Darien Center, NY 
Angry Apple DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 355ft.   4 / 425ft.   5 / 575ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beautiful & Well Kept!

1    6/7/2014   6/9/2014
Review By: Led Zeppelin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great layout (no long walks between holes), Beautiful Course, Interesting Wildlife, Well Kept, Great Staff, Totally dry as of 6/7/14. Red/White/Blue tee's, All baskets in perfect shape, not crowded, simply awesome.
Cons: The rough is definitely rough so stay on the green, Challenging course with a lot of trees but actually navigable with well placed shots, Easy to lose a disc, Could use basket signs at holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutely beautiful and well kept by a friendly staff who regularly ask for suggestions. It's not an easy course and wasn't meant to be. If they had concrete launch pads this course would be near perfect.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Stay Focused

2-4    4/24/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: Sdudek22
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With this course being on, in and around a old Apple Orchard, there are many routes to take for some certain holes.
-The course is a newer course but has 'matured' fairways and lines to throw
-Great layout with challenging drives, up shots and putts!
-Tests your focus on every shot
-New DGA baskets plus a practice one towards the road road of the first holes tee
Cons: -Very thick brush on both sides of the fairways for most holes
-Bring your A game (Accuracy and focus)
-Really need to shape your shots for every throw
-Also bring discs that you wouldn't mind losing (A.K.A. Don't bring your brand new or recently dyed discs here) as you might toss a few into the thick brush
-Focus on your up shots on this course, not drives!
-Natural/dirt tee pads. Wait until it has dried up a little before coming out. Some tees are on slopes and area where it can seem slick
-No visual tee signs as of yet (Don't know if the park plans on adding them soon!)
-Be familiar with the course map on the links page on this site and print it out!
Other Thoughts: TIPS: Print out the course map and WALK THE COURSE first, depending on how busy it may be there, it will benefit you so you know where the baskets/lines are.
-Bring discs you wouldn't mind losing as it is thick brush here!
-The recently added water hazard on Hole #8 isn't too much of a hassle. Just play to the left of the fairway/green and you'll be fine.

NOTE: Me and my buddy played this course in the evening and played 2 rounds back to back. It was while trees were budding so it was easier to find our bright discs, but definitely make sure you have another set or two of eyes with you, you'll want it.
-I hated the course as the fact that it makes you play one or two lines in between brush. I am used to playing pretty open courses (Beaver Island, Ellicott Creek and Joe D). I ended up loving this course because of the challenge aspect. Heading back there later this week to see how the lines have changed after everything has grown in.

Enjoy and disc well!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Let down

1    8/20/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: Safbo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.2 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Not many. Other than new baskets and fairly well marked out course that's about it.
Cons: Disc eater. Course starts out nice and turns ugly fast, hence the angry apple name.
Other Thoughts: For a pay to play state park course a lot good be done to improve this course. From basic trimming to basket location. I lost my best Valkyrie to the bush and my son lost a new road runner 3 feet from 18 th basket to the overgrowth. Sorry once was enough for me.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Interesting, but ...

2-4    8/7/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: ssejhill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Apple plays as an interesting and very different course than I've ever played. It seems that several reviewers mentioned that the holes seemed repetitive and frolfer I played the course with complained that most of the holes were just plain straight runs, but I found that not to be the case at all. It felt like each hole had it's own unique character and personality. There's some nice elevation changes, some holes curve right others to the left. The course is very quiet, clean and signed pretty well. The flow from hole to hole was quite easy to follow.
Cons: ... but, this course can be tough! Bring your accuracy game and leave your long game (except for possibly 2 holes - 15 and 17 if I remember correctly) at home. Many of the holes follow fairly narrow paths through the woods and brush of the park. If your disc doesn't land in the sweet 30-50 foot fairway you could be looking at 5, 10, 15 minutes or more of trying to get through bramble and brush to find your disc. Many trees have low branches so you often have to shoot under them. There are a few spots you can try going over but there is a high risk for the possible reward of a better shot.
Other Thoughts: Come after 6pm and parking is free in the lot by hole #1. The ranger at the front gate was great for us. He gave us maps and we chatted for a while with him before play began. Real nice fellow. I believe that there is also a parking lot on Broadway where you can park for free and you'll have a short 5 minute walk that comes into the course around hole #12. We probably won't be back here until the fall when the leaves start dropping and it makes it a bit easier to find those wayward discs.

ps. Bring some friends along when you play. You will all appreciate having an extra set of eyes on your disc WHEN, not if, your disc goes in the brush. 2 or more people looking for a disc goes much quicker.

