the parking lot to start. I thought the scorecards being offered at hole 1, even though this isnt a pay course, was a huge plus! Great place to play with your dog too. I brough mine and she had a blast! They also had doggie bag stations set up throughout. On a side note use caution on #2, a small lake on one side and depending on time of the year, really tall thick grass on the other is just begging to take your disc. Overall a fun play and worth this trip if your within an hour or so. Looking forward to playing this again soon and also for the ace race this Oct!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.