Disc Golf Store
Kaukauna, WI 
Grignon Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
4 / 210ft.   3 / 252ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Short Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 front nine 4, back nine 3 rated

5+    12/20/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two sets of concrete tees
Short tees shoveled as of today....which leads to second pro: baskets stay in all winter...which leads to third pro....metal railings installed to hold on to during steep walks uphill on #2, #9, and #18....which leads to gimmicky local rule....if you get the grind, off the railing, next shot still counts as one. (No one really uses this rule, but it's fun none the less).
Front nine from long tees very challenging.
Hole #17; from either tee, "toughest of 108 total holes in the valley"....@ 180 ft. from short tee to reach small landing area, with creek deep and to left (landing area only 35 feet...if you're short, you have no look around the corner) ....to look at another 150 ft. tunnel shot with creek running entire length on left and pin on peninsula; surrounded by creek.
Less than one hand full of known deuces on #17; in ten years of play.
#6 from long tee is another of the toughest "holes in the valley." (update in 2011: unfortunately, last summer, the city, thinking they were being helpful, cut out the entire shrubbery area leading to this pin; which, for years, offered a choice as to which way you would come at this basket...a real shame; and thus, no longer perhaps the second toughest hole in the valley; though still a good hole)
Hole #8 from long tee is a very good/tough hole as well. This hole finishes over the "Steady Ed bridge." Ed was involved with the design here. Creek in play if you hit one of the blockers; guarding the, across the creek.... hillside, pin.
Creek in play on 3 well designed holes. But, all discs retrievable.
Park supplies more yearly wood chips for fairway, and fall away greens; than any course I've ever seen. While these do wash away periodically, the amount that get spread more than once each year, makes the hilly fairways in particular, function well, for as steep as they are. Course maintenance is mentioned, especially for these holes, on a review or two, and this is primarily because these holes are tough to maintain. However, the amazing contribution of mulch, spread here.../ by parks department and course regulars, keeps these holes quite function-able the majority of the time. Any hole on steep slope is going to be slippery when it's real wet.
Huge course map and sign at parking lot. Back of main course sign, left empty for anyone to sign when ace is hit. Many, many signatures from years of aces on here. Great history marker for aces, and idea at the forefront of it's time.
You will notice that reviewers claim there to be bias both ways on this course???
The course designer is actually LHBH. I believe you will end up saying, this is a quality design. Which ever holes eat you up....or show your weak area, are going to leave you with the impression that the course is biased in that direction. There are actually 6 rhbh heiser, 4 rhbh anheiser, 7 straight, and one with both options equally desirable. Many of the straight ones offer a tight line for all style of throwers, on either side, as well. There are both uphill and downhill versions of each shot. Nice elevation here.
Trash cans on many holes, but, this course gets a lot of play. That means what it means. Locals actually do a very nice job of maintenance, but you will more than likely see a can or sports drink bottle or two. Please contribute with clean up if something appears out of place garbage wise.
Make some cash for an ace on top. I have some issues for the back nine, listed in the cons section....i.e. length of those holes. Put a positive on it, and get an ace.
Short tee quality. A round from both sets of tees is not a waste of time.
Every pin on the front nine, has a fall away aspect to it.
Three pins on the back nine have road o.b. involved with a quite off line, or deep, shot. Quite tough to cause safety concerns though.
Nice, covered, seating area near tee #1 and practice basket. Interesting practice bucket area; wooded. Blue, ionized, Mach 5 practice basket.
Good tee signs.
Cons: Hills here are steep. This is not a ski hill course; by and means. But, there are a number of holes: #1, #2, #3, and #18, where a person or two has been known to fall on his butt; especially in the winter or when very wet. I consider these to be good holes. There are a number of other hill climbs that are not so "fall prone"; but, are short and steep. Creek banks are rather steep as well. To sum this up....I have a couple of friends with bad knees or ankles, who play here very little. (This elevation is comparable to Triangle Sports Area, Green Bay.)
Holes # 9 - #16 are relatively short; not much over 200. When playing against a field; i.e. leagues, doubles, tourney play, etc., you will have to hit a number of these for deuce, to be running with the top dogs. For many, as mentioned elsewhere, this will be an opportunity to return strokes you may have lost if playing longs on front (you'll also like to have an extra on your card for possible bogey on #17).
Two of these eight holes have been lengthened nicely in recent times a plus....with another nice change coming in 2010, I believe).
Course can be crowded; as fox cities' courses are loved and well used.
Other Thoughts: Extremely rare for soccer play to be an issue.
Fairway for #1 involves sledding hill during winter. Shot can be played, but some care must be exercised.
Top of course, seen from road, when arriving, was designed specifically for family play/older players (course designer grand masters age lol). Course designer was/and is, committed to youngsters and families joining the disc golf community in a big way. Fox cites courses in general, and this course, in particular, have achieved this quite well. Therefore, what can be listed as a con, was intentional. As noted, you will more than likely need the strokes gained on the back nine, to counter those taken on the front; and #17..
I have noted a couple of times that locals take pride in Grignon. This is not HBB, simply the truth. A lot of steady maintenance happens here. My rating reflects bias in the other direction if anything. This is very near to a a 4 rated course/long tees, on the front.
One thing I find interesting, is when the course designer has made a short tee tougher than the long. See if you don't agree with me, that this is the case on hole #16.
Hole #1 used to sometimes require a putt through a "Y" tree near the bucket. Unfortunately, that tree is now gone. Still a fun hole though. Heavy schule early left, another hill to go down, deep right.
The mill can smell like a paper mill some times. Especially on heavily overcast days.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/19/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: rscd20
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great looking permanent signs. Excellent, huge course map in the parking lot.
Vending machine at first pad
Many holes slightly hidden both right and left require accurate distance as well as curve
Busy enough to meet people and catch a round
A few up hill and down hill shots, but lots of tight, control shots through woods
Cons: Signs don't tell much. No indication of water or trees/bushes.
Plays right next to soccer field where young kids have a league
Plays right next to the road where a long throw can easily go into traffic
Holes 10-16 all mash together on top of hill, hard to tell which pin to throw to
Other Thoughts: I loved getting out in the woods and into the open a lot. In and out through the trees. The long and short pads really do offer quite a difference on some of the holes. Could be played almost as 2 totally different courses

