Disc Golf Store
Portage, WI 
Collipp-Worden Park Share
Uploaded By: puttlikeablowfly Hole #2 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 140ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Little diverse course

5+    6/22/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: rmerg
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
Pros: Great course for beginners and advanced players.
Course has a little of everything most players look for.
There are a few technical ace run holes along wooded area.
Park is maintained very well and clean.
Cons: Mosquitoes are very bad along wooded area. Bring your repellent!
Watch out for bad throws along wooded area and disc ricochets off trees into grassy marsh.
Other Thoughts: Locals have solar lighted all pins for Glow playing which is a plus for me.

Short But Sweet

1    8/31/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: HeavyCritters
Played: 91  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Nice, new baskets.
2. Interesting, semi-challenging layout - Good play in and out of the woods made for an more-fun-than-expected round.
3. Nice practice basket.
4. Clean park with well maintained fairways.
5. Decent elevation changes and hole lengths.
6. With a little luck, the holes in the woods are definitely ace-able.
Cons: 1. Finding the Tee Pad to #2 from Basket #1 took me about 10 minutes. Pro tip: It's in the woods directly behind Basket #1.
2. Woods are still a bit dense, so you need some luck, especially on the left to right shots.
3. Layout is a bit on the short side. It took me 26 minutes to play nine holes, and that's INCLUDING the time I spent looking for Tee #2.
Other Thoughts: I actually liked this course a lot more than I thought I would. It's certainly not the hardest 9 hole course in the world, but it's challenging enough that the next time I'm in Portage, I'll most likely stop by and play it again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not quite finished, but average.

1    10/30/2011   10/30/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 714  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2011
Pros: 1) Diverse park with all sorts of activities and a couple pavillions. Sand Volleyball, Horseshoes, playground, etc.

2) Practice Basket is available near the first tee and it looked like they tried to do a perfect putt 360, but I only found a few bricks. They could have been covered by some leaves, but it didn't look like a complete game.

3) Discatchers are such an attractive basket and especially nice for finding the baskets in the woods and sensing the general layout of the course by seeing baskets across the park.
They seemed to all be installed correctly and level.

4) Will be concrete tees installed because all of them are already excavated and framed.

5) Nice variety of a couple wider open holes, a few through old growth Oaks and deciduous trees, and a few tight technical holes in the dense woods.

6) There is some moderate elevation change used on this course which is nice to see. It is well balanced ups and downs and a few across the slopes.

7) Distance variation is pretty well done here with a wide range of holes from mid 100's to mid 400's.The shorter wooded holes play much longer than their distance because of how many trees there are.
Cons: 1) A little grafitti on the #8 basket. It had been spray painted on the Yellow Band. I am unsure if the person who wrote the distance, hole # and next tee was the course designer, installer, or park worker, but that makes the baskets look even worse. It will just promote someone else to write on the nice yellow bands! Hopefully it can come off and vinyl stickers could be put in their place.

2) Not real beginner friendly because of how tight the woods holes are. I hit a tree on each hole and beginners might hit a few leading to frustration.

3) A little too much luck needed to throw Holes 2, 3, 4, and 5. The shots may be executable, but the gaps are really tight.

4) Concrete tees are always nice, but a couple of them look like they will be buried well below the grade. This is going to lead to water on the tees, dirt washing onto the tees, and poor footing. #5 is the biggest issue, but #7 and #8 are also well below grade. There also was no gravel placed underneath where the concrete will be poured. I am not sure if this will be a problem on such a small piece of concrete but frost heaving could really lead to shifting and cracking of the concrete pads. I would hate to see a brand new course not be done right, because it will only lead to problems down the road. We need to increase the quality from day 1 to make sure the courses stay in and are as sustainable as possible.

5) Safety concerns on Hole #1 with the playground and errant approach shots from #9 turning left into #1 green. Hole #8 runs by a pavillion, across a horseshoe pit, and beside a sand volleyball court. This area should really have been avoided if at all possible.

6) Balance of shot shaping is not very good. It is almost all hyzers or straight shots. There is one big anhyzer or flick but it is so tight I'm not sure it is an executable shot.

7) The wooded holes could use a little more cleaning up. There is brush everywhere off the fairway and it might be tough to find your disc from time to time because of the brush and the rough.

8) Little to no amenities. No tee signs (yet), no benches, no garbage cans anywhere on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is an allright course. It has some good holes that are fun to throw. There might be a little too much luck needed on a few of the holes (or a couple more trees needing to be removed).

I really hope they figure out the issue with those tees before pouring the concrete, but I doubt it will happen, which will end up being a constant maintenance issue.

The couple of issues with safety are bothersome also, but I have no idea how busy that park is, but it should always be part of the design process.

You can still have fun here executing some tight turning shots and some nice S curves through the old Oak trees.

 Solid beginner / intermediate course

1    10/16/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 99  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Attractive, multi-use park with shelters and vending machines
* Practice basket with bricks embedded in ground for "around the world" putting practice
* Concrete tees should be in soon (already framed)
* DisCatchers help with visibility in the woods
* Good variety with two open holes, four in heavy woods, and three in moderately wooded parkland with mature trees
* Variety of hole lengths (140' - 456')
* Some holes require hyzers or anhyzers
* Takes advantage of modest elevation change
* Arrow for next tee written on yellow band on top of basket
Cons: * No tee signs (yet)
* Seems a little more friendly for LHBH (or RHFH) ... good for me though.
* Picnic table in play (but blind from tee) on the right side of #8 ... not fixed though, so hopefully they will move it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this a good course, especially for beginners and intermediates. Other than #1 & #9, accuracy is much more important than length. My rating assumes completion of the concrete tees and tee signs.

Quick description of each hole:
#1: Open field shot with one guardian tree short and right. To get to #2, go to the left from #1 basket into the corner of the woods (basket for #9 is in view behind #1 basket)
#2: Short wooded hole with tree directly in front of tee to make you pick a side
#3: Wooded, uphill hole with sharp right turn at the end, but tree just to front and left of tee narrows the window
#4: Fairly straight, level wooded hole ... a slight left-to-right fade works best
#5: Another wooded, uphill left-to-right hole, but more of a continuous curve compared to #3
#6: Second half of the hole is downhill. A dogleg left with the woods on the left and parkland with mature trees on the right
#7: Long, straight, slightly downhill hole with plenty of trees left and right, although second half of the hole is more open
#8: Uphill for the first part of the hole, then flattens out (you can only see top of basket from the tee). Plenty of large trees (and a lightpole) in the way.
#9: Open bomber (~465'), with woods far right

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center