Darien Center, NY 
Angry Apple DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 500ft.   4 / 605ft.   5 / 720ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
The Apple that Bites Back

5+    11/5/2016   11/7/2016
Review By: bfoflyer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Home is where you hang your your disc bag and this has been my home since the start. This course has such a great mix of challange and fun. Don't let other reviews scare you off from playing this great course. That being said, tighter fairway shots require straight throws,precision, and finesse to be rewarded with a good setup for your your next throw. There is a good variety of hazards including water, elevation changes, and blind holes to keep the course interesting. The course is well maintained throughout the seasons and park staff is friendly and helpful.New signage helps in finding the next hole. If you can learn and hone your skills here, you can play anywhere! Bring a friend and grow the sport.
Cons: Dirt Teepads can get muddy throughout the year. Hopefully new pads coming some day. Spring and Summer can bring some HEAVY growth of the surrounding roughs and fairway edges. Any throws to theses areas can result in wasted time looking for your plastic. Again, bring a friend because the more eyes you have on your discs, the better.There are MANY sharp thorn bushes in the area and especially at the end of hole 18. Pants or long heavy socks may save you from losing a pint of blood. Hot days bring many insects so repellent comes in handy. This past year brought many bee hives to the area (holes 2,4,5, and 18 had some killers). Once again, keep your head up and check your surroundings when going into the brush. Park employees were made aware of the the bees and were really good at taking care of the problem. One word Epipen!
Other Thoughts: This is a pay to play park ($6-$7 depending if the beach is open-Empire Seasons Pass $65). This helps keep crowding to a minimum during the summer months. Camping and amenities are availible in the park. Bring the wife and kids and make a day out of it!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Get There Early

1    9/3/2016   9/8/2016
Review By: The Don
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a cool course. Nice setting in the woods. Good variety of long and short holes as well as a hole in the woods. Very professional course.
Cons: Narrow holes. If you're not a distance thrower and your disc curves and fades in the fairway it can easily go in the woods which are very thick. Not a beginner course.
Other Thoughts: Get there early. Parking is free before 9:00. Worth the drive to Darien. If it's your first time you can get a free course map in the parking lot attendants booth. Great course and a great walk in the woods.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice Course

5+    4/29/2016   5/3/2016
Review By: toddnick
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice diversity of more open and wooded holes.
- Forces you to use a lot of different types of shots.
- Nice baskets.
- Generally not crowded.
- Very well kept, no trash in sight.
- Some good/interesting basket placements.
- Camping on site.
Cons: - No descriptive tee markers.
- Holes 3,4,5 are pretty similar, short, back and forth par 3's.
- Hole 14 is a sharp dogleg about 100 feet from the tee with to a narrow fairway with thick brush on both sides;easy to lose a disc and not really a good set-up.
- Must pay park entrance fee.
Other Thoughts: - This course is just below the top tier of courses in Western New York; definitely worth checking out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun

1    10/10/2015   10/10/2015
Review By: RobA
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great setting, well maintained and clean
- Easy course flow, tees well marked and signs to next hole
- Very challenging, no gimme holes, Need to use every shot in your bag, and then some.
- Great honeycrisp apples on hole 7 during season
Cons: - Dirt / Grass teepads
- Long looks for discs if you are off the fairway
- A lot of burrs, wear slick clothing
Other Thoughts: Entry fee and location keeps most casual players away.
There is camping and swimming on site. I wouldn't call it a destination course, but it could be a great place for a one day/night get away if you are within a reasonable drive.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Technical

5+    10/2/2014   10/2/2014
Review By: superium
Played: 46  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, variety of shots with a handful of challenging par 4's. Peaceful course. Easy to navigate.
Cons: Natural teepads. Obviously if you go off the fairway especially in the middle of summer it's not the most enjoyful experience. Could use a few tweeks like teepad locations slightly moved or re-aligned.
Other Thoughts: This isn't your beginner friendly course but it's nice since it keeps all the casual golfers who like damaging and leaving trash behind stay away. It's virtually a private course. It's ideal to play during the spring or fall when its not fully grown in. I recommend wearing hiking pants just in case you have to search for a disc and maybe play with just one other person to spot each other. Too many players increase the odds of looking for discs.
Add 9 holes around the lake would be amazing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful & Well Kept!

1    6/7/2014   6/9/2014
Review By: Led Zeppelin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great layout (no long walks between holes), Beautiful Course, Interesting Wildlife, Well Kept, Great Staff, Totally dry as of 6/7/14. Red/White/Blue tee's, All baskets in perfect shape, not crowded, simply awesome.
Cons: The rough is definitely rough so stay on the green, Challenging course with a lot of trees but actually navigable with well placed shots, Easy to lose a disc, Could use basket signs at holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutely beautiful and well kept by a friendly staff who regularly ask for suggestions. It's not an easy course and wasn't meant to be. If they had concrete launch pads this course would be near perfect.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Stay Focused

2-4    4/24/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: Sdudek22
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With this course being on, in and around a old Apple Orchard, there are many routes to take for some certain holes.
-The course is a newer course but has 'matured' fairways and lines to throw
-Great layout with challenging drives, up shots and putts!
-Tests your focus on every shot
-New DGA baskets plus a practice one towards the road road of the first holes tee
Cons: -Very thick brush on both sides of the fairways for most holes
-Bring your A game (Accuracy and focus)
-Really need to shape your shots for every throw
-Also bring discs that you wouldn't mind losing (A.K.A. Don't bring your brand new or recently dyed discs here) as you might toss a few into the thick brush
-Focus on your up shots on this course, not drives!
-Natural/dirt tee pads. Wait until it has dried up a little before coming out. Some tees are on slopes and area where it can seem slick
-No visual tee signs as of yet (Don't know if the park plans on adding them soon!)
-Be familiar with the course map on the links page on this site and print it out!
Other Thoughts: TIPS: Print out the course map and WALK THE COURSE first, depending on how busy it may be there, it will benefit you so you know where the baskets/lines are.
-Bring discs you wouldn't mind losing as it is thick brush here!
-The recently added water hazard on Hole #8 isn't too much of a hassle. Just play to the left of the fairway/green and you'll be fine.