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    12/3/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: shoe59
Played: 63  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front 9 has some nice elevation changes and a couple blind shots that are fun. The course provides some opportunities to show off your tehcnical skills, there are a few tight fairways with holes that are tucked in tricky spots.

Each hole is unique, there aren't any "repeat" holes.

The back 9 is short, flat, and easy (besides 17 and 18) and is a nice break from the hilly front 9.

This course provides a nice happy medium between "brutally wooded" and "wide open"

-Cement Teepads
-Woodchips on most fairways (this keeps the course very dry after rainfall)
-Benches on every hole
-Nice signage
-Pins up year round
-Soda vending machine near 1st tee, also accessible near hole 9 if you're thirsty. Water fountain on hole 13.
Cons: It is directly next to a paper mill, and the stench can get pretty nasty if you're not used to it -- I play here all the time so I don't even notice it anymore.

Not enough distance to satisfy big arms. The back 9 is mostly short, flat holes around 200-240 ft. No holes over 400 ft. on the course.

The trees will bite you. The leaves get pretty thick in the summer and some trees have wood thorns sticking out of them. Keep an eye on your disc, they get stuck up in the gnarled trees easily here.
Other Thoughts: Hole 17 is the signature hole on this course, it's a wicked dogleg right with a shallow creek lining the left side of the fairway -- the pin is tucked pretty tightly on a bit of an "island" with the creek surrounding it. It's about 150 ft. to the dogleg, then a sharp 90 degree right turn towards a tightly wooded alley and about 200 more ft. to the pin. Par is the new birdie on this hole.

I always throw 10-20 distance drives down the big hill when I'm done playing for the day, unless of course there's a soccer game going on... which brings up another point: sometimes little kids get in the way on holes #1 and #5, as there are a few soccer fields nearby and the soccer players' siblings like to run around.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Variety of the Variety

1    11/7/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) I have to give this course an absolute high grade because of the design. While the maintenance is slightly lacking compared to others, the design and use of this land more than makes up for the issues with maintenance. Tough tough holes although tight and challenging, the shots can be made. Bring your A game or stay home cause if you are off you will struggle and not want to come back. I want to come back over and over to try and excute the shots!

2) Benches at some or most holes which is nice to have as I assume the course can be slow to play when it is busy.

3) Plenty of garbage cans, but not enough people use them. A soda machine in the parking lot and a rain shelter at the beginning of the course is an added plus too. It seems like it would be a great place to hangout for the day!

4) Dual concrete tees prvide two different courses. The added distance of the pro tees make the shot just that much harder although it doesn't change the hole much, just the length needed before the doglegs.

5) Very nice tee signs in my opinion, at least way better than most signs at most course. Distances listed and a hole diagram. A giant map at the beginning of the course too in the parking lot.

