Winnsboro, SC
All-Terrain Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #13 (Taken 9/2012)
-- / --   3 / 298ft.   3 / 326ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Short Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    10/14/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice new orange baskets , good mix of short and long holes , 2 tees to fit all skill levels , on-site snack bar with disc sales .
Cons: Must sign waiver upon entry releasing corporation of any liability for injuries which you could incur from 4 wheel / motorcycles riding all over . Terrain almost requires hiking boots - will test your cardio a bit .
Other Thoughts: Between Columbia and Charlotte - worth $5 to play once .

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Adventure

2-4    11/8/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carolina Adventure World's All-Terrain course indeed lives up to its name. The course has a little bit of everything to offer - elevation, woods, open holes and length. Put it all together and enjoy your bogus journey.
- This is a very solid course from start to finish. Hole #1 is a perfect opening hole with just enough challenge for those being aggressive off the tee, but simple enough that it's an easy par for those who are looking to start their rounds on the right foot. It's a 338 foot (or 357 depending on which score card/tee sign info is correct. More on that later.) shot from an open tee to a slightly protected basket just into the woods. Hole #18 is a downhill, let your disc sail, Ashe County Park #9 &18-sort of hole. Don't be too aggressive with this shot because the front gate building and potential parked cars may come into play. This is a nice, not overly challenging finishing hole, which still lets you be aggressive. Oh yeah, and there are 16 solid holes between these two.
- There's an incredible amount of variety here. I was amazed at the amount elevation this course offered. From holes #4 - 13, you really feel like you're playing a mountain course. The four holes with the most elevation gain/loss to them were paired together in two great combos - #6 downhill, #7 uphill and #17 uphill, #18 downhill. Add to that #16 is a long, gradual downhill, and you get that elevation change on three straight holes.
- Course also offers plenty of open holes, some great doglegs (highlighted by #5 & 8); heavily wooded/tight holes and holes with less trees, but no less challenging. Plenty of risk/reward holes that could result in birdies, or even some ace runs, but could lead to bogeys, or time searching for discs that sail deep into the woods.
- As great as the long layout is, perhaps what separates this course from a lot of comparable courses is the perfect job they do with the shorter/beginner friendly layout. As challenging as the long layout is, they get an A+ from me for offering such a great, easier alternative with the short tees. To highlight, I played the long and short tees back-to-back, putting out on #18 and walking straight to the short tee on #1. I shot way over par - never bothered adding up my score, but I'd around 10 over - playing the long tees. Without a rest, I shot 50 (either -6 or -7 depending on whether par is 56 or 57), and should have shot even better - had a couple fatigued missed putts - without ever being in danger of getting a 4 on any of the holes. This would be like having the Elon Angry & Eager Beaver layouts on one course instead of two. That said, I think this is a great course for all skill levels, giving casual players a chance to compete with more advanced ones with the dual layouts.
- Adding to the variety, I really enjoyed some of the different looks you got from playing the long versus short tees. #7 short was a fun, uphill shot, that lets you be aggressive. Compare that to the much tougher long layout, you get two different looks. On a side note, the risk/reward factor of the "hidden" gap on #7 long means you can be looking at a birdie chance, or find yourself deep, deep, deep in the woods, if you hit a tree instead, and have your disc sail deep into no-man's land. I'll let you guess where my shot landed.
