Disc Golf Center
Kaukauna, WI 
Grignon Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 153ft.   3 / 153ft.   3 / 188ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Short Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    4/2/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has huge elevation changes on many of the holes throughout the course. There is a great variety of hyzer, straight and anhyzer shots as well as a few holes with multiple lines to the basket. Many of the baskets have challenging putting greens that are either on hill sides or have drop off's close to the basket. A creek comes into play on a few of the holes which adds to the challenge of the course even though you can easily retrieve your disc.

The course is a bit on the short side, but I believe it still has a fairly good variety of hole length. It has two pads on most of the holes to cater to players of all skill level. The course has nice tee signs that list rec par. The course is mostly wooded and although it is a little short, it challenges you to hit your lines and scramble for par when you don't. There is some dense rough, mainly on the front so stay in the fairways. Hole 17 is a great pro par 4 forcing you to decide if you want to lay up for your second shot or go for it and try to make the right turn into the tunnel.

There are nice benches on nearly all the holes and drink machines by the parking lot.
Cons: My biggest con on this course is holes 11-15. They're all the short, 200 ft holes near the street side of the park. They have some mature trees allowing you to shape different lines to the basket which is nice, but they feel repetitive and like a big let down after the fun and challenging front 9. Thankfully the course finishes strong with holes 16-18 which are all quality holes. It feels like the holes on the street side of the park are a little close together and bad shots can easily interfere with another fairway or tee pad.

I imagine the hills could be treacherous when wet although I haven't experienced that first hand. There are nice handrails to help you up these hills so that's very good.

The long pads on 3, 6 and 8 force extremely difficult, borderline impossible lines to even have a remote chance at a birdie. They have curves in the fairways or force S shots that are just not very reasonable.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun, challenging course definitely worth playing if you're in the area. It could be a little tough on new players with the dense rough and on older players with the extreme hills.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 More Wooded Than Open

5+    5/8/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 34  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) very hilly and filled with trees to make a very fun round.
2) lots of narrow fairways
3) home to one of the only legitimate par 4's in the Fox Cites
4) there is a hole for almost every type of shot.
5) amazingly difficult pin placements on 7, 8, and 17
5) course flows well, for the most part, just a few filler holes.
6) very nice map in the parking lot
7) dual cement tee pads give u got footing for drives
8) practice basket
Cons: 1) holes 11-16 are pretty much all the same and can get repetitive.
2) holes 11-16 are all too close together and you can easily throw towards the wrong basket or skip a hole if you don't pay close attention
3) the creek, or lack there of, is more of a nuisance than a hazard
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is very good, and will give you a real challenge. Can be a very nerve-racking course but if you score well it can make your whole day.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First Experience

1    4/9/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: Dahlemj24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Absolutely loved this course! Had every type of shot you could ask for. Variety of wooded hills that you play up and down with a couple of open holes. Very nice signage on the course and as my first time playing it was very easy to navigate my way along the course.
Cons: Pretty busy on this Saturday. A little muddy in places since it is early in the season. The back 9 was pretty easy and I only really used my Buzz for the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Would love to play this course again.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be too many so-so holes (despite a Bunch of GREAT holes)

1    6/26/2010   2/27/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(Overall, this course does very well at making you choose your line carefully and it will punish you well for poor execution. Hole 1 is a favorite and starts the course off with a bang! Great downhill shot with basket tucked just inside the woods surrounded by underbrush. Saw your shot off just a little and you will be in serious schule. Flip your drive over and you are gone! Good luck on your come-backer. Hole 3 Long is my least favorite. The only shot is an up-n-over throw…..and then just hope you filter through the canopy nicely = Random luck generator! Not real golf and a waste of a nice opportunity for a good downhill hole. Overall some very nice holes, but there are a few too many short/easy holes and they are all grouped together on 11-16. )

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
(The wooded holes by in large are a perfect test of skill for me and rewarding. I really like the different tests of real DG skill put forth by them!! On the downside, I thought hole 8 was another plinko random luck generator hole and then 11-16 are fun but not rewarding holes. So, 8 of 18 are not too rewarding - hence the grade of a B in the category.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
(As already stated, the creativity and challenge of the wooded holes is awesome. Great use of fairway shapes and dynamic terrain! Again, 11-16 unfortunately drag this grade down.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
(Very nice park with very nice seclusion in a lot of areas (about half the course). Not particularly beautiful or attractive, but well kept and very presentable.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
(Hole 17 is a 491' dogleg - a true 2-throw par-4 hole. I takes two well executed and well shaped midrange throws to card a birdie 3. I like.)

