Layout Extinct

Fort Collins, CO 
Edora Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 510ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 this place has it all!

1    3/4/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: menmabassguitar
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: C L E A N ! & ! H U G E

Many of the holes are clear setting you up for some KILLER drives. Hole 3 was my favorite, had to use a for arm to get around what ever building was next to the course. So its a challenging course as far as variety goes.

Not many people playing before noon!

There is also a skate park around hole 8-9(?), SO if you skate like I do, don't forget to bring your skateboard on this one !

Beautiful course lay out !


Cons: Like I stated before, there is a LOT happening in this park, not just Frolf. Its not a bother to me, but its definitely a courteous environment.

Kids scour the course for lost discs and try to sell them back to you, so play with control and watch where your disc goes!
Other Thoughts: One of the nicest courses I have played in CO, Nice flat, challenging course. PROPS and THANK YOU for who ever takes such good care of this course! Your efforts are greatly appreciated!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, fun town

5+    6/19/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: ponto11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 22.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty long, decent structure, challenging grip-n-rip holes and tight lane holes. Ft. Collins is a fun college town with lots around. River comes into play on several holes. Concrete tee pads.
Cons: Very busy and popular. Plays around buildings and streets. Can lose discs in river.
Other Thoughts: Go early in the morning to ensure you don't have long lines. Ft. Collins needs more quality courses to disperse the play a bit.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best in CO

5+    12/30/2008   1/14/2009
Review By: J-TRU
Played: 67  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: proly one of the best all around park courses in CO. This is a giant park with alot going on. nice big teepads and nice signs help navagate this course well. Get your arm out because this course has some nice long holes.
Cons: The only con, and i hate to say anything bad about this one....Is on weekends or late afternoons this course get packed. i mean sometimes waiting on every hole. so pack some brews...LOL
Other Thoughts: if you are new to the area go to the Wright Life Disc Store and buy some plastic and pick you up a course map.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great grass, fun holes

1    7/24/2007   1/5/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 224  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course gets huge, huge props for having some of the best grass I've ever played on. I was out in Colorado for a friend's wedding and took the groom and other groomsmen to play a round of disc golf at this course. We had all kicked off our shoes by the 2nd or 3rd hole because the grass was so amazingly well kept, green, plush and beautiful. I know this may not matter to a lot of folks, but being able to wander a course barefoot and play a fun round of disc golf with good friends is one of the highest pleasures in this sport, and this course is IDEAL for that sort of afternoon.

In addition to world-class grass, the general maintenance of the course is also above average. Trees are trimmed and in great shape; the creek is pretty clear (or was when we were there), and the course is free of broken bottles and litter.

The holes aren't hugely challenging, but they do work well for a wide variety of skill levels. There is enough challenge that blue/gold players will still enjoy themselves, but players just starting out will also take some pars and aren't likely to lose discs except in one or two places along the creek (but this can be pretty easily avoided -- most wet discs are easy to retrieve).
Cons: The course is a little challenging to navigate. The multiple pin placements aren't always well marked, and it is sometimes very confusing how to get from tee to tee. Some of the teeboxes are tucked back in trees and this makes it even harder to find your way through the course the first time. Also, with some of the pins not visible from the teeboxes, it can be a challenge to know whether to aim at A, B, or C pin position (this is a common problem, but still an annoying one, and easily fixed with good signage).

The course could also benefit from leaving some more pins in the longer placements to add variety to the course. When I was there, most of the baskets were in short, which seemed odd since it was July -- lots of daylight and beautiful weather -- when you would expect the course to be stretched out to take advantage of that time of year.

The park is also shared with lots of other activities (tennis, dirt bikes, swimming, jogging, horseshoes, etc...) and while this doesn't often come into play, you do have to be careful of other users of the park. The park stays busy, and the disc golf winds near all other areas of the park, so this is more of a problem than it is at a lot of places. We never had to wait very long for folks to move, but we were playing midday on a weekday and there were still a fair number of people around -- I could imagine it being pretty crowded on weekends (though this is purely speculation).
Other Thoughts: Other huge props for this course -- it is very close to the New Belgium Brewery, so go by before or after and get free samples of all sorts of tasty beverages, some of which they only have at the brewery and don't distribute outside the area (some amazing Flemish sours).