- Lots to do at Carolina Adventure World, other than just disc golf. CAW is first and foremost built for off-road riders - ATVs, UTVs and dirt bikes - but offers a lot of other outdoor adventures for people. On top of that, there are campsites here, food counter serving more than just snacks, home building/clubhouse with a decent disc selection. If that's your thing, one could easily spend a weekend here without ever leaving the grounds.
- Course is very well maintained. Great tee signs. Tee pads and baskets are in great shape.
Cons: There is very little wrong with this course. I think it comes pretty close to reaching its ceiling in terms of quality. Now, if you want to expand the course, that's another issue. That said, here are the only four minor things I noticed.
- Distances on scorecards and tee signs don't match. On some holes it's not a big deal - #1 long is listed at 338 and 357. On others, it's a bigger discrepancy, which poses more of a problem - #5 long is listed at 552 and 642; #15 is listed at 231 and 303. The correct lengths need to be figured out and made uniform on all platforms. Or, if nothing else, at least have the different scorecards have a uniform distance.
- Trails are a little confusing to navigate at times. Several holes have long walks/transitions where you're walking past other trails. The transitions from #1 to #2, #6 to #7 and #13 to #14 stood out the most. Better signage would be a great help. Also the tee shot from #12 long could be improved because it's not easy to determine where the fairway is, especially for the first-time player.
- Course crosses paths with paths/roads used by 4-wheelers. This creates a slight chance of hitting a driver with a disc, along with added navigational issue. The sounds of 4-wheelers and dirt bikes can take away from the 'nature' feel when they go flying by.
- More benches and trashcans would be appreciated. I spotted only a couple of benches throughout the course and never saw a single trashcan.
Other Thoughts: All-Terrain impressed me by just how well it was. The course offered the challenge factor as well as the fun factor, which to me are the two most vital aspects of a great course.
- The course offers a nine-hole loop - holes #1-4 and #14 - 18. That's nice and all, but I feel you're missing the real substance of this course if you're only playing the short loop.
- When you're playing, stop near the the American flag near #14's basket and #15's tee. You can see for miles up here, taking in some amazing views of the surrounding hills. Yes, I know there's a nearby town of Great Falls, I've driven down some of those hill roads, but it still seems odd, that heading south from Charlotte, you get more of a foothills feel than being in Charlotte itself.
- My two favorite holes are the two long ones on the front 9 - #5 & 8. Both have wide-enough fairways that you can be aggressive with your tee shots. Both are doglegs left and both will penalize you if you get off the fairway. #5 has a wider fairway, but has more trees in said fairway. #8 has a sharper dogleg with a higher risk/reward factor. From the short tees, I really enjoyed the uphill holes - #7 & 17. Both offer a chance for you to be aggressive, taking a run at the basket for a possible ace.
- This course had lots of elements of Stumpy Creek (Mooresville, NC) and Walnut Creek (Charlottesville, VA). All three are rated highly in my book. If you like either of those courses, I bet you'll like All-Terrain as well. All three are rated highly in my book.
- This course easily gets lost in the shuffle because its by itself, out of the way. You're either driving to Charlotte or Columbia to play courses, but don't miss out on this one. With the course at Chester State Park, you now have two solid courses within 30 minutes of each other. If you could only play one, I'd give this course an edge over Chester because this offers more variety.
- For me, All-Terrain is now a must-play. I don't know how it took me so long to play. I will be back here again to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

