Kaukauna, WI 
Grignon Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 233ft.   3 / 233ft.   3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Short Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice course

2-4    5/4/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: ethompson715
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice variation of holes and elevation.
Cons: So much garbage on the ground. WTF is wrong with people.
Other Thoughts: Expect lots of disc golf players to be here on a nice day. If you want the course to yourself come early morning.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hilly, funny course.

5+    10/24/2013   1/28/2014
Review By: Offconstantly
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a great mix of holes. The first hole starts off the fun with a long downhill shot to a tucked pin. Awesome starting hole. Holes 10-16 are all ace'able, which makes it fun. I am usually needing a few birdies by then so that is a great section of the course. Tee pads are ok. There are a number of benches and tables throughout the course for resting, wink, wink. Most basket areas have a good layer of wood chips. The 8th hole is my fav. It involves a river and lots of great lines to pick from. Most of park is dedicated to disc golf. Nice little putting area near 1st tee with a pavilion to.
Cons: Can be a bit slow going due to many of the short holes, lots of people/leagues and lots of breaks are the picnic tables. 3 can be dangerous when walking to 4 tee. The shorter holes can be to easy at times. I like the short ones but I think there are a few to many, but what do I know. Garbage cans have always been over flowing. I have played here more than 20 times and I have never seen the garbage cans without trash piled up around the can because it's so full.
Other Thoughts: Really like this course. Just a tip.....I wear my golf shoes when I play here. Some of the holes go up a mud hill and can be tough walking. Have fun. I know I do.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A mix of shots.

5+    9/25/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: Hammer26
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads on most of the holes. Front 9 is quite technical from the long tees and between short and long there is quite a difference. 1 and 3 are blind from the longs where as shorts arent. 2 and 4 share tee pads which can make all longs a little difficult on crowded days. 4 long is becoming a canyon shot. 5 wide open from both. 6 short is an anny or forehand where 6 long becomes a placement drive and not the easiest as discs tend to skip on the rocks(fun hole). 7 same shot both pads but long brings a V tree into play but great shots at both locations can bring up 2s, water near the basket creating a peninsula to throw onto, ground is hard here and discs tend to skip. 8 short is an easy hyzer long is a nice s curve. Water in ply on this hole. 7 and 8 used to be short easy holes but have been made more difficult since the course was put in. 9 short up hill. 10 easy from short, long brings in more trees. 11 straight. 12 fairly straight with and large tree in your view. 13 14 and 15 are fairly short with some trees. 16 long tunnel shot with some routes to the sides. 17 the best hole on the course. Hard to get a 3 here as placement shots are critical. Water on this hole as well. Tunnel shot with water on the left and rough to the left. 18 used to be straight up the hill now dogleg right. Narrow fairway requires a good straight shot.
Cons: Hole 4 is getting a little over grown. Back 9 can be a little scary cause errant shots pose a danger to many others if its crowded. Some danger of getting hit by errant shots. Afternoons and warm spring days are not recommended as it can be very crowded then, stick to the morning or early after noon.
Other Thoughts: Overall one of my favorites ive played. Not super long by any means just technical which is fun. Back 9 is nice relief for a bad front nine. Some holes have changed a bit since I first played there 7 and 8 are longer and more difficult but much more interesting. hole 10 is also moved but not much more difficult. 12 was moved and im glad as I have 3 aces on that hole. 17 is one of the best holes in the area. Difficult from both locations and easy to wreck a round. Short tee is duecable but ive never actually seen it happen just some close calls. High speed drivers arent really necessary here as a few fairway drivers mids and putters will do the trick. Benches on all the holes is also a plus.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Thank you Gramps!!

