Kaukauna, WI 
Grignon Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 299ft.   3 / 299ft.   3 / 363ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Short Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun, then boring, then fun again.

5+    6/17/2016   6/21/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 269  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in a multi-use park in Kaukana, WI.

Nice tee signs. Molded plastic, with a basic hole layout, possible pin positions (but not marked), and distance. Similar to the signs at Plamann. Navigation is pretty simple, with a good flow.

Concrete tee pads, with many having two tees (although I don't think the longs get a ton of play here). Plenty long and grippy. A few of the long tees could use some clearing in the immediate area.

Mach 3 baskets, all in decent enough repair, and caught well. No issues here.

What you'll remember most about Grignon is the elevation changes, especially over the first few holes. Hole 1 starts with a fun downhill, mostly open shot, and the next few holes are up and down steep inclines. You also finish hole 18 with a sharp incline. Nothing too long on the elevation holes, but fun and tight.

Most of the course winds through the woods, with several of the holes being very technical. There's really some great holes here, especially from the longs. Nothing is really unfair (except maybe hole 4), and nearly every hole is going to require you to shape your shot well.

There's a few holes here that would be welcome on even the best courses (When played from the longs). Hole 7, 9, and 17 are phenomenal golf holes that will test even the best players.

While there's really no huge bomber holes, there's a smattering of distance to air it out a bit, even if it does need some shaping.
Cons: For all the good to great holes here, the top section of the course is a bummer. It's not that they're bad holes, but they're more in the city park nine hole course mold; short, with a few trees to dodge, and not a lot of intrigue. Some will see it as a respite from the up and down, and tight tunnels; others (like me) will see it as a major hiccup in what could have been a very highly rated course otherwise. Fortunately, this only makes up about 1/3 of the course.

I'd say there's some possible safety issues with a playground being in the upper portion of the course, but I've never seen anybody at it while playing here, even on the nicest of days.
Other Thoughts: Grignon is a fun course. There's no two ways about it. It may frustrate beginners a bit, but not enough to push them away (we always see families out there throwing).

It's a touch outside my normal driving range, so I don't get to play it as much as I'd like, but if I lived closer, I'd play it a ton. As mentioned above, there's a few holes here that I'd throw in against any other holes I've played. Hole 17 is an absolutely beautiful hole.

It's probably not a must play, but it's close. As an Int player, I have a blast here. If you're in the Kaukauna area, give it a spin.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

An Odd Mixture of Holes

2-4    5/20/2015   1/18/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 85  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 23.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course gets off to a great start with an easily reachable downhill hole that righties will love and this lefty struggled with both times (a bogie and a long birdie putt). The 2nd is a steeply elevated hole that actually has a handrail to climb!

The course continued in that fashion, with a great mix of distances, right, left, straight, and angles and slopes that required you to think about your shots through the 10th hole.

The only other truly great hole is the signature 17th, a beast of a distance hole with a double dogleg through the woods and over a small arroyo.
Cons: Three holes on the slope are virtually the same (2, 9, and 18) on the hill through the woods, though these are quite challenging holes.

After the 10th hole you emerge onto a small city park that is utterly flat and of mixed use. Holes 11-15 are virtually the same hole in the 190-220 foot range and they offer almost no challenge.
Other Thoughts: It's very difficult to rate this course. There clearly seems to be a lot of land near the 1st hole that could be used to make a better course and eliminate most of the flat holes (by keeping them toward the back edge near the more wooded area and away from the playground). It's really no fun to play those upper holes and if there is some area to add 3 holes on the hilly and wooded area, it would be better to only have 2 difficult and challenging ones in the flat part of the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent

1    9/10/2015   9/12/2015
Review By: jowjohns
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course with good use of hills and elevation changes. Front 9 is relatively challenging. Good tee pads and plenty of benches.
Cons: Back 9 is short and kind of lack luster.
Other Thoughts: Decent course with multiple tee pad options for beginners and experienced players.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chilly Good Time

1    2/25/2015   2/25/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 53  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It probably would have helped if I had come through the correct park entrance for the course, but I ended up playing it 6-5 but that didn't detract from the flow.

Plays trough a nice park, the signage is very good and easy to tell where almost every basket is. There are benches on almost every hole, and since some of the holes are up and down pretty good inclines(great use of elevation at this course) you might need them.

I liked the layout, stars out with some right wooded holes and the opened up on 5 for a nice longer hole, then through the woods again until 10 where you play a bunch of park style shorter holes. Tons of ace runs here but plent of trees to spoil those plans.

The teepads were mostly covered in snow but the few I could see were decent sized concrete pads framed with wood.

Baskets were great DGA baskets and in good shape.

