Lakeville, MN 
Kenwood Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cgkdisc Hole #15 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 165ft.   3 / 355ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 445ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Silver & Blue Baskets



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Teaching Tool

1    6/11/2014   7/3/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 95  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two baskets one every hole and two tee pads on most holes. This allows the course to be really good for a wider variety of skill levels. The variety on this course is phenominal. There are plenty of holes in the woods and some that play over open terrain allowing elevation and distance to be the main challenge. The property itself is well taken care of. The school or local club or parks department continues to make improvements to this course. The biggest challenges come while playing throught some really tight fairways in the woods that require precise upshots to score well. Tees are generally easy to find though finding the longer tee pads is a bit more of a challenge at times. The tee pads themselves are really nice and relatively consistent. There is a really nice course map near Blues tee pad on number 1. It has a map, and having a map for this course will make a few transitions easier to follow for the first time playing the course.
Cons: There are far too many short holes on this course to make it much more than a good learning tool course. There are plenty of filler holes that are short and wide open. Most of the holes, even on the toughest layout are must birdie holes. Even the holes that they call par four should be threes at worst. The practice basket is not in the most convenient location and hole 18 finishes going away from the parking lot. It is a course that is on school grounds which means that when school is in session you are limited as to when you can play this course. There are a few patches of land back in the woods that were flooded and muddy even though most other places I had been showed no signs of this kind of flooding. Tee signs were not all that helpful.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round at this course, though it was frustrating not to score lower on this course that felt easy from even the most difficult set of tees and baskets. The multiple baskets and tees really allows for four different layouts on every hole on any given day with no work from the parks department to move baskets regularly. Additionally it allows for different skill levels to play with eachother and have fun at the same time. There are some unique holes on this course as well and one who plays this course regularly will ahve to learn to throw different shots and do it consistently. It is a feel good course that will prepare you for tougher courses to come. Be sure to know when school might be in session so as to not plan your round for that time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Unique 18 holes

2-4    8/4/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 103  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course flows well, has many options for playing long/short baskets and tees, very technical but also a few holes you get to throw in the wide open but even those holes offer some elevation and require good placement for an easy bird. Holes are fairly short for the most part and even the longer holes require more of a placement/upshot than a huge drive. Good course to work on your line shaping as well as course management given the different shots/lines needed as well as placement due to the small gaps or landing areas which need to be hit. If you are having an "off" day and mental game is struggling, this course could eat you up quick and one wouldn't think when they show up to the first few holes. This course will surprise you specially playing blue to blue. One of the coolest features is the actual BLUE powder coated baskets to match the tees, different from the reds.
Cons: Gravel tees are worn down and a few "pot-holes" during run up makes footwork a little tricky, being newer course the brush and saplings are still battleing with the foot traffic and will say it has much improved from last year but still a few killer trip stumps and thick "schule" lol... Concrete tees and better tee signs would bump this course up 1 disc for me as it gives you everything you want playability wise but lacks in the areas which many other 3.5-5 disc courses offer specially when it comes to amenities and overall feel is very "rec" course but plays more advanced from the longer tees. Some holes are very tight together and also blind which caused players to throw while we were still in the fairway or discs/players crossing into eachothers lies. Lacks benches/waiting areas which was a problem on such a high traffic day.
Other Thoughts: It is obvious there was a good amount of time spent designing this course and they really took advantage of the land/space available by using all of its features to the fullest. There was a local league there the day we played and I couldn't believe how many times discs would come flying by us while we still were throwing an up-shot or groups of 4-5 not letting us (quick playing 2fer) through as well as my disc being picked up on one of the blind holes plus people in the open fields just throwing discs like crazy with no regard for others around as if they owned the place... Just didn't get a good vibe at all even though the course is challenging and probably one of the better free 18 hole courses around, it was less than a welcoming 2nd time at this course and not its fault either but part of it none the less. I'd rather play a less desirable course and not have to deal with the crap we did that day. Great work designers and those who help to make this free course possible and all of their continued efforts to grow DG by giving us new courses every year, all around the Twin Cities!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Start, Needs Improvements ASAP, but has Potential

