Bainbridge, OH 
Paint Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: AceWraith Hole #19 (Taken 8/2012)
-- / --   4 / 316ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Back to Nature

1    5/31/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: natdog14
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well laid out. This was our first time playing the course and we didn't have any trouble finding out way around. It had a very nice flow to it.
Nice mix of challenge - some wide open areas to let loose and some highly technical areas.
Excellent condition - teas, signage, pins, etc. All in great shape. One of the most well maintained course I've played.
Cons: Trees. Lots of frickin' trees.

Other Thoughts: Really well thought out and well planned course. Wish more of the parks had courses like this.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A great course for an awesome inaugural tourney

2-4    9/8/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 176  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 3.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The DG course at the beautiful Paint Creek Park is a new addition to the Hillsboro/Chillicothe, Ohio region, and adds a relatively challenging 21 holes for the recreational to intermediate player's options in the area. Opening near the office/general store parking area with a half dozen predominantly 'open' holes shaped by the foliage, you work your way across the main drive for two holes that start teasing you with tight gaps and turns, before coming back through a pine forest with excellent use of lines and elevation to shape shots of all varieties and a range of distances.

Brand new, generously sized concrete tees are now in place for all 21 holes, most of which range from 220' to 374', with the exception of three under 200', and a couple over 400'. The design does have a tendency toward 'blind' basket positions, so pay attention to the (really nice) tee signs. If you're playing here for the first time, it doesn't take too much extra walking to take the occasional peek ahead (and sometimes, you'll need to do so to be sure the basket area is clear of the group in front of you).

If you're not a fan of the occasional blind hyzer (rhbh) shot, or a wooded anny, you will just have to look for all the other shots available here to make you grin. But if you've got a solid rhfh, and can keep your disc controlled in the woods, you might score quite well here.

As with any newer course, the fairways are decently maintained, while the rough can be a challenge, especially on the holes before the pines. In the woods however, the carpet of pine needles tends to control the undergrowth, so errant shots are not as likely to go missing as in other types of woods.

There are picnic benches and trash cans scattered occasionally throughout the course, and I saw a bathroom off the parking area by the 6th tee. As far as other amenities, this state park has camping, RV spaces, mini-golf, a nice fishing and boating lake, etc., etc.!
Cons: The current course map is fairly rough, and includes only the original 18 holes, but there are 21 permanent baskets now, so a new map is needed. Only one spot in the course has a traffic challenge, and that is where you cross back from the 7th basket to the 8th tee across the 6th fairway (though you could just as easily walk around, and the sight lines are wide open).
Other Thoughts: If you live anywhere in southwestern Ohio, or are venturing through the region, there is now a trio of fun courses out here (Paint Creek, Pike Lake, and Rocky Fork).

Since I always play multiple rounds on a course before submitting a review, I was excited to have made my second trip out here this weekend for the inaugural Redneck Open tournament, which probably had one of most generous player's pack and payouts of any C-tier I've experienced. Enthusiastic hosting (thanks, Don!) and fun extra events, including a CTP contest for cabin rentals at Paint Creek and Hocking Hills, made this a memorable inaugural!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    9/1/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: LBC19
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just started to play,this was my frist course. Me and a couple friends went to a park demo,and we were all hooked!! Went out the next day and bought my first disc. Love the layout ! will play it again for sure!! Thanks to the parks for putting in these courses for us to enjoy!!!
Cons: couple of holes were grown up a bit.
Other Thoughts: I am a regular golfer and now that i have played disc golf im not sure i will be going back to regular golf!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not quite there yet...(as of 8/30/13, it has arrived)

2-4    4/13/2012   4/14/2012
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 176  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park has a nice mix of rustic and groomed grounds. The foliage is coming to life and the the tree lines were quite diverse.

High on the challenge scale. To play this as a par 3 course (which it should be) will provide more often than not, a plus score.

Multiple hazards/obstacles. Expect plenty of low ceiling shots. Expect very tight lines. Expect not just hyzers and annys...but shaping flex lines and perhaps some touch sidearms, especially while carving the back nine.

Diverse front and back nine. The front is relatively open and the back is tight, tight, tight.

Clearly new baskets. The tee pads that are present are well laid and nicely sized. The "next tee" signs are very helpful.
Cons: This course still needs tee signs in a big way. They are coming, no doubt, but as the course stands today, it was difficult to navigate (even with the "next tee" signs in place).

The first 5 holes are blind, then many more blind holes are sporatically positioned. Some may not consider this a con. The point is this...without the tee signs, I had to walk many of the holes to locate the pin before I could tee off. This grew old quickly.

Even though the back nine winds through diverse foliage, the layout grew somewhat monotonous to me. It was thread the needle, over and over. IMO, a course can be wooded and technical, without feeling constricted. The distances for these holes were very much in accord with the density, however.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a nice effort with plenty of upside.

It's obvious, a lot of work has gone into this course. Paint Creek has the potential to be very good. I would rate it higher if the things that I expect are on the way were actually in place today...namely, the remaining tee pads (or permanent tee's of any kind), the much needed signage, allowing the course to season/beat-in, and perhaps a thining of the fairways in the back nine. However, I can only rate it in the condition it is in when I play it.

I will absolutely be back to this course to see how it progresses...and I will edit the rating accordingly.

*UPDATE* 8/30/13
All of the cons experienced last year have been addressed and improved.

The tee pads and signage are in excellent condition and very helpful.

The course has thinned out a bit in the back. Many of the renegade branches that got in the way of clean, tight lines have gone away. Make no mistake, it is still tight and technical once you step into the pines. I felt the lines were more diverse as well.

This course has certainly arrived. It is a must play in the area and worthy of a road trip.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.