Disc Golf Store
Mankato, MN 
Land of Memories Campground Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #7 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
land of memories

1    8/25/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: mev53
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a 18 hole course.
It has concrete tee pads.
It is good layout for a first year player.
Cons: NO SIGNS. The course is flat,easy, and boring.!
For the size town I would expect a lot more. Message board States there is a league. Take some of your league fees and buy some spray paint and paint arrows on the ground next to the baskets to give direction. Simple solution until you can buy signs.
Other Thoughts: played four holes got lost on were to go.as did everyone else that I talked to at the course. Had to makeup tee spots just to keep playing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Homer

1    5/13/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: Tlrmessner
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good place to unleash on the majority of holes, and quite a few short ones to bag some birdies. Course is very open and susceptible to wind, which is the only real challenge factor for this course. Concrete tees on every hole.Starts and ends at right next to the parking lot, and has a nice warm up basket near the start.
Cons: Most of the holes require the same through with varying distances, and only a few give multiple shot options with risk/reward scenarios. Not a lot of personality here, if you have a strong rhbh you;ll only find yourself using a few discs. Easy to get lost if the course is slow, but on nice days it is usually quite busy and easy to follow the group in front of you.
Other Thoughts: This has been a hometown course for me for 2 years now, with the other option being St Peter 10 miles away. I'll generally choose St Peter, but this course is good for a quick 18, or bringing out some beginner friends. Not very challenging, but still a good course in it's own way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Local course

5+    11/1/2012   11/7/2012
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 80  Reviewed: 24
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete teepads and chain baskets. There is two holes on top of a hill to throw from, but thats the only elevation change. Beginner friendly. Quite a few ace-able holes if you have the arm.
Cons: Not really a challenge to par any holes besides 14 which seems more like a long filler hole. It runs along a road that will eat your disc and its directly the straight route to the basket. Its almost like playing in a field with a few trees that the basket is strategically placed. Also the college players typically leave behind a lot of garbage despite there being garbage cans. Holes 12 and 13 are in the sand.
Other Thoughts: You could shoot close to par with only your favorite driver, midrange and putter.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Merely OK

1    8/27/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: Concrete tee pads and passable baskets. The course is fairly beginner-friendly, with no real challenging holes. There is a good variety of distances.
Cons: Part of the course from Hole 12-14 is covered in sand due to flooding, and it looks like little is being done to fix this. Hole 13 is completely gone, and we spent a while trying to look for it. The path from 12 to 14 is narrow and overgrown.

Navigation is difficult. There are no signs for where to go, and many tee pads are close together. However the tee pads are numbered.

Most holes are very open and easy, with only a couple of trees in the way.

No amenities that I can tell - not many benches, and I think only porta potties for toilets.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, a fairly forgettable course. Nothing really unique, except for #10 with a giant wall of trees perpendicular to the tee box.

  A fun course

5+    8/31/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: KatoGolfer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1) After adding the extra 9 the course finally made good use of the property.
2) The trees that are there ar put to good use.
3) There is a wide varity of shots, from short straight shots, to a long LHBH holes, long RHBH holes as well. so there's a little bit for everyone.
4) The baskets are very nice.
5) A player of all skill can play here and have a blast.
Cons: 1) At some points it is very open
2) Out of the 17 holes in play right now, if you have good D 16 of them are birdy holes
3) The city doesnt take care of it too well, the river flooded pretty bad this past year and the city just left it overgrown in the back to where it is almost unplayable
4) It can be confusing at times, because there are no next tee signs
Other Thoughts: as said in another review, this course is worth the stop if you are in the area but that's about it. i love it because i live in town and it has helped my game, wind always changes so you never know what you're going to get, which can be nice to practice in.

i hear the city just approved to ditch the back camp ground and put more DG in so within the next couple years LOM might have 27, with atleast 9 very wooded holes.

over all it is a great course to practice at, or just play a rec round, it isnt TOO challenging, so you can just go and have fun.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course, better before flood

5+    8/6/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: UberPooch
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Converted from 9 holes to 18 about two years ago. Safe course for beginners.
Cons: A flood last year washed out about a quarter of the course. Since then grass has been replaced with sand and weeds on two of the holes. It's now a 17-hole course (#13 is missing). Still a nice course to play but I wish the city would fix the problems from the flood.
Other Thoughts: Playing again tomorrow. Will try to take photos of the tees/holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Flat and open

1    8/22/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: deadbody
Played: 104  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice cement tees and baskets, some nice mature trees, a bit of elevation, good distance, holes range from about 175 to 600. Nicely mowed.
Cons: super open, no real difficulty, when you stand on a tee you can see 3 or 4 baskets, the lay out could be confusing if it isn't busy.
Other Thoughts: Really a nothing special 18, not bad, and worth a stop if you are driving by, but not really worth a special trip.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 good not great

