Bainbridge, OH 
Paint Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: AceWraith Hole #15 (Taken 8/2012)
-- / --   4 / 292ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Back again!!

1    10/12/2014   10/14/2014
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 39  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tee pads are great!
-Baskets in good shape.
-Layout is not to bad but bring a map just in case.
-Wooded holes.
-Plenty of variety.
Cons: -2 hours away!!
-1-7 the brush is thick so keep it in the fairways.
-needles from pine tree can cover the teepads in the woods and make them slippery.
Could use more benches and garbage cans
Other Thoughts: We had played the front 7 of this course a while back but it was extremely hot and we did not finish it. This time we came out only to find a halloween event going on. We were able to find a place to park and since all the cars had the front seven blocked we started at 8 and worked from there. This course takes you into a really neat pine tree area of the park. I really like the setup and the layout. Once past the pine tree you went in to regular forest. All the holes seemed to have good lines if you can hit then. I think if I could change any hole it would be 15. It was like watching plinko on the price is right if you hit a tree. Even though the wooded holes were short they were very technical and required good accuracy. Hole 1-7 are definitely more open and also require accuracy because the rough is tough. All in all though a great course and we had a lot of fun playing. As I put under my cons I just wish it closer to the house.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

highly recommended

2-4    9/19/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: sion
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like everything about this course. Excellent signage, proper concrete tee pads at all holes, good mix of easy vs challenging holes...The back 12 (holes 9-21) being in the pine forest is a rare and cool feature.
Cons: There are a couple (maybe 4 or 5) trees that I think ought to be removed, but other than that, I have no complaints.
Other Thoughts: As other reviewers have mentioned, there is a definite RH bias, but since I'm a rightly, I don't mind. I mostly use the RHFH at this course, except for holes 3, 4, 11 and 20, where I throw a RHBH.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Photos finally loaded

5+    12/11/2012   2/11/2013
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good length
-Great Layout
-Great mix of holes
-Wonderful setting
-Great tee's
-Extremely accurate tee sign's
-Great concrete tee pads
-nice baskets
-good flow
-Wonderful, Peaceful Walk
-Camp store sells disc and drink and ice cream and bug spray
-Ace Runs - I nailed 18 :) which isnt an ace run but still epic. (tip: throw from 4 o'clock to 10 o'clock from the tee, the back door)
-long bombers
-You will use most disc in your bag
Cons: Only a fewcomplaints
1. A mostly flat course, he used what he had but everyone loves a long downhill rip.
2. Needs more benches, it has a few picnic table in well placed spots, but a few benches wouldn't hurt.


3. holes 2,3,4 are extremely soggy after a hard rain
Other Thoughts: Overall I love this course and it is definately worth the drive. Since there isnt much elevation change it doesnt wear you out to much and I have played 4 rounds here in one day. The rough can be rough as most country courses but keep an eye on your drive you'll be just fine. You Will find your disc... maybe not on hole 7 lol play smart. This course is sprinkled with beautiful nature, great lines, and challenge. The front is more open and long and the back is shorter, tight and technical.

Play it, Love it, OWN IT!

Also respect the course, there are trash cans

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/16/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: jessmac
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in the middle of a very nice state park. I love it when you can't hear anything but nature. Its an absolutly beautiful setting. As others have mentioned the signage must get done soon because it can be hard to find holes. Some holes concrete, some holes gravel, some holes two flags and dirt, one hole had only one flag. I tee'd off on 17 thinking it was 10. There is a nice black bench on hole 10. After 18 I could not find 19 so i quit after 18. I will definantly go back and may even camp there.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Almost

5+    4/9/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: catchermccord
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads on most holes
-Good blind holes throughout
-Many challenging shots on the back 9
-Front 9 is pretty basic, but still very fun
Cons: -Like the previous review, this course is not quite there yet.
-Signage is a definite need.
-Not all holes have concrete tee pads, a few in the woods do, but not all.
Other Thoughts: Fun, newly built course. Front 9 is pretty open, with a few long holes. Tight tunnel shots on the back 9. Can be hard to find the next hole if you dont have a course map with you. The pine forest hole when you first go int othe woods is the signature hole, in my opinion. All in all a very fun course that will test all types of shots. Campstore located near the 1st hole with course maps located outside. Like I stated, still being groomed out. The course is almost finished and has excellent potential.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Surprise

