Lakeville, MN 
Kenwood Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cgkdisc Hole #9 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 325ft.   4 / 455ft.   4 / 530ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/21/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the large grounds of a middle school, and is devoted entirely to the disc golf. At least, when the course is open to the public, it's wide open.
- About half of the holes are set in the wooded section of the grounds, with lots of trees to contend with. Some of them have some pretty interesting or tough lines, #4 is a hard flick through a lot of trees, #6 is a sharp dogleg left followed by #7 - a dogleg to the right. #9 is a long tunnelly shot that ends in a sloping green. #10 is a cool hole that has two paths to the basket, wide right and wide left, around some thick jail. #11 is another uphill flick that finished sharp right, and #16 is a tough FH flex shot to the blue basket. Good accuracy is needed on all these holes.
- Other holes are much more forgiving, or have wider fairways carved out of the woods. #12 is a RHBH hyzer, #5 and #8 are pretty short. #13 is pretty wide open, with the basket tucked amongst some trees. #15 is a little valley out of the woods, that ends back in some different woods. These still need some good line shaping and shot placement. Some other holes are even more open, #1 and #2 are completely open, and #17 and #18 have forest to avoid along the right side.
- Elevation changes are present in many different spots here, for both short holes and long, tougher and easier. The holes out in the open are much more interesting because of this - #1, #2, and #13 are all uphill, #14 is downhill, #17 is uphill off the tee, and #18 finishes downhill. In the woods, #4 is downhill, #6 is uphill before the dogleg left, #9 is a longer, sloping downhill, and #10 has an elevated teepad. Nothing extreme, but definitely noticeable.
- Very good variety of hole lengths, especially with the multiple tees and baskets. There are some holes that could be legitimate par 4's, like the dogleg left #6, dogleg right #7, tunnelish #9, the wooded dogleg left #15, and the uphill dogleg right #17. All of these are over 400', with #9 at 530'. There are also four holes under 200', and everything in between!
- Baskets in good shape, tee signs are pretty basic with the number and distance. Navigation is pretty easy, there are awesome next tee signs. Grass/natural tees are still in good shape.
Cons: - A few holes are pretty much wide open, #1 and #2 are the most obvious, as well as #13, #17, and #18 to a certain extent. There are some challenges with elevation changes, and some forest to avoid, but they are pretty straightforward.
- The very short holes are a good complement to the longer ones, but are almost too short. The lines are tough, but at under 200', they are pretty much approach shots. Even the long to long setup is extremely short in spots.
- Apart from the woods and forest, there aren't many hazardous areas here. A lot of the course feels pretty similar in terms of appearance and challenges.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a very fun course that has a good mix of holes. Some short ones both in and out of the forest, and some long ones in and out of the forest. A mix of hyzers, anhyzers, some flicks, and probably spots for overhand or trick shots on some of the shorter holes. With the two tee/two basket setup, it is a great course for beginners and intermediate players. More advanced players will find some challenges on the par 4's as well, I would think.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First time there

1    3/16/2012   3/17/2012
Review By: Jedi-D85
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off the length and variety of the holes is great. Alot of elevation changes and some hole layouts that I haven't come across that much.
Holes 1 & 2 are a really nice way to start of your round. Not much for obsticales in them just open grass and some hieght change. Because after that you are fine shooting your tee shots with the trees.
I really liked #6 with the quick uphill to the right pin.
This course makes you throw and not just bomb every tee shot as you have to setup for the next shot to have a good score.
Cons: The main thing I was frustrated with was the pins themselves as they can be hard to pick out in the woods. Some reflective tape or bright topper flags would do wonders. I'm sure this will be changed so I'm not to worried.
Other Thoughts: Go throw this course, it's worth it. My home course used to be Calvary hill in St. Cloud where I used to live, but I will be at this course multiple times a week. It is a great design!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Will be a top 5 in the Twin Cities Area

1    3/10/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice big course map and kiosk at the first tee area.

2) Practice basket is tucked down the hill between #1 and #18. It is a smaller area but it also offers a few downhill shots to the basket.

3) Garbage can at the first tee area and a few along the way.

4) Excellent use of rolling terrain . . . both in the open and in the woods. There is a lot of elevation change even though the total rise and fall is a total of about 9' difference (spoken from the course designer).

5) Very helpful Next Tee signs on the underside of the basket (which is helpful for flow) and it doesn't interfere with how the basket plays and will likely not see vandalism or take the brunt of someone's anger because it is basically under the basket.

