Kaukauna, WI 
Grignon Park Share
Uploaded By: t's kitty Hole #3 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 233ft.   3 / 233ft.   3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Long Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Grignon review

5+    7/27/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: FoxRacer23TW
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is fun, and takes you all over the place at the park. Going up and down hills, along streams, and threw many trees. It's definitely a course for someone who isn't quite pro, but is more than a beginner. You'll find out a lot how your accuracy and throwing capabilities are on the many types of holes. Holes 1, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 17, and 18 are the more challenging, whereas all the other holes are fairly easy shots.
Cons: The course hasn't been maintained in a few years. The trees, shrubs, bushes, etc. are growing in and making throwing lanes hard to go through. Holes 2, 3, 9, and 18 could use some type of stair in the hillside to help going up and down on wet days.

The trash cans that are there, are almost always over flowing and crap is just everywhere from that. Someone in the Rec. Dept. needs to stop by at least once a week and check the garbage out, it seems like once every so often they get dumped.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to anyone, just to say they've been there. I go there very often, because every time I go there is always that feeling that one day I could ace just about every hole, except the few that are out of reach for many player.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Challenge

1    6/28/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: reddog49866
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: Great use of the elevation. Holes 1-9 are great fun. Very challenging with great shot lanes. Made great use of the environment in the hole design. Navigation was not difficult, I had someone with who has played there before. Even without them I don't think I would have had a problem. Course flowed quite well. Finding discs that went astray was not an issue overall usually took about 3 minutes if they were deep in there. Plenty of trash cans
Cons: Trash everywhere. The hills are very steep. Might consider putting stairs in perhaps? Not to much wrong with this course in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: Pick up after yourselves people.

Mah.

2-4    5/13/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: adb83
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Course has a nice variety in elevation.
- Free to play
Cons: - Very short holes on back nine. Good for aces, but not challenging to intermediate or advanced players.
- The back nine has a few holes that you shoot towards the road. This is a problem since these holes are really short.
- Back nine has a playground next to multiple holes.
- Garbage everywhere. Not just in certain locations, but all over the course.
- Paper mill smell can be vary, very pungent.
- Muddy on some holes.
Other Thoughts: - Busy, busy, busy.
- Very, very inconsiderate players here They will throw when you are still playing the hole.
- Awesome course for new players. They shouldn't feel too overwhelmed with it.

Overall, Grignon is an OK course. With some work it could be a really good park.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

2-4    5/4/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: ethompson715
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice variation of holes and elevation.
Cons: So much garbage on the ground. WTF is wrong with people.
Other Thoughts: Expect lots of disc golf players to be here on a nice day. If you want the course to yourself come early morning.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hilly, funny course.

5+    10/24/2013   1/28/2014
Review By: Offconstantly
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a great mix of holes. The first hole starts off the fun with a long downhill shot to a tucked pin. Awesome starting hole. Holes 10-16 are all ace'able, which makes it fun. I am usually needing a few birdies by then so that is a great section of the course. Tee pads are ok. There are a number of benches and tables throughout the course for resting, wink, wink. Most basket areas have a good layer of wood chips. The 8th hole is my fav. It involves a river and lots of great lines to pick from. Most of park is dedicated to disc golf. Nice little putting area near 1st tee with a pavilion to.
Cons: Can be a bit slow going due to many of the short holes, lots of people/leagues and lots of breaks are the picnic tables. 3 can be dangerous when walking to 4 tee. The shorter holes can be to easy at times. I like the short ones but I think there are a few to many, but what do I know. Garbage cans have always been over flowing. I have played here more than 20 times and I have never seen the garbage cans without trash piled up around the can because it's so full.
Other Thoughts: Really like this course. Just a tip.....I wear my golf shoes when I play here. Some of the holes go up a mud hill and can be tough walking. Have fun. I know I do.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

a good mix

5+    10/16/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: gnarff
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the general layout of the couse and the different elevations and has a few challenging holes plus it very close to me and is relatively short and after the first nine the kids can play at the little park
Cons: The steep hills can be slippery and the back nine isnt very challenging plus the hater cops are always around its un called for and I dont even smoke n garbages always full n plenty of liter
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes are short doesn't take much to get a - score

