Kaukauna, WI
Grignon Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 153ft.   3 / 153ft.   3 / 188ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Short Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Unique features and excellent design

5+    5/27/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 158  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain found at Grignon is amazing and is utilized fully to make one excellent disc golf course. It is one of the few courses that I play where I DON'T walk around and say "man, they should put a hole or two in there". The park has a creek/runoff that bisects it in half, and above that waterway is your elevated starting point which allows for "almost" and downhill ripper hole, sharp elevation utilized for uphill, downhill, and across hill technical shots, and nice wooded areas bring this all together. Just the right amount of balance for me because I prefer tight technical woods, and there are long and short, right and left, uphill and downhill, and water hazard wooded holes on the majority of the course with just that two or three open holes over 350' to let you rip it out there.
Risky greens. I hate oldschool wide open greens. Here you get pin #2 on a STEEP slope, #8 on a slope after crossing the banks of the creek through amazingly tight scattered trees, and #17 pin right on a nook in the creek with 3 sides surrounding the pin.
The woods are really utilized well along the edges of the dropoff from the parking lot area. This way you get to throw up and down hill on sharp elevation changes. Throw in the creek and you have amazing balance and variety. The woods offer both long alleyways as well as tight technical corridors under a canopy of trees.
Two tees create diverse skilled challenge while the shorts are red/white, and the londs are white/blue skill level
Cons: The area, local traffic, number of users ultimately opens this park up to all the idiots who litter, graffitti, vandalaize, etc. The park is right in the city too, so all the local trouble makers can walk right there and do worthless and useless things. This REALLY takes away from your experience! Tons of garbage, graffiti, screaching tires, douche bag parking lot monkeys, etc.
The "back nine" in the park area is a bit repetitive, but nonetheless challenging and under a canopy of huge oaks and maples, you have the opportunity to take mutiple flight routes to the pin. This is a pro where I can step up to the tee and choose to gun straight at it, play a sidearm, or a backhand hyzer.
The skill level of the tees is too compressed, either the longs should be longer, or shorts shorter. I think just a bit more challenge could help this course, but it may not be worth it because the city park setting and crowds keep you from really truly enjoying the whole experience.
Other Thoughts: Not a true downhill ripper hole, and no pond or marsh to throw over as a water hazard, but this course has some amazing terrain that it utilizes in an excellent way. It has some very risky greens, and like I said is one of only a few courses where I don't walk around with a designer chip on my shoulder wondering what would be better. I think the mature park setting holes on the back nine (10-16) get repetitive and take away somewhat from the course. This park is a great challenge and variety, very well designed, and offers use of some amazing terrain and natural features. I choose to head down here, rather than play any of the Green Bay courses most times.
UPDATE: As I build up more and more reviews, I make it a point to sort all courses I've reviewed by rating. Grignon seems out of whack with my other 3.5 rated courses. I have to downgrade to 3.0. But it is amazingly solid and well balanced!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great workout

1    9/5/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: wheelz25
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes. woods provide a challenge. Some holes allow very long drives. Not very crowded. The course starts out with a very scenic view on top of a giant hill. Hole 1 starts at the top of the hill. The hole is in a little inlet into the woods; a perfect start to this course. Being on the hill can be trouble though if your disc rolls. Make sure you watch for others down at hole 5(at the base of the hill) because your disc will probably stop rolling right in hole 5's fairway. All in all, the front nine is a workout, challenge, and fun experience all together. Hole 17 is very challenging. The fairway is very narrow with trees on one side and a creek on the other. Also, the pin placements are near perfect. Two of the holes have a pin on a small peninsula surrounded by the creek. Keep your throw low and hope it doesn't skip or you'll be trying to find a way down in the creek to get your disc.
Cons: The creek is very muddy. It can be hard to navigate through or around it. Make sure you have good footholes on rocks or the creek bed. Holes 10 through 16 aren't truely special, but they still provide some challenge and fun for less experienced players. Also, hole 18 has a crazy sharp incline. If your makes it up and stays in the fairway, you just had an excellent shot! The most likely outcome is that your disc will get stuck in the woods on either side of the fairway, and you'll be trying to find it. Nobody likes doing that right?! If your disc starts to roll back to you when it gets up the hill, just stay at the tee and try again. Holes 2 & 3 provide quite a hike up and down a hill as well. I guess it's not a huge problem, but if they didn't have raillings, it'd be difficult to get to the top or bottom without slipping.
Other Thoughts: Bring your hiking shoes! This course has tons of hill climbing. The creek provides challenges on plenty of holes; however, it is pretty muddy, slippery, and difficult to navigate. Just don't throw your disc down there and you'll save yourself a lot of trouble. If your nervous about throwing your disc out in the road, or it skipping out to the road, don't worry. Holes 11, 13, and 16 have sand pits around the hole that will stop your disc. Aim to hit them and your approach will be pretty descent. Enjoy the course everyone!!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 exelent elavation

1    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: bschommer
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: phenomenal elevation use, this is the staple of this course

nice wood chip fairways

good mix of long and short holes and open and wooded shots

challenging uphill dog legs and tight wooded shots
Cons: in the middle of the course you get bogged down by a zig zag through a lightly wooded section. 5-6 holes in a row are exactly the same, about 200-250' through moderatly wooded area. it seems that they just ran out of room when they were making the course and jsut squeezed in those holes to make it a full 18.
Other Thoughts: I went on a 2 day disc golf trip from milwaukee up to highbridge and back and this was my favorite non-highbridge course by far. elevation was beautiful and challenging but not to rediculous

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Driving Through the Smell of Kaukauna to Play!

