Disc Golf Store
Boise, ID 
Bogus Basin - Simplot Share
Uploaded By: handsoffmt Hole #7 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
As of Aug, 2014 ...

1    8/16/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: NAustin
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I am mostly reviewing as I am because, with the new layout, this course deserves to be at LEAST a 3.5.
Flow was simple. Paths were well-marked. It ended where it began. Lots of shots called for variations in throws.
Cons: Not all pads have the rubber, grippy mats.

On the Saturday I went there had to have been at least 30 groups playing. And it was still nice.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Simplot Is Now A 18 Well Designed Hole Course!

1    7/25/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
Pros: After my earlier debacle at the Pioneer course, I drove the 1/2 mile down to Simplot with the lowest expectations possible. Boy, was I surprised to find such an enjoyable course here.
When you stand in the middle of the ski basin, there is a large sign on a balcony stating "Disc Golf Start Here."
The course starts here at the bottom of the lifts and plays up and around the lower bowl. The baskets are DGA models with a flag sticking up which helps spotting them. There are new rubber floor mats for tee pads. They're a little short for some holes but overall work pretty well up here.
The new design features three very short holes, more than a few clever, creative holes and a couple of nice downhill tosses.
# 2 has you throwing to a basket behind the chair lift 201' BUT there's a volleyball net strung across the lift base in front of the basket forcing you to throw over it without sailing too far past the basket. # 4 is one of the short holes. It's only 74' but the basket is almost straight up above you. It could be longer.
# 9 is 284' downhill but with a slight right turn forcing you to throw with an little anhyzer.
# 13 is another fun downhill touch throw 302'. And # 18 finishes with the longest hole 379' down to a basket sitting out by if self.
Easy to navigate with next tee signs.
Beautiful Idaho mountain scenery.
Holes are marked by two large poles set in ground with hole # and distance painted on top.
Cons: Because the course plays around the ski basin, you're not going to have the EPIC downhill tosses that many ski resort courses feature.
Because you're not taking the chair lift, you can save the normal $15-20 chairlift fee.
You do have to keep a look out for mountain bikers. You're sharing some of the same trails with them.
Because this is a seasonal course, there are not permanent pads, and they vary throughout the course.
The three shortest holes could all be stretched out some to provide a little bit more challenge.

Other Thoughts: Simplot is short enough to be easy but clever, creative and varied enough to be lots of fun. Most players can find some challenge here. I would drive up here to play this course. I think it's well worth the drive.
You can ignore the early reviews which were written before the re-design. I tried to upgrade the Simplot course information on the DGCR site but someone from Simplot has to do it.
previous reviewer, idaholdguy, stated that he thinks this is Boise's top course. I have to agree but maybe it's because I'm a Washington old guy and this is such an enjoyable course for us old guys.

Great Redesign

5+    7/25/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: Tjamesd
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since the course has been redesigned there is much better use of given terrain.
- Tee signs with distances (a must for shots with any elevation change)
- Rubber pads being installed.
- Creative shots, elevation is used very well.
- Beginning players will still enjoy this course, while experience players won't think it's a snooze fest.
- COOLER temps during the summer, a huge plus when its 100+ in Boise.
Cons: -The holes are shorter (but that is part of the allure to the course).
-A bit of a drive (but that keeps the crowds to a minimum)
- Course is not 100% completed quite yet (tee pads still being somewhat flattened/rubber matts installed).
- Occasional mountain bikers/hikers, just be aware and it's not a problem.
Other Thoughts: If you are just looking at an aerial map it might look like a bore (with 2 shots under 100 feet), but dont underestimate the elevation change! This course is a great compliment to the course at Pioneer lodge. Still a full 18, but you can easily play both and not be absolutely drained after doing so. During the summer months on weekends you can grab a sandwich/burger and a beer from the grill for a decent price.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

New and Improved

1    7/23/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 27  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * This course has been recently upgraded to 18 holes.
* Excellent variety of hole lengths and shots required.
* Great use of elevation throughout the course. Shots varied from steep uphill to steep downhill and everything in between.
* Rubber tee pads on many holes.
* "Next Tee" signs beside each basket made it easy to navigate.
* Beautiful Idaho scenery.
* Moderately wooded but not nearly as brushy as the upper course. Lost discs will not be a huge problem.
* Great escape from the valley heat.
Cons: * Long drive up the Bogus Basin Road.
* There is some risk of losing plastic, but that's almost a given on a mountain course.
* Some tee pads were dirt and did not have the rubber mat installed yet.
Other Thoughts: I think this is now Boise's best course. (Keep in mind that all earlier reviews were written about the old 9 hole layout.) We had a blast playing this course. There are plenty of challenging shots as well as several birdie/ace chances. I've never played a course with so much shot variety. It's too bad that's it's only a summer course. If you're in town or live in the area, this is a "must play" course. I recently posted a map of the new 18 hole layout in the "Links/Files" tab.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Little Warm Up

1    9/22/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: PSPerkins
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All short holes, all ace runs. Quick and easy to play but still fun. Some creative shots here that will take the advantage away from long arm throwers. If your midgame is tight you will excel here over long throwers.
Cons: Basket on hole #2 was set almost shoulder height off the ground - which made putting it kinda funky. There is room for 18 holes here but there are only 9 and they play around a little bowl. Kinda just rocky and ugly and not particularly inspired though each hole had some character for sure.
Other Thoughts: We played this as a warm up for Pioneer course above it and we actually had a lot of fun. I would not make the drive all the way up here just to play these 9 but they were a superb warm up to get your arm and shoulder loosened up before shooting the more technical course above it. That's exactly how I'd play this course again too - Simplot 9, front 9 at Pioneer, picnic lunch, back 9 at Pioneer. Took a team of 5 about 6 hours to play all 27 holes on both courses so plan for an all day trip to play both and you won't be disappointed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Simplot Simpleton

1    9/18/2011   1/20/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We played this on the way down from the upper Pioneer course. The holes are short-game fare, and it makes a decent beginner course, with the drives completely uncomplicated, some elevation change and a bit of cornering. The course can be played in 20 min. by a seasoned pair, or an hour with several newbs. Course travels counter-clockwise, and is fairly easy to follow. No one will get lost at least, and its highly unlikely you'd lose a disc.
Cons: The hardscrabble environment with ski detritus gives it a landfill quality that was unaesthetic at best. Can be very gusty/windy. If there's water or a bathroom to be found, I don't know where they'd be. Its not like you can abandon the kids here while you go play the Pioneer course. A waste of quality baskets.
Other Thoughts: If you were new to discing and were up here to mt. bike, I could see playing this course. Otherwise, there's better for newbs and advanced alike in Boise. I wouldn't waste the gas.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mildly amusing

5+    10/24/2011   10/24/2011
Review By: handsoffmt
Played: 262  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 21.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun variety of short shots (7 < 200 foot)
Lots of ace runs
Some elevation, especially last hole with 300 foot downhill shot
Good warm up for more challenging course higher on the mountain
Cons: Short
Not that challenging
Not that scenic for being on top of a mountain
Other Thoughts: Some entertaining holes. I enjoy an easy course, and this is an easy course! I would not drive all the way up the mountain for this course, but it serves as a good warm up for the Pioneer course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.