1    10/26/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 17.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The way the land is used here is absolutely perfect.
-The course designer "gramps" was one of the nicest most personable gentlemen Ive ever had the pleasure of meeting and playing with, Thank you Gramps!!
-A creek winds through the course offering challenges on several holes.
-Amazing use of elevation, some holes have you throwing almost straight up, some holes have you throwing almost straight down.
-I love the technicalness at this park, most holes have a quirky turn or have the basket placed in a very tough spot with potential to punish you on bad upshots.
-Risky greens, most holes have a pin placement that makes you nervous to putt because of rollaway potential or water or some other scary element to contend with, I love that danger!!
-Benches at most holes, secluded "break" spots for chillin.
-Garbage cans at most holes, gramps discourages bringing bottles on the course because local kids have been known to smash them on the tee pads, gramps says "dont bring bottles and they wont have em to break", makes sense to me.
-Dual concrete pads, pads are in excelent shape.
-Very nice new,detailed teesigns.
-Railings to help with the up and down hill climbs,very cool!!
-Soda machines and a nice pavilion to hang out in before or after the round.
-Nice mix of woded to open fairways, short technical holes to long, big arm"chuckin" holes.
Cons: -The park is a work in progress, the city cuts trees and bushes randomly as they see fit, this has negatively affected the design Gramps had originally envisioned for a few of the holes.
-Back 9 holes are mainly short ace runs, con?not really.
Other Thoughts: -Grignon is an amazingly fun course to play, I took a trip to wisconsin to play 8-10 courses and Grignon was by far the funnest course I played. The course is beautiful from begining to end. Every corner I walked around was a "wow" moment as I tried to figure out my next shot. This course was not too short and not too long, I had a great time playing it. It really tested my skills, with the ever changing of holes, short to long to big and open to tight through trees. Rich Martin is the man!! He has done a wonderful job here and we had the pleasure of playing with him while he told us stories about the park and explained future things that were in the works for it, Rich "gramps" was the perfect guide and the nicest guy, Ill never forget what a great time I had. I will definitely be going back to Grignon next year. It was kind of hard for me to give this course only a 4. I wanted to give it a 4.5 because of the awesome experience I had there but tried to keep my review based on just the course and not just the amount of fun I had playing it!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Grignon Goodness!

1    10/30/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Grignon has 18 holes that work their way up, down, and around a large wooded hill and a flat, grassy park-style area that has a wealth of large oaks to throw through and around. A creek comes to play on several holes, although it would be pretty difficult to lose anything in it.
- Outstanding use of the available elevation. The parking lot starts at the top of the hill and #1 has you throwing downhill right off the bat. The next couple of holes go up and down this wooded hill with short, tight technical holes before working around to the other side of the hill. Much of the back nine is mostly flat, but the last several holes again use the hill to maximum potential. #18 has you throwing up it one last time and puts you right back at the parking lot.
- The use of water is also outstanding. The creek that winds around the backside of the hill has been implemented prominently into several holes, most notably #17, a long 90-degree turning hole where if you miss the turn you're either in the creek or over it. After the bend, it's probably 200+' to the basket with trees on both sides waiting to slap down anything off-line and the creek to your left.
- Great risk/reward. Water and elevation provide a wealth of risk/reward opportunities, as do the many mature oaks in the park section of the course. Ace runs are available all over the back nine, but only if you can hit one of the many possible lines through the (somewhat) closely-spaced trees. Another hole has the basket on a small promontary of sorts, with the creek on three sides and a blind hyzer shot from the tee.
- Decent concrete tees (longs and shorts on some holes) and baskets in good shape. Trashcans and benches. Railings on some of the steeper climbs.
Cons: - Holes 2 and 4 share tee pads. Actually a pretty efficient set up, but can get backed up from time to time. #2's long is #4's short, and vice versa. Saves money on extra tees, keeps things compact, and is only ever an issue on crowded days.
Other Thoughts: - Grignon is an outstandingly fun course. Maybe not a "destination course" per se, but definitely worth the time if you're in the area. You'll be sorry if you miss this little gem!
- No glass bottles allowed. Not really a "con," as this rule helps to keep this course neat and clean for everyone.
-Thanks to Rich Martin, the designer, for coming out and giving us the tour! Your kindness and insight were much appreciated!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/11/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: sopamr24
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of hole types and distance. The brush isn't too dense, and there's lots of paths to find your discs in the woods, vending machines, signs on every hole, and a very nice spot to throw distance throws (when there's not soccer games going on)
Cons: It seems like this course could get very muddy if it rained/is raining. There's some steep hills that you could slip on going up or down, but there's railings to hold onto. some of the holes are very close together, and there was 2 holes that shared the same tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a good course for any skill level, it's not too hard to find ur discs when u lose them, but it's still challenging enough for skilled players.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Variety of the Variety

1    11/7/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) I have to give this course an absolute high grade because of the design. While the maintenance is slightly lacking compared to others, the design and use of this land more than makes up for the issues with maintenance. Tough tough holes although tight and challenging, the shots can be made. Bring your A game or stay home cause if you are off you will struggle and not want to come back. I want to come back over and over to try and excute the shots!

