Kaukauna, WI 
Grignon Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
4 / 251ft.   3 / 251ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Long Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Undercover Cops

5+    8/14/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: andrewolson9
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful 18 hole course. Nice spread out front 9 with a tight back nine. Everything you want to see in a course, Grignon's got it!
Cons: Up until today I have not had a problem. I was followed on the front nine holes by what I can only assume to be a undercover officer; he even skipped putting on most holes as I was played extremely fast in order to try to get ahead of him so I can relax and enjoy my time. He walked off into the woods on hole 6 in the opposite direction of the parking lot where the course begins. Then on hole 8 another group of 3 emerged from the woods out of nowhere as soon as I sat down on a pic-nic table and began preparing some food from my backpack. I said hello and they just stared back at me...I threw my driver then looked back and they slowly crept back into the woods. After hole 8 I played hole 18 which brings you back to the parking lot (start of course) and low and behold the first man who was following me was magically there and on his cell phone looking through cars. Wow...Just pathetic that they would stoop to this level.
Other Thoughts: I used to recommend this course to everyone, but now I don't know... They used to pull this same time of harassing behavior at another local course (Tellulah), but that course has been turned into a small nine hole.what a shame. I hope they don't ruin this one too!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/2/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has huge elevation changes on many of the holes throughout the course. There is a great variety of hyzer, straight and anhyzer shots as well as a few holes with multiple lines to the basket. Many of the baskets have challenging putting greens that are either on hill sides or have drop off's close to the basket. A creek comes into play on a few of the holes which adds to the challenge of the course even though you can easily retrieve your disc.

The course is a bit on the short side, but I believe it still has a fairly good variety of hole length. It has two pads on most of the holes to cater to players of all skill level. The course has nice tee signs that list rec par. The course is mostly wooded and although it is a little short, it challenges you to hit your lines and scramble for par when you don't. There is some dense rough, mainly on the front so stay in the fairways. Hole 17 is a great pro par 4 forcing you to decide if you want to lay up for your second shot or go for it and try to make the right turn into the tunnel.

There are nice benches on nearly all the holes and drink machines by the parking lot.
Cons: My biggest con on this course is holes 11-15. They're all the short, 200 ft holes near the street side of the park. They have some mature trees allowing you to shape different lines to the basket which is nice, but they feel repetitive and like a big let down after the fun and challenging front 9. Thankfully the course finishes strong with holes 16-18 which are all quality holes. It feels like the holes on the street side of the park are a little close together and bad shots can easily interfere with another fairway or tee pad.

I imagine the hills could be treacherous when wet although I haven't experienced that first hand. There are nice handrails to help you up these hills so that's very good.

The long pads on 3, 6 and 8 force extremely difficult, borderline impossible lines to even have a remote chance at a birdie. They have curves in the fairways or force S shots that are just not very reasonable.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun, challenging course definitely worth playing if you're in the area. It could be a little tough on new players with the dense rough and on older players with the extreme hills.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be too many so-so holes (despite a Bunch of GREAT holes)

1    6/26/2010   2/27/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(Overall, this course does very well at making you choose your line carefully and it will punish you well for poor execution. Hole 1 is a favorite and starts the course off with a bang! Great downhill shot with basket tucked just inside the woods surrounded by underbrush. Saw your shot off just a little and you will be in serious schule. Flip your drive over and you are gone! Good luck on your come-backer. Hole 3 Long is my least favorite. The only shot is an up-n-over throw…..and then just hope you filter through the canopy nicely = Random luck generator! Not real golf and a waste of a nice opportunity for a good downhill hole. Overall some very nice holes, but there are a few too many short/easy holes and they are all grouped together on 11-16. )

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
(The wooded holes by in large are a perfect test of skill for me and rewarding. I really like the different tests of real DG skill put forth by them!! On the downside, I thought hole 8 was another plinko random luck generator hole and then 11-16 are fun but not rewarding holes. So, 8 of 18 are not too rewarding - hence the grade of a B in the category.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
(As already stated, the creativity and challenge of the wooded holes is awesome. Great use of fairway shapes and dynamic terrain! Again, 11-16 unfortunately drag this grade down.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
(Very nice park with very nice seclusion in a lot of areas (about half the course). Not particularly beautiful or attractive, but well kept and very presentable.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
(Hole 17 is a 491' dogleg - a true 2-throw par-4 hole. I takes two well executed and well shaped midrange throws to card a birdie 3. I like.)

