Eminence, KY
Harry Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: AdamH Hole #1 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 329ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Gated Community

2-4    8/4/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 147  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Harry Hill is a very well maintained (and controlled) park located about a mile south of New Castle, KY on route 421, containing nice shelters, playgrounds, ball fields, restrooms, and a plethora of family amenities, along with a disc golf course scaled to Intermediate player distances (only two holes are under 300 feet). Advanced and Open players will likely not find a great deal of challenge in this mostly open course, but Novice to Rec players won't lose discs here unless they go long on the approach shot on hole 2. The course is generally well laid out in relation to other park activities, so as to avoid most conflicts and hazards.

Generous, level, timber boxed tees have poured concrete pads on holes 1-3. Tee signs show distances and have PVC bars for hanging up to 4 bags up off the ground (a very welcome feature other courses would do well to emulate). The Innova Discatcher baskets perform their function very well, and are almost always visible from the tee, with the exception of hole 1 (it's 40-50' past the tree), and hole 6, which lies a mando to the right around the bend of the baseball field's outfield fence. There is a gate in center for retrieving the strays.

The course uses the available elevation and relatively sparse trees to adequate effect, forcing at least a few different lines of flight. Holes 7 and 8 have well-defined gaps to hit, and hole 9 requires care when windy, because of the fence on the right.
Cons: The fence can be a pain when it's windy here: the gate down the hill on hole 1 is locked, so flipping one over in the wind has a natural punishment. Likewise, going over the fence to the right of 9 requires walking to the entrance and hoping the cars don't drive all over your disc. I learned from personal experience that the fence is complete around the entire park and buttoned up tight in the winter, so this is effectively a seasonal course (see below).

They are making improvements here, but holes 4-9 do not yet have concrete tees, and the bridges over the little swale on holes 7-9 flex quite a bit underfoot, so go easy there.
Other Thoughts: I've visited here three times, but only been able to play twice, because I didn't know the park is completely closed and locked up in the winter. I've since seen that you can call Tommy Lanham at 502-667-2981 during the winter to request use of the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Layout but Safety Concerns

1    3/1/2012   3/2/2012
Review By: DGLobo999
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Enjoyed the layout. Nice park and appreciate the efforts to build a course in this area. Course is mostly open with some minor elevation changes and average hole length. Good playability. When all tees are poured it will improve the course.
Cons: No cons with course however there are safety concerns with the proximity of other park facilites to the baskets. I would hate to see a good course closed due to this. Some basket relocations would help to mitigate potential risks - especially on #4, #7, and #8.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great course for women with children!!

5+    11/8/2011   11/17/2011
Review By: TammyLanham
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play disc golf and I have 2 children. This course is a great one in that it has a couple of nice playground areas for the kids to play and I can see them while I play. It's also really nice because there are not a lot of trees and it's not grown up. One of the frustrating things I find as a female disc golfer is either the course is too hard (very overgrown with very long holes) or it's too easy (wide open, short holes, unchallenging). This course offers obstacles, rolling hills and medium length holes (with the exception of one longer hole on #2).
Cons: The only con I can think of is on hole #8, there are picnic tables nearby. I have been known to throw some wild shots before and I worry if there are people at those tables. Although I've played the course many times now, I've still not hit anyone so I guess it's not that big of a threat. :)
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course. It's playable in about 45 minutes and yet challenging and fun. I love the size of the tees and it's a well maintained course. Again, I can't emphasize enough how great this course is if you have kids.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great beginner course

5+    11/8/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: tommylanham
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great beginner course yet it is not so easy that it becomes boring to experienced players. Also, if you have kids with you it is a great course to bring kids and just let them play on the playground while you play the course. Because of the layout you can see your kids from almost anywhere on the course so they do not have to follow you around from hole to hole.
Cons: Right now there are natural tees and a couple of them get muddy. Eventually they will have concrete tees.
Other Thoughts: If you live in or around Henry County, Kentucky and you want to introduce new people to this great game then this is the place to do that. I love this course and my wife loves this course. It is a good family course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/7/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a brand new course which just opened in October 2011, and is also the first course in this area! It's set in multi use park with baseball fields, soccer goals, shelter and picnic tables near by. The course plays up and down some modest sized rolling hills and is mostly open with strategically placed trees in the way.

There are tee signs at each hole that list distance, brand new discatcher pro baskets and natural tees. There aren't hole diagrams on the signs but they really aren't necessary, the baskets for holes 1 and 2 are the only ones not visible from the pads. Navigating the course is a breeze.

Hole 1 is a downhill shot with the basket about 40ft behind the pine tree.

Hole 2 at 542ft is the only pro par 4 on the course. It plays over a hill with the basket partially tucked behind another hill.

Hole 3 is an uphill shot with the fence from the ball field on the right keeping you from a big wide hyzer shot. Basket placement is in the middle of an incline making for a more difficult putting green.

Hole 4 is a downhill shot with some trees in front of the basket protecting it.

Hole 5 has a mando forcing you to throw a wide hyzer shot. The basket is on a good sized slope making it another tricky putting green.

Hole 6 is a turnover shot for RHBH players with the ball field on your right OB. A mando stops you from throwing over the field. Trees line the left side of the fairway and the basket sits in the middle of a slope making this a short, but difficult hole.

Hole 7 challenges you to throw between two trees and over a small valley to the basket on the other side.

Hole 8 is a short downhill hole with a number of trees in the way.

Hole 9 is an uphill shot that forces you to throw between two trees shortly off the tee. The basket is on the right side of the fairway forcing you to throw a gently turnover to get your birdie.
Cons: The only major con I have about this course is the tees. They are about 4x8 ft and framed on all 4 sized with wood which stops you from getting a longer run up and could potentially be a tripping hazard on your follow through. The tees for holes 3 and 5 were a bit muddy, I was surprised to see this since it hadn't rain for 3-4 days. The tee on hole 5 could be moved forward 10-15 feet to get it on flat ground so there isn't an uphill run up on your drive.

***UPDATE***
I understand concrete tees are currently in the works here which should eliminate the above con's.

There's a shelter on hole 6, playground equipment on hole 7 and a picnic table on hole 8 that are a bit close to the fairways, be sure to watch out for other people in the park. The basket for hole 9 seems a little too close to the parking lot.

Since this is the first course in the area I was a little surprised how long this course is. Most holes are in the 300-340ft range with only 2 holes under 300ft. This isn't really a con, just an observation.
Other Thoughts: It's always great to see a new course, especially in an area where none previously existed. This is a great place to introduce the surrounding communities to the sport. The course is perfect for beginner level players due to the mostly open shots and lack of underbrush. Its length provides a nice challenge to intermediate players.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.