1    4/7/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: zugthug1705
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow, what a nice little course. Great scenery, nice baskets, well-developed fairways on about 16 of 18 holes. Perfect mix of wooded and open fairways. No course traffic.
Cons: A little confusing between holes 6-7 and 15-16 but once you get on track it's easy to find your way through it. It would be nice if they had maps in the camp office. Other than that, no complaints.
Other Thoughts: I was camping at Rocky Fork so I figured I'd drive the extra 20 minutes to find this course. Well worth it. We played a round of doubles, best shot, and all ended up around 55-60 (playing with a couple 12 year old kids as our partners) so it's not too tough by any means. I will definitely be playing this course again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

1    12/24/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course was a lot of fun. Very challenging holes, especially on the back nine. Really enjoyed the tunnel shots in the woods. The pine forest is fun to play in. The signage has been greatly improved and all holes now have concrete tee pads. I also like the 3 new holes that have been recently added. The course has been cleared out in a lot of places, making it much more playable. Kudos to all who have done the work.
Cons: There are a lot of trees. Expect to hit a few during your round. Not really a con, I guess. Just expect to hit trees.
Other Thoughts: Was worth the drive from Washington Court House. Will definitely play again!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

T'aint Meek

5+    12/17/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: Derek B
Played: 102  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of left hand and right hand holes.
Pine forest area.
Good land layout.
Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Generous man-sized concrete tees.
Pro shop and refreshments by hole 1/18 (seasonal).
Cons: Location is remote. Need to go slow and pay attention when on the road that takes you to the entrance. Winding and hilly road.
More elevation changes would be nice, but you can only work with what you're given.
Needs a couple of tree blinds on the back 12 so you can play DG and take a deer home with you.


Other Thoughts: This is a course worth driving to even though it's remote. It's not an easy course, but fun nevertheless. If you only have 1 shot in your game you will have a tough time finishing at par 63 or below (shooting each hole as par 3 which is standard for those that play DG a lot).

The front nine are mostly open and can be quite deceiving at times. Some holes that look fairly straightforward become difficult to par if you don't have a well placed drive. Holes 6 and 7 come to mind.

The back 12 are completely different from the front. Tight wooded holes abound; At first, there are pine trees, then deciduous trees, then pines again. Gorgeous back in there.

The course has a nice feel to it and has good balance. Some people have written that the course favors RHBH, but I don't agree. As I wrote, there's a good mixture. I will agree that there are a lot more RHBH shots on the front 9.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Promissing work in progress

1    10/17/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: LightsOut
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 29.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a good mix of straight, left, and right holes. The front is a bit more open with 2-4 & 7 needing to recover a bit from being new. The back is 500 feet shorter and thicker with 10 - 15 still in need of being thinned. The older pine holes 9, 16-18 are pretty with a pine straw floor. The promise of the course is that it will be opened more and offer more risk reward, rather than just the chance passage through some clogged drive paths. The challenge here is that this is a tight course with but a few elevation wrinkles. I liked the elevation tweaks where they popped up all the same. The course has new DISCatcher baskets. Half of the holes have concrete ground flush tee pads. I believe the office has discs but it wasn't officially open when I dropped by for a chat and a glance around. Additional holes are planned to a possible 21 or 22 total. Because it's mainly flat it's not taxing to play.
Cons: The only available course navigation is by scorecard available at the campground office. Baskets are marked with numbers but that's it for course navigation other than the available pads pointing the way. Navigation is hopefully on the way. This majority of the course goes through woods and needs to be opened up for the opportunity to score. This may be because they want to play test enough to know for sure what adjustments need to be made. #1 and #5 are the only 'let-it-fly' holes on the course and they border the ob park drive? The course plays through as 18 continuous holes. You can't easily start or break after nine holes.
Other Thoughts: The course and park are well maintained, and easy to find from US 50. There is a campground, with deluxe Camper Cabins, Camp store and shelter house. The lake has boat rental with unlimited HP motors and decent fishing. There is a horseman's campground with horse trails plus mountain biking trails. Rocky Fork South Beach (west) and Pike Lake (East) are both within 20 minutes of Paint Creek if you want to make a day of it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.