Bainbridge, OH 
Paint Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: AceWraith Hole #3 (Taken 8/2012)
-- / --   3 / 184ft.   3 / 217ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
Not quite there yet...(as of 8/30/13, it has arrived)

2-4    4/13/2012   4/14/2012
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 170  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park has a nice mix of rustic and groomed grounds. The foliage is coming to life and the the tree lines were quite diverse.

High on the challenge scale. To play this as a par 3 course (which it should be) will provide more often than not, a plus score.

Multiple hazards/obstacles. Expect plenty of low ceiling shots. Expect very tight lines. Expect not just hyzers and annys...but shaping flex lines and perhaps some touch sidearms, especially while carving the back nine.

Diverse front and back nine. The front is relatively open and the back is tight, tight, tight.

Clearly new baskets. The tee pads that are present are well laid and nicely sized. The "next tee" signs are very helpful.
Cons: This course still needs tee signs in a big way. They are coming, no doubt, but as the course stands today, it was difficult to navigate (even with the "next tee" signs in place).

The first 5 holes are blind, then many more blind holes are sporatically positioned. Some may not consider this a con. The point is this...without the tee signs, I had to walk many of the holes to locate the pin before I could tee off. This grew old quickly.

Even though the back nine winds through diverse foliage, the layout grew somewhat monotonous to me. It was thread the needle, over and over. IMO, a course can be wooded and technical, without feeling constricted. The distances for these holes were very much in accord with the density, however.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a nice effort with plenty of upside.

It's obvious, a lot of work has gone into this course. Paint Creek has the potential to be very good. I would rate it higher if the things that I expect are on the way were actually in place today...namely, the remaining tee pads (or permanent tee's of any kind), the much needed signage, allowing the course to season/beat-in, and perhaps a thining of the fairways in the back nine. However, I can only rate it in the condition it is in when I play it.

I will absolutely be back to this course to see how it progresses...and I will edit the rating accordingly.

*UPDATE* 8/30/13
All of the cons experienced last year have been addressed and improved.

The tee pads and signage are in excellent condition and very helpful.

The course has thinned out a bit in the back. Many of the renegade branches that got in the way of clean, tight lines have gone away. Make no mistake, it is still tight and technical once you step into the pines. I felt the lines were more diverse as well.

This course has certainly arrived. It is a must play in the area and worthy of a road trip.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Surprise

1    4/7/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: zugthug1705
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow, what a nice little course. Great scenery, nice baskets, well-developed fairways on about 16 of 18 holes. Perfect mix of wooded and open fairways. No course traffic.
Cons: A little confusing between holes 6-7 and 15-16 but once you get on track it's easy to find your way through it. It would be nice if they had maps in the camp office. Other than that, no complaints.
Other Thoughts: I was camping at Rocky Fork so I figured I'd drive the extra 20 minutes to find this course. Well worth it. We played a round of doubles, best shot, and all ended up around 55-60 (playing with a couple 12 year old kids as our partners) so it's not too tough by any means. I will definitely be playing this course again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

1    12/24/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course was a lot of fun. Very challenging holes, especially on the back nine. Really enjoyed the tunnel shots in the woods. The pine forest is fun to play in. The signage has been greatly improved and all holes now have concrete tee pads. I also like the 3 new holes that have been recently added. The course has been cleared out in a lot of places, making it much more playable. Kudos to all who have done the work.
Cons: There are a lot of trees. Expect to hit a few during your round. Not really a con, I guess. Just expect to hit trees.
Other Thoughts: Was worth the drive from Washington Court House. Will definitely play again!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

T'aint Meek

5+    12/17/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: Derek B
Played: 100  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of left hand and right hand holes.
Pine forest area.
Good land layout.
Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Generous man-sized concrete tees.
Pro shop and refreshments by hole 1/18 (seasonal).
Cons: Location is remote. Need to go slow and pay attention when on the road that takes you to the entrance. Winding and hilly road.
More elevation changes would be nice, but you can only work with what you're given.
Needs a couple of tree blinds on the back 12 so you can play DG and take a deer home with you.


Other Thoughts: This is a course worth driving to even though it's remote. It's not an easy course, but fun nevertheless. If you only have 1 shot in your game you will have a tough time finishing at par 63 or below (shooting each hole as par 3 which is standard for those that play DG a lot).

