Atwood, KS 
Lake Atwood DGC Share
Uploaded By: Chained Evil Hole #16 (Taken 4/2013)
4 / 485ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Approach



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good course that plays around a well maintained city lake

1    4/23/2013   4/23/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 267  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has both short and long holes and plays around a nice little city lake. The course grounds were well maintained and the tees and baskets are in great shape. There are some short aceable holes as well as a couple of up hill shots and one downhill shot as well. Here are my observations of the holes:
1-throws over a part of the lake, it was dry when I was there, with the lake to your left
2-shoots South to North
3-is a short aceable hole that shoots back towards the parking lot
4-makes you shoot thru the stage/gazebo(this is also a con)
5- is a pretty straight ahead hole
6-throws over the neck of the lake and is a short hole as well
7-shoots up hill toward the nursing home
8-has trees on your right and doglegs right, it slopes downhill so a roll away is possible here
9-is a straight shot with trees sprinkled in
10-was another up hill shot
11-was the only downhill shot
12-has a protected pin and was short
13-shoots over the road and the basket sits below your feet
14-17 vary in length with 17 being the longest. The lake is to your left on these 4 holes.
18-finishes up with another throw over the water and offers a good sized landing area.
Cons: Many of the holes shoot across the walking paths that surround the lake. Please watch out and don't hit someone. Also the road comes into play in a couple of spots so again pay attention.
Wind could be a factor here because the holes around the lake are pretty much wide open. There are no tee signs and this knocks this course down a bit for me. It would be nice to know how far the holes are before teeing off and where the next tee is at as well.
The walk from the parking lot to Hole 1's tee pad is lengthy and as stated by a previous reviewer has you throwing back towards the parking lot. Speaking of long walks, the walk from Hole 18's basket back to your car is very lengthy.
I have no idea what the concept behind hole 4 was. You must throw around a stage/gazebo that is behind a basketball court. This is a major concern if there were other park users in this area. The basket is right behind the stage/gazebo(see pics) and its either go through it or around it. A bit of a head scratcher that is for sure.
Other Thoughts: This course uses the land that is available to the best that can be done. It really uses the lake on several holes. If you add in the wind then the challenge will be greater. Not a technical course by any means but there are some obstacles to throw around. It not just bombs away with the lake being the only hazard. I too would like to see something offered after hole 18. It is just too long of a walk and I think with a little tweak somewhere it would help a bit.
If you were in the area then you should stop and play this course, however its not a course that is a destination type of a course. It will provide you with a decent challenge. I liked what this course had to offer as an advanced/intermediate caliber player. If they were to add tee signs and take out some of the long walks between the start and the end of the course then I would bump up my rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Atwood

1    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: DD-Smitty
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 great baskets.
-Cement tees (also a con they are very short).
-Easy flow that makes a loop around the lake.
-Very nice park that is a source of pride for this small town.
-3 holes with small elevation change.
-9 holes that play over or along water.
Cons: -Design is not very well thought out.
-The course is DANGEROUS to other park users not playing Disc Golf.
-Tees are very short.
-Shots over the water are only hard to for beginners and there is really no way around the water.
-The walk from 18 to the parking lot is very long.
-The walk from 18 to 1 is probably over a mile.
-No signs.
-Many tees close to the previous basket.
Other Thoughts: -Take some paint and paint the rung on the basket that would lead you to the next tee.
****7, 12, 18 are all hard to find.
-I would get rid of the first 4 holes and redesign the last 5 holes.

Hole 1- I don't like the fact that you park next to the basket, then walk to the tee, only to throw right back to your vehicle.

Hole 2- Throwing over the park benches is not a good idea. I like the hole, just not throwing over the benches.

Hole 3- Would be fine linking hole if it was sandwiched between 2 killer holes.

Hole 4- Is a series NO DO in course design. The only route to the basket is around the "stage" in the middle of the fairway.

*****I would get rid of all 4 of these holes. I would have the first hole of the course tee and play towards the stage but end up short of it. ******

Hole 5- This is the first good hole on the course. Trouble the length of the hole on the left and enough distance that it isn't going to get birdied often.

Hole 6- Is the hole people will remember when they leave. The water really isn't in play because of the shortness of the hole. It is basically the exact some shot you already play on hole 3.

Hole 7- The first of the "elevation" holes. It will get birdied half the time by advanced players. I would suggest moving the tee along the road that circles the park and bring some of the big trees into play.

Hole 8- Shouldn't tee form the middle of 7's fairway. It would also be cooler if it was farther around the corner. Still a pretty cool hole, and with the amount of play the park is going to get you will be fine.

Hole 9- A long hyzer shot that plays along the street. Would be a better hole if it finished on the hill. Maybe even to 10's basket.

Hole 10- Short up hill shot. Pretty simple but does have a small tree that can cause some problems.

******The highlight of the round*********

Hole 11- The only downhill hole on the course and it is very short. There really isn't a place to have that bombing downhill hole that people want. I actually like the way this hole both looks and plays.

Hole 12- Once you find the tee it is a good hole. It both looks and plays very nice. I would suggest a mando on one of the trees, the hyzer off the parking lot isn't a very difficult shot.

Hole 13- My favorite hole on the course, trouble on the left and right. The basket for this hole could be moved several places to make it even more interesting.

*******Here is where I have problems with the design*********************

Hole 14- Is not a horrible hole. I think it would play better of the pin was where 15 tees.

Hole 15- I don't like at all. A walker will take one in the teeth on this hole. You cannot see them coming and the only route is over the sidewalk. I would walk to where the basket is for the hole and then design my hole.

Hole 16- Is an OK hole. I would be concerned with how narrow the fairway is and how busy it will get in good weather.

Hole 17- Many of the same concerns as 16. In fact it was 30 degrees out and the wind was blowing 30 when I played and there were people parked along this hole. I would suggest moving the tee up and having this hole actually play around the corner of the lake. Move the basket someplace close to 18's tee. Make it so you could risk the shorter over the water shot, but have the option to play the safe around the corner shot.

Hole 18- The water only comes into play for people who cannot throw over 200 feet. I would try to do something like I suggested for 17. Or put the basket as close as possible to the water.

******I would also think about adding a hole after 18 that plays North and South on the "island" and then have a hole that played form the island back to the thin strip of land between the lake and dry lake. There really is no reason to play out to 18's basket. The hole isn't any fun and it only makes the walk to your car that much longer.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    10/22/2011   11/7/2011
Review By: michael_hawkins
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A nice course with many different elevation changes through out the course. Has new baskets and tee pads.
Cons: Needs a map at the course so people can find all the tee pads and holes easier.
Other Thoughts: Nice park and camping all with in walking distance of the lake and course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Lake Atwood

1    10/22/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: Gingertom
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of holes to suit the beginner like me but would also challenge the more experienced with the water hazards and a few long drives.
Also the Park is very well kept
Cons: No signs or map to guide you around the course, so you have to figure the course out unless you have the map printed out
Other Thoughts: I would print out the course / guide for next time

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.