Layout Extinct

Fort Collins, CO 
Edora Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 266ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
 Quality City Park

1    4/10/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course that is properly maintained. It requires an extremely wide variety of shots despite it being a mostly open course. It also has a large amount of holes requiring both long distance and accuracy than. I went in not expecting much and was very pleased by the variety of shots I was throwing, as well as a quality mix of tree and water obstacles. This course will also take up a decent amount of time and will hone in on your accuracy on long throws.
Cons: IMPOSSIBLE to navigate. As a first timer, I checked out the map and could tell it was going to be hard to navigate. I tried to remember all of the holes the course took strange turns at, but there were far too many and I got lost about four times. I would advise writing down all of the holes where a strange cross-parking lot or cross-street transition occurs. Without it, there are various tee boxes in sight of nearly every pit so it is hard to navigate by sight.
Other Thoughts: Awesome park. I'm sure I would give it a better rating once I knew the course by heart, but the lack of directions drops it down a bit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots to like

1    4/25/2011   4/25/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course in big busy park. Lots of golf wedged into not all that much space... good use of land, overall. Flat by local stds, but good use of what elevation there is ... which is a lot by my Chicago stds. 3 and 5 are the great holes here... signature shots in tree clusters... not crazy long. 1 and 2 are nicely done with the trees. 8 was a nice annie shot over the creek and around the tree. Liked that one, too.
Cons: 5 and 9 cross... not a great thing... even on a weekday after school, before dinner it was pretty crowded and I presume much worse on the weekends... some tee signs are missing but most transitions are easy nuf to figure out. Had to ask about the move from 4 to 5. Missed 7 completely... went dir to 8. 11 is just a waste... silly hole... just there to see if you have the guts to throw good plastic that close to the water... use a junk disc and likely not throw your best... why bother? Mioe from 11 to 12 is a bit big but dir on post make it a easy transition.
Other Thoughts: My fave combo was 12, 15, 16, 17... 12 does not have the trees... 13 is set too close to the street and parked cars to be a good idea. 15, 16, 17 use the tres well and are great middle distance holes for key shot placement for birdies. Nice. Overall a fun place to play. I will be back here 1X more before I am done in town.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the confusion

1    3/13/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: kcplease
Played: 95  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Variety of holes with length and difficulty
Great to e close to the mountains
Water was used well as an obstacle
Usually very sunny
Trees block a lot of wind on some holes

Cons: Parking can be crowded
Very confusing the first time around (asked for directions 4 times)
Fairways are sometimes used by people who do not know what they are doing
Only good course in he area, so very well trafficked
Other Thoughts: You can't beat the mountain atmosphere here. The course itself is not to terribly impressive, but the scenery makes up for it. Course is very well maintained and mowed, very little trash. Worth checking out.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course has it all

5+    11/6/2010   3/11/2011
Review By: sidearm-chucker-024
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course has everything one could ask for:
Elevation Shots
Water hazards
Good mix of long/short technical/easy holes
Spacious tee pads
Well marked
Many alternate pin locations
Cons: Busy- usually have a large group in front or
behind you
Very minor flow issues between holes
Sometimes hard to see pin locations
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in the area, utilizes the terrain and features of the park very well. Pins are moved often which keeps things interesting, but can also make them hard to find at times. This course has a lot of variety and will have you throwing everything in your bag. Only real drawbacks are the popularity of the course. It is very busy, and is the only course that i have "lost" a disc in a clear and open field, due to someone else picking it up. Would be five stars if not for the high amount of traffic.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun For All Levels

5+    12/19/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: Cigar34
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, well laid out, different pin placements, long and short holes, nice tee boxes, each hole is easily located.
Cons: Too many people playing at one time!
Other Thoughts: Very fun course for all skill levels, uses most of the discs in your bag, some water holes and lots of trees! Have fun.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I'm Loving it

