Layout Extinct

Fort Collins, CO
Edora Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 441ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Worth the confusion

1    3/13/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: kcplease
Played: 90  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Variety of holes with length and difficulty
Great to e close to the mountains
Water was used well as an obstacle
Usually very sunny
Trees block a lot of wind on some holes

Cons: Parking can be crowded
Very confusing the first time around (asked for directions 4 times)
Fairways are sometimes used by people who do not know what they are doing
Only good course in he area, so very well trafficked
Other Thoughts: You can't beat the mountain atmosphere here. The course itself is not to terribly impressive, but the scenery makes up for it. Course is very well maintained and mowed, very little trash. Worth checking out.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun For All Levels

5+    12/19/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: Cigar34
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, well laid out, different pin placements, long and short holes, nice tee boxes, each hole is easily located.
Cons: Too many people playing at one time!
Other Thoughts: Very fun course for all skill levels, uses most of the discs in your bag, some water holes and lots of trees! Have fun.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, bad location (i still play weekely)

5+    7/8/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 11
Pros: This is my current home course, I have played every pin placement available (and then some old ones and some old course holes that no longer exist, and some on the other side of the tracks ect). The course, while rather open does force many different shots, and is difficult enough to keep you challenged. The water comes into play seriously on 4 of the 18 holes. There are plenty of other OB possibilities includin, fence by tracks, roads, sidewalks (on or across if you are not playing over) horseshoe pits, skatepark, tennis courts ect.

Fairways are regularly groomed, making rollers options on a few holes, which is uncommon in CO.

Although this course plays as a duce or die course mostly, its not pitch and putt and definitely can be challenging (I throw -10 to +5 fairly regularly)
Cons: Tee pads have a raised section on the fronts which was originally designed as a fault line giving a concrete place to follow through, but even in tourney play this has been changed to be part of the teepad. Only a slight tripping hazard. Course does overlap a bit in a place or two (as mentioned 5/9 you play over eachother, 6-8 play close, and 12's teepad is often a landing zone for shanks from hole 18. 15 from 13 and so on.

The course is more a duce or die course for the more advanced players with only a few holes that see more bogie's than birdies, not an awful thing, but still a con in my book.

Although fairways are groomed the city is planning on beginning to let the water way become "natrual" meaning tall grass that is easy to lose discs in, probably causing us to lose another placement or two.

Its a public park (city park) and is BUSY with walkers joggers, kids picknickers and mostly DISC GOLFERS. If its not before noon, CSU is in session and its not 20mph winds or below 55 degrees, you will likely be waiting on every hole, with golfers occasionally throwing in on you, or asking to play through just to shank a drive on the next hole and let you play back, just to repeat over and over. . . . /rant
Other Thoughts: There have been too many pedestrians hit, and the course is going to go through another overhaul and half the course will be moved across the park (ruining flow) toward the end of this year.

This course has enough litter. Keep yours and pick up some more.

 Standing the Test of Time

1    8/14/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Edora Park has some of the longest concrete tees I have ever seen on a golf course. Some tees may stretch up to 20 feet, which could be excessive but is appreciated on the longer drivable holes. The park is neatly manicured and houses tennis courts, baseball fields, a big skatepark, huge horseshoe pit areas, and bmx bike trails. It also has the basic amenities you would expect to find in a city park, and with its central Fort Collins location you can expect this place to stay busy at all hours of the day. Also, note a great bathroom location to start the back nine.

Holes are marked and range from 140 to almost 500 feet. Plus there is a great intermixing of tree obstacles and water hazards (most of which still have a fair chance of getting your disc back if you don't mind getting wet.) The trees are big and provide decent shade in the summer heat, and the park itself is open and beautiful. Most holes play straight, but with the option of alternate pin locations, Edora can change things a bit to stay fresh and feeling new.

BEST HOLE/S: #7
Cons: The biggest con may be that is the best course within the Fort Collins area, so it is busy. Unless you've come early, you can expect a round to go over two hours, which I am not a fan of doing. If you hate crowds or just want to get in a quick round, I would suggest playing the much shorter Cache La Poudre Junior High course in La Porte about 6 miles northwest.

The park itself has ample parking, but you'll have to park in a small cul-de-sac if you want to be close to tee #1. And for you first timers - go through the trees behind the cul-de-sac to locate the pin. A person could also could also just park in the park itself and jump on at #14 as an alternate option.

Edora also has some basic course flow problems between holes #2 to #3 and #11 to #12. Holes #5 and #9 are also overlapping, which I have always found to be more common in older courses. It's not a huge con, just something to watch for, and if you bring a map these things shouldn't be an issue.

