Boise, ID 
Bogus Basin - Simplot Share
Uploaded By: handsoffmt Hole #1 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
New and Improved

1    7/23/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 27  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: * This course has been recently upgraded to 18 holes.
* Excellent variety of hole lengths and shots required.
* Great use of elevation throughout the course. Shots varied from steep uphill to steep downhill and everything in between.
* Rubber tee pads on many holes.
* "Next Tee" signs beside each basket made it easy to navigate.
* Beautiful Idaho scenery.
* Moderately wooded but not nearly as brushy as the upper course. Lost discs will not be a huge problem.
* Great escape from the valley heat.
Cons: * Long drive up the Bogus Basin Road.
* No map available yet. I plan to submit one soon.
* There is some risk of losing plastic, but that's almost a given on a mountain course.
* Some tee pads were dirt and did not have the rubber mat installed yet.
Other Thoughts: I think this is now Boise's best course. (Keep in mind that all earlier reviews were written about the old 9 hole layout.) We had a blast playing this course. There are plenty of challenging shots as well as several birdie/ace chances. I've never played a course with so much shot variety. It's too bad that's it's only a summer course. If you're in town or live in the area, this is a "must play" course.

Fun Little Warm Up

1    9/22/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: PSPerkins
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All short holes, all ace runs. Quick and easy to play but still fun. Some creative shots here that will take the advantage away from long arm throwers. If your midgame is tight you will excel here over long throwers.
Cons: Basket on hole #2 was set almost shoulder height off the ground - which made putting it kinda funky. There is room for 18 holes here but there are only 9 and they play around a little bowl. Kinda just rocky and ugly and not particularly inspired though each hole had some character for sure.
Other Thoughts: We played this as a warm up for Pioneer course above it and we actually had a lot of fun. I would not make the drive all the way up here just to play these 9 but they were a superb warm up to get your arm and shoulder loosened up before shooting the more technical course above it. That's exactly how I'd play this course again too - Simplot 9, front 9 at Pioneer, picnic lunch, back 9 at Pioneer. Took a team of 5 about 6 hours to play all 27 holes on both courses so plan for an all day trip to play both and you won't be disappointed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Simplot Simpleton

1    9/18/2011   1/20/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We played this on the way down from the upper Pioneer course. The holes are short-game fare, and it makes a decent beginner course, with the drives completely uncomplicated, some elevation change and a bit of cornering. The course can be played in 20 min. by a seasoned pair, or an hour with several newbs. Course travels counter-clockwise, and is fairly easy to follow. No one will get lost at least, and its highly unlikely you'd lose a disc.
Cons: The hardscrabble environment with ski detritus gives it a landfill quality that was unaesthetic at best. Can be very gusty/windy. If there's water or a bathroom to be found, I don't know where they'd be. Its not like you can abandon the kids here while you go play the Pioneer course. A waste of quality baskets.
Other Thoughts: If you were new to discing and were up here to mt. bike, I could see playing this course. Otherwise, there's better for newbs and advanced alike in Boise. I wouldn't waste the gas.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mildly amusing

5+    10/24/2011   10/24/2011
Review By: handsoffmt
Played: 256  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun variety of short shots (7 < 200 foot)
Lots of ace runs
Some elevation, especially last hole with 300 foot downhill shot
Good warm up for more challenging course higher on the mountain
Cons: Short
Not that challenging
Not that scenic for being on top of a mountain
Other Thoughts: Some entertaining holes. I enjoy an easy course, and this is an easy course! I would not drive all the way up the mountain for this course, but it serves as a good warm up for the Pioneer course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.