Coal Center, PA 
California University of PA Share
Uploaded By: hogwild428 Hole #6 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 264ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
When in Rome(or California, PA)

1    3/6/2014   3/10/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 nice DGA baskets with some multiple natural tees. Decent tee signs and navigation was fairly easy. Challenges are mostly the elevation changes and wind or tall grass/rough in summer. Tons of elevation and nice scenic views from the top. In case of emergency, there are signs everywhere to contact.
Cons: Lacks trees, but not necessarily nasty brush. Tall grass in the summer, I can only imagine the amount of mowing required. Hole 2 was missing due to construction, and I'm not sure how it would fit into the flow of the course without a complete backtrack.
Other Thoughts: As an open level player from out of town passing by, the course is enough to scratch the itch. I love the elevation changes throughout the course, but the variety of other challenges are lacking as there's only two holes that really play through any kind of woods. There is some nasty brush near some of the baskets you don't want to go in. I'd consider this a decent beginner course. If you like wide open elevated tee shots varying from mostly short to a few longer par 3s, then this is the place for you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

5+    6/27/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: dsmdave
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I love the layout of this course! I find it to be one of the best for a variety of some big throws and a very forgiving course for errand throws.
I use a lot of my discs for the course due to a nice variety.
Really no tree "luck" holes on the entire course.
Great setting and it is very scenic.
Cons: NO teepads! I would rate this course above knob hill if it had teepads. It's the only thing missing.
If your throw is really off good luck finding it in the hay fields or in the vines on 13.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

I like it....but losing a disc is a distinct possibility

2-4    6/5/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: zubeala
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the elevation changes. I usually play in Maryland and we don't have courses like this. Very peaceful setting. The fragrances from the variety of trees and wild flowers is especially pleasant. Most if the holes are medium length. Lots of tees are tucked away in treed alcoves. Views from the top are very nice. Good baskets and signage. Very few bugs surprisingly.
Cons: The grass besides the fairway is anywhere from 1 to 3+ feet tall. If you rip a 200 ft.-300 ft throw and it tail a bit you could spend lots of time searching. There are also a couple of dense areas with thick thorn of rose and wild grape that can just swallow your disc. I don't mind the natural tees, but some are very un-level which can make it tough. Oh yeah, there is a ton of poison ivy in parts of this course. If you are allergic I be sure to where long pants.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this is a really fun course. Probably better when the leaves are down, and the grass is lower. I think it has decent variety. It's a good workout. Figure on about 1:00 - 1:20 for a twosome. Definitely the best college course I have played.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

An Entire Course to Yourself

5+    4/30/2013   5/1/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 78  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice, newer tee signs
-Pretty, scenic view from the top of the hill
-Course is easy to find and easy to find successive holes
-Nice hike with the changes in elevation, but nothing strenuous
-I have only seen a few other people play while I was there, so it often feels like I have the course to myself
-Peaceful, course is entirely set off on it's own (minus one house between holes 6 and 7)
-Course map if you need it
-Recent additions of many benches and trash cans
-Great course for beginners
Cons: -Ample amount of thorn bushes in the rough
-Tees are natural, and not at all established. Someone made an effort to spray paint tee lines a few weeks ago, but those quickly faded away. Tee areas can get muddy
-Holes are open and repetitive, so not a lot of variables or challenges
-No bathroom, so you'll have to go in the woods (if that bothers you)
-Only really two throws that I can completely gun it. But one of them (18) is downhill so I sometimes overthrow it. Even the more open shots, I can't exactly let them rip.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1- You have to throw over a little stream, which you can't perfectly see from the tee, making it more interesting. Hyzer (RHBH) shot.

Hole 2- Wide open straight-ahead shot that throws through a line of trees right before the hole.

Hole 3- Anhyzer shot that throws back over the stream. Again, you can't see exactly where it is, causing some challenge.

Hole 4- The tee position was recently changed. Straight up a hill, boring shot. Used to be an anhyzer around some brush, making it a little harder.

Hole 5- Once again, a shot over the little stream. Short hole, throw straight and you're fine, easy hole in two shots. Throw to the left or right and you are in the thorn bushes.

Hole 6- Typical open hyzer, hole is behind brush.

Hole 7- Slight uphill shot.

Hole 8- Anhyzer shot, with a thick treeline/shrubline to the right. A small opening which you throw through.

