Kaukauna, WI
Grignon Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
4 / 251ft.   3 / 251ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Long Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Thank you Gramps!!

1    10/26/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 17.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The way the land is used here is absolutely perfect.
-The course designer "gramps" was one of the nicest most personable gentlemen Ive ever had the pleasure of meeting and playing with, Thank you Gramps!!
-A creek winds through the course offering challenges on several holes.
-Amazing use of elevation, some holes have you throwing almost straight up, some holes have you throwing almost straight down.
-I love the technicalness at this park, most holes have a quirky turn or have the basket placed in a very tough spot with potential to punish you on bad upshots.
-Risky greens, most holes have a pin placement that makes you nervous to putt because of rollaway potential or water or some other scary element to contend with, I love that danger!!
-Benches at most holes, secluded "break" spots for chillin.
-Garbage cans at most holes, gramps discourages bringing bottles on the course because local kids have been known to smash them on the tee pads, gramps says "dont bring bottles and they wont have em to break", makes sense to me.
-Dual concrete pads, pads are in excelent shape.
-Very nice new,detailed teesigns.
-Railings to help with the up and down hill climbs,very cool!!
-Soda machines and a nice pavilion to hang out in before or after the round.
-Nice mix of woded to open fairways, short technical holes to long, big arm"chuckin" holes.
Cons: -The park is a work in progress, the city cuts trees and bushes randomly as they see fit, this has negatively affected the design Gramps had originally envisioned for a few of the holes.
-Back 9 holes are mainly short ace runs, con?not really.
Other Thoughts: -Grignon is an amazingly fun course to play, I took a trip to wisconsin to play 8-10 courses and Grignon was by far the funnest course I played. The course is beautiful from begining to end. Every corner I walked around was a "wow" moment as I tried to figure out my next shot. This course was not too short and not too long, I had a great time playing it. It really tested my skills, with the ever changing of holes, short to long to big and open to tight through trees. Rich Martin is the man!! He has done a wonderful job here and we had the pleasure of playing with him while he told us stories about the park and explained future things that were in the works for it, Rich "gramps" was the perfect guide and the nicest guy, Ill never forget what a great time I had. I will definitely be going back to Grignon next year. It was kind of hard for me to give this course only a 4. I wanted to give it a 4.5 because of the awesome experience I had there but tried to keep my review based on just the course and not just the amount of fun I had playing it!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Grignon Goodness!

1    10/30/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Grignon has 18 holes that work their way up, down, and around a large wooded hill and a flat, grassy park-style area that has a wealth of large oaks to throw through and around. A creek comes to play on several holes, although it would be pretty difficult to lose anything in it.
- Outstanding use of the available elevation. The parking lot starts at the top of the hill and #1 has you throwing downhill right off the bat. The next couple of holes go up and down this wooded hill with short, tight technical holes before working around to the other side of the hill. Much of the back nine is mostly flat, but the last several holes again use the hill to maximum potential. #18 has you throwing up it one last time and puts you right back at the parking lot.
- The use of water is also outstanding. The creek that winds around the backside of the hill has been implemented prominently into several holes, most notably #17, a long 90-degree turning hole where if you miss the turn you're either in the creek or over it. After the bend, it's probably 200+' to the basket with trees on both sides waiting to slap down anything off-line and the creek to your left.
- Great risk/reward. Water and elevation provide a wealth of risk/reward opportunities, as do the many mature oaks in the park section of the course. Ace runs are available all over the back nine, but only if you can hit one of the many possible lines through the (somewhat) closely-spaced trees. Another hole has the basket on a small promontary of sorts, with the creek on three sides and a blind hyzer shot from the tee.
- Decent concrete tees (longs and shorts on some holes) and baskets in good shape. Trashcans and benches. Railings on some of the steeper climbs.
Cons: - Holes 2 and 4 share tee pads. Actually a pretty efficient set up, but can get backed up from time to time. #2's long is #4's short, and vice versa. Saves money on extra tees, keeps things compact, and is only ever an issue on crowded days.
Other Thoughts: - Grignon is an outstandingly fun course. Maybe not a "destination course" per se, but definitely worth the time if you're in the area. You'll be sorry if you miss this little gem!
- No glass bottles allowed. Not really a "con," as this rule helps to keep this course neat and clean for everyone.
-Thanks to Rich Martin, the designer, for coming out and giving us the tour! Your kindness and insight were much appreciated!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/11/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: sopamr24
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of hole types and distance. The brush isn't too dense, and there's lots of paths to find your discs in the woods, vending machines, signs on every hole, and a very nice spot to throw distance throws (when there's not soccer games going on)
Cons: It seems like this course could get very muddy if it rained/is raining. There's some steep hills that you could slip on going up or down, but there's railings to hold onto. some of the holes are very close together, and there was 2 holes that shared the same tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a good course for any skill level, it's not too hard to find ur discs when u lose them, but it's still challenging enough for skilled players.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Some great, some mediocre