The front nine are mostly open and can be quite deceiving at times. Some holes that look fairly straightforward become difficult to par if you don't have a well placed drive. Holes 6 and 7 come to mind.

The back 12 are completely different from the front. Tight wooded holes abound; At first, there are pine trees, then deciduous trees, then pines again. Gorgeous back in there.

The course has a nice feel to it and has good balance. Some people have written that the course favors RHBH, but I don't agree. As I wrote, there's a good mixture. I will agree that there are a lot more RHBH shots on the front 9.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a word from the designer

5+    11/28/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: sidearmdon
Played: 131  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2012
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I tried to design a course that is difficult but fun. Most advanced players will be over par so you need to get your birdies when you can. There are different types of shots needed, back hands, forehands, big hyzers, straight shots, rollers and overhands. The front nine are mostly right hand back hand and the back nine is mostly right hand forehand. Beautiful park, camp store has disc and ice cream!
Cons: It is a newer course which means we are still working on it. The rough is rough, the woods are woodsy, they are tight. It is truly a work in progress. There is still loose brush and down limbs that need picked up. I have a guy working on tee signs and another guy working on scorecards and arrows pointing to the next tee. The rest of the tee pads will be in by the Spring of 2012. We still need tee signs, trash cans, some tee pads, a message board, alternate pins and maybe, just maybe short tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Again, I wanted to make the course as tough as possible, so remember if you are over par, most everyone is too. I wanted to make it as difficult as I could with the land that was available. There is work still being done and it is looking better all the time. Please do not litter.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Still New

1    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots
Nice mix of distances
Nice mix of open to wooded shot
Well maintained
Nice layout in a nice park
Good fun factor
Cons: Still needs thinning out
Back 9 still needs tee pads and signs
Got lost a few times
Other Thoughts: Nice new course for the people in the area that pretty much only has Pike Lake nearby. I had a good time there. The front 9 moves from open to slightly wooded and the back 9 moves in and out from a pine forest to a regular forest and back with some good elevation changes.

I stopped at the main office before I got started and picked up a map. No problems navigating the front 9 and the tees pads and baskets were really nice. No issues with course flow as it moved from open to slightly wooded and back out into the open again.

The back nine was a little tricky. I'm not going to let it have an impact on the rating I gave because It's still a work in progress. When I was there the tee pads and signs were not yet installed. I got lost more than once. I could see they had several trees marked to be cleared out, The tee pads are marked by little pink flags but I had a few problems locating them sometimes.

But don't let that stop you from coming out it's a fun good course that is only gonna get better. Definitely a good course to pair up with Pike Lake if you planning a DG road trip

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Promissing work in progress

1    10/17/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: LightsOut
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 29.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a good mix of straight, left, and right holes. The front is a bit more open with 2-4 & 7 needing to recover a bit from being new. The back is 500 feet shorter and thicker with 10 - 15 still in need of being thinned. The older pine holes 9, 16-18 are pretty with a pine straw floor. The promise of the course is that it will be opened more and offer more risk reward, rather than just the chance passage through some clogged drive paths. The challenge here is that this is a tight course with but a few elevation wrinkles. I liked the elevation tweaks where they popped up all the same. The course has new DISCatcher baskets. Half of the holes have concrete ground flush tee pads. I believe the office has discs but it wasn't officially open when I dropped by for a chat and a glance around. Additional holes are planned to a possible 21 or 22 total. Because it's mainly flat it's not taxing to play.
Cons: The only available course navigation is by scorecard available at the campground office. Baskets are marked with numbers but that's it for course navigation other than the available pads pointing the way. Navigation is hopefully on the way. This majority of the course goes through woods and needs to be opened up for the opportunity to score. This may be because they want to play test enough to know for sure what adjustments need to be made. #1 and #5 are the only 'let-it-fly' holes on the course and they border the ob park drive? The course plays through as 18 continuous holes. You can't easily start or break after nine holes.
Other Thoughts: The course and park are well maintained, and easy to find from US 50. There is a campground, with deluxe Camper Cabins, Camp store and shelter house. The lake has boat rental with unlimited HP motors and decent fishing. There is a horseman's campground with horse trails plus mountain biking trails. Rocky Fork South Beach (west) and Pike Lake (East) are both within 20 minutes of Paint Creek if you want to make a day of it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center