2) Benches at some or most holes which is nice to have as I assume the course can be slow to play when it is busy.

3) Plenty of garbage cans, but not enough people use them. A soda machine in the parking lot and a rain shelter at the beginning of the course is an added plus too. It seems like it would be a great place to hangout for the day!

4) Dual concrete tees prvide two different courses. The added distance of the pro tees make the shot just that much harder although it doesn't change the hole much, just the length needed before the doglegs.

5) Very nice tee signs in my opinion, at least way better than most signs at most course. Distances listed and a hole diagram. A giant map at the beginning of the course too in the parking lot.

6) Railings on the uphill holes are nice because if it is at all slick I could imagine people sliding down some of those slopes. It might stop a shot by hiting the upright pole, but odds are it will only help you from going deeper into the woods.
Cons: 1) My biggest fault on this course is porbably the maintenance of some of the areas. There are woodchips on most of the holes and fairways, but the uphill and downhill holes probably lose those chips a couple times a year from big washouts. I can imagine the course being almost unnavigable on those wet days. If you aren't a hiker you may want to avoid this course! Some of the shule/natural areas also could use a little thinning. Although it is kindof helpful to have dense buckthorn lining the fairway because it can generally kick you back into the fairway as opposed to taking you deeper into the woods. But it can be prety dense all the way through the wooded areas.

2) Course seems to favor the RHFH or LHBH. This isn't a huge con but these seem to be more holes forcing that type of shot than there are RHBH holes. The hole in the open park area don't really favor anything as you can choose your line, but the wooded ones seem to mostly go right, and all of the uphillers go to the right. I would have liked to have an uphiller that shoots off to the left.

3) A few of the wooded holes have near impossible lines. Although I enjoy a challenge sometimes it is nice to not just have to wing it and hope. Specifically that is how I felt on #4 the big hyzer throw. You cannot know what gap you hit because you cannot see it, you just have to throw and hope.

4) A little bit of vandalism, and as much as I hate to say this, it is kindof expected on those busy city courses.

5) Not at all beginner friendly. Even the short tees require a lot of shot execution that beginner simply do not have. They need to control their shots even if they just layup on many of the holes.

6) I didnt really see the road as being in play but I guess if you really overthrow a few baskets it is possible. The proximity of the tees and basket on holes 10-16 do create a slight dangerous situation.
Other Thoughts: Wow is about all I can say. You pull in past the 7 easiest, flattest, most open holes on the course which is where you try and make up for all the bogies you might have on the first 9 holes and the last 2 holes. I am going to go hole by hole here with my opinions of the holes.

1) Well designed hole with the challenge of a sideslope down the big hill, a blind basket over the hill from the tee, but with a cut into the woodline and the basket placed about 10' in. My local playing partner wanted to throw to show me the line and he threw one off to the left into the woods, short of the gap. I then parked my drive 6 feet from the basket. He was impressed and I was happy to get a 2 on that hole especially from the long tee.

2) Extreme uphiller and the basket placed about 40' in to the right. No turf to speak of,, just dirt and maybe some mulch, so depending on how you land your disc it may or may not roll away. My suggestion throw it up to the railing and try and sink a long putt. A good hole for a sidearm.

3) Extreme downhiller and a tough gap to hit from the long pad. You need to keep your disc straight off the tee and then have it cut but only slightly to get to the bottom where the basket it. Awesome hole!

4) Massive downhill hyzer shot over a lot of trees. I parked it about 20' from the long pad and shanked the putt otherwise I would have dueced a tough tough hole.

5) Hole starts in the woods and shoots across the sledding hill to a basket tucked into the woods on the other side.

6) Another tough hole with the basket uphill and tucked well in to the right. A perfect hole for a sidearm to get you near the basket. Again I wish I could throw sidearm.

7) A long hole that shoots down and to the left over the crest of a hill. Keep it right if anything or you will be in jail and have no shot at the basket. I threw min left and ended up with a 5 because I couldnt get out of the woods.

8) A long throw through the woods and across a small creek. It is tough to decide where to cut across the creek. I recommend throwing straight down the right side of the creek towards the next tee. You can have a decent look at birdie from about 45' from there, but the other route there are simply too many small trees that can affect your chance at a birdie putt.

9) Another big uphiller and the pin tucked off to the right again. Another perfect sidearm hole and it is short (131) I think. I overshot the basket with my hyzer flip stingray but still made the 30'.