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Thank you Gramps!!

1    10/26/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The way the land is used here is absolutely perfect.
-The course designer "gramps" was one of the nicest most personable gentlemen Ive ever had the pleasure of meeting and playing with, Thank you Gramps!!
-A creek winds through the course offering challenges on several holes.
-Amazing use of elevation, some holes have you throwing almost straight up, some holes have you throwing almost straight down.
-I love the technicalness at this park, most holes have a quirky turn or have the basket placed in a very tough spot with potential to punish you on bad upshots.
-Risky greens, most holes have a pin placement that makes you nervous to putt because of rollaway potential or water or some other scary element to contend with, I love that danger!!
-Benches at most holes, secluded "break" spots for chillin.
-Garbage cans at most holes, gramps discourages bringing bottles on the course because local kids have been known to smash them on the tee pads, gramps says "dont bring bottles and they wont have em to break", makes sense to me.
-Dual concrete pads, pads are in excelent shape.
-Very nice new,detailed teesigns.
-Railings to help with the up and down hill climbs,very cool!!
-Soda machines and a nice pavilion to hang out in before or after the round.
-Nice mix of woded to open fairways, short technical holes to long, big arm"chuckin" holes.
Cons: -The park is a work in progress, the city cuts trees and bushes randomly as they see fit, this has negatively affected the design Gramps had originally envisioned for a few of the holes.
-Back 9 holes are mainly short ace runs, con?not really.
Other Thoughts: -Grignon is an amazingly fun course to play, I took a trip to wisconsin to play 8-10 courses and Grignon was by far the funnest course I played. The course is beautiful from begining to end. Every corner I walked around was a "wow" moment as I tried to figure out my next shot. This course was not too short and not too long, I had a great time playing it. It really tested my skills, with the ever changing of holes, short to long to big and open to tight through trees. Rich Martin is the man!! He has done a wonderful job here and we had the pleasure of playing with him while he told us stories about the park and explained future things that were in the works for it, Rich "gramps" was the perfect guide and the nicest guy, Ill never forget what a great time I had. I will definitely be going back to Grignon next year. It was kind of hard for me to give this course only a 4. I wanted to give it a 4.5 because of the awesome experience I had there but tried to keep my review based on just the course and not just the amount of fun I had playing it!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Grignon Goodness!

1    10/30/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Grignon has 18 holes that work their way up, down, and around a large wooded hill and a flat, grassy park-style area that has a wealth of large oaks to throw through and around. A creek comes to play on several holes, although it would be pretty difficult to lose anything in it.
- Outstanding use of the available elevation. The parking lot starts at the top of the hill and #1 has you throwing downhill right off the bat. The next couple of holes go up and down this wooded hill with short, tight technical holes before working around to the other side of the hill. Much of the back nine is mostly flat, but the last several holes again use the hill to maximum potential. #18 has you throwing up it one last time and puts you right back at the parking lot.
- The use of water is also outstanding. The creek that winds around the backside of the hill has been implemented prominently into several holes, most notably #17, a long 90-degree turning hole where if you miss the turn you're either in the creek or over it. After the bend, it's probably 200+' to the basket with trees on both sides waiting to slap down anything off-line and the creek to your left.
- Great risk/reward. Water and elevation provide a wealth of risk/reward opportunities, as do the many mature oaks in the park section of the course. Ace runs are available all over the back nine, but only if you can hit one of the many possible lines through the (somewhat) closely-spaced trees. Another hole has the basket on a small promontary of sorts, with the creek on three sides and a blind hyzer shot from the tee.
- Decent concrete tees (longs and shorts on some holes) and baskets in good shape. Trashcans and benches. Railings on some of the steeper climbs.
Cons: - Holes 2 and 4 share tee pads. Actually a pretty efficient set up, but can get backed up from time to time. #2's long is #4's short, and vice versa. Saves money on extra tees, keeps things compact, and is only ever an issue on crowded days.
Other Thoughts: - Grignon is an outstandingly fun course. Maybe not a "destination course" per se, but definitely worth the time if you're in the area. You'll be sorry if you miss this little gem!
- No glass bottles allowed. Not really a "con," as this rule helps to keep this course neat and clean for everyone.
-Thanks to Rich Martin, the designer, for coming out and giving us the tour! Your kindness and insight were much appreciated!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/11/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: sopamr24
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of hole types and distance. The brush isn't too dense, and there's lots of paths to find your discs in the woods, vending machines, signs on every hole, and a very nice spot to throw distance throws (when there's not soccer games going on)
Cons: It seems like this course could get very muddy if it rained/is raining. There's some steep hills that you could slip on going up or down, but there's railings to hold onto. some of the holes are very close together, and there was 2 holes that shared the same tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a good course for any skill level, it's not too hard to find ur discs when u lose them, but it's still challenging enough for skilled players.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Some great, some mediocre