1    7/4/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course begins in a wooded section of the park with tightly wooded fairways and brushy rough that can really punish an errant shot. After the first hole down and across the sled hill, you'll need to stay accurate in the woods for the rest of the front nine. The back nine plays mostly up by the road in a flat park area with no rough and scattered mature trees. There is some really nice elevation on the front nine, with some excellent steep uphill and downhill holes (steep enough that there are railings on a few of the fairways to help you walk up and down them!), and several pin placements that are conducive to roll aways on missed putts.

The course felt nicely balanced, with a great mix of left and right shots of various different shapes and lengths that will test several different shots. There are no long bomb type holes, but there is decent variety of lengths from shorter ace run holes to longer holes that require a good fairway driver shot from the long tee.

There are dual concrete tees that are in good shape and are nicely leveled. There is a tee sign at the short tee on most holes that shows layout and distance for both tees. The tees are generally close enough together that it's not a hassle to look at the sign if you're playing from the long tee, and both sets are worth playing as they offer slightly different shots on several holes. There is a nice course map in the parking lot, and the flow of the course is good with no navigation issues.
Cons: The back nine is the biggest con here. Most of this part of the course consists of straight shots through mature trees with no risk, and no length. I threw the same putter shot on most of this section of the course, and found it quite boring and a big let down after the very fun beginning of the course. 17s long tee plays across the park entrance road, a little bit of a safety issue if players aren't paying enough attention.

There is lots of erosion in the wooded areas of the course, with no grass to keep the soil in place. There were lots of muddy slick areas, and several places where dirt had washed over and partially covered the tees. It's great to see a course getting that much play, but the erosion issues are only going to get worse. Despite plentiful trash cans throughout the course, there was a surprising amount of garbage on the course, again a sign that the course is well used but disappointing nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: The front nine of this course makes it worth a stop, it's a lot of fun with elevation, tight wooded shots, and great variety in hole shape. Despite the boring back nine, I recommend a round here if you're in the area. Beginners will find a lot of tough holes in the beginning, but the back nine is very beginner friendly. More experienced players will be tested in the woods, then bored with the birdie fest toward the end.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Grignon: "Green-yes"

5+    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grignon ("green-oh") Park has excellent variety of holes. Short (200-300), long (350-400), three steep uphill, two downhill, straight and both directions of curved holes are all present. The three most sloped holes have railings to aid climbing. 13 out of 18 holes have alternate tees. All tee boxes are cement for good footing. Signs with distance measurements are present for all holes. Nearly every tee box has its own permanent bench. Most fairways that are prone to become muddy are blanketed by wood chips. Grass in surrounding areas and non-chipped fairways is well-maintained. Course therefore is easy to deal with in wet conditions. Long tees add a significant amount of distance and challenge. All but two holes are wooded and provide good shade for hot days. Soda machines, open shelter, and large parking lot provide a warm welcome.
Cons: Back 9 has three to four similar holes in terms of route and distance. Signs have inaccurate illustrations of holes. Some course users do not take good care of course (writing nonsense/profanity on signs, abusing baskets, slow play, noise disturbances). Occasionally present, local factory odor may bother some. Hole 4 is almost entirely blind and can often eat discs due to overgrowth. Children playing near soccer field can hinder disc play on holes 1 and 5.
Other Thoughts: Holes on the front 9 are longer (300-400 feet) and generally require more precise shots from either set of tees. Aside from number 17, back 9 is all 200-250 foot holes with two to three possible routes each. Course is designed by a left-hand, backhand player and therefore is well suited to right-hand, sidearm players. Shallow stream comes into play on holes 7, 8, 17.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun difficult and fun

5+    7/9/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: tomdizzlefizzle
Played: 88  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2011
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Feel good course with some challenging shots. Two sets of tees. The longs make the front 9 much more challenging but the back on the back nine are all similar with a few that don't have back tees. Aces are plentiful at this place. I never had one here but it seems everyone I talk to has had one or several here. Hole 17 is great hole and one of the first of its kind in this area(meaning two skilled upshots for a good par). Well maintained for the most part.