4/22/14 UPDATE: A water hazard has been added to hole# 8, adjacent to the basket. Careful planning and accurate throwing are a must. Someone was nice enough to leave a rake to fish out discs that take the plunge. Thankfully we didn't need it (this time).

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

at the core of it all

1    6/23/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - tees and signs: we played the white tees. each tee was marked by a wooden painted post with a numbered card. each tee was grass, which i don't mind. after each hole was an easy to spot "next tee" sign with arrows pointing the way.
- hole designs: in secluded section of park. very tight fairways with THICK rough/brush on every hole. because of the tight fairways, it felt like we were almost playing a wooded course. first set of holes play easier and faster, then get longer and harder as more brush/rough develops. big drives are possible on some holes, but only if you've got lots of spotters (we utilized multiple people) and you want to get very creative on your next shot. definitely more of a finesse course.
- basket locations: good. i found the basket locations to be fun. some were very guarded by sections of trees with low canopies, making you really have to place your shot in order to have a good angle for your approach or get ready to hit some deep putts.
- flow: as previously mentioned, "next tee" signs help a lot, but so do maps. scorecards and maps are available at a kiosk.
- difficulty: high. not for players still learning control of their midrange discs and fairway drivers. not much room for error, which can really put the pressure on you.
- fair pars: pars seemed to match difficulty. no one really seemed to think pars were too generous or too stringent.
- uniqueness: i loved the feel of it. as someone previously mentioned, there are some holes where you're playing under a ceiling of apple trees. very unique and very fun.
Cons: - tees and signs: graphic signs would be extremely helpful to really give you a sense of the layout before teeing off. we walked down every fairway before throwing because either you couldn't see the basket or wanted to know if there were any gaps hidden out there. i'd recommend doing this your first time playing to help reduce some frustration and give you a better chance at a lower score
- wouldn't recommend playing solo: i can't say i've ever played a course where a spotter was necessary on so many holes because you really really need them on every single hole here. i would never play a solo round here no matter how familiar i was with the course.
Other Thoughts: - pay to play. only if you show up after 9 or so. not very expensive
- totally dry when we played, but heard this course was very wet at the start of the spring. this tends to be the case of many western ny courses after our long winters. what are you going to do? waterproof shoes
- some buggy sections. bring some spray.
- go big and you may want to go home (and you might be going home with fewer discs and a lighter bag). as some other reviewers have mentioned, accuracy is key here. i threw a lot of midrange and fairway shots and although my score wasn't necessarily stellar, i really enjoyed the round.
- i'd highly recommend playing the white tees your first time out
- can't wait to go back!




5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Isolated, but far from peaceful

2-4    6/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 205  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 7.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 tees for different abilities (some shared)
Nice New DGA baskets
Risk verse reward on nearly every hole, you can play conservative and pass with a decent score or tou can get ambitious and the angry apple will eat you alive.
Several holes appear to only have one obvious line, but there are often other unique lines with great risk, but excellent potential.
Course is isolated from all other activities, but do not call it peaceful, this course is called ANGRY for a reason.
Porto-potty at the beginning of the course and again at hole 11 or 13.
Possible score spread is excellent. You can easily get a 2 on a hole one day and a 6 on the same hole the next day. One day I was scoring 5 on a majority of the holes, the next day I hit 4 dueces, and missed 3 more. (I believe course record from the whites is 54)
Cons: Crazy risk of disc loss. The course is very tight and heavily wooded, many holes need a lot of clearing still. On the first time playing I spent more time looking for discs than actually playing the course.
Several of the first holes seemed to favor lefties or turn over anny shots, a tough shot for beginners.
I was not a fan of hole 2. You throw downhill into a soccer goal size opening and then have to go back up hill to the right. Unless you have a massive overhand shot, there is only one way to play it and a birdie is a huge accomplishment.
Hole 5's blue tee pad faced forward, but the basket was at a 45 degree angle and the position of the pad made no sense at all.
Hole 14 is a wicked left turn into a long tight tunnel. The landing area is very narrow and risk of disc loss is high.
Hole 17 plays towards the role. It is not a huge risk, but I saw discs land near the road. It only takes one hit car to close a course.
18 has a large patch of brush that will eat discs on the each side of the fairway.
No tee signs. Grass tees, some of which are located very close to trees or in odd places.
The tee pad for 14 and 16 are next to each other, so one group has to wait while the other tees off.
Other Thoughts: At the grand opening tournament 80% of the Rec players did not come back for the second round. This is not the course to introduce new players if you want them to play again.
I left this course hating it vowing never to return. 2 days later I reluctantly returned and was still not very happy when I left, but I liked it a little more, the course grows on you and is worth a visit if you are in the area and have a group of spotters with you.
$6 on the weekday to get in, $7 on the weekend. I think you can get in weekdays before 10 am without paying.