NOTE: Me and my buddy played this course in the evening and played 2 rounds back to back. It was while trees were budding so it was easier to find our bright discs, but definitely make sure you have another set or two of eyes with you, you'll want it.
-I hated the course as the fact that it makes you play one or two lines in between brush. I am used to playing pretty open courses (Beaver Island, Ellicott Creek and Joe D). I ended up loving this course because of the challenge aspect. Heading back there later this week to see how the lines have changed after everything has grown in.

Enjoy and disc well!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Let down

1    8/20/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: Safbo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 22.5 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Not many. Other than new baskets and fairly well marked out course that's about it.
Cons: Disc eater. Course starts out nice and turns ugly fast, hence the angry apple name.
Other Thoughts: For a pay to play state park course a lot good be done to improve this course. From basic trimming to basket location. I lost my best Valkyrie to the bush and my son lost a new road runner 3 feet from 18 th basket to the overgrowth. Sorry once was enough for me.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting, but ...

2-4    8/7/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: ssejhill
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Apple plays as an interesting and very different course than I've ever played. It seems that several reviewers mentioned that the holes seemed repetitive and frolfer I played the course with complained that most of the holes were just plain straight runs, but I found that not to be the case at all. It felt like each hole had it's own unique character and personality. There's some nice elevation changes, some holes curve right others to the left. The course is very quiet, clean and signed pretty well. The flow from hole to hole was quite easy to follow.
Cons: ... but, this course can be tough! Bring your accuracy game and leave your long game (except for possibly 2 holes - 15 and 17 if I remember correctly) at home. Many of the holes follow fairly narrow paths through the woods and brush of the park. If your disc doesn't land in the sweet 30-50 foot fairway you could be looking at 5, 10, 15 minutes or more of trying to get through bramble and brush to find your disc. Many trees have low branches so you often have to shoot under them. There are a few spots you can try going over but there is a high risk for the possible reward of a better shot.
Other Thoughts: Come after 6pm and parking is free in the lot by hole #1. The ranger at the front gate was great for us. He gave us maps and we chatted for a while with him before play began. Real nice fellow. I believe that there is also a parking lot on Broadway where you can park for free and you'll have a short 5 minute walk that comes into the course around hole #12. We probably won't be back here until the fall when the leaves start dropping and it makes it a bit easier to find those wayward discs.

ps. Bring some friends along when you play. You will all appreciate having an extra set of eyes on your disc WHEN, not if, your disc goes in the brush. 2 or more people looking for a disc goes much quicker.

4/22/14 UPDATE: A water hazard has been added to hole# 8, adjacent to the basket. Careful planning and accurate throwing are a must. Someone was nice enough to leave a rake to fish out discs that take the plunge. Thankfully we didn't need it (this time).

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 at the core of it all

1    6/23/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: jayman33
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - tees and signs: we played the white tees. each tee was marked by a wooden painted post with a numbered card. each tee was grass, which i don't mind. after each hole was an easy to spot "next tee" sign with arrows pointing the way.
- hole designs: in secluded section of park. very tight fairways with THICK rough/brush on every hole. because of the tight fairways, it felt like we were almost playing a wooded course. first set of holes play easier and faster, then get longer and harder as more brush/rough develops. big drives are possible on some holes, but only if you've got lots of spotters (we utilized multiple people) and you want to get very creative on your next shot. definitely more of a finesse course.
- basket locations: good. i found the basket locations to be fun. some were very guarded by sections of trees with low canopies, making you really have to place your shot in order to have a good angle for your approach or get ready to hit some deep putts.
- flow: as previously mentioned, "next tee" signs help a lot, but so do maps. scorecards and maps are available at a kiosk.
- difficulty: high. not for players still learning control of their midrange discs and fairway drivers. not much room for error, which can really put the pressure on you.
- fair pars: pars seemed to match difficulty. no one really seemed to think pars were too generous or too stringent.
- uniqueness: i loved the feel of it. as someone previously mentioned, there are some holes where you're playing under a ceiling of apple trees. very unique and very fun.
Cons: - tees and signs: graphic signs would be extremely helpful to really give you a sense of the layout before teeing off. we walked down every fairway before throwing because either you couldn't see the basket or wanted to know if there were any gaps hidden out there. i'd recommend doing this your first time playing to help reduce some frustration and give you a better chance at a lower score
- wouldn't recommend playing solo: i can't say i've ever played a course where a spotter was necessary on so many holes because you really really need them on every single hole here. i would never play a solo round here no matter how familiar i was with the course.
Other Thoughts: - pay to play. only if you show up after 9 or so. not very expensive
- totally dry when we played, but heard this course was very wet at the start of the spring. this tends to be the case of many western ny courses after our long winters. what are you going to do? waterproof shoes
- some buggy sections. bring some spray.
- go big and you may want to go home (and you might be going home with fewer discs and a lighter bag). as some other reviewers have mentioned, accuracy is key here. i threw a lot of midrange and fairway shots and although my score wasn't necessarily stellar, i really enjoyed the round.
- i'd highly recommend playing the white tees your first time out
- can't wait to go back!




6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.