WORST HOLE/S: #2
Other Thoughts: Edora Park serves as the perennial northern Colorado course, and is a mainstay in longevity for the Fort Collins crowd. For being built in 1989, it has still maintained its challenge factor whereas many courses its age have become short, easy, and obsolete. To this I give credit, however, there is no singular wow moment where I felt this course set itself apart from other courses I've played. It simply plays consistent and strong, but won't take your breath away.

If I had time, I would much prefer to drive the 30 miles into the mountains and hit Sundance Trail Ranch DGC or Beaver Meadows DGC, but this is still a course I would be happy to have as a home course. However since time is usually a factor, if you don't mind the crowds - I promise you'll walk away satisfied with your experience.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, fun town

5+    6/19/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: ponto11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 21.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty long, decent structure, challenging grip-n-rip holes and tight lane holes. Ft. Collins is a fun college town with lots around. River comes into play on several holes. Concrete tee pads.
Cons: Very busy and popular. Plays around buildings and streets. Can lose discs in river.
Other Thoughts: Go early in the morning to ensure you don't have long lines. Ft. Collins needs more quality courses to disperse the play a bit.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great grass, fun holes

1    7/24/2007   1/5/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 209  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 16.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course gets huge, huge props for having some of the best grass I've ever played on. I was out in Colorado for a friend's wedding and took the groom and other groomsmen to play a round of disc golf at this course. We had all kicked off our shoes by the 2nd or 3rd hole because the grass was so amazingly well kept, green, plush and beautiful. I know this may not matter to a lot of folks, but being able to wander a course barefoot and play a fun round of disc golf with good friends is one of the highest pleasures in this sport, and this course is IDEAL for that sort of afternoon.

In addition to world-class grass, the general maintenance of the course is also above average. Trees are trimmed and in great shape; the creek is pretty clear (or was when we were there), and the course is free of broken bottles and litter.

The holes aren't hugely challenging, but they do work well for a wide variety of skill levels. There is enough challenge that blue/gold players will still enjoy themselves, but players just starting out will also take some pars and aren't likely to lose discs except in one or two places along the creek (but this can be pretty easily avoided -- most wet discs are easy to retrieve).
Cons: The course is a little challenging to navigate. The multiple pin placements aren't always well marked, and it is sometimes very confusing how to get from tee to tee. Some of the teeboxes are tucked back in trees and this makes it even harder to find your way through the course the first time. Also, with some of the pins not visible from the teeboxes, it can be a challenge to know whether to aim at A, B, or C pin position (this is a common problem, but still an annoying one, and easily fixed with good signage).

The course could also benefit from leaving some more pins in the longer placements to add variety to the course. When I was there, most of the baskets were in short, which seemed odd since it was July -- lots of daylight and beautiful weather -- when you would expect the course to be stretched out to take advantage of that time of year.

The park is also shared with lots of other activities (tennis, dirt bikes, swimming, jogging, horseshoes, etc...) and while this doesn't often come into play, you do have to be careful of other users of the park. The park stays busy, and the disc golf winds near all other areas of the park, so this is more of a problem than it is at a lot of places. We never had to wait very long for folks to move, but we were playing midday on a weekday and there were still a fair number of people around -- I could imagine it being pretty crowded on weekends (though this is purely speculation).
Other Thoughts: Other huge props for this course -- it is very close to the New Belgium Brewery, so go by before or after and get free samples of all sorts of tasty beverages, some of which they only have at the brewery and don't distribute outside the area (some amazing Flemish sours).

If you're visiting from some other part of the country, remember that Fort Collins is about a mile above sea level, so discs will fly more overstable here than they will at lower altitudes. So plan accordingly and bring lighter or flippier discs than you are used to using and it will help your scores... and don't get frustrated when at first everything flies differently than you expect -- that always happens at altitude. Just enjoy it -- and watch how far an Ultimate lid will go at higher altitudes.... it's pretty awesome.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not a Sunday course

2-4    8/24/2008   9/6/2008
Review By: dosahl
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice and green park course. It is well kept and a nice play. It is in a well used park so baskets are easy to identify once you get to the tee.
Cons: I played the course on a Sunday. The park was very well used. We had ninja swordsmen dueling near the back 9, Ice sliders near an early hole, skate boarders in the pit, and horseshoers I had to throw over or through (I did witness a near hit of a horseshoe player). Some of the tee boxes were difficult to find from the previous basket.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the course but I would not play it on a Sunday. I will try to play it again on a week day.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Edora Park

1    5/20/2001   4/2/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 176  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Edora Park is a beautiful 18 hole course located in Fort Collins, Co. Installed in 1989, this course has stood the test of time and is still in great shape. The course is set in a large park full of plush grass and beautiful native trees, and includes a large pond that is incorporated into several holes. The tee pads are large slabs of cement roughly 10-15 feet in length and for the most part are in excellent shape. Mach III baskets with multiple basket positions (A,B,C)! Holes range from 208 - 578 ft., including multiple par 4's and six holes that play over or near water.