6) Excellent trees usage on the course. There are a lot of trees on the wooded holes and they shape a lot of shots specifically. There are options in a few places which is fun, but the trees definitely force a certain shot on some holes.

7) The red tees are very beginner friendly and an appropriate distance for red level players. I love that course that suits Advanced players can also be experienced by beginners (albeit from a shorter less challenging tee area).

8) Nice Mach 3 baskets . . . some of the better baskets out there.

9) This is a fairly safe course keeping the course away from other activities. The only place you might get into trouble would be in the woods when you go near the walking trails.

10) This is obviously a really challenging course because it is not that long (in the grand scheme of things), yet it plays a lot tougher than the distance.

11) Incredible shot variety needed here and plenty of options to attack or play safe. I always love two shot holes forcing "placement" golf and that happens a few times here.

12) This is a positive only because I know it is going to happen fairly soon. There are going to be two permanently installed baskets on every hole. The short baskets will be off to the sides and out of the way of the path for the long baskets, but I do wonder how many "black aces" or fairway shots will end up in the short basket. I played The Brickyard in Menomonie, WI on my way up to MN this weekend which also has 2 permanently installed baskets in all the time, and they did an excellent job or making those baskets play completely differently than the others, which basically doubles the holes from 9 to 18 and when you add in dual tees, that makes for a lot of different shots and lots of fun, a place to spend an entire day and play every format.

13) Many signature type holes out here in my opinion. I cannot wait to see how the hole with the rock slide plays when that basket goes in. #15 is a great hole and very unique. A lot of the wooded holes also have a very unique feeling about them.
Cons: 1) There are many areas that need more clearing, but the course designer knows this and they only had enough time to do what they did last fall so I expect some of this work will be upcoming soon.

2) No concrete tees yet but those are in the plans and they wanted to give the course some time to get played before deciding on permanent locations.

3) No signs yet but I am sure they will be adding them to this great course.

4) Distance variety is only moderate with a big grouping of holes in the same general length and a couple of longer outliers. It isn't as noticeable because you have to think more about your line than you do distance on this course. That makes the holes play effectively longer.

5) No benches on the course yet, and it would be a good course to throw a few down. I am sure they plan on it in time and the course takes precedence right now, so I am sure this negative will disappear.

6) No bathrooms and I would
imagine the school will normally be closed or locked when this course is open for play.

7) Course is only available after 5 I think and weekends obviously because it is on school grounds. This is only a negative because if I lived nearby I would want to play it regularly, but it is what it is and it is their decision to keep it open on limited hours.
Other Thoughts: What a great course. I planned a meetup with Chuck Kennedy and E_Rock25 joined in the fun . . .to take a look at the changes they plan to do, so we were talking design the entire time. It was fun to hear Chuck's decision making process (with assistance from Steve West too) and see how the designer plans the hole. It puts a course in a whole new perspective.
When the course is finished it will be a top 5 course in the Metro area in my opinion and I have played just about all of the courses . I would put it on the same level as Kaposia but it has more variety. I look forward to returning when the course has been completed.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Course In Its Infancy

2-4    3/10/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kenwood Trails DGC is a great beginner to intermediate course with lots of potential to grow. I had the pleaser of playing with Chuck Kennedy the designer and it was great to have his insight and thoughts behind the course design. There are going to be some changes made in the near future to address some of the cons from other reviews that I think will make this course even better that it is already. Chuck also showed me where temp pads could go for Gold Level players during a tournament setting and the locations would make the course play much harder. The course is located at the Lakeville Middle School and there is quite a bit of property that is not being used. This may mean that 9 more holes could be added in the future which would be amazing. I had a blast playing this course and hope to go back in the near future when the ground dries out a bit.

1.--The design of the course is by far the best part. You never feel like you are throwing the same type of shot. Every hole has its own feel and the course is not boring at any point.

2.--Good signage with a GREAT map at Hole #1.

3.--The Layout has great flow and the only longish walk is from 2 to 3.

4.--Nice next tee signs attached to the baskets with arrows pointing where to go, very effective.

5.--The tee pads are wood chips right now and are serviceable, but as soon as all the course tweaks are done Chuck assured me that they were pouring cement tee pads.

6.--All the baskets were in good shape and seemed to hold putts well (I don't know what other reviewers were talking about).

7.--This is a great course for all ability levels. It is not too hard so a first timer will have a good time and the technicality of the woods will make things interesting for better players.