2-4    4/30/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: playmaka3000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good beginer course, lots of open holes and smaller trees, lefty and righty holes, a few longer more difficult holes for, and a practice basket
Cons: there are really only 3 or 4 holes that cause you to be creative and throw differant types of shots,

only 1 tee on every hole, and i feel like they just saw a clump of trees and threw a basket in there randomly its not really thought out well, and the worst thing is that the park is open and its always windy
Other Thoughts: this was an ok course i will go back next time im in the mankato area, they were planting more trees the last time i was there so it might be more interesting when i go back, but agian it dosnt seem thought out well, like there just putting in little trees and hopeing it turns out the way they want it too,

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A few memorable holes at Land of Memories

1    8/8/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I found holes 7, 10, 14, 16, and 17 memorable. 7 had 4 large trees directly in front of the tee box that makes you drive around either side and not straight. 10 has a giant row of trees and bushes right in front of the hole that makes it interesting. 14 is the longest hole on the course and has an interesting fast green. 16 is the first real woods used and also has some elevation. 17 is back down the hill that 16 went up and your drive has to be accurate to get out of the tee area.
-Nice baskets.
-Easy to follow as all baskets and tees are numbered.
-Few trees but the ones that are there are used well.
-Nice friendly locals were keen to point out the parking lot and first tee.
-Practice basket near first tee to work on the putting and upshots.
-Good for beginners, the course isnt too long and hard. You also cant lose discs here and you wont be too punished for a bad shot.
-I always knew which basket I was shooting at even though 18 of them were in this park.
-Scheels has a decent disc selection and is only about 5 miles away.
-Random doubles every Tuesday, I havent played but if could be fun.
Cons: -Tees are dirt and could be very muddy when wet. They were however flat and easy to throw from.
-The course is mostly flat with the exception of the last 4 holes.
-Not enough length, i was able to reach all holes but 14 in one drive and my max throw is 400 or so.
-A few ace runs and many chances for birdies. It was very windy when i played and I still only shot 1 4.
Other Thoughts: The 5 holes I listed were memorable but the other 13 were fairly open and easy. I think the actual camping area which as more wooded and had some water could have been used to make a more interesting disc golf course. This course is the best one in the area and I would recommend playing if you're in the area but don't expect anything spectacular.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Memorable track

1    7/29/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Clearly numbered tee posts. This makes finding the next hole much easier. Great for a new person to the course.

2) Nice baskets in good shape including a nice wide open circle area with a practice basket. So many courses jam their practice basket into a corner, but this would allow for quite a few people to practice and also the ability to throw 50-75' for practice.

3)Beginner friendly. What makes most of these holes easy and somewhat boring, also make this course beginner friendly. I think it is an important part for all golf courses to accept beginners but challenge players with different lines and teeing areas.

4) Has 7 very memorable holes and 11 average holes. My favorites are listed here: #6 Tight alley through parallel rows of very largemature trees, #10 Blind teeshot over or around a large bunch of scrub brush. I cleared the bushes and ended up 30' away. Great hole, #14 Long anhyzer hole to a basket perched atop a sideslope (rollaways very possible on this slope and hard ground), #15 Walk iphill from #14 and throw back down the hill to a basket surrounded by about 8 15' spruce trees. I would call this hole the burning ring of fire!!!!, #16 Shoots through a wooded alley to a basket perched on a hill again (rollaways possible), #17 walk up the hill from #16 and shoot back down through another tight alley to a basket in the wide open, #18 Long drive with basket tucked right back into the woods you played through on #16 and #17. These last 5 holes are truly memorable and they turned my opinion of this course. I was a little bored early on but these holes certainly presented some challenge, where the prior holes were somewhat repetetive and wide open. Avoiding large mature trees is a challenge, but can easily be tackled.
Cons: 1) Sign at the beginning is outdated and distances do not hold true. It is only listed as a 9 hole course. Why wouldnt the sign be taken down if incorrect?

2) Mostly wide open and not much elevation changes make this course less than challenging.

3) Tee areas are worn down to bare soil. Some of these areas have some gravel popping through which I do not think was placed there, I think it is the gravel that was in the soil already.

4) The first 13 holes I was throwing my same beat Beast at max power to try and get as close as possible. This got a little boring. There just wasn;t enough variety in forced shots on these holes.
Other Thoughts: This course has two seperate feels. The first 13 holes are all pretty wide open. They are flat with no elevation change. They do use mature trees very well to force certain shots.They even found a way to make a tight alley shot despite not having dense woods on the property (They have a hole shooting between two parallel rows of huge mature trees). You are forced to stay within the trees to be guaranteed a putt at birdie becuase the trees are so mature going on the outside will just not allow your disc back to the inner alley (Great memorable hole).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.