Mankato, MN 
Land of Memories Campground Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Homer

1    5/13/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: Tlrmessner
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good place to unleash on the majority of holes, and quite a few short ones to bag some birdies. Course is very open and susceptible to wind, which is the only real challenge factor for this course. Concrete tees on every hole.Starts and ends at right next to the parking lot, and has a nice warm up basket near the start.
Cons: Most of the holes require the same through with varying distances, and only a few give multiple shot options with risk/reward scenarios. Not a lot of personality here, if you have a strong rhbh you;ll only find yourself using a few discs. Easy to get lost if the course is slow, but on nice days it is usually quite busy and easy to follow the group in front of you.
Other Thoughts: This has been a hometown course for me for 2 years now, with the other option being St Peter 10 miles away. I'll generally choose St Peter, but this course is good for a quick 18, or bringing out some beginner friends. Not very challenging, but still a good course in it's own way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Merely OK

1    8/27/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: Concrete tee pads and passable baskets. The course is fairly beginner-friendly, with no real challenging holes. There is a good variety of distances.
Cons: Part of the course from Hole 12-14 is covered in sand due to flooding, and it looks like little is being done to fix this. Hole 13 is completely gone, and we spent a while trying to look for it. The path from 12 to 14 is narrow and overgrown.

Navigation is difficult. There are no signs for where to go, and many tee pads are close together. However the tee pads are numbered.

Most holes are very open and easy, with only a couple of trees in the way.

No amenities that I can tell - not many benches, and I think only porta potties for toilets.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, a fairly forgettable course. Nothing really unique, except for #10 with a giant wall of trees perpendicular to the tee box.

 Flat and open

1    8/22/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: deadbody
Played: 103  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice cement tees and baskets, some nice mature trees, a bit of elevation, good distance, holes range from about 175 to 600. Nicely mowed.
Cons: super open, no real difficulty, when you stand on a tee you can see 3 or 4 baskets, the lay out could be confusing if it isn't busy.
Other Thoughts: Really a nothing special 18, not bad, and worth a stop if you are driving by, but not really worth a special trip.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 good not great

2-4    4/30/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: playmaka3000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good beginer course, lots of open holes and smaller trees, lefty and righty holes, a few longer more difficult holes for, and a practice basket
Cons: there are really only 3 or 4 holes that cause you to be creative and throw differant types of shots,

only 1 tee on every hole, and i feel like they just saw a clump of trees and threw a basket in there randomly its not really thought out well, and the worst thing is that the park is open and its always windy
Other Thoughts: this was an ok course i will go back next time im in the mankato area, they were planting more trees the last time i was there so it might be more interesting when i go back, but agian it dosnt seem thought out well, like there just putting in little trees and hopeing it turns out the way they want it too,

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.