6) Railings on the uphill holes are nice because if it is at all slick I could imagine people sliding down some of those slopes. It might stop a shot by hiting the upright pole, but odds are it will only help you from going deeper into the woods.
Cons: 1) My biggest fault on this course is porbably the maintenance of some of the areas. There are woodchips on most of the holes and fairways, but the uphill and downhill holes probably lose those chips a couple times a year from big washouts. I can imagine the course being almost unnavigable on those wet days. If you aren't a hiker you may want to avoid this course! Some of the shule/natural areas also could use a little thinning. Although it is kindof helpful to have dense buckthorn lining the fairway because it can generally kick you back into the fairway as opposed to taking you deeper into the woods. But it can be prety dense all the way through the wooded areas.

2) Course seems to favor the RHFH or LHBH. This isn't a huge con but these seem to be more holes forcing that type of shot than there are RHBH holes. The hole in the open park area don't really favor anything as you can choose your line, but the wooded ones seem to mostly go right, and all of the uphillers go to the right. I would have liked to have an uphiller that shoots off to the left.

3) A few of the wooded holes have near impossible lines. Although I enjoy a challenge sometimes it is nice to not just have to wing it and hope. Specifically that is how I felt on #4 the big hyzer throw. You cannot know what gap you hit because you cannot see it, you just have to throw and hope.

4) A little bit of vandalism, and as much as I hate to say this, it is kindof expected on those busy city courses.

5) Not at all beginner friendly. Even the short tees require a lot of shot execution that beginner simply do not have. They need to control their shots even if they just layup on many of the holes.

6) I didnt really see the road as being in play but I guess if you really overthrow a few baskets it is possible. The proximity of the tees and basket on holes 10-16 do create a slight dangerous situation.
Other Thoughts: Wow is about all I can say. You pull in past the 7 easiest, flattest, most open holes on the course which is where you try and make up for all the bogies you might have on the first 9 holes and the last 2 holes. I am going to go hole by hole here with my opinions of the holes.

1) Well designed hole with the challenge of a sideslope down the big hill, a blind basket over the hill from the tee, but with a cut into the woodline and the basket placed about 10' in. My local playing partner wanted to throw to show me the line and he threw one off to the left into the woods, short of the gap. I then parked my drive 6 feet from the basket. He was impressed and I was happy to get a 2 on that hole especially from the long tee.

2) Extreme uphiller and the basket placed about 40' in to the right. No turf to speak of,, just dirt and maybe some mulch, so depending on how you land your disc it may or may not roll away. My suggestion throw it up to the railing and try and sink a long putt. A good hole for a sidearm.

3) Extreme downhiller and a tough gap to hit from the long pad. You need to keep your disc straight off the tee and then have it cut but only slightly to get to the bottom where the basket it. Awesome hole!

4) Massive downhill hyzer shot over a lot of trees. I parked it about 20' from the long pad and shanked the putt otherwise I would have dueced a tough tough hole.

5) Hole starts in the woods and shoots across the sledding hill to a basket tucked into the woods on the other side.

6) Another tough hole with the basket uphill and tucked well in to the right. A perfect hole for a sidearm to get you near the basket. Again I wish I could throw sidearm.

7) A long hole that shoots down and to the left over the crest of a hill. Keep it right if anything or you will be in jail and have no shot at the basket. I threw min left and ended up with a 5 because I couldnt get out of the woods.

8) A long throw through the woods and across a small creek. It is tough to decide where to cut across the creek. I recommend throwing straight down the right side of the creek towards the next tee. You can have a decent look at birdie from about 45' from there, but the other route there are simply too many small trees that can affect your chance at a birdie putt.

9) Another big uphiller and the pin tucked off to the right again. Another perfect sidearm hole and it is short (131) I think. I overshot the basket with my hyzer flip stingray but still made the 30'.

Holes 10-16 are all very similar. There is a smattering of trees in your way but multiple lines you can throw to get to the basket. All pretty good and still somewhat challenging holes despite the holes being shorter and more open than the wooded holes. You still have to execute the shots to get your birdies, but any tree shot can force you to take a 3 or maybe even a bogey if you hit one off the tee and then hit another trying to get to the basket.

17) This holes is just plain cruel and difficult. It is a fairly tight little gap to stay through off the tee, but you need to get far enough down the fairway to even see the basket which is another 100-150' in to the right. A creek left the whole way and a 6' dropoff into the creek too. Tough tough hole but I love it.