It can be a bane but it's off the chain!! Long tee review.

1    11/8/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Awesome course! Awesome, unique place that has different activities to offer. Like dirtbiking, ATV, camping, etc. Those things however are not as good as disc golf and this place has an underrated course. 3.83?! That's cheap.
-The pro shop! It has many different things. Discs, tents, a food stand inside of it, and different items for Carolina Adventure World, like sweaters, coasters, drinking cups, etc.
-Elevation! Course utilizes a LOT of it. There are only two holes that are "flat" but still gain a few feet. I know elevation, this course is hillier than it looks in the media.
-There are a few par 5's. They are not as long as most par 5's but they have a lot of defense. Hole 5 is a slightly downhill hyzer shot into the woods and it gets tight. Hole 8 is a dogleg that requires two clean shots over 300 feet. I nearly eagled it but I got "tree love" on my teeshot and Hole 12 is an odd shaped fairway and turns into a super hard approach shot into the woods.
-Some really nice greens here. Some of the baskets were on small hills so rollers are a possibility. #9's green is surrounded by a creek bed and #15's basket is on a cluster of rocks.
-Dual sets of tees on every hole. It's great that Alan Kane took the time to make this a course for all players (Not that courses should have a lower rating by not being beginner friendly). The tees are a doable length.
-There is a practice basket by the pro shop.
-Friendly staff members, good looking females that are very helpful! They give you scorecards and tell you where the first tee is.
-I like the orange DGA baskets. They catch very well and they are very visible.
-Great mix of open and wooded shots. Some holes allow you to rip it, like the awesome, classic 18th hole! Some holes are very narrow and can get unforgiving and will require you to get creative and that's what a real course has to have. If you play the longs, you will have to be prepared for some very unique holes that require clean shots. #10 long is a very narrow, uphill 321' par 3. You don't know what this hole is capable of. You got to throw it straight.
-The tee diagrams are very accurate. It's a good idea to look that the diagram if you play the longs.
-Benches on almost if not on every hole. This course is a hike! A real hike.
Cons: -I'm 16 and don't get my driver's license until February. So I drove my father here and when we got here, he had to sign that he is my guardian. I'm afraid that I can't come here alone until 2015 but this is really only a problem for me except when it's the Trailbrazer open, you just got to register. Plus you have to wear a wristband. If you don't have scissors in the car then it's tough to get it off.
-$5 to play all day. Totally worth it, it's just an alert, so play more than one round.
-There was racoon poop on #9's short tee and I saw some deer in the woods. LOOK OUT!
-The course runs through the dirt bike course but dirt bikers shouldn't keep a true disc golfer from playing THIS course.
Other Thoughts: -This is a course worthy of a 4.5. The work put into it, the money paid, the layout and elevation! It's an amazing course. The first three holes play on the side of a hill! Then you go to hole 4 which is a very cool uphill par 3 with two routes. Hole 5 is a very challenging 626' par 5 that is a tight hyzer shot. #6 is one of my favorite holes I've played. On the long tee, it's an awesome steep downhill tunnel shot. If it's really a par 4, then I eagled it with a mako3! Then #7 and #8 are just begging to bump up your score. Both dogleg left holes. The 7th is a steep uphill par 3 and 8 is slightly downhill. #9 is a very tough 379' foot par 3 and the basket is on a green surrounded by a creek bed. 10 is a challenging narrow par 3 with the basket going up a 10' hill. 11 is a short, dogleg right. 12 is a slightly downhill shot that is open most of the way and goes into the woods, standard 5 as it is very tight once you get to the woods. #13 is an uphill par 3 that requires clean shot. #14 and #15 are both open, uphill shots which #15 being an open bomb. On #14, it's worth knowing that the basket 400-450' straight ahead is #15's not #14's. #14 is a dogleg right. #16 is a downhill par 4 with multiple lanes but several trees so this is a thinker's hole. #17 is back uphill and you end with an epic 18th! The long tee is on top of the huge hill and you just have to throw more than one disc off the tee. Beautiful open bomb, one of the most beautiful holes I've played.
-Wishlist this course if you haven't. Go play it if you live within 3 hours. It's off the chain and it can really be unforgiving if you don't hit your line but that shouldn't prevent you from enjoying the course. Holes #6, #10 and #18 are three of my favorite holes of the 600+ holes I have played. I have maybe 75 favorite holes.

Here are some things you need to know
-The GPS is only familiar with Arrowhead Rd. Not 1515 but this course was easy for me to find.
-There is an entrance. You have to say what you are at Carolina Adventure World for before you can park.
-You have to sign a form.
-#2 is to the left of #1's basket. We got confused so we walked down #1's fairway and went to the right. I saw the tee and we had to walk up a steep hill to get to it.
-Some hole distances may be inaccurate. #6 is probably shorter than 404'. The teesign says 328' par 3 so I don't know if it's a par 3 or 4. The scorecard says it's a par 4.
-It's epic!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great new course for SC

1    1/11/2013   1/15/2013
Review By: terryjoshbennett
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I drove 45 minutes and my friend drove an hour to play this course, and I believe we both would say that it was worth it. The staff, first, was very nice. They have a rack of Innova discs and some bags for purchase. Not many people frequent this course for disc golf, so the discs and bags are a bit dusty. When I say they have discs, they don't have a small selection like Dick's or Academy Sports; they have mostly pro plastic and champion plastic discs, with a great selection. The course is very hilly, and will wear your legs out. This course is very challenging, and can make a good player look very bad. The terrain definitely made for exciting holes.
Cons: The first con that I have for this course is that you have to pay $5 dollars plus tax in order to play the course. Seeing that on the site alone made me not want to play the course. But, I decided it would've been worth it, and it was. Watch out for hole #18...One review stated it's good to unload your entire bag. While that was fun, the fairway is surrounded by very thick trees and brush. We spend over 30 minutes searching for two discs. We found my friend's Champion Eagle, but never found my Champion Wraith.
Other Thoughts: I live in Rock Hill, SC, which is about 45 minutes away from this course. My friend lives in Lexington which is a good hour away from this course. We decided to meet at the course and try it out. Anyone from the Rock Hill area, this course is quite similar to Boyd Hill, but much longer. Anyone from the Columbia area, this course is a lot like Owens Field, but more hilly. All-terrain disc golf course is the perfect name for this course!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very cool Destination!