8.--The course has almost everything as far as shots go. There are lefts, rights (equal amount of both) straights, open, wooded, long, short, ups and downs. The only thing missing is water. (although when I played there was some seasonal spring melt off water)

9.--The course was well kept and clean when I was there.

10.--Garbage cans throughout the course.
Cons: There are very few cons to this course and the ones that are there are going to be fixed in the near future. I did not have a problem with the baskets as some others have but the Chuck told me that the plan is to have two baskets on each hole when the course is done so that should take care of that problem.

1.--The tee pads which I talked about above. Tee Pads are my big pet peeve so this is an issue at the moment but will not be for long.

2.--There are a few places that are a bit dangerous for other park users. WATCH OUT FOR OTHER PARK USERS. A few of the fairways play close to each other so a bad drive or a bad tree kick could end up in a different fairway. This is not that big of a deal as long as you pay attention to where you are throwing and who is around you. I did have to ask some guys that were throwing a football around to move away from a basket and I had to wait for some joggers on one hole. Not a big deal but thought I should mention it.

3.--There is some water on the property and it would be sweet if it was incorporated into the design. This may happen if the course goes to 27 holes or during tournament rounds. I really like playing over water if it is available.

4.--The first two holes are wide open and not that interesting. I like a course that draws me in on the first hole and this didn't happen till hole three for me. I can see Chucks reason behind the design as far as introducing new players to the game goes so it's really not that big of a deal.

5.--There are no benches or porta-potties (that I saw) I hope they will be added as time goes on.

6.--Because the course is designed for all ability levels, that is who you will find on this course. This is not necessarily a con but be patient of new players that may not know proper disc golf etiquette.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time at Kenwood Trails and will play it again anytime I can. I can't wait for the course to be completed. I would highly recommend playing this course if you are in the area and when it is done it will be worth going out of your way to play. This course can only get better as time goes on so keep an eye on it for sure. Thanks again to Chuck for another great MN course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Reminiscent of Woodland Greens @ Highbridge

2-4    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: J Blaze
Played: 57  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My buddies and I tried this course out and were beyond pleasantly surprised with nearly every aspect of it, especially when we entered the woods. It reminded us all of the great technical course at HighBridge: Woodland Greens. The first two holes are out in the open and are great warm ups. Then you enter the woods and get technical. Accurate throws will reward you, like w any woodsy course I suppose. Hole 7 is the only hole in the woods, which includes holes 3 thru 12, that is still a tough birdie even if you hit the hole perfectly. if you do hit trees at this course,you can get rocked quickly...as it's very thick and leafy in the rough. Holes 13-18 are more out in the open and gave the first opportunities of the round to pull out my boss and rip a few drives...after 10 straight holes weaving in and out of the trees, it was a nice touch to the course to have some bombers in the open, but make no mistake, they still involve strategy for critical placement of the drives.

All in all, this is a very good course that is can provide a tough challenge for discers of every skill level....it's a course that involves a lot of strategy and rewards accuracy and "touch.".

It was not busy on a windy and brisk November day. That was a definite plus.

A couple of reviewers mentioned the Mach 3 pins and how the do not catch well. Absolute nonsense! If you are a good putter, it will show here just like anywhere else. Numerous putts all over the place were drained throughout the day, many 40 + footers, as well. If soft putts arents sticking, adjust! They were in great shape, as one should expect on a new course.

Course was very well marked and we found the holes very easily. There is also a huge map near the first hole tee pad, take a pic w your iPhone! ---tip of the day

Niiiiiiiiice layout. We had no complaints. ( no traffic either, though)

Cons: No cement tee pads are a con. Oh well, not the big o deal.

Lots of litter....what's up w that lakeville?

Definite con that this is patrolled at times.
Other Thoughts: It took our group of 4 about an hr and a half to play after we played round 1 and learned the layout. Due to the hills, it is a pretty decent workout.

This course jumps to one of my top local winter destinations. A great workout In a wonderful setting! And with holes not too deep, the certain substantial Mn snow fall to come should not be too much of an issue (for drives specifically).

There is also a huge map near the first hole tee pad, take a pic w your iPhone! ---tip of the day

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner?

2-4    10/29/2011   10/30/2011
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beginner to beginning advanced level course situated in the slightly hilly woods and open areas around a middle school. It is in remarkably good shape for a new course. The majority of holes have red and blue level teepads and walking around I noticed marking that seemed to indicate plans for alternate basket positions.