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Some great, some mediocre

1    7/4/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 762  Exp: 12.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course begins in a wooded section of the park with tightly wooded fairways and brushy rough that can really punish an errant shot. After the first hole down and across the sled hill, you'll need to stay accurate in the woods for the rest of the front nine. The back nine plays mostly up by the road in a flat park area with no rough and scattered mature trees. There is some really nice elevation on the front nine, with some excellent steep uphill and downhill holes (steep enough that there are railings on a few of the fairways to help you walk up and down them!), and several pin placements that are conducive to roll aways on missed putts.

The course felt nicely balanced, with a great mix of left and right shots of various different shapes and lengths that will test several different shots. There are no long bomb type holes, but there is decent variety of lengths from shorter ace run holes to longer holes that require a good fairway driver shot from the long tee.

There are dual concrete tees that are in good shape and are nicely leveled. There is a tee sign at the short tee on most holes that shows layout and distance for both tees. The tees are generally close enough together that it's not a hassle to look at the sign if you're playing from the long tee, and both sets are worth playing as they offer slightly different shots on several holes. There is a nice course map in the parking lot, and the flow of the course is good with no navigation issues.
Cons: The back nine is the biggest con here. Most of this part of the course consists of straight shots through mature trees with no risk, and no length. I threw the same putter shot on most of this section of the course, and found it quite boring and a big let down after the very fun beginning of the course. 17s long tee plays across the park entrance road, a little bit of a safety issue if players aren't paying enough attention.

There is lots of erosion in the wooded areas of the course, with no grass to keep the soil in place. There were lots of muddy slick areas, and several places where dirt had washed over and partially covered the tees. It's great to see a course getting that much play, but the erosion issues are only going to get worse. Despite plentiful trash cans throughout the course, there was a surprising amount of garbage on the course, again a sign that the course is well used but disappointing nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: The front nine of this course makes it worth a stop, it's a lot of fun with elevation, tight wooded shots, and great variety in hole shape. Despite the boring back nine, I recommend a round here if you're in the area. Beginners will find a lot of tough holes in the beginning, but the back nine is very beginner friendly. More experienced players will be tested in the woods, then bored with the birdie fest toward the end.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 fun difficult and fun

5+    7/9/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: tomdizzlefizzle
Played: 91  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2011
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Feel good course with some challenging shots. Two sets of tees. The longs make the front 9 much more challenging but the back on the back nine are all similar with a few that don't have back tees. Aces are plentiful at this place. I never had one here but it seems everyone I talk to has had one or several here. Hole 17 is great hole and one of the first of its kind in this area(meaning two skilled upshots for a good par). Well maintained for the most part.











Cons: Smells bad. Heavily played and can be waiting on holes. Only three or four holes where you can rip a big drive on and really only one that plays 400ft.
Other Thoughts: Good course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Unique features and excellent design

