Bainbridge, OH 
Paint Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: AceWraith Hole #4 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 237ft.   3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A great course for an awesome inaugural tourney

2-4    9/8/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 286  Reviewed: 269  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The DG course at the beautiful Paint Creek Park is a new addition to the Hillsboro/Chillicothe, Ohio region, and adds a relatively challenging 21 holes for the recreational to intermediate player's options in the area. Opening near the office/general store parking area with a half dozen predominantly 'open' holes shaped by the foliage, you work your way across the main drive for two holes that start teasing you with tight gaps and turns, before coming back through a pine forest with excellent use of lines and elevation to shape shots of all varieties and a range of distances.

Brand new, generously sized concrete tees are now in place for all 21 holes, most of which range from 220' to 374', with the exception of three under 200', and a couple over 400'. The design does have a tendency toward 'blind' basket positions, so pay attention to the (really nice) tee signs. If you're playing here for the first time, it doesn't take too much extra walking to take the occasional peek ahead (and sometimes, you'll need to do so to be sure the basket area is clear of the group in front of you).

If you're not a fan of the occasional blind hyzer (rhbh) shot, or a wooded anny, you will just have to look for all the other shots available here to make you grin. But if you've got a solid rhfh, and can keep your disc controlled in the woods, you might score quite well here.

As with any newer course, the fairways are decently maintained, while the rough can be a challenge, especially on the holes before the pines. In the woods however, the carpet of pine needles tends to control the undergrowth, so errant shots are not as likely to go missing as in other types of woods.

There are picnic benches and trash cans scattered occasionally throughout the course, and I saw a bathroom off the parking area by the 6th tee. As far as other amenities, this state park has camping, RV spaces, mini-golf, a nice fishing and boating lake, etc., etc.!
Cons: The current course map is fairly rough, and includes only the original 18 holes, but there are 21 permanent baskets now, so a new map is needed. Only one spot in the course has a traffic challenge, and that is where you cross back from the 7th basket to the 8th tee across the 6th fairway (though you could just as easily walk around, and the sight lines are wide open).
Other Thoughts: If you live anywhere in southwestern Ohio, or are venturing through the region, there is now a trio of fun courses out here (Paint Creek, Pike Lake, and Rocky Fork).

Since I always play multiple rounds on a course before submitting a review, I was excited to have made my second trip out here this weekend for the inaugural Redneck Open tournament, which probably had one of most generous player's pack and payouts of any C-tier I've experienced. Enthusiastic hosting (thanks, Don!) and fun extra events, including a CTP contest for cabin rentals at Paint Creek and Hocking Hills, made this a memorable inaugural!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    9/1/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: LBC19
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Just started to play,this was my frist course. Me and a couple friends went to a park demo,and we were all hooked!! Went out the next day and bought my first disc. Love the layout ! will play it again for sure!! Thanks to the parks for putting in these courses for us to enjoy!!!
Cons: couple of holes were grown up a bit.
Other Thoughts: I am a regular golfer and now that i have played disc golf im not sure i will be going back to regular golf!!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/16/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: jessmac
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is in the middle of a very nice state park. I love it when you can't hear anything but nature. Its an absolutly beautiful setting. As others have mentioned the signage must get done soon because it can be hard to find holes. Some holes concrete, some holes gravel, some holes two flags and dirt, one hole had only one flag. I tee'd off on 17 thinking it was 10. There is a nice black bench on hole 10. After 18 I could not find 19 so i quit after 18. I will definantly go back and may even camp there.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Almost

5+    4/9/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: catchermccord
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads on most holes
-Good blind holes throughout
-Many challenging shots on the back 9
-Front 9 is pretty basic, but still very fun
Cons: -Like the previous review, this course is not quite there yet.
-Signage is a definite need.
-Not all holes have concrete tee pads, a few in the woods do, but not all.
Other Thoughts: Fun, newly built course. Front 9 is pretty open, with a few long holes. Tight tunnel shots on the back 9. Can be hard to find the next hole if you dont have a course map with you. The pine forest hole when you first go int othe woods is the signature hole, in my opinion. All in all a very fun course that will test all types of shots. Campstore located near the 1st hole with course maps located outside. Like I stated, still being groomed out. The course is almost finished and has excellent potential.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not quite there yet...(as of 8/30/13, it has arrived)

2-4    4/13/2012   4/14/2012
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 195  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 28.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park has a nice mix of rustic and groomed grounds. The foliage is coming to life and the the tree lines were quite diverse.

High on the challenge scale. To play this as a par 3 course (which it should be) will provide more often than not, a plus score.

Multiple hazards/obstacles. Expect plenty of low ceiling shots. Expect very tight lines. Expect not just hyzers and annys...but shaping flex lines and perhaps some touch sidearms, especially while carving the back nine.

Diverse front and back nine. The front is relatively open and the back is tight, tight, tight.

Clearly new baskets. The tee pads that are present are well laid and nicely sized. The "next tee" signs are very helpful.
Cons: This course still needs tee signs in a big way. They are coming, no doubt, but as the course stands today, it was difficult to navigate (even with the "next tee" signs in place).

The first 5 holes are blind, then many more blind holes are sporatically positioned. Some may not consider this a con. The point is this...without the tee signs, I had to walk many of the holes to locate the pin before I could tee off. This grew old quickly.

Even though the back nine winds through diverse foliage, the layout grew somewhat monotonous to me. It was thread the needle, over and over. IMO, a course can be wooded and technical, without feeling constricted. The distances for these holes were very much in accord with the density, however.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a nice effort with plenty of upside.