Holes 10-16 are all very similar. There is a smattering of trees in your way but multiple lines you can throw to get to the basket. All pretty good and still somewhat challenging holes despite the holes being shorter and more open than the wooded holes. You still have to execute the shots to get your birdies, but any tree shot can force you to take a 3 or maybe even a bogey if you hit one off the tee and then hit another trying to get to the basket.

17) This holes is just plain cruel and difficult. It is a fairly tight little gap to stay through off the tee, but you need to get far enough down the fairway to even see the basket which is another 100-150' in to the right. A creek left the whole way and a 6' dropoff into the creek too. Tough tough hole but I love it.

18) Another one of those uphill left to right shots required. I threw that same hyzer flip with my stingray and got it to take the corner and ended up about 25' away. I tanked the putt again. Man did I execute shots out here when I needed to, but I just couldnt make the putts! Awesome course with an awesome design, good variety, and a constant challenge. When it does open up a little you still have trees to avoid and shots to execute, but you have a much better chance to make birdies on 10-16 than you do on 1-9 and 17, 18.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great workout

1    9/5/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: wheelz25
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes. woods provide a challenge. Some holes allow very long drives. Not very crowded. The course starts out with a very scenic view on top of a giant hill. Hole 1 starts at the top of the hill. The hole is in a little inlet into the woods; a perfect start to this course. Being on the hill can be trouble though if your disc rolls. Make sure you watch for others down at hole 5(at the base of the hill) because your disc will probably stop rolling right in hole 5's fairway. All in all, the front nine is a workout, challenge, and fun experience all together. Hole 17 is very challenging. The fairway is very narrow with trees on one side and a creek on the other. Also, the pin placements are near perfect. Two of the holes have a pin on a small peninsula surrounded by the creek. Keep your throw low and hope it doesn't skip or you'll be trying to find a way down in the creek to get your disc.
Cons: The creek is very muddy. It can be hard to navigate through or around it. Make sure you have good footholes on rocks or the creek bed. Holes 10 through 16 aren't truely special, but they still provide some challenge and fun for less experienced players. Also, hole 18 has a crazy sharp incline. If your makes it up and stays in the fairway, you just had an excellent shot! The most likely outcome is that your disc will get stuck in the woods on either side of the fairway, and you'll be trying to find it. Nobody likes doing that right?! If your disc starts to roll back to you when it gets up the hill, just stay at the tee and try again. Holes 2 & 3 provide quite a hike up and down a hill as well. I guess it's not a huge problem, but if they didn't have raillings, it'd be difficult to get to the top or bottom without slipping.
Other Thoughts: Bring your hiking shoes! This course has tons of hill climbing. The creek provides challenges on plenty of holes; however, it is pretty muddy, slippery, and difficult to navigate. Just don't throw your disc down there and you'll save yourself a lot of trouble. If your nervous about throwing your disc out in the road, or it skipping out to the road, don't worry. Holes 11, 13, and 16 have sand pits around the hole that will stop your disc. Aim to hit them and your approach will be pretty descent. Enjoy the course everyone!!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/18/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: eaglechick123
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: lots of elevation change on the front 9 flat on the back 9 but there if enought trees to still make it challanging, hole 17 is the most challenging its the longest and its not a straight shot, the sign are accurate
Cons: back 9 are by a busy street, can be smelly
Other Thoughts: it is one of my fav. courses to bad it like a 45 min drive from the house

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/6/2007   5/31/2009
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2011
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Two cement tee boxes at every hole
-The course incorporates a lot of variations in elevation into its holes. Some holes playing uphill and then making a sharp dogleg, and others playing downhill and curving so that you are throwing blind to the basket.
-There is a high level of risk/reward when playing. You can choose to play short and safe to make par, or you can go all out and make a run for the basket. This especially applies on the front nine holes.
-Water comes into play on a few holes, as there is a small creek that runs through the park. On hole 7 the basket is on a small peninsula and if you overthrow it, you'll end up in the water.
-There are plenty of ace opportunities on the back 9 that plays through the playground area.
-There is also a practice basket by the soda machines.
Cons: -The course can get quite muddy after it rains, as most of the fairways on the wooded holes are just dirt.
-The back 9 holes can feel a little too easy at times, as the area is a bit flat.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Grignon is a well maintained public course that offers a complete disc golf experience, from long downhill bombs to grip-and-rip open holes, to holes that utilize throws that you don't usually use.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.