Signage at the holes was basic but adequate given that the course is shorter and most baskets are visible from the teepads, giving hole number and distance. Baskets are in very good shape but, as mentioned in Mr Wests review, are Mach IIs and they don't catch very well. I am a soft putter and I had multiple bounce outs.

Teepads are either natural or wood chip. So far in good shape. Fairways are well trimmed. Garbage cans were spread around adequately. It is notable that the "next tee" signs are great, the best I have seen.

This course is a very good design to introduce people to disc golf and I have to admit I enjoyed playing it as well. It starts out with 2 short open holes, easily deuce-able for a good golfer. They are perfect for showing someone what the essence of the game is. It is followed by a couple of simple but interesting woods holes. Again furthering the introduction. It eventually works up to some longer holes ( 400+) that are simple but not easy.

I would say that this is a remarkable design and as I was playing I was reminded of a course I started playing at way back (Acorn park before all the remodeling). It is a fun place to learn and I think people that have it as a home course will be better for it.
Cons: There was an abundance of garbage strewn about. I am sure it is not from golfers. As mentioned before there are garbage cans. People use the woods trails for running so beware the silent runner when driving.

When playing hole 7 I was very nearly hit by an errant throw from someone driving on 9s teebox. In summer when the leaves are up it should be safer. On hole 17 I landed my first drive next to hole 18s teepad. It wasn't that bad a throw, it just didn't turn over. I'm not sure of the fix for that, maybe since mainly beginners will be playing it won't be much of an issue.

I personally hate wood chip teepads. Also I think the wood chips around the baskets in the open fields is going to drive the groundskeeper nuts. They should be recessed so they don't spread all over.

I am not going to ding this course on length because I think it is perfect for what it is.
Other Thoughts: I would love to see some concrete teepads put in and maybe a few benches. All in all for a new course this place is great though.

Chuck and Steve have done something here I used to think was as dead as Elvis. Design a very good course for the beginner that will serve most people as a nice playable course even after they get good at the game. I would give it a 4 but until I see the direction it goes next year I am going to stick with a 3.5.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Like an old friend you just met.

1    10/28/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: Steve West
Played: 190  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 40.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent skill-level appropriate design, multiple types of shots needed, accurate tee signs, kiosk with a map, portable restroom on site, lots of elevation (more down than up!), and woods mixed with open areas.
Cons: Wood chip or natural tees, some fairways are on cross-country trails (safely, but you need to be aware), not open until 5:30 on school days. Some big arms will miss the chance to throw huge and wild, and those whose putting style is over-reliant on having the chains do all the speed control for them will say the Mach New II's don't have enough chains.
Other Thoughts:
If you were already familiar with Vincent Van Gogh's Starry Night, then the first time you saw Sunflowers you would recognize right away that it was done by the same artist - even thought the subject matter, composition, mood, and colors are all different.

In a similar way, this course will be both very familiar to Twin Cities players, and at the same time, totally different from anything else. I've played all the courses in the Twin Cities, and there aren't any holes here that make you think "Oh, this is just like X hole at Y course." Yet, it is instantly recognizable as a Chuck Kennedy design (even though it has only two or three holes that might be called "lefty").

Full disclosure: I assisted, but my part was limited to applying the base coat on a couple of corners of the canvas, and holding the blow dryer to make the paint dry faster.

The course will build up your game without beating you down. Experienced players will want to bring first-timers here, because everyone will have fun.

Beyond the design, Lakeville Parks put a huge effort into making the course the best it could possibly be. And, they plan to continue to improve it. But, those plans don't belong in a review. Until they happen.

Acres of overgrown woods were cleared of buckthorn, grapevines, prickly ash and dead, weak and trash trees. Everything from big noisy machines to hand tools were employed to get it just right. Chuck and the Parks department walked the course several times, selecting individual trees (even individual limbs) to open up desired flight paths, or force interesting choices. Plenty of discs will hit trees, but only because they didn't do what the thrower wanted them to.

Every step of the way, the Parks department kept asking: What do we need to do to make it the best it can be?

If this course had been in the ground for years and years, players around here might have become jaded to it, thinking it is only about as good as most of the very good courses that are around here. Easily a three-disc rating, but I'm giving it a half disc more for two reasons: One, there is some synergy to a course where no pieces of the package are missing. You can forget about the course and just play the game. Two, the way this course came about should serve as a model for other parks.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.