Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Fort Collins, CO
Edora Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #5 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Old School Course Fun

1    5/22/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: rfcthealien
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
Pros: This course is a fun course with a variety of shots (helped by the variety of pin placements) The flow wasn't too bad, I only asked for directions once, and mainly so that I could get on past the locals and not be in their way. This course is kept very nice, and has options for the rest of the family as well. The next tees that may be hard to find have signs on them telling you how to get there. The tee pads as stated in several other reviews are the largest I have ever seen.
Cons: There were a few signs missing, which made finding the pin on a few holes hard. There are a few blindshots, but once you have played once you know where you are going. I lost a disc on 9 in the creek...that's a personal con, that's what I get for getting that close to the pin I suppose.
Other Thoughts: This course is kept very nice, it made playing it alot of fun. I didn't shoot very well, but I had a blast playing. I would definitely go back to this course every time I am in the area.

 Bring a guide and wear a helmet

2-4    3/13/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
Pros: This park has a lot of disc golf history and has served as a training grournd for many very good players. The tee pads are the biggest trapezoids you've ever seen. There's ample opportunity to crush drives, but quite a few of the holes also require strategy, placement and shot shaping in order to score well. Depending on the configuration, there are also a few multi-shot holes.

There are a lot of very pretty coniferous trees and some decent elevation changes. Many of the holes are postcard pictures. The park is well maintained, there is no schule and the only chances to lose plastic are up in a tree or in the creek or pond.
Cons: This course is frequently very crowded and it is extremely dangerous in places. Two fairways cross and a few others crowd each other. There are several places where the parking lot and road come into play. The horse-shoe pits come into play on three holes.

The course is overy crusher-friendly and definitely could use one or two more tees per hole. Speaking of tees, many of the tees are slanted up and/or sidehill. Why spend the money to pour cement and not level the ground first?

The routing is not intuitive and the course could use directional signs in several places.
Other Thoughts: Try to get out early to avoid the crowds.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

 Great course to play, all levels, had a blast.

1    9/9/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: HeiserSöze
Played: 58  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge Tee-pads, lots of fairway on a lot of holes. I am an amateur level player and brought two beginners with me and they had a great time.
Cons: Like everyone else has said, the course is very busy. We couldn't play hole 4 because there was a large group of people with a slip n slide setup 20' in front of the target.
Other Thoughts: Bring a disc you don't mind losing cause there is a big creek and some shrubbery on some holes. Unless you don't mind getting wet. There is a hole where you are shooting along and over water. There were several kids there wading around and pulling out piles of discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Standing the Test of Time

1    8/14/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Edora Park has some of the longest concrete tees I have ever seen on a golf course. Some tees may stretch up to 20 feet, which could be excessive but is appreciated on the longer drivable holes. The park is neatly manicured and houses tennis courts, baseball fields, a big skatepark, huge horseshoe pit areas, and bmx bike trails. It also has the basic amenities you would expect to find in a city park, and with its central Fort Collins location you can expect this place to stay busy at all hours of the day. Also, note a great bathroom location to start the back nine.

Holes are marked and range from 140 to almost 500 feet. Plus there is a great intermixing of tree obstacles and water hazards (most of which still have a fair chance of getting your disc back if you don't mind getting wet.) The trees are big and provide decent shade in the summer heat, and the park itself is open and beautiful. Most holes play straight, but with the option of alternate pin locations, Edora can change things a bit to stay fresh and feeling new.

BEST HOLE/S: #7
Cons: The biggest con may be that is the best course within the Fort Collins area, so it is busy. Unless you've come early, you can expect a round to go over two hours, which I am not a fan of doing. If you hate crowds or just want to get in a quick round, I would suggest playing the much shorter Cache La Poudre Junior High course in La Porte about 6 miles northwest.

The park itself has ample parking, but you'll have to park in a small cul-de-sac if you want to be close to tee #1. And for you first timers - go through the trees behind the cul-de-sac to locate the pin. A person could also could also just park in the park itself and jump on at #14 as an alternate option.

Edora also has some basic course flow problems between holes #2 to #3 and #11 to #12. Holes #5 and #9 are also overlapping, which I have always found to be more common in older courses. It's not a huge con, just something to watch for, and if you bring a map these things shouldn't be an issue.

WORST HOLE/S: #2
Other Thoughts: Edora Park serves as the perennial northern Colorado course, and is a mainstay in longevity for the Fort Collins crowd. For being built in 1989, it has still maintained its challenge factor whereas many courses its age have become short, easy, and obsolete. To this I give credit, however, there is no singular wow moment where I felt this course set itself apart from other courses I've played. It simply plays consistent and strong, but won't take your breath away.