Hole 9- Another open, uphill shot.

Hole 10- Open straight shot with hole surrounded by a few trees.

Hole 11- Open shot with hole on the downhill. Tree line to the right.

Hole 12- Open anhyzer shot.

Hole 13- Open shot with massive tree lines to the right and right before the hole. There is an opening in the corner of the two tree lines. Best chance to lose a disc on this course is here, with the thick thornbushes to in that bottom corner, toward the right.

Hole 14- Open shot.

Hole 15- Another open shot, longest hole on the course. Says a par 3 at the course and on here is a par 4.

Hole 16- Anhyzer shot, probably the thinnest line on the course, along with 17.

Hole 17- Two different lines to throw.

Hole 18- As previously noted, this hole could have been placed a lot further away from the tee, making it a great challenge. However, I love the top-of-the-hill shots, so I still enjoyed in.

Favorite holes for me are 1, 2, 3, 7, 15, and 18. A lot of repetition in this course though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Harvard on the Mon

2-4    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: jhilton
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Players of all skill levels can play
- Nice workout climbing the hill
- Pretty view from the top of the farm
- Nice new baskets
- 18 Holes
Cons: - Very uneven tee spots, some dangerously so
- Many holes have the same feel, making the course seem bland at times
- Mostly wide open shots
- Tends to favor RHBH
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 - Wide open side/up hill shot, pretty farm buildings

Hole 2 - Nice longer Par 3, wide open

Hole 3 - Interesting RHBH Hyzer into a cutout around a pretty stream, wide open

Hole 4 - Terrible short uphill hole, wide open but you throw over bushes

Hole 5 - Nice little short straight ace run into a pocket across the pretty stream. Nice old cast iron bathtub next to the bridge

Hole 6 - Ugly little side/uphill toss, wide open till the end. Clearing out some of the thorny scrub brush but leaving the trees near the basket would help this hole.

Hole 7 - Ugly side/uphill toss, wide open shot. The wind comes off the top of the mountain here so disc get pushed way left on RHBH.

Hole 8 - Nice little sharp right turn around a mando tree. This is one of the more memorable holes.

Hole 9 - Wide open, medium length uphill and the beginning of a bland stretch where you throw the same disc over and over again.

Hole 10 - Wide open, side/up hill, nice tree by the basket, use the same disc from the last hole

Hole 11 - Wide open off the top of the hill, pretty view, same disc as before

Hole 12 - Still using the same disc, medium length nice gradual right turn. Painful bushes block the right side of the fairway.

Hole 13 - Downhill, should be a different disc but the throw down let's you continue to keep throwing the same one you have been using for awhile. Open till the end where you fit it through some trees.

Hole 14 - Last of the "same disc" holes. Wide open with a nice old tree by the basket, power down that disc you have been throwing for awhile now.

Hole 15 - Finally a chance to really air out a disc. Wide open, let your big disc rip. Nice old trees guard the basket.

Hole 16 - A very nice hole. Nice little RHBH anhyzer or RHFH shot down a tunnel-ish opening to a basket tucked right.

Hole 17 - Two paths at this basket, could be a touch longer, but nice to throw and stay in the woods.

Hole 18 - This should be an awesome hole where you get to just hammer a big disc down hill but the basket is totally in the wrong spot which stops you from being able to really rip into it. The basket ought to be much further down the hill on the right (closer to the little fenced in area), making it an 800 foot or so Par 4 instead. Missed opportunity in course design.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

1    9/25/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 79  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plenty of space to make a nice course with lots of elevation changes. They have a nice variety of short holes that force you to navigate through the the woods around the farm. They also use the open fields well to let you open up and throw a little. Nice signs make navigation around this course pretty easy.
Cons: Not a lot of chances to really rip big drives. Hole 15 was the only chance to really get behind a drive. Natural tees, which usually aren't bad. Some of the tees didn't seem to give much room to throw fro level ground.
Other Thoughts: Solid course for both beginners and seasoned veterans.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Go Vulcans!

1    9/2/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is not your typical campus course. For one, it's not on CalU's campus; rather, it's on a secluded farm owned and maintained by the university's student association. As such, it lacks the hustle, bustle, crowds, obstacles, and design limitations that many campus courses present while also providing some elevation, length, and shot selections that many campuses cannot provide.