18) Another one of those uphill left to right shots required. I threw that same hyzer flip with my stingray and got it to take the corner and ended up about 25' away. I tanked the putt again. Man did I execute shots out here when I needed to, but I just couldnt make the putts! Awesome course with an awesome design, good variety, and a constant challenge. When it does open up a little you still have trees to avoid and shots to execute, but you have a much better chance to make birdies on 10-16 than you do on 1-9 and 17, 18.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Unique features and excellent design

5+    5/27/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain found at Grignon is amazing and is utilized fully to make one excellent disc golf course. It is one of the few courses that I play where I DON'T walk around and say "man, they should put a hole or two in there". The park has a creek/runoff that bisects it in half, and above that waterway is your elevated starting point which allows for "almost" and downhill ripper hole, sharp elevation utilized for uphill, downhill, and across hill technical shots, and nice wooded areas bring this all together. Just the right amount of balance for me because I prefer tight technical woods, and there are long and short, right and left, uphill and downhill, and water hazard wooded holes on the majority of the course with just that two or three open holes over 350' to let you rip it out there.
Risky greens. I hate oldschool wide open greens. Here you get pin #2 on a STEEP slope, #8 on a slope after crossing the banks of the creek through amazingly tight scattered trees, and #17 pin right on a nook in the creek with 3 sides surrounding the pin.
The woods are really utilized well along the edges of the dropoff from the parking lot area. This way you get to throw up and down hill on sharp elevation changes. Throw in the creek and you have amazing balance and variety. The woods offer both long alleyways as well as tight technical corridors under a canopy of trees.
Two tees create diverse skilled challenge while the shorts are red/white, and the londs are white/blue skill level
Cons: The area, local traffic, number of users ultimately opens this park up to all the idiots who litter, graffitti, vandalaize, etc. The park is right in the city too, so all the local trouble makers can walk right there and do worthless and useless things. This REALLY takes away from your experience! Tons of garbage, graffiti, screaching tires, douche bag parking lot monkeys, etc.
The "back nine" in the park area is a bit repetitive, but nonetheless challenging and under a canopy of huge oaks and maples, you have the opportunity to take mutiple flight routes to the pin. This is a pro where I can step up to the tee and choose to gun straight at it, play a sidearm, or a backhand hyzer.
The skill level of the tees is too compressed, either the longs should be longer, or shorts shorter. I think just a bit more challenge could help this course, but it may not be worth it because the city park setting and crowds keep you from really truly enjoying the whole experience.
Other Thoughts: Not a true downhill ripper hole, and no pond or marsh to throw over as a water hazard, but this course has some amazing terrain that it utilizes in an excellent way. It has some very risky greens, and like I said is one of only a few courses where I don't walk around with a designer chip on my shoulder wondering what would be better. I think the mature park setting holes on the back nine (10-16) get repetitive and take away somewhat from the course. This park is a great challenge and variety, very well designed, and offers use of some amazing terrain and natural features. I choose to head down here, rather than play any of the Green Bay courses most times.
UPDATE: As I build up more and more reviews, I make it a point to sort all courses I've reviewed by rating. Grignon seems out of whack with my other 3.5 rated courses. I have to downgrade to 3.0. But it is amazingly solid and well balanced!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great workout

1    9/5/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: wheelz25
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes. woods provide a challenge. Some holes allow very long drives. Not very crowded. The course starts out with a very scenic view on top of a giant hill. Hole 1 starts at the top of the hill. The hole is in a little inlet into the woods; a perfect start to this course. Being on the hill can be trouble though if your disc rolls. Make sure you watch for others down at hole 5(at the base of the hill) because your disc will probably stop rolling right in hole 5's fairway. All in all, the front nine is a workout, challenge, and fun experience all together. Hole 17 is very challenging. The fairway is very narrow with trees on one side and a creek on the other. Also, the pin placements are near perfect. Two of the holes have a pin on a small peninsula surrounded by the creek. Keep your throw low and hope it doesn't skip or you'll be trying to find a way down in the creek to get your disc.
Cons: The creek is very muddy. It can be hard to navigate through or around it. Make sure you have good footholes on rocks or the creek bed. Holes 10 through 16 aren't truely special, but they still provide some challenge and fun for less experienced players. Also, hole 18 has a crazy sharp incline. If your makes it up and stays in the fairway, you just had an excellent shot! The most likely outcome is that your disc will get stuck in the woods on either side of the fairway, and you'll be trying to find it. Nobody likes doing that right?! If your disc starts to roll back to you when it gets up the hill, just stay at the tee and try again. Holes 2 & 3 provide quite a hike up and down a hill as well. I guess it's not a huge problem, but if they didn't have raillings, it'd be difficult to get to the top or bottom without slipping.
Other Thoughts: Bring your hiking shoes! This course has tons of hill climbing. The creek provides challenges on plenty of holes; however, it is pretty muddy, slippery, and difficult to navigate. Just don't throw your disc down there and you'll save yourself a lot of trouble. If your nervous about throwing your disc out in the road, or it skipping out to the road, don't worry. Holes 11, 13, and 16 have sand pits around the hole that will stop your disc. Aim to hit them and your approach will be pretty descent. Enjoy the course everyone!!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 exelent elavation