If I had time, I would much prefer to drive the 30 miles into the mountains and hit Sundance Trail Ranch DGC or Beaver Meadows DGC, but this is still a course I would be happy to have as a home course. However since time is usually a factor, if you don't mind the crowds - I promise you'll walk away satisfied with your experience.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great and Diverse

5+    4/26/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: Mtn Huckin
Played: 73  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All kinds of shots in beautiful park setting. The Fort Collins players are very involved in mixing up pin positions (4 per hole) keeping it interesting. A river and a small lake come into play on 5 holes.
Cons: Because it is a park, it is busy! A number of fairways cross each other. It doesn't take away from each shot, but you could be waiting at times.
Other Thoughts: People who live in Fort Collins are very serious about there stance on Disc Golf. Get involved with the locals - they know whats up. Play Grateful Disc Tourney in the spring!
2009 is the 32nd year of this event

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great overall course

5+    4/14/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 10/5/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course requires great accuracy and just about every technical shot in the bag. Holes have multiple pin locations varying in length with many down and uphill shots, water hazards on 6 holes, and many trees lining most fairways. There are also roads, walking paths, and other various out of bounds areas coming into play frequently. The tee pads are nice long concrete pads with several surrounded by mulch. Every hole is clearly marked with a post and map that provides info about the hole. The park is very well maintained by the city and the local disc golf club. There are many facilities to use and resources to navigate the course.
Cons: Since this is by far the best course in the city, it gets VERY populated on any given sunny day. If you go after 1 PM you may have to wait in line for the whole round! You also have to watch out for pedestrians occasionally passing through (usually with dogs). "Fore!" is commonly heard because some holes cross over each other and passing players can get in the way. Occasionally, the open fairways of Hole #1 and #2 are occupied by young recreational players and casual visitors of the pool and ice center.
Other Thoughts: This is my stomping ground. I learned how to play here and I can say I have had to learn every type of shot to play well at Edora. This is easily in my top 3 favorite courses.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/12/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 55  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Edora is Definately, Thee, Northern Colorado, Front Range Course!. With a mix of Experienced Vets to CSU's College Crowd, to Beginner's, this course offers Something for All!

Every Hole has multiple Pin Locations, that are changed frequently, that Pose an ever challenging Course. The Weather is Nice, more than not, which gives you a Year round Experience - From the Ice on Hole 4's Notorious Hill (in the Winter) to Spring Creek flooding in the Spring, there is always a new challenge.

All Pads are Concrete and Every Hole is Well Marked. Great Mix of Bomber Shots (Hole 6 & 10 - Long Positions) and Short Technical Shots (Hole 11 & 3)..

The course holds a great Atmosphere and is located in a beautiful City/Area.
Cons: Can get very busy at times with a mix of crowds which can make difficult shots even more complicated.(For example shooting Hole 9 while there is a Horseshoe Tourny going on).
Other Thoughts: This course is where i cut my teeth, and it's where My Disc Heart Lies. Edora Brings continual Challenge and Diversity. If you are anywhere near Fort Collins, this one, is worth a Stop! Bring Your A-Game cus It's On Here! After the Round check out Down-Town Fort Collins. It'll be worth your time!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    3/15/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: plus4db
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has an incredible variety of holes that require familiarity with different types of shots in order to play it well. The tee shot on the first hole is one of the most difficult shots I have ever seen. Trees surround the tee and are present up to about half of the fairway. Your options on one are a short hyzer, a perfect straight shot to a very small opening in the trees about 150 feet away, or an anhyzer/turnover for distance. The first, second, eighth, and fifteenth holes are great for folks who love the anhyzer and turnover throws. Hole six is a monster with an elevated tee that allows you to really test your distance technique. Hole seven plays across a creek with the basket usually at the top of a ten foot "cliff" to the water, so accuracy is important. Ten is a long hole that plays with the creek on the right, but is just a warm-up for eleven which is a deceptively difficult short tee shot to a basket near a small lake that devours the discs of those who can't make the adjustment to the short throw or make the play around the group of trees in front of the target. There are a lot of non-disc golf activities that happen within the course, but it is rarely a problem. This course has a hole for everyone.
Cons: The tees on thirteen and fourteen don't have pads and are played from the dirt/grass. Holes five and nine cross, but both are short and the tees are near one another so communication is easy.
Other Thoughts: Edora is a fun and challenging course that has a great vibe. The folks that play are an easy going and friendly lot.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great park for everyone!

2-4    2/28/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: byoung39
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Nice variety of pin placements
* Lots of obstacles, but very clear options for different paths to the basket
* Forces you to use MANY discs from your bag
* Good shots are rewarded and poor shots punish you. In my opinion, this is the biggest factor in determining if it is a great course or not.
Cons: * A few holes are hard to find if you are not with someone who knows the course.
* A few fairways cross each other.
Other Thoughts: I love the variety of shots that the course offers as options or forces you to play. It is really cool that there are so many activities going on around you, but for the most part those people are not in the way, unless you throw a pretty poor shot! Nice, long tee pads, and a few holes where you can rare back and throw as hard as you can. NICE! This is a great park, and I am willing to drive the 45+ minutes to get there. Kudos to the people who maintain the clean park with so much going on.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Go Rams!!!

1    3/9/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 67  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has it all! Nice baskets, Nice tee boxes. All of the tees are marked very well and some of the tell you how to get to the next tee. There is a stream that comes into play on a couple holes and a small pond right nest to the basket on #10. You need to use all of the shots that you have in your bag to stay alive.
Cons: There are no cement tee pads on #13 and #14, but with #14 there is a path that can be used. The is a little bit of a walk after #2 and #11. This park can get very bust, even on the weekdays! Skate park in the middle of the course and a tennis court that you have to watch out for. There are multiple pin placements, however, it is not marked on the tee maps which is the current pin location; makes it hard on the baskets that you can not see.
Other Thoughts: I live about 45 minutes south of this course and I would make the drive again to play this course. It is a semi difficult course so beginners beware. Make sure that you print off the map before you go to make your trip a lot easier. Also while in Ft. Collins make sure to stop at "The Wright Life" store and pick up some new gear, only 5 minutes away.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.