1    8/2/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole disc golf course inside Carolina Adventure World complex. In addition to disc golf there is camping, a zip line, and ATV, quad, or motorcycle trails galore.

In the main building where you check in there is a decent selection of Innova discs, as well as cold drinks and food. The grill has hot dogs, burgers, fried chicken and fries. Indoor and outdoor seating is available.

There are also plenty of clean showers and restrooms in a building near the 1st tee and main building.

The course itself is hilly and wooded. There are 18 holes with two sets of nice concrete pads for each one. Some of the long tees add a different angle as well as much more distance on occasion. Basic signs at each tee show layout and lengths. Baskets are very cool bright orange DGAs that are highly visible, and catch well.

Very good variety of up and downs on this course. You get plenty of downs and enough ups to test your arm a little. There is also a decent mix of lefts and rights.

While this course is wooded it didn't seem as tight or unforgiving as many of the Charlotte courses 1 hour North. You do need to hit a line, but there weren't any fairways that were more luck than line, or unfair. But if you got off the fairway some of the pines in the woods are unforgiving.

There are some spots where you can let loose an open air driver bomb. This is not an all-wooded course that prohibits the use of drivers.

There are a few cool basket positions that add some risk to the approach or putt. #2 has a hillside behind the basket, and #9 has a creek bed surrounding it.
Cons: There is a large aluminum or steel building on the right side of #1's fairway. You shouldn't hit it, but I did. It makes a cool noise. It is kind of an eye sore on the first hole.

In some spots this course seems like it needed some more maintenance. There were several tee pads that were being overgrown with weeds and grass, and there were several fairways where the growth was up to my waist. It made finding discs a little tough.

While there is some decent line shaping I would have liked a little more extreme right to left, and left to right shots. I didn't really need to use my over stable mids or truly under stable mids often. Most bends and turns in fairways were fairly subtle. Lots of straight with a little zig or zag. A lot of straight shots with a small wrinkle or two.
Other Thoughts: Don't let holes 1-4 fool you. This is a very nice course. Holes 1-4 are average at best, and don't really show you what is to come.

Starting on #5 you get to see the fun that awaits. 5 is a 552' downhill shot. It is fairly straight, but has a line of pines running down the fairway center with tunnels on each side. It is a pretty cool hole. #6 is a tight 328' down hill tunnel. #7 is a dramatic dog leg followed by an uphill approach. #8 is a sweet 626' down hill shot that has ample fairway, but punishing rough. And finishing out the front 9 you get a nice tight fairway shot followed by a basket surrounded by a creek bed. Nice risky green.

The back 9 offers more good shots. #12 is a nice long shot along a road bed and ending in the woods. 13 makes you throw up a fairly steep rise. 15 offer the tremendous views others have mentioned. 16 is a cool 464' down hill shot. And 18 is a huge down hill bomb that just begs for you to empty the bag. Just a ton of fun to be had at this course.

While this course is not perfect, it does have a ton of good shots and holes. Combine that with the amenities and this should be a true destination course. I could see people camping and spending a day or two on site. The few cons here are far outweighed by the fun golf to be played.

There is a $5 fee to play this course, but that is more than worth it. You get an uncrowded round with lots of amenities. And if ATVs or dirt bikes are your thing, this place may just be heaven on Earth.




6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/11/2011   12/15/2011
Review By: medic5888
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 tee pads
Bright orange mach IV baskets!
Practice basket
Elevation on most of the holes, long bombs, tight wooded holes.
Restrooms on site.
Decent selection of innova discs
Tee signs that have the throwing routes and distances.
18 holes and a short 9 hole option.
Cons: As most of the people I played with the complaints of the tee pads, they were rough and got narrow towards the front of the pad, seems to be installed backwards as we are all used to them pads widening out at the front.

The course is still new so I really cant say this is a bad thing but it defiantly needs some foot traffic on it to get all the small roots and briars beat down.

Some of the distances on the tee pads seemed to be marked way wrong.