1    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: bschommer
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: phenomenal elevation use, this is the staple of this course

nice wood chip fairways

good mix of long and short holes and open and wooded shots

challenging uphill dog legs and tight wooded shots
Cons: in the middle of the course you get bogged down by a zig zag through a lightly wooded section. 5-6 holes in a row are exactly the same, about 200-250' through moderatly wooded area. it seems that they just ran out of room when they were making the course and jsut squeezed in those holes to make it a full 18.
Other Thoughts: I went on a 2 day disc golf trip from milwaukee up to highbridge and back and this was my favorite non-highbridge course by far. elevation was beautiful and challenging but not to rediculous

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Driving Through the Smell of Kaukauna to Play!

5+    8/2/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Great use of elevation. This course is located in a very hilly park, and it definitely utilizes that natural benefit by having you frequently shoot uphill, downhill, and across hills. They also provide handrails installed in the steep hillsides (a frequent feature) where needed.
2. Dual tees. Most,(but not all) holes have a long tee, and often they will change the overall way a hole plays, as opposed to just making it longer. Hole #1 is a great example, as a visible basket from the shorts becomes a blind shot from long, with your tee shot having to crest a hill and travel right to left, sharp downhill, to a basket tucked in the left woods three-quarters of the way down the hill. Sometimes, however, you wind up in junctions where the short tee for your hole is the long tee for a hole that shoots directly opposite of you, and this can be awkward with large intersecting groups.
3. Concrete tees. Always a plus.
4. In some holes on the Back 9, the designers have large sand traps around the baskets, which presumably is to keep your upshots from skipping past and going into the nearby busy street. Safety points for this one.
5. Much of the densely-wooded rough has small trails weaving throughout them, so errant shots can usually be quickly recovered. A definite plus to keep the pace moving at a busy park.
Cons: 1. Like I mentioned in discussing the dual tees, sometimes you'll intersect with groups at tee areas that have shared tees. This can be messy, I assume, on one of the park's busier days.
2. Big crowds of people that typically don't adhere to the "4 per group" mentality...fine if you can play through, but when that group of 6 has another 6 or 7 in front of them, it really slows you down. Lots of kids playing longs, too, that should probably be hitting the shorts for now.
3. Some of the Back 9 winds through a playground and features mostly flat land dotted with trees, with many short holes running parallel to each other with a busy street just past some of the holes, so there are obvious safety concerns here. One of my tee shots (on Hole #16) wound up hitting a tree and flying into the road, nearly hitting a carload of people. Still, there were the precautions like the sand traps that really stop your disc from going anywhere, and the holes are short enough that people aren't whipping crazy full-power drives through this crowded area.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course, and I get enough challenge playing it from the long tees when I'm there about once or twice a year. Weekends and summertime seem to be the busiest, and that can lead to spending several hours out here, so my advice is to play it during off-peak times...it's a decent workout, too, a welcome change from some of the flatter courses in the area. As long as they keep taking care of this course, I'll be back to play it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/18/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: eaglechick123
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: lots of elevation change on the front 9 flat on the back 9 but there if enought trees to still make it challanging, hole 17 is the most challenging its the longest and its not a straight shot, the sign are accurate
Cons: back 9 are by a busy street, can be smelly
Other Thoughts: it is one of my fav. courses to bad it like a 45 min drive from the house

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/6/2007   5/31/2009
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2011
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Two cement tee boxes at every hole
-The course incorporates a lot of variations in elevation into its holes. Some holes playing uphill and then making a sharp dogleg, and others playing downhill and curving so that you are throwing blind to the basket.
-There is a high level of risk/reward when playing. You can choose to play short and safe to make par, or you can go all out and make a run for the basket. This especially applies on the front nine holes.
-Water comes into play on a few holes, as there is a small creek that runs through the park. On hole 7 the basket is on a small peninsula and if you overthrow it, you'll end up in the water.
-There are plenty of ace opportunities on the back 9 that plays through the playground area.
-There is also a practice basket by the soda machines.
Cons: -The course can get quite muddy after it rains, as most of the fairways on the wooded holes are just dirt.
-The back 9 holes can feel a little too easy at times, as the area is a bit flat.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Grignon is a well maintained public course that offers a complete disc golf experience, from long downhill bombs to grip-and-rip open holes, to holes that utilize throws that you don't usually use.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.