Cons: Smells bad. Heavily played and can be waiting on holes. Only three or four holes where you can rip a big drive on and really only one that plays 400ft.
Other Thoughts: Good course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 front nine 4, back nine 3 rated

5+    12/20/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 685  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 25.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two sets of concrete tees
Short tees shoveled as of today....which leads to second pro: baskets stay in all winter...which leads to third pro....metal railings installed to hold on to during steep walks uphill on #2, #9, and #18....which leads to gimmicky local rule....if you get the grind, off the railing, next shot still counts as one. (No one really uses this rule, but it's fun none the less).
Front nine from long tees very challenging.
Hole #17; from either tee, "toughest of 108 total holes in the valley"....@ 180 ft. from short tee to reach small landing area, with creek deep and to left (landing area only 35 feet...if you're short, you have no look around the corner) ....to look at another 150 ft. tunnel shot with creek running entire length on left and pin on peninsula; surrounded by creek.
Less than one hand full of known deuces on #17; in ten years of play.
#6 from long tee is another of the toughest "holes in the valley." (update in 2011: unfortunately, last summer, the city, thinking they were being helpful, cut out the entire shrubbery area leading to this pin; which, for years, offered a choice as to which way you would come at this basket...a real shame; and thus, no longer perhaps the second toughest hole in the valley; though still a good hole)
Hole #8 from long tee is a very good/tough hole as well. This hole finishes over the "Steady Ed bridge." Ed was involved with the design here. Creek in play if you hit one of the blockers; guarding the, across the creek.... hillside, pin.
Creek in play on 3 well designed holes. But, all discs retrievable.
Park supplies more yearly wood chips for fairway, and fall away greens; than any course I've ever seen. While these do wash away periodically, the amount that get spread more than once each year, makes the hilly fairways in particular, function well, for as steep as they are. Course maintenance is mentioned, especially for these holes, on a review or two, and this is primarily because these holes are tough to maintain. However, the amazing contribution of mulch, spread here.../ by parks department and course regulars, keeps these holes quite function-able the majority of the time. Any hole on steep slope is going to be slippery when it's real wet.
Huge course map and sign at parking lot. Back of main course sign, left empty for anyone to sign when ace is hit. Many, many signatures from years of aces on here. Great history marker for aces, and idea at the forefront of it's time.
You will notice that reviewers claim there to be bias both ways on this course???
The course designer is actually LHBH. I believe you will end up saying, this is a quality design. Which ever holes eat you up....or show your weak area, are going to leave you with the impression that the course is biased in that direction. There are actually 6 rhbh heiser, 4 rhbh anheiser, 7 straight, and one with both options equally desirable. Many of the straight ones offer a tight line for all style of throwers, on either side, as well. There are both uphill and downhill versions of each shot. Nice elevation here.
Trash cans on many holes, but, this course gets a lot of play. That means what it means. Locals actually do a very nice job of maintenance, but you will more than likely see a can or sports drink bottle or two. Please contribute with clean up if something appears out of place garbage wise.
Make some cash for an ace on top. I have some issues for the back nine, listed in the cons section....i.e. length of those holes. Put a positive on it, and get an ace.
Short tee quality. A round from both sets of tees is not a waste of time.
Every pin on the front nine, has a fall away aspect to it.
Three pins on the back nine have road o.b. involved with a quite off line, or deep, shot. Quite tough to cause safety concerns though.
Nice, covered, seating area near tee #1 and practice basket. Interesting practice bucket area; wooded. Blue, ionized, Mach 5 practice basket.
Good tee signs.
Cons: Hills here are steep. This is not a ski hill course; by and means. But, there are a number of holes: #1, #2, #3, and #18, where a person or two has been known to fall on his butt; especially in the winter or when very wet. I consider these to be good holes. There are a number of other hill climbs that are not so "fall prone"; but, are short and steep. Creek banks are rather steep as well. To sum this up....I have a couple of friends with bad knees or ankles, who play here very little. (This elevation is comparable to Triangle Sports Area, Green Bay.)
Holes # 9 - #16 are relatively short; not much over 200. When playing against a field; i.e. leagues, doubles, tourney play, etc., you will have to hit a number of these for deuce, to be running with the top dogs. For many, as mentioned elsewhere, this will be an opportunity to return strokes you may have lost if playing longs on front (you'll also like to have an extra on your card for possible bogey on #17).
Two of these eight holes have been lengthened nicely in recent times a plus....with another nice change coming in 2010, I believe).
Course can be crowded; as fox cities' courses are loved and well used.
Other Thoughts: Extremely rare for soccer play to be an issue.
Fairway for #1 involves sledding hill during winter. Shot can be played, but some care must be exercised.
Top of course, seen from road, when arriving, was designed specifically for family play/older players (course designer grand masters age lol). Course designer was/and is, committed to youngsters and families joining the disc golf community in a big way. Fox cites courses in general, and this course, in particular, have achieved this quite well. Therefore, what can be listed as a con, was intentional. As noted, you will more than likely need the strokes gained on the back nine, to counter those taken on the front; and #17..
I have noted a couple of times that locals take pride in Grignon. This is not HBB, simply the truth. A lot of steady maintenance happens here. My rating reflects bias in the other direction if anything. This is very near to a a 4 rated course/long tees, on the front.
One thing I find interesting, is when the course designer has made a short tee tougher than the long. See if you don't agree with me, that this is the case on hole #16.
Hole #1 used to sometimes require a putt through a "Y" tree near the bucket. Unfortunately, that tree is now gone. Still a fun hole though. Heavy schule early left, another hill to go down, deep right.
The mill can smell like a paper mill some times. Especially on heavily overcast days.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/19/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: rscd20
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great looking permanent signs. Excellent, huge course map in the parking lot.
Vending machine at first pad
Many holes slightly hidden both right and left require accurate distance as well as curve
Busy enough to meet people and catch a round
A few up hill and down hill shots, but lots of tight, control shots through woods
Cons: Signs don't tell much. No indication of water or trees/bushes.
Plays right next to soccer field where young kids have a league
Plays right next to the road where a long throw can easily go into traffic
Holes 10-16 all mash together on top of hill, hard to tell which pin to throw to
Other Thoughts: I loved getting out in the woods and into the open a lot. In and out through the trees. The long and short pads really do offer quite a difference on some of the holes. Could be played almost as 2 totally different courses