The course mostly plays kind of short but 17 is a fantastic long dogleg right. A bunch of deer ran across the frozen creek as I threw my drive and in the quiet twilight it was quite stunning.

I liked this park a lot, the facilities were nice, and the playgrounds would be fun if you had kids with you.
Cons: Course plays kind of short, not terribly but only one over 400 and about 5 more over 300.

Could use some tree trimming, as a result of thick growth(even in winter) there are a few of the wooded holes with just one route.

Another reviewer said this but pick up the trash guys. This course could be really really nice I it were a touch cleaner.

Some of the baskets are on top of the next pad, I bet a few people have gotten hit on an overthrow
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great place for a round, I really liked the flow is nice and I bet it's a grat place during the warmer months as well.

I'd play it again, though if I'd had more time, is have gone to RR.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Grignon review

5+    7/27/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: FoxRacer23TW
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is fun, and takes you all over the place at the park. Going up and down hills, along streams, and threw many trees. It's definitely a course for someone who isn't quite pro, but is more than a beginner. You'll find out a lot how your accuracy and throwing capabilities are on the many types of holes. Holes 1, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 17, and 18 are the more challenging, whereas all the other holes are fairly easy shots.
Cons: The course hasn't been maintained in a few years. The trees, shrubs, bushes, etc. are growing in and making throwing lanes hard to go through. Holes 2, 3, 9, and 18 could use some type of stair in the hillside to help going up and down on wet days.

The trash cans that are there, are almost always over flowing and crap is just everywhere from that. Someone in the Rec. Dept. needs to stop by at least once a week and check the garbage out, it seems like once every so often they get dumped.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to anyone, just to say they've been there. I go there very often, because every time I go there is always that feeling that one day I could ace just about every hole, except the few that are out of reach for many player.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Challenge

1    6/28/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: reddog49866
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of the elevation. Holes 1-9 are great fun. Very challenging with great shot lanes. Made great use of the environment in the hole design. Navigation was not difficult, I had someone with who has played there before. Even without them I don't think I would have had a problem. Course flowed quite well. Finding discs that went astray was not an issue overall usually took about 3 minutes if they were deep in there. Plenty of trash cans
Cons: Trash everywhere. The hills are very steep. Might consider putting stairs in perhaps? Not to much wrong with this course in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: Pick up after yourselves people.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mah.

2-4    5/13/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: adb83
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Course has a nice variety in elevation.
- Free to play
Cons: - Very short holes on back nine. Good for aces, but not challenging to intermediate or advanced players.
- The back nine has a few holes that you shoot towards the road. This is a problem since these holes are really short.
- Back nine has a playground next to multiple holes.
- Garbage everywhere. Not just in certain locations, but all over the course.
- Paper mill smell can be vary, very pungent.
- Muddy on some holes.
Other Thoughts: - Busy, busy, busy.
- Very, very inconsiderate players here They will throw when you are still playing the hole.
- Awesome course for new players. They shouldn't feel too overwhelmed with it.

Overall, Grignon is an OK course. With some work it could be a really good park.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course

2-4    5/4/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: ethompson715
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variation of holes and elevation.
Cons: So much garbage on the ground. WTF is wrong with people.
Other Thoughts: Expect lots of disc golf players to be here on a nice day. If you want the course to yourself come early morning.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly, funny course.

5+    10/24/2013   1/28/2014
Review By: Offconstantly
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a great mix of holes. The first hole starts off the fun with a long downhill shot to a tucked pin. Awesome starting hole. Holes 10-16 are all ace'able, which makes it fun. I am usually needing a few birdies by then so that is a great section of the course. Tee pads are ok. There are a number of benches and tables throughout the course for resting, wink, wink. Most basket areas have a good layer of wood chips. The 8th hole is my fav. It involves a river and lots of great lines to pick from. Most of park is dedicated to disc golf. Nice little putting area near 1st tee with a pavilion to.
Cons: Can be a bit slow going due to many of the short holes, lots of people/leagues and lots of breaks are the picnic tables. 3 can be dangerous when walking to 4 tee. The shorter holes can be to easy at times. I like the short ones but I think there are a few to many, but what do I know. Garbage cans have always been over flowing. I have played here more than 20 times and I have never seen the garbage cans without trash piled up around the can because it's so full.
Other Thoughts: Really like this course. Just a tip.....I wear my golf shoes when I play here. Some of the holes go up a mud hill and can be tough walking. Have fun. I know I do.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a good mix

5+    10/16/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: gnarff
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like the general layout of the couse and the different elevations and has a few challenging holes plus it very close to me and is relatively short and after the first nine the kids can play at the little park
Cons: The steep hills can be slippery and the back nine isnt very challenging plus the hater cops are always around its un called for and I dont even smoke n garbages always full n plenty of liter
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes are short doesn't take much to get a - score

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.