- Signage on each hole, "next tee" arrows on the baskets, a nice info kiosk with a map, benches on some holes on the back nine--all that good course amenity stuff except tees (see cons).

- Nice terrain; scenic and pretty! I want to come back in the peak of the autumn foliage, as I think the views and colors would be excellent.

- The course essentially goes up (mostly on front nine) and down (mostly on back nine) a series of big hills. While there aren't any real true wooded holes besides 5 and 17, many shots require splitting gaps in treelines or finding an occasional anny or hyzer route around big farm trees.

- Decent balance of lefty/righty dogleg shots, but a good majority are just straight shots.

- Two holes stick out in my mind:
1.) #15 = a 505' par 3 (yes, par 3!) drive with the basket protected by a line of trees. Definitely par-able if you have a big arm and can navigate the trees to the pin. A very cool hole and I wish the course had more of these!

#18 = A nice memorable end to your round with a 300+' wide open drive downhill to the basket. IMO, the hole would be super amazing if it were twice as longer and had a little bit of a tree-lined fairway to contend with. You know, like another PASSHE school's 18th hole ;)
Cons: - One of the biggest cons is the lack of teepads. I kind of understand why they don't want to put concrete down, but the grass/dirt tees are hard to drive off--especially considering that many holes go up or downhill.

- With the exception of hole #15, I wish some of the holes were longer to give big arm throwers more opportunities to grip-n-rip. A 600-700 downhill drive would be amazing here. Not sure if safety was a consideration in course design, but it's a shame if they had to sacrifice distance for that.

- Course isn't particularly challenging as many holes are wide open, relatively short, and don't have crazy lines to the basket. I'd recommend this as a good beginner course though and still enjoyable for more seasoned players.

- Nasty nasty nasty briars and other undergrowth along the course in spots. I think every species of vegetation that can cut up your legs is along the fairways. Hole 12 in particular can be a disc eater, so watch your drive.
Other Thoughts: Hate to compare this course so much to IUP's College Lodge, but the two schools are rivals, after all. The clear winner of the disc golf Coal Bowl is IUP, but CalU's course can still put up a few touchdowns.

I really enjoyed my round out here. Beginners have a nice course to practice and develop their shots and more advanced players can really rack up the birdies and go for ace runs. If more holes were like #15 and there were more wooded ones, it would be a phenomenal place to play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Going to California

1    8/11/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I liked the property that the Disc Golf course inhabits, Very hilly with baskets placed in very strategic positions (Though I only saw one basket placement per hole).

trash cans present throughout the course.

For whatever reason, there we're plenty of signs with Emergency contacts thru out the course.

What little liter there was, I picked it up along my way :)
Cons: Some of the fairways are only 8 foot wide ( 0ver 150 ft long, playing for the first time here by myself presents major issues) if that with tall thick grass/weeds "el natural" being the rough.

The path leading to hole # 7 was filled in with briars/ thick overgrowth (Go around to your right and follow brush line to tee # 7 instead of trying to find path)

uneven, Dirt tees

Most of the holes we're short in length, and some back tracking from basket to the next tee is present (but not a major issue).

Not enough benches.
Other Thoughts: I really thought that if this course had decent/ fair fairways it would get more play, but the day I was there was no one was around, and the weather wasn't all that bad to keep someone away from playing on a Saturday afternoon. Not a whole lot of parking, but since there isn't many players I guess that's not an issue. I didn't see any portable restrooms, So I guess one might have to use the woods. Beautiful park, Beautiful scenery. I had to pay toll charges to get from Pittsburgh to California, but the turnpike roads we're near perfect for traveling conditions, so I don't have any issues paying a toll charge, and wouldn't mind paying a toll charge or entry fee to play this course if the fairways we're wider.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  New Course-New Challenges

5+    10/11/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: Goldengary
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of Land; built on 90+ acre farm
-Decent Elevation change; some bomber holes, some finesse holes and some strategy holes.
-Very peaceful, one you make it to the upper part of the course it's just you, nature and DG
Cons: -Tee's not installed yet (will be fly-18 pads when installed)
-Tee Signs not done
-Some wooded ares still "rough
Other Thoughts: This is the first season of the new course; it has only really been playable since the end of Aug. Plans are for Tee's to be installed in Spring and Tee signs should be finished within a few weeks. Course has a lot of potential and is a lot of fun...and for people in the area it's nice not to have to make the hour drive to Pittsburgh to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.