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    12/3/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: shoe59
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front 9 has some nice elevation changes and a couple blind shots that are fun. The course provides some opportunities to show off your tehcnical skills, there are a few tight fairways with holes that are tucked in tricky spots.

Each hole is unique, there aren't any "repeat" holes.

The back 9 is short, flat, and easy (besides 17 and 18) and is a nice break from the hilly front 9.

This course provides a nice happy medium between "brutally wooded" and "wide open"

-Cement Teepads
-Woodchips on most fairways (this keeps the course very dry after rainfall)
-Benches on every hole
-Nice signage
-Pins up year round
-Soda vending machine near 1st tee, also accessible near hole 9 if you're thirsty. Water fountain on hole 13.
Cons: It is directly next to a paper mill, and the stench can get pretty nasty if you're not used to it -- I play here all the time so I don't even notice it anymore.

Not enough distance to satisfy big arms. The back 9 is mostly short, flat holes around 200-240 ft. No holes over 400 ft. on the course.

The trees will bite you. The leaves get pretty thick in the summer and some trees have wood thorns sticking out of them. Keep an eye on your disc, they get stuck up in the gnarled trees easily here.
Other Thoughts: Hole 17 is the signature hole on this course, it's a wicked dogleg right with a shallow creek lining the left side of the fairway -- the pin is tucked pretty tightly on a bit of an "island" with the creek surrounding it. It's about 150 ft. to the dogleg, then a sharp 90 degree right turn towards a tightly wooded alley and about 200 more ft. to the pin. Par is the new birdie on this hole.

I always throw 10-20 distance drives down the big hill when I'm done playing for the day, unless of course there's a soccer game going on... which brings up another point: sometimes little kids get in the way on holes #1 and #5, as there are a few soccer fields nearby and the soccer players' siblings like to run around.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Variety of the Variety

1    11/7/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) I have to give this course an absolute high grade because of the design. While the maintenance is slightly lacking compared to others, the design and use of this land more than makes up for the issues with maintenance. Tough tough holes although tight and challenging, the shots can be made. Bring your A game or stay home cause if you are off you will struggle and not want to come back. I want to come back over and over to try and excute the shots!

2) Benches at some or most holes which is nice to have as I assume the course can be slow to play when it is busy.

3) Plenty of garbage cans, but not enough people use them. A soda machine in the parking lot and a rain shelter at the beginning of the course is an added plus too. It seems like it would be a great place to hangout for the day!

4) Dual concrete tees prvide two different courses. The added distance of the pro tees make the shot just that much harder although it doesn't change the hole much, just the length needed before the doglegs.

5) Very nice tee signs in my opinion, at least way better than most signs at most course. Distances listed and a hole diagram. A giant map at the beginning of the course too in the parking lot.