5+    9/19/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: ChevyChevelle
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a wide variety of tee off shots for all who venture in. From beginners to the more advanced, you are going to love this course. From the long open shots to the water and tree hazards, you will get plenty of chances to use or practice your skills on this awesome course. Restroom facilities and some water stations to quench your thirst. Most of the other Disc Golfers have been very friendly and are willing to answer any questions you might have about the course. Signs for tees and baskets are marked. This course is scattered throughout a wide area in and off the park, so makes for lots of good exercise. This park is well maintained and is mostly green grass throughout.
Cons: It would be wise to make your tee times an earlier one; it can become a little crowded in the afternoons. You may get a little turned around your first time out on this course.
Other Thoughts: Hole #3 is across the parking lot north. Hole #6 is across the street South east. Hole #9 you come back across the street West on the corner. From hole #10, 11 and 12 takes you around the back of the tennis courts. Walk towards the skate park to get to hole #13. Hole #14 is across the street South West. Hole #18 is back across the street again east on the corner of the block. Hope the extra information helps you out, if it is your first time to this course. From the first time I ever played this course, my family and I fell in love with it. It is well worth the drive up here from the eastern plains every Saturday morning.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Edora Park

2-4    8/5/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: TomSawyer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice use of basket location with tons of large evergreens. Great grass, and very well kept up by the maintance crews. The other aspects of the park are top notch as well. Rest room are available on the course too.
Cons: Very spread out, Starts at the top oh the hill for holes 1 and 2. then hole 3 is on the oter side of the parking lot. Also kinda confusing for first timers on the course at hole # 6, is across the street and up the hill. There are small signs that give a brief explaination of the next tee. Also locals were explaing the lay out even with out asking for help. All seem very friendly.
Other Thoughts: Would definatily put this course on your wish list of places to play!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome Course

2-4    7/18/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: movingtarget32
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As a nobe to the sport, and haven't spent a lot of time playing yet I have come to love this sport and this course. It's a bit out of the way from the house but well worth the trip. Folks are always willing to help you get a disk out of a tree or show you were the next tee is.
Cons: This course is part of a larger park and can be difficult to drive when there are other citizens using the fairways to work on their tans. Tee #6 is very confusing to find and gave up the first time after it got to dark and went home.
Other Thoughts: This is a super nice park in the middle of town that really loves it's disk golf. It would be nice for Fort Collins to build another course to help relive some of the pressure and traffic at Eddora. Maybe Spring Cannyon Park would be a great idea.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, bad location (i still play weekely)

5+    7/8/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 11
Pros: This is my current home course, I have played every pin placement available (and then some old ones and some old course holes that no longer exist, and some on the other side of the tracks ect). The course, while rather open does force many different shots, and is difficult enough to keep you challenged. The water comes into play seriously on 4 of the 18 holes. There are plenty of other OB possibilities includin, fence by tracks, roads, sidewalks (on or across if you are not playing over) horseshoe pits, skatepark, tennis courts ect.

Fairways are regularly groomed, making rollers options on a few holes, which is uncommon in CO.

Although this course plays as a duce or die course mostly, its not pitch and putt and definitely can be challenging (I throw -10 to +5 fairly regularly)
Cons: Tee pads have a raised section on the fronts which was originally designed as a fault line giving a concrete place to follow through, but even in tourney play this has been changed to be part of the teepad. Only a slight tripping hazard. Course does overlap a bit in a place or two (as mentioned 5/9 you play over eachother, 6-8 play close, and 12's teepad is often a landing zone for shanks from hole 18. 15 from 13 and so on.

The course is more a duce or die course for the more advanced players with only a few holes that see more bogie's than birdies, not an awful thing, but still a con in my book.

Although fairways are groomed the city is planning on beginning to let the water way become "natrual" meaning tall grass that is easy to lose discs in, probably causing us to lose another placement or two.

Its a public park (city park) and is BUSY with walkers joggers, kids picknickers and mostly DISC GOLFERS. If its not before noon, CSU is in session and its not 20mph winds or below 55 degrees, you will likely be waiting on every hole, with golfers occasionally throwing in on you, or asking to play through just to shank a drive on the next hole and let you play back, just to repeat over and over. . . . /rant
Other Thoughts: There have been too many pedestrians hit, and the course is going to go through another overhaul and half the course will be moved across the park (ruining flow) toward the end of this year.

This course has enough litter. Keep yours and pick up some more.

 very nice

1    7/7/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 95  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: a great course in a really nice park. plenty of variety, a few holes had water to deal with. the tee pads are huge.... almost too big, but they were really nice. baskets were in great condition. the park was pretty busy, but i had no preal problems waiting around
Cons: a couple holes crossed fairways,(#5,#9). you have to cross a street and a parking lot twice but the flow of the course was pretty nice overall.
Other Thoughts: met a local player ther half way through my round who was more than happy to play out the round with me. nothing but good vibes from everyone i met out there. i was only able to play here and estes park, but this was my favorite of the two colorado courses

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.