2-4    8/1/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 39  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Kenwood Trails DGC has a great start to the course. There are a variety of holes that require a variety of shots, including holes in the open, holes in the woods, and a few holes with elevation change.
Cons: Being that this course is brand new, there are also many bad things to say about it. The most distinctive con would have to be the lack of cement tee pads. Woods chips were put down in their place, which offers absolutely no traction. I would've much rather been throwing off packed gravel or even just the dirt. The course also lacks quality signs for navigation and there are still some areas in the woods that need to be cleaned up. Lastly, being that this course is located at a middle school and is located in quite a busy residential area, it was unfortunately very busy when I was there.
Other Thoughts: Once cement tee pads and signs are installed, I would gladly give this course a 3.5 or 4.0. I would also like to see the course pay to play so that these improvements can be made sooner, rather than later and it will help slim down the crowd as well. The course has a lot of potential and can't wait to play it once it improves over the next couple of years.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wood Pile Galore

1    3/24/2012   3/24/2012
Review By: coolbrees15
Played: 505  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Kenwood Trails DGC is an interesting course with a bit of potential. At the start of the course there is a nice map showing the entire course's layout. The first tee is directly next to the tee. From that point on navigation is never an issue. There are next tee signs on each basket and whenever the next tee is not visible from the previous basket there are multiple next tee signs along the walk to show the way.

The course does a nice job of incorporating elevation in almost every hole even though there are no really big hills on the course to work with.

The holes feel fairly balanced with straight, right, and left break holes. With the tight fairways in the wooded sections of the course precise shot shaping is required. The distance on the holes is fairly short and most of the holes are right around 200 feet in length. For the better players the course could be played with a putter or a midrange disc until the last couple of holes that are around the four hundred foot length. It felt like the designer of the course really thought about how to lay out the course to create a fun and interesting course to play.

Tee area was clearly marked and most holes had a blue and red tee that were easy to identify. The footing was not great since most holes had wood chips placed in the tee area.
Cons: The course has some major problems as it currently stands and one could argue that some of these problems really should have been addressed before the course was open for play. First my biggest issue with the course is that almost all of the fairways in the wood sections have stacked piles of wood in the fairway. These piles are clearly not there to enhance the course and seem to be waiting for someone to haul them out. On hole 5 for example there is three or four foot high pile of wood that is about eight feet wide that is stacked about 40 feet in front of the basket. I threw a drive off the tee that was the exact throw I wanted but instead of parking it within 10 feet of the basket for a birdie I struck the wood pile and got stuck in the wood pile and had to settle for par. There were three of four other holes where my drive was negatively impacted by these woodpiles. On hole four the blue tee is unplayable because of the massive wood pile stack on the tee. In my mind, these woodpiles are unacceptable.

Another issue with the course is the tee area of each hole. The problem is that the tee areas have been wood chipped. I detest wood chick tee areas. Wood chipping does not provide any traction and usually causes a person to stumble or slip on a run up to throw. Most of these holes are extremely short so solid footing on the tee is not as important as it is on most courses but it is still a problem. Until concrete is put in the tee areas should just have been left as dirt.

The course was extremely crowded with the type of disc golfer that you do not want to see on the tee in front of you. There were many large groups of teenagers who did not understand the proper etiquette of disc golf aka throwing multiple shots, not letting faster players play through, and standing at the pin after completing a hole to chit chat amongst themselves or on their phones. The course should be easy to play in an hour or less since the distance is so short but instead it took us an hour and forty minutes to play the course. This detracted from the overall enjoyment of the course.

While I enjoyed the technicalness of the holes the majority of the holes were to short in length. Only two of the holes were over three hundred feet in length and the rest of the holes were pretty close to the two hundred foot length.
Other Thoughts: The course is interesting to me because it has the potential to be a fairly decent beginner course. The length of the holes make it attractive to new players because they are distances they can actual throw. The technicalness of the course through will detract from the beginner friendliness of the course. If the major issues of wood piles being stacked in the fairways and the poor tees are addressed the course will be a fun short course to play in the metro area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center