6) Railings on the uphill holes are nice because if it is at all slick I could imagine people sliding down some of those slopes. It might stop a shot by hiting the upright pole, but odds are it will only help you from going deeper into the woods.
Cons: 1) My biggest fault on this course is porbably the maintenance of some of the areas. There are woodchips on most of the holes and fairways, but the uphill and downhill holes probably lose those chips a couple times a year from big washouts. I can imagine the course being almost unnavigable on those wet days. If you aren't a hiker you may want to avoid this course! Some of the shule/natural areas also could use a little thinning. Although it is kindof helpful to have dense buckthorn lining the fairway because it can generally kick you back into the fairway as opposed to taking you deeper into the woods. But it can be prety dense all the way through the wooded areas.

2) Course seems to favor the RHFH or LHBH. This isn't a huge con but these seem to be more holes forcing that type of shot than there are RHBH holes. The hole in the open park area don't really favor anything as you can choose your line, but the wooded ones seem to mostly go right, and all of the uphillers go to the right. I would have liked to have an uphiller that shoots off to the left.

3) A few of the wooded holes have near impossible lines. Although I enjoy a challenge sometimes it is nice to not just have to wing it and hope. Specifically that is how I felt on #4 the big hyzer throw. You cannot know what gap you hit because you cannot see it, you just have to throw and hope.

4) A little bit of vandalism, and as much as I hate to say this, it is kindof expected on those busy city courses.

5) Not at all beginner friendly. Even the short tees require a lot of shot execution that beginner simply do not have. They need to control their shots even if they just layup on many of the holes.

6) I didnt really see the road as being in play but I guess if you really overthrow a few baskets it is possible. The proximity of the tees and basket on holes 10-16 do create a slight dangerous situation.
Other Thoughts: Wow is about all I can say. You pull in past the 7 easiest, flattest, most open holes on the course which is where you try and make up for all the bogies you might have on the first 9 holes and the last 2 holes. I am going to go hole by hole here with my opinions of the holes.

1) Well designed hole with the challenge of a sideslope down the big hill, a blind basket over the hill from the tee, but with a cut into the woodline and the basket placed about 10' in. My local playing partner wanted to throw to show me the line and he threw one off to the left into the woods, short of the gap. I then parked my drive 6 feet from the basket. He was impressed and I was happy to get a 2 on that hole especially from the long tee.

2) Extreme uphiller and the basket placed about 40' in to the right. No turf to speak of,, just dirt and maybe some mulch, so depending on how you land your disc it may or may not roll away. My suggestion throw it up to the railing and try and sink a long putt. A good hole for a sidearm.

3) Extreme downhiller and a tough gap to hit from the long pad. You need to keep your disc straight off the tee and then have it cut but only slightly to get to the bottom where the basket it. Awesome hole!

4) Massive downhill hyzer shot over a lot of trees. I parked it about 20' from the long pad and shanked the putt otherwise I would have dueced a tough tough hole.

5) Hole starts in the woods and shoots across the sledding hill to a basket tucked into the woods on the other side.

6) Another tough hole with the basket uphill and tucked well in to the right. A perfect hole for a sidearm to get you near the basket. Again I wish I could throw sidearm.

7) A long hole that shoots down and to the left over the crest of a hill. Keep it right if anything or you will be in jail and have no shot at the basket. I threw min left and ended up with a 5 because I couldnt get out of the woods.

8) A long throw through the woods and across a small creek. It is tough to decide where to cut across the creek. I recommend throwing straight down the right side of the creek towards the next tee. You can have a decent look at birdie from about 45' from there, but the other route there are simply too many small trees that can affect your chance at a birdie putt.

9) Another big uphiller and the pin tucked off to the right again. Another perfect sidearm hole and it is short (131) I think. I overshot the basket with my hyzer flip stingray but still made the 30'.

Holes 10-16 are all very similar. There is a smattering of trees in your way but multiple lines you can throw to get to the basket. All pretty good and still somewhat challenging holes despite the holes being shorter and more open than the wooded holes. You still have to execute the shots to get your birdies, but any tree shot can force you to take a 3 or maybe even a bogey if you hit one off the tee and then hit another trying to get to the basket.

17) This holes is just plain cruel and difficult. It is a fairly tight little gap to stay through off the tee, but you need to get far enough down the fairway to even see the basket which is another 100-150' in to the right. A creek left the whole way and a 6' dropoff into the creek too. Tough tough hole but I love it.

18) Another one of those uphill left to right shots required. I threw that same hyzer flip with my stingray and got it to take the corner and ended up about 25' away. I tanked the putt again. Man did I execute shots out here when I needed to, but I just couldnt make the putts! Awesome course with an awesome design, good variety, and a constant challenge. When it does open up a little you still have trees to avoid and shots to execute, but you have a much better chance to make birdies on 10-16 than you do on 1-9 and 17, 18.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.