This course is wide open, with rolling hills and slight elevation changes throughout. Holes all vary in difficulty but still manage to challenge even the best of players at times. Hole 11 was really the only hole with a water hazard, but was a great hole for a possible ace! The fact that Edora Park plays on grass also makes it easier for the more relaxed player and allows fewer chances for lost discs.

The course navigation was fairly easy to follow and the locals were all really friendly. Holes 3 and 11 were by far my two favorite due to the elevation changes and water. If not careful though the wind will grab your disc and choose a new line for you so watch out!
Cons:
Due to being multi-use park, the course can be very crowded at times, which in turn means waiting a little longer than usual between holes. The signs between holes could be a little clearer as well. I had some trouble finding a few holes on the back nine but luckily found a friendly local. Updated tee signs and navigational arrows would quickly improve the flow.
Other Thoughts:
Edora Park was in tremendous shape when I played, offering variety and difficulty, especially considering its location in a multi-use park. The local club has done a tremendous job working with the city in regards to course maintenance and trash. Edora is well worth the stop if passing through as it is not overly draining on the body allowing for a nice walk in the park to stretch out or multiple rounds.

Other Ameneties:
Playground, Restrooms, West/East Ballfields, Tennis Courts, Horseshoe Courts, BMX Track, Spring Creek Trail, Ice Skating, Swimming, Spring Creek, War Memorial, Shelter.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The grass is greener

5+    7/25/2009   1/31/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 295  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With well manicured green grass and scenic evergreen and large deciduous trees scattered throughout this is an inviting course. This has become one of my favorite types of terrain. It's hard to lose a disc, and you don't have to fight much shule. I've been playing here since 1999, and I always a enjoy my rounds. By and large, the course is relatively open, and there are a few open field holes where the big arms can watch it fly. There are many birdie opportunities out there, even for shorter throwing Intermediate players like me. A creek and small reservoir come into play on 6 holes.
*There is one set of tees and up to 3 basket positions per hole, so that make for a lot of fairway and length variety. (A few holes have 4 to 6 basket positions!) Lengths vary from 172 to 582 ft. Overall, the majority of the holes are in the 200-399 ft. range. I've always seen the course have the basket layouts mixed around between A, B, or C. While this adds endless variety it loses the purity of being able to play just the A, B, or C layout all in the same round. There are some moderate elevation changes and some scenic shots.
*I'm always in Fort Collins in July and I love the clear, low humidity air; this a big change from humid North Carolina and a real plus for me. I really enjoy playing the course on a cool clear morning.

Basics-
*Tee signs have hole maps and layout lengths. Tee pads are first class! They are 20 ft long wide trapezoids.

Amenities-
*There's a pretty good map on the internet and hole maps on the tee signs. There's a restroom at hole 9. There's also a warm up basket (it's a little old), a pretty good message board, and many trash cans. No benches on the course, though. The park is very clean with very little trash.
Cons: -With 3 or more basket positions per hole it would really help to have the current positions marked.
-Because there have been a number of changes to the course over the years the layout lengths on the maps often don't match the lengths posted in various places online, so it's very hard to tell which length is accurate and the most up to date to use.
-Some tees are hard to find. Tee 3 is across the parking lot. Tee 5 is a long walk down the road. Tee 6 is across the street and up the hill. Tee 12 is a really long walk up the hill by the skateboard park. It would help to have some signs to point the way.
Other Thoughts: Course Level = White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925)

My favorite hole = 11. There's a very scenic small reservoir all on the left side, and with 5 basket positions there are varying lengths and varying degrees of risk vs. reward.
Hole 3 is also fun. It's a fun downhill left curving shot. The drive is open so you can watch your disc fly, but the basket is strongly guarded by a small grove of pine trees.

I would enjoy being able to play the course with the baskets all using the same A, B, or C layout.

In summary, this is a fun course with a lot going for it that I enjoy every time I play.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.