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very fun 18 holer

1    10/19/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a beautiful, mostly wooded park in Kaukauna near Appleton. There are 18 holes here and the variety of hole types is top notch. The baskets are Mach 3's and were all in very good shape and caught well. There is a large board with a very descriptive course map in the parking area. The flow of the course is pretty easy to follow. There is a great deal of very drastic elevation throughout the course. This coupled with the more heavily wooded areas make for a tough but very fun round. There are hand rails running up a few of the steeper hills which is pretty cool. The tee pads are 5'x10' of level, grippy concrete. There were 2 sets of pads on most if not all the holes which is a plus. The tee signs were also very nice. They had a basic hole diagram with the different tee locations, par, hole # and distances. A stream running through the park comes into play on 3 holes as well. It's not a super deep stream either so it won't eat up your discs. The park was well maintained with a pavilion at the first tee and benches and trash cans throughout. The fairways and paths between holes were all heavily wood chipped which is great on wooded courses like this. The course starts and ends back at the parking.
Cons: There are a few (5 to 7) holes on the back nine that are all like standard flat public park holes. These all kind of seem to run together and feel the same. They do have multiple mature trees to deal with but they lack the feel of the front 9 and the last 3 holes. These are also pretty close to the road and a few of the holes could be dangerous because of errant shots. It is also one of the better courses if not the best in the area that are free to play so I would imagine it can get very crowded. The parking lot is also pretty small for such a nice course.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area I'd highly recommend visiting Grignon. To me it would be a toss up between here and Plamann if I could only play one. This is definitely better than the 4 nine holers that are nearby. We played Pierce, Tellulah, Kimberly H.S., Kaukauna Jr., Grignon, and both Plamann park courses in one day which made for an AWESOME day of discing. But if you don't have time for all of that I'd put this one right near, if not at the top of all of these. I'll be back here whenever I'm in the area for sure.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Undercover Cops

5+    8/14/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: andrewolson9
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful 18 hole course. Nice spread out front 9 with a tight back nine. Everything you want to see in a course, Grignon's got it!
Cons: Up until today I have not had a problem. I was followed on the front nine holes by what I can only assume to be a undercover officer; he even skipped putting on most holes as I was played extremely fast in order to try to get ahead of him so I can relax and enjoy my time. He walked off into the woods on hole 6 in the opposite direction of the parking lot where the course begins. Then on hole 8 another group of 3 emerged from the woods out of nowhere as soon as I sat down on a pic-nic table and began preparing some food from my backpack. I said hello and they just stared back at me...I threw my driver then looked back and they slowly crept back into the woods. After hole 8 I played hole 18 which brings you back to the parking lot (start of course) and low and behold the first man who was following me was magically there and on his cell phone looking through cars. Wow...Just pathetic that they would stoop to this level.
Other Thoughts: I used to recommend this course to everyone, but now I don't know... They used to pull this same time of harassing behavior at another local course (Tellulah), but that course has been turned into a small nine hole.what a shame. I hope they don't ruin this one too!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun course to play.

5+    11/3/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: Putter
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.3 Years
Pros: Free.
Concrete pads with benches near by.
Mach 3 pins.
Some open holes and some wooded.
Garbage cans and vending machines.
Open year round.
Great park to play a round of night disc golf.
Cons: The back 9 has some short very similar in style holes.
Can smell like ass if the wind in blowing in the wrong direction.
Small parking lot for some busy days.
Other Thoughts: Fun course with a couple really well done holes. Worth stopping to check out if your in the area to disc golf.

A mix of shots.

5+    9/25/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: Hammer26
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads on most of the holes. Front 9 is quite technical from the long tees and between short and long there is quite a difference. 1 and 3 are blind from the longs where as shorts arent. 2 and 4 share tee pads which can make all longs a little difficult on crowded days. 4 long is becoming a canyon shot. 5 wide open from both. 6 short is an anny or forehand where 6 long becomes a placement drive and not the easiest as discs tend to skip on the rocks(fun hole). 7 same shot both pads but long brings a V tree into play but great shots at both locations can bring up 2s, water near the basket creating a peninsula to throw onto, ground is hard here and discs tend to skip. 8 short is an easy hyzer long is a nice s curve. Water in ply on this hole. 7 and 8 used to be short easy holes but have been made more difficult since the course was put in. 9 short up hill. 10 easy from short, long brings in more trees. 11 straight. 12 fairly straight with and large tree in your view. 13 14 and 15 are fairly short with some trees. 16 long tunnel shot with some routes to the sides. 17 the best hole on the course. Hard to get a 3 here as placement shots are critical. Water on this hole as well. Tunnel shot with water on the left and rough to the left. 18 used to be straight up the hill now dogleg right. Narrow fairway requires a good straight shot.
Cons: Hole 4 is getting a little over grown. Back 9 can be a little scary cause errant shots pose a danger to many others if its crowded. Some danger of getting hit by errant shots. Afternoons and warm spring days are not recommended as it can be very crowded then, stick to the morning or early after noon.
Other Thoughts: Overall one of my favorites ive played. Not super long by any means just technical which is fun. Back 9 is nice relief for a bad front nine. Some holes have changed a bit since I first played there 7 and 8 are longer and more difficult but much more interesting. hole 10 is also moved but not much more difficult. 12 was moved and im glad as I have 3 aces on that hole. 17 is one of the best holes in the area. Difficult from both locations and easy to wreck a round. Short tee is duecable but ive never actually seen it happen just some close calls. High speed drivers arent really necessary here as a few fairway drivers mids and putters will do the trick. Benches on all the holes is also a plus.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.