5+    8/2/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 15.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Great use of elevation. This course is located in a very hilly park, and it definitely utilizes that natural benefit by having you frequently shoot uphill, downhill, and across hills. They also provide handrails installed in the steep hillsides (a frequent feature) where needed.
2. Dual tees. Most,(but not all) holes have a long tee, and often they will change the overall way a hole plays, as opposed to just making it longer. Hole #1 is a great example, as a visible basket from the shorts becomes a blind shot from long, with your tee shot having to crest a hill and travel right to left, sharp downhill, to a basket tucked in the left woods three-quarters of the way down the hill. Sometimes, however, you wind up in junctions where the short tee for your hole is the long tee for a hole that shoots directly opposite of you, and this can be awkward with large intersecting groups.
3. Concrete tees. Always a plus.
4. In some holes on the Back 9, the designers have large sand traps around the baskets, which presumably is to keep your upshots from skipping past and going into the nearby busy street. Safety points for this one.
5. Much of the densely-wooded rough has small trails weaving throughout them, so errant shots can usually be quickly recovered. A definite plus to keep the pace moving at a busy park.
Cons: 1. Like I mentioned in discussing the dual tees, sometimes you'll intersect with groups at tee areas that have shared tees. This can be messy, I assume, on one of the park's busier days.
2. Big crowds of people that typically don't adhere to the "4 per group" mentality...fine if you can play through, but when that group of 6 has another 6 or 7 in front of them, it really slows you down. Lots of kids playing longs, too, that should probably be hitting the shorts for now.
3. Some of the Back 9 winds through a playground and features mostly flat land dotted with trees, with many short holes running parallel to each other with a busy street just past some of the holes, so there are obvious safety concerns here. One of my tee shots (on Hole #16) wound up hitting a tree and flying into the road, nearly hitting a carload of people. Still, there were the precautions like the sand traps that really stop your disc from going anywhere, and the holes are short enough that people aren't whipping crazy full-power drives through this crowded area.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course, and I get enough challenge playing it from the long tees when I'm there about once or twice a year. Weekends and summertime seem to be the busiest, and that can lead to spending several hours out here, so my advice is to play it during off-peak times...it's a decent workout, too, a welcome change from some of the flatter courses in the area. As long as they keep taking care of this course, I'll be back to play it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/18/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: eaglechick123
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: lots of elevation change on the front 9 flat on the back 9 but there if enought trees to still make it challanging, hole 17 is the most challenging its the longest and its not a straight shot, the sign are accurate
Cons: back 9 are by a busy street, can be smelly
Other Thoughts: it is one of my fav. courses to bad it like a 45 min drive from the house

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/6/2007   5/31/2009
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2011
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Two cement tee boxes at every hole
-The course incorporates a lot of variations in elevation into its holes. Some holes playing uphill and then making a sharp dogleg, and others playing downhill and curving so that you are throwing blind to the basket.
-There is a high level of risk/reward when playing. You can choose to play short and safe to make par, or you can go all out and make a run for the basket. This especially applies on the front nine holes.
-Water comes into play on a few holes, as there is a small creek that runs through the park. On hole 7 the basket is on a small peninsula and if you overthrow it, you'll end up in the water.
-There are plenty of ace opportunities on the back 9 that plays through the playground area.
-There is also a practice basket by the soda machines.
Cons: -The course can get quite muddy after it rains, as most of the fairways on the wooded holes are just dirt.
-The back 9 holes can feel a little too easy at times, as the area is a bit flat.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Grignon is a well maintained public course that offers a complete disc golf experience, from long downhill bombs to grip-and-rip open holes, to holes that utilize throws that you don't usually use.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, year-round course

5+    1/3/2009   10/28/2008
Review By: J.W.I.
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2009
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Open year-round. One of the few in the area. Two tees on many holes. Good, accurate signs. League in the Summer. Lots of wildlife around. You can find deer tracks any time of year.
Cons: The nearby paper mill can make the air rather ill-smelling on cloudy days. Sometimes harbors a low-class, littering, loud crowd when compared with other courses in the Fox Valley.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. The pro tees really change your play on a few holes, as well.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

4/20/2008   4/20/2008
Review By: nvrwlkalone911
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course uses elevation changes extremely well on the front nine, and is for the most part fairly challenging. Hole 17 is 400+ ft with a near 90 degree turn half way, making it a difficult but fun experience.
Cons: Majority of the back nine are flat, short holes, that make for an easy deuce run on many of them.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very fun course to play. I highly recommend. There are multiple tees but the shorter tees are much, much easier than the longer ones and take away a lot from the experience of the course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Gignon Park Review

2/26/2008   2/26/2008
Review By: Dahminator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Offers a ton of variety. The front 9 consists of longer/wooded holes and the back 9 is more out in the open, but still a lot of trees.
Cons: Can get REALLY muddy. The back 9 is near a busy street, so if you have a good throw that goes past the cage, it will land in the street. Also gets SUPER busy during the summer.
Other Thoughts: Worth checking out

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.