Course Extinct
Orefield, PA 
Levans Rec Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #1
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beginner Friendly

1    3/24/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a nice, multi-use park, with a playground for the kids and a baseball field on the other side. The baskets look brand new and are very nice and catch well. There is a tee marker at every hole, which makes finding the holes easier, since there are no tee pads.

The course is fairly open, it takes advantage of what little trees and other natural obstacles that are available. For the most part, you will have to be able to control the flight of your discs, to take advantage on these medium distance holes.
Cons: As mentioned, there are no tee pads, so this inherently means wear and tear over time and muddy and slippery in wet conditions. With no maps available, there is some confusion playing holes 6 and 7.

There can be pedestrian traffic, with joggers and dog walkers nearby. Since it's fairly open, they can be easily seen, but some caution should be taken before some shots. If the baseball and/or soccer fields are being used, a very errant throw might interfere, so stay on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This wasn't an overly difficult course to play. It makes a great beginner friendly course to bring the kids or a new player. It is located in a nice neighborhood. It could easily double as a great field practice area, since a lot of the park is wide open.

If some of the nearby adjacent land was available, and this course could expand to 18, I think it would be much better. This land would not be as open and could create more diversity and challenge.

Finally, I was able to inform two women who were trying to figure out what in the world these baskets were and how they were used. After explaining the game to them, I made them promise to go buy some discs and take their children out for some fun. Hopefully they will, and the more neighborhood children get exposed to this course, it will only get better.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth the risk

1    1/3/2009   1/3/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I always enjoy the excuse to throw a disc so I threw my discs. Quick niner with other niner and short 18er nearby so you can feasibly play 36 holes in 3 hrs. I did not kill anyone during my round. They did not waste money putting tee pads in. Thank Goodness.
Cons: Plenty of cons. Its wet, marshy. In winter it is icy. Flat zero elevation. No fast greens. Short course. Very flawed in many ways. The course plays in a park that has multi uses. Soccer fields, Football field, baseball field, walking/running path everywhere. The course simply meanders through the miniscule spaces between all of these. Every hole either crosses the exercise trail or runs parallel to it. I almost threw at the same gentleman jogging 4 times. Ludicrous. There are no safe drives. One hole features a drive over the trail and directly over 2 park benches to the basket. Can you say off with your head! There is no real challenge. So no challenge and no safety means it is even a rotten beginner course. Only an experienced player would be able to weave his way around all of the danger to the public on this course. I am afraid a kid or beginner will kill someone playing or watching a game. Joggers must get fed up with random discs flying at them as well. The drives literally flow with the trail. Ouch! I played on a cold windy January day and had pedestrian trouble I cannot imagine it during summer spring or fall when the park is full. Tees are just posts in ground. a bit confusing at times.
Other Thoughts: The exposure such a dangerous course may give is not worth the bad reputation the sport will recieve when someone is annoyed or simply pelted by a thick rimmed driver. The course itself is not absolutely horrible for a beginner or a quick 9 in winter if you could somehow get rid of the athletic fields and exercise trail. Somehow I am sure an injury will result in the course being removed and again our sport will get a black eye and no one will allow us to build a course in a more appropriate setting.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Beginners paradise.

7/14/2008   7/14/2008
Review By: bhenne22
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very wide open and fast which was helpful for my little brother on his first time. Almost all baskets are easy to see from tees. Well Groomed, and though in a park with a soccer field and baseball fields the course does good work of going around them so you can play even if there are games.
Cons: Hole 2 is completely hidden from view behind a bush at tee and you may actually shoot at the hole 6 basket instead first time on the course. Some of the tee markers are the same posts used throughout the park for other things so it can be confusing, especially some of the paint on the posts (hole 5) is faded and easy to miss. No tee boxes, no map available.
Other Thoughts: It's not difficult to navigate, but if you miss a tee you can find yourself walking a bit, which really isn't bad since it is so short. The front 5 have nasty marsh land on the right, it is wet and the grass is high. Also it is marked private property. Just don't throw your disc in there, lost a disc in there (a bit bitter about that one, ha). Hole five is a dog right, you can see a bench from the tee, the hole is to the right of it. The back 4 are very very wide open and there are no woods on either side of the holes.

It's good for beginners, but unless you live real close to it don't take the time to drive there as you'll grow out of it very quickly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad place for a few rounds

5+    4/12/2007   6/4/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2008
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 9 Holes, mostly open with little obstacles and hills, small creek.
Cons: Not a challenge to decent players, several holes get flooded out if a major rainstorm affects the area.
Other Thoughts: Great beginner course, but no tee boxes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.