It can get really loud with all of the dirt bikes and atvs going around, and the trails do intersect with the course some, hole one you throw right over the trail from the long tee pad.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, Its a great setting and not a bad drive from Lexington where I live 25 min. I love the fact if you are cold you can go in the shop and warm up, they have decent food that is not expensive. I will defiantly play this course again and probably several times.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 worth the trip

1    12/12/2011   12/13/2011
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 93  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course just 50 mile south of charlotte. two tee pads at all holes, bright orange cages on the baskets make for good visibility. the elevation and terrain are amazing. good varietyof left to right and right to left holes.. up hill shots, down hill shots. fairways were fair and beat in well.
Cons: tee pads could have been leveled better before they poured the concrete. needs a few benches and some trashcans, although i didnt see much of any trash laying on the ground
Other Thoughts: the course is really laid out well. the last 4 holes were great, the view from#15 is worth the trip in itself. #18 is a great finish to the course. i will definitely be back again. 5 bucks to play it all day is not a bad thing at all

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 All Terrain is Off the Chain!

2-4    12/4/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 193  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All Terrain Disc Golf fully lives up to its name. The 18 hole layout has several memorable holes, featuring heavy elevation changes and woods throughout. A couple of very nice scenic vantage points toward the end of the course, and a great finishing hole. Front nine has a few easy holes but gets more woodsy, longer and more difficult beginning on hole 5. trees thin somewhat, but it doesn't let up lengthwise much through the back nine. Pro quality course, with few weak links. Every hole has two good sized, level concrete tee boxes with signs. There are also signs pointing the way between most holes. The baskets are sweet new Mach 5's with bright orange coating that is very easy to spot amongst the trees. There is a store with a small assortment of plastic, as well as food and drinks.
Cons: I would only ask for a few benches and trash cans on the course. Wind will usually be a factor on the hill tops here. Some of the rough is filled with thorns, ground is often littered with leaves and pine needles causing unstable footing on the hillsides. Keeping drives on the fairways proved difficult for me, and I scored two rounds over 70 on the long tees. My friend did shoot a 59 (-4) second round, so if you can get a little, and don't give up much a good score is possible. The green fees is $5 a day, making the nine hole layout fun but expensive. Carolina Adventure World facility hosts ATV and dirt bike riders, that may cross the trails near the course. We encountered a half a dozen riders during two rounds.
Other Thoughts: I like this course very much, and would say it is one of the best I have played in the state of South Carolina. If you are serious about disc golf, it is truly worth traveling to play this one. I really enjoyed the many chances for long drives on elevated tees, and the terrific views on hole 15. I wanted to give this course a 4.5 rating, but I can't fairly rate it better than equally good courses I have reviewed recently. It is a beauty though. I love playing this style of course, and had a lot of fun playing here. Nice facility, and surely worth a look if you live anywhere close.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/25/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 187  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 18.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Starts with the amenities. You must check-in before you play ($5/each, but to their credit they didn't charge my lady friend). There's a pro shop with drinks/concession-stand food/restrooms.
Two cement tee pads for each hole. A long and a short. This site has a helpful course map under "links."
Long open bombs, tight tunnels, elevation, lefts, rights, holes snaking up and down hills.
Bright baskets, like the baskets at Highland Hills in Wilkesboro. Easy to spot.
Scenic. Secluded (4-wheeler trails cross the course but I didn't see any and it was a beautiful day).
Close to the highway
Next-tee signs
Arranged to accommodate quick rounds - you can play the first 4 or 5, then jump over to the last 4 or 5 by design.
I like the old school signs at each hole.
14, 15, 18 - beautiful
Cons: Pay to play
Still very new. No benches or trash cans. Signs get you to next tee (though print a map for help), but there aren't established transitions. Some trail blazing on loose, rocky, hilly grounds.

Other Thoughts: I started out thinking 3.0 and then 3.5. It's a bit primitive but it's pretty perfect if you're driving between Charlotte and Columbia. I went with 4.0 rating because it's new - a lot of my cons should be fixed in time. And because it's a great stop on a beach trip. And, selfishly, because I ended with a sweet shot on 18.
Last tips - when you play 14, you see a basket that fits the pic on the sign. The basket is actually to the left (the basket you see straight ahead is 15). 14 is about 250 straight and then 200 dead left.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.