5+    5/27/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain found at Grignon is amazing and is utilized fully to make one excellent disc golf course. It is one of the few courses that I play where I DON'T walk around and say "man, they should put a hole or two in there". The park has a creek/runoff that bisects it in half, and above that waterway is your elevated starting point which allows for "almost" and downhill ripper hole, sharp elevation utilized for uphill, downhill, and across hill technical shots, and nice wooded areas bring this all together. Just the right amount of balance for me because I prefer tight technical woods, and there are long and short, right and left, uphill and downhill, and water hazard wooded holes on the majority of the course with just that two or three open holes over 350' to let you rip it out there.
Risky greens. I hate oldschool wide open greens. Here you get pin #2 on a STEEP slope, #8 on a slope after crossing the banks of the creek through amazingly tight scattered trees, and #17 pin right on a nook in the creek with 3 sides surrounding the pin.
The woods are really utilized well along the edges of the dropoff from the parking lot area. This way you get to throw up and down hill on sharp elevation changes. Throw in the creek and you have amazing balance and variety. The woods offer both long alleyways as well as tight technical corridors under a canopy of trees.
Two tees create diverse skilled challenge while the shorts are red/white, and the londs are white/blue skill level
Cons: The area, local traffic, number of users ultimately opens this park up to all the idiots who litter, graffitti, vandalaize, etc. The park is right in the city too, so all the local trouble makers can walk right there and do worthless and useless things. This REALLY takes away from your experience! Tons of garbage, graffiti, screaching tires, douche bag parking lot monkeys, etc.
The "back nine" in the park area is a bit repetitive, but nonetheless challenging and under a canopy of huge oaks and maples, you have the opportunity to take mutiple flight routes to the pin. This is a pro where I can step up to the tee and choose to gun straight at it, play a sidearm, or a backhand hyzer.
The skill level of the tees is too compressed, either the longs should be longer, or shorts shorter. I think just a bit more challenge could help this course, but it may not be worth it because the city park setting and crowds keep you from really truly enjoying the whole experience.
Other Thoughts: Not a true downhill ripper hole, and no pond or marsh to throw over as a water hazard, but this course has some amazing terrain that it utilizes in an excellent way. It has some very risky greens, and like I said is one of only a few courses where I don't walk around with a designer chip on my shoulder wondering what would be better. I think the mature park setting holes on the back nine (10-16) get repetitive and take away somewhat from the course. This park is a great challenge and variety, very well designed, and offers use of some amazing terrain and natural features. I choose to head down here, rather than play any of the Green Bay courses most times.
UPDATE: As I build up more and more reviews, I make it a point to sort all courses I've reviewed by rating. Grignon seems out of whack with my other 3.5 rated courses. I have to downgrade to 3.0. But it is amazingly solid and well balanced!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Driving Through the Smell of Kaukauna to Play!

5+    8/2/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Great use of elevation. This course is located in a very hilly park, and it definitely utilizes that natural benefit by having you frequently shoot uphill, downhill, and across hills. They also provide handrails installed in the steep hillsides (a frequent feature) where needed.
2. Dual tees. Most,(but not all) holes have a long tee, and often they will change the overall way a hole plays, as opposed to just making it longer. Hole #1 is a great example, as a visible basket from the shorts becomes a blind shot from long, with your tee shot having to crest a hill and travel right to left, sharp downhill, to a basket tucked in the left woods three-quarters of the way down the hill. Sometimes, however, you wind up in junctions where the short tee for your hole is the long tee for a hole that shoots directly opposite of you, and this can be awkward with large intersecting groups.
3. Concrete tees. Always a plus.
4. In some holes on the Back 9, the designers have large sand traps around the baskets, which presumably is to keep your upshots from skipping past and going into the nearby busy street. Safety points for this one.
5. Much of the densely-wooded rough has small trails weaving throughout them, so errant shots can usually be quickly recovered. A definite plus to keep the pace moving at a busy park.
Cons: 1. Like I mentioned in discussing the dual tees, sometimes you'll intersect with groups at tee areas that have shared tees. This can be messy, I assume, on one of the park's busier days.
2. Big crowds of people that typically don't adhere to the "4 per group" mentality...fine if you can play through, but when that group of 6 has another 6 or 7 in front of them, it really slows you down. Lots of kids playing longs, too, that should probably be hitting the shorts for now.
3. Some of the Back 9 winds through a playground and features mostly flat land dotted with trees, with many short holes running parallel to each other with a busy street just past some of the holes, so there are obvious safety concerns here. One of my tee shots (on Hole #16) wound up hitting a tree and flying into the road, nearly hitting a carload of people. Still, there were the precautions like the sand traps that really stop your disc from going anywhere, and the holes are short enough that people aren't whipping crazy full-power drives through this crowded area.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course, and I get enough challenge playing it from the long tees when I'm there about once or twice a year. Weekends and summertime seem to be the busiest, and that can lead to spending several hours out here, so my advice is to play it during off-peak times...it's a decent workout, too, a welcome change from some of the flatter courses in the area. As long as they keep taking care of this course, I'll be back to play it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.