Clear support from parks department, so I expect lots of improvements to come. I could see several marks for future branch removal and clearing, so I expect the course to continue to improve.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

this is one angry apple

2-4    10/6/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 79  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - many of the baskets are tucked in pretty nicely in the woods
- well marked multiple tees, with hole numbers on them
- a port-a-potty at the beginning of the course
- small kiosk with map and scorecards
- good course to wotk on turnovershots if you like that kind of thing
- some of the baskets have a unique look to them like 9 which is completely through an overgrown apple grove with a 90 degree left turn
- decent variety of shots required for the drives. the drives seem a little biased towards the anhyzer but their are definitely some hyzer shots in the mix. There is also a downhill hole and a couple of more open holes as well.
- this course ia all about control. Even the longer shots are going to involve control. If you cant control your disc, you will be looking for them. Make sure you ALWAYS use spotters, because you never know with this course where your sic might end up.
- flow of the course is decent. For the most case holes follow each other pretty well. Also there are many new directional signs to make navigating this course a breeze
- good mix of length of holes.
- each hole seems to have a unique challenge to it, whether there is a bush in the middle of the fairway or a certain lane you have to hit
- The course looks very nice, especially in the fall when all the leaves are changing color
Cons: - lots of brush where you can lose discs
- some of the holes may seem repetitive because it flows through an old apple orchard and much of the scenery is the same, but there is usually an extra obstacle to make it at least a little different
- This course can be wet and the tees muddy, but I hear they are going to be putting in tee pads
Other Thoughts: I played this course more recently and liked the upgrades they did to the course. Navigational signs have made this course much easier to follow. I would not bring beginners to this course because being able to control your disc is a must on every hole or you will lose discs.Even though this is not one of my favorite courses (because it is very frustrating for me) it is definitely designed well and will test the skill of pretty much every disc golfer.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 angry apple

1    5/19/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very few....decent holes are #1, #12, #13, #15, #17, #18
course offers some ace chances
Cons: it's brutally short, and you're playing thru thicket
i had very high hopes for this as it's a new course, but it's just way to easy....considering the amount of actual space in this park, it's tragic that they used so little of it
Other Thoughts: i may be spoiled in that ive played in several states with a huge variety of courses, but this course seems crammed into a small previously unused space...i'm fine with some short holes but this was ridiculous considering the park acreage....it's tight, which is fine, but if you miss the fairway be prepared to look through some thick brush.....save your $6

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course & Great Design

1    9/12/2011   3/20/2012
Review By: C6H12O6
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is brand new with some interesting holes and shot variety. This course is also extremely clean, quiet, and accommodates all levels of players. The creative design allows for shot variety as well.
Cons: Because the course is so new, there are some stray tree branches that might make it difficult to get a nice drive off on some holes. Also, instead of tee signs this course has wooden stakes that mark where the tee boxes are. The wooden stakes are great for marking, but make it difficult to drive in some cases...so just be careful not to hurt yourself or break one of the markers,
Other Thoughts: The designer of this course carved out fairways and created shot variety really really well. One hole plays through several apple trees in a jungle type atmosphere, which is really cool. There are definitely some birdies to be had out there, but there are also several holes that require extreme accuracy on a narrow fairway. Also, there are several holes in which you can air out a long drive, hole 17 being a great example. Overall, This course is certainly worth visiting, HOWEVER, i strongly suggest printing out a course map or checking out the pictures before going...because it is so new, there are not any signs up yet.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.