It's obvious, a lot of work has gone into this course. Paint Creek has the potential to be very good. I would rate it higher if the things that I expect are on the way were actually in place today...namely, the remaining tee pads (or permanent tee's of any kind), the much needed signage, allowing the course to season/beat-in, and perhaps a thining of the fairways in the back nine. However, I can only rate it in the condition it is in when I play it.

I will absolutely be back to this course to see how it progresses...and I will edit the rating accordingly.

*UPDATE* 8/30/13
All of the cons experienced last year have been addressed and improved.

The tee pads and signage are in excellent condition and very helpful.

The course has thinned out a bit in the back. Many of the renegade branches that got in the way of clean, tight lines have gone away. Make no mistake, it is still tight and technical once you step into the pines. I felt the lines were more diverse as well.

This course has certainly arrived. It is a must play in the area and worthy of a road trip.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Surprise

1    4/7/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: zugthug1705
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow, what a nice little course. Great scenery, nice baskets, well-developed fairways on about 16 of 18 holes. Perfect mix of wooded and open fairways. No course traffic.
Cons: A little confusing between holes 6-7 and 15-16 but once you get on track it's easy to find your way through it. It would be nice if they had maps in the camp office. Other than that, no complaints.
Other Thoughts: I was camping at Rocky Fork so I figured I'd drive the extra 20 minutes to find this course. Well worth it. We played a round of doubles, best shot, and all ended up around 55-60 (playing with a couple 12 year old kids as our partners) so it's not too tough by any means. I will definitely be playing this course again!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

1    12/24/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was a lot of fun. Very challenging holes, especially on the back nine. Really enjoyed the tunnel shots in the woods. The pine forest is fun to play in. The signage has been greatly improved and all holes now have concrete tee pads. I also like the 3 new holes that have been recently added. The course has been cleared out in a lot of places, making it much more playable. Kudos to all who have done the work.
Cons: There are a lot of trees. Expect to hit a few during your round. Not really a con, I guess. Just expect to hit trees.
Other Thoughts: Was worth the drive from Washington Court House. Will definitely play again!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 T'aint Meek

5+    12/17/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: Derek B
Played: 162  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of left hand and right hand holes.
Pine forest area.
Good land layout.
Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Generous man-sized concrete tees.
Pro shop and refreshments by hole 1/18 (seasonal).
Cons: Location is remote. Need to go slow and pay attention when on the road that takes you to the entrance. Winding and hilly road.
More elevation changes would be nice, but you can only work with what you're given.
Needs a couple of tree blinds on the back 12 so you can play DG and take a deer home with you.


Other Thoughts: This is a course worth driving to even though it's remote. It's not an easy course, but fun nevertheless. If you only have 1 shot in your game you will have a tough time finishing at par 63 or below (shooting each hole as par 3 which is standard for those that play DG a lot).

The front nine are mostly open and can be quite deceiving at times. Some holes that look fairly straightforward become difficult to par if you don't have a well placed drive. Holes 6 and 7 come to mind.

The back 12 are completely different from the front. Tight wooded holes abound; At first, there are pine trees, then deciduous trees, then pines again. Gorgeous back in there.

The course has a nice feel to it and has good balance. Some people have written that the course favors RHBH, but I don't agree. As I wrote, there's a good mixture. I will agree that there are a lot more RHBH shots on the front 9.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a word from the designer

5+    11/28/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: sidearmdon
Played: 211  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2012
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I tried to design a course that is difficult but fun. Most advanced players will be over par so you need to get your birdies when you can. There are different types of shots needed, back hands, forehands, big hyzers, straight shots, rollers and overhands. The front nine are mostly right hand back hand and the back nine is mostly right hand forehand. Beautiful park, camp store has disc and ice cream!
Cons: It is a newer course which means we are still working on it. The rough is rough, the woods are woodsy, they are tight. It is truly a work in progress. There is still loose brush and down limbs that need picked up. I have a guy working on tee signs and another guy working on scorecards and arrows pointing to the next tee. The rest of the tee pads will be in by the Spring of 2012. We still need tee signs, trash cans, some tee pads, a message board, alternate pins and maybe, just maybe short tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Again, I wanted to make the course as tough as possible, so remember if you are over par, most everyone is too. I wanted to make it as difficult as I could with the land that was available. There is work still being done and it is looking better all the time. Please do not litter.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Still New

1    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 152  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots
Nice mix of distances
Nice mix of open to wooded shot
Well maintained
Nice layout in a nice park
Good fun factor
Cons: Still needs thinning out
Back 9 still needs tee pads and signs
Got lost a few times
Other Thoughts: Nice new course for the people in the area that pretty much only has Pike Lake nearby. I had a good time there. The front 9 moves from open to slightly wooded and the back 9 moves in and out from a pine forest to a regular forest and back with some good elevation changes.

I stopped at the main office before I got started and picked up a map. No problems navigating the front 9 and the tees pads and baskets were really nice. No issues with course flow as it moved from open to slightly wooded and back out into the open again.

The back nine was a little tricky. I'm not going to let it have an impact on the rating I gave because It's still a work in progress. When I was there the tee pads and signs were not yet installed. I got lost more than once. I could see they had several trees marked to be cleared out, The tee pads are marked by little pink flags but I had a few problems locating them sometimes.

But don't let that stop you from coming out it's a fun good course that is only gonna get better. Definitely a good course to pair up with Pike Lake if you planning a DG road trip

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.