1    7/4/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course begins in a wooded section of the park with tightly wooded fairways and brushy rough that can really punish an errant shot. After the first hole down and across the sled hill, you'll need to stay accurate in the woods for the rest of the front nine. The back nine plays mostly up by the road in a flat park area with no rough and scattered mature trees. There is some really nice elevation on the front nine, with some excellent steep uphill and downhill holes (steep enough that there are railings on a few of the fairways to help you walk up and down them!), and several pin placements that are conducive to roll aways on missed putts.

The course felt nicely balanced, with a great mix of left and right shots of various different shapes and lengths that will test several different shots. There are no long bomb type holes, but there is decent variety of lengths from shorter ace run holes to longer holes that require a good fairway driver shot from the long tee.

There are dual concrete tees that are in good shape and are nicely leveled. There is a tee sign at the short tee on most holes that shows layout and distance for both tees. The tees are generally close enough together that it's not a hassle to look at the sign if you're playing from the long tee, and both sets are worth playing as they offer slightly different shots on several holes. There is a nice course map in the parking lot, and the flow of the course is good with no navigation issues.
Cons: The back nine is the biggest con here. Most of this part of the course consists of straight shots through mature trees with no risk, and no length. I threw the same putter shot on most of this section of the course, and found it quite boring and a big let down after the very fun beginning of the course. 17s long tee plays across the park entrance road, a little bit of a safety issue if players aren't paying enough attention.

There is lots of erosion in the wooded areas of the course, with no grass to keep the soil in place. There were lots of muddy slick areas, and several places where dirt had washed over and partially covered the tees. It's great to see a course getting that much play, but the erosion issues are only going to get worse. Despite plentiful trash cans throughout the course, there was a surprising amount of garbage on the course, again a sign that the course is well used but disappointing nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: The front nine of this course makes it worth a stop, it's a lot of fun with elevation, tight wooded shots, and great variety in hole shape. Despite the boring back nine, I recommend a round here if you're in the area. Beginners will find a lot of tough holes in the beginning, but the back nine is very beginner friendly. More experienced players will be tested in the woods, then bored with the birdie fest toward the end.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Grignon: "Green-yes"

5+    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grignon ("green-oh") Park has excellent variety of holes. Short (200-300), long (350-400), three steep uphill, two downhill, straight and both directions of curved holes are all present. The three most sloped holes have railings to aid climbing. 13 out of 18 holes have alternate tees. All tee boxes are cement for good footing. Signs with distance measurements are present for all holes. Nearly every tee box has its own permanent bench. Most fairways that are prone to become muddy are blanketed by wood chips. Grass in surrounding areas and non-chipped fairways is well-maintained. Course therefore is easy to deal with in wet conditions. Long tees add a significant amount of distance and challenge. All but two holes are wooded and provide good shade for hot days. Soda machines, open shelter, and large parking lot provide a warm welcome.
Cons: Back 9 has three to four similar holes in terms of route and distance. Signs have inaccurate illustrations of holes. Some course users do not take good care of course (writing nonsense/profanity on signs, abusing baskets, slow play, noise disturbances). Occasionally present, local factory odor may bother some. Hole 4 is almost entirely blind and can often eat discs due to overgrowth. Children playing near soccer field can hinder disc play on holes 1 and 5.
Other Thoughts: Holes on the front 9 are longer (300-400 feet) and generally require more precise shots from either set of tees. Aside from number 17, back 9 is all 200-250 foot holes with two to three possible routes each. Course is designed by a left-hand, backhand player and therefore is well suited to right-hand, sidearm players. Shallow stream comes into play on holes 7, 8, 17.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun difficult and fun

5+    7/9/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: tomdizzlefizzle
Played: 100  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2011
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Feel good course with some challenging shots. Two sets of tees. The longs make the front 9 much more challenging but the back on the back nine are all similar with a few that don't have back tees. Aces are plentiful at this place. I never had one here but it seems everyone I talk to has had one or several here. Hole 17 is great hole and one of the first of its kind in this area(meaning two skilled upshots for a good par). Well maintained for the most part.











Cons: Smells bad. Heavily played and can be waiting on holes. Only three or four holes where you can rip a big drive on and really only one that plays 400ft.
Other Thoughts: Good course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.