If you're visiting from some other part of the country, remember that Fort Collins is about a mile above sea level, so discs will fly more overstable here than they will at lower altitudes. So plan accordingly and bring lighter or flippier discs than you are used to using and it will help your scores... and don't get frustrated when at first everything flies differently than you expect -- that always happens at altitude. Just enjoy it -- and watch how far an Ultimate lid will go at higher altitudes.... it's pretty awesome.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/31/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: dcarpent
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Edora park is an enjoyable, well rounded course that brings a large variety of shot types into play on every hole. The tee-boxes are for the most part in great shape, with the exception of #13 & #14 as they may have been recently moved because as of Oct 08 they are dirt with no signs. The tee-signs are in good shape and show the multiple pin placements for each hole, although it is difficult to tell which placement is currently in play. Some of the signs give a brief description of where the next tee is on those longer walks. What makes this a great course is the many different types of throws, there is flat holes, some treed holes, some holes with good elevation, and depending on the pin placements the creek is in play on several. The park is very well maintained, three holes play in the natural prairie grass and the rest are in nicely groomed park grass. Hole #3 is a great downhill shot into a grove of pines. Hole #6 is long and wide open, though it should probably be a par three. In the right placement hole #7 is a tricky uphill birdie shot over the creek. While not extremely challenging Edora park still keeps the round interesting, and you'll likely use most of the shots in your arsenal.
Cons: Navigating the course can be problematic in a few spots. Hole #3 is north-west across the wide parking lot. Hole #6 is east across the street near the railroad track in the prairie. Hole #12 is a good walk to the south side of the skate park. Hole #13 is west across the street at the dirt patch with no tee-sign. Now it is not as annoying as it sounds, especially since there are usually plenty of friendly locals to help out. The fenced horse-shoe arena and tennis courts are kind of in the way on some of the best holes. A large brick building crowds the drive on hole #2. After hole #11 they can get just a bit redundant with mostly straight, flat shots, but there is still an abundant amount of trees. The creek is somewhat nasty and could potentially swallow your disc in certain spots.
Other Thoughts: Even though my list of cons seems long keep in mind these are all minor nuisances and I did give the course a 4 out of 5 rating mostly for the fun I had playing it. Edora does require significant disc control, as the beginner I played with was not too pleased when he finished +12, however experienced players are likely to finish under par. The huge number of pin placements are changed frequently, so likely it will be quite different the second time you play it. Park in the far back of the large parking lot, you'll see the practice basket.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Oh The Trees and Roads

2-4    10/18/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a very nice park and provides an incredible challenge. There are very few holes that will have you saying oh I did this just a couple of holes ago.
Cons: This is not an easy course. So I would reccomend begginers stay away. The course is not all that long. There are two holes that do not have cement tees (13 & 14). There is a long walk after holes 2 and 11 before the next tee. Walk ways, streets and other out of bounds areas are easy to find, even when you are not looking for them. Signs are not all that accurate, even if you happen to figure out the tee placement that actually exists for that hole. Water comes into play on hole 11 but that is about it.
Other Thoughts: You do not want to play this course without a map. I used the one on this website and printed it out and was able to use it to help out other lost dg throwers. This course really frustrates me many times throughout the round, but it is the most challenging course I have yet played on, and I think that is a good thing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a Sunday course

2-4    8/24/2008   9/6/2008
Review By: dosahl
Played: 38  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice and green park course. It is well kept and a nice play. It is in a well used park so baskets are easy to identify once you get to the tee.
Cons: I played the course on a Sunday. The park was very well used. We had ninja swordsmen dueling near the back 9, Ice sliders near an early hole, skate boarders in the pit, and horseshoers I had to throw over or through (I did witness a near hit of a horseshoe player). Some of the tee boxes were difficult to find from the previous basket.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the course but I would not play it on a Sunday. I will try to play it again on a week day.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Another Fine Day at Edora

7/21/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: macilsoul
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an old favorite, even with the many modifications it has gone through over the years. Gone are some of the epic holes around the creek, but this course still has the charm and technical charisma of a great disc golf course. Today was a humid, warm day with a slight wind, which makes the course a touch more challenging especially for the more precise shots around the creek and those requiring some real serious fade or turns. This course has a great mix of distances and requires just about every shot in your arsenal. Forehands, backhands and rollers help get you closer to the pin, but you will need a variety of backhand shots to truly master the course. Tees are fairly well marked and the tee pads are, for the most part, expansive and well made. Lots of trees on nearly every basket and water on 4 of them. There are multiple pin placements and nearly all are mapped out on the tee posts with distances, which always helps me.
Cons: Some tees unmarked and it is a hike to #12. Fortunately, I have played this course before and know where I am going.
Other Thoughts: Another great day at Edora.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Edora Park

1    5/20/2001   4/2/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Edora Park is a beautiful 18 hole course located in Fort Collins, Co. Installed in 1989, this course has stood the test of time and is still in great shape. The course is set in a large park full of plush grass and beautiful native trees, and includes a large pond that is incorporated into several holes. The tee pads are large slabs of cement roughly 10-15 feet in length and for the most part are in excellent shape. Mach III baskets with multiple basket positions (A,B,C)! Holes range from 208 - 578 ft., including multiple par 4's and six holes that play over or near water.

This course is wide open, with rolling hills and slight elevation changes throughout. Holes all vary in difficulty but still manage to challenge even the best of players at times. Hole 11 was really the only hole with a water hazard, but was a great hole for a possible ace! The fact that Edora Park plays on grass also makes it easier for the more relaxed player and allows fewer chances for lost discs.

The course navigation was fairly easy to follow and the locals were all really friendly. Holes 3 and 11 were by far my two favorite due to the elevation changes and water. If not careful though the wind will grab your disc and choose a new line for you so watch out!
Cons:
Due to being multi-use park, the course can be very crowded at times, which in turn means waiting a little longer than usual between holes. The signs between holes could be a little clearer as well. I had some trouble finding a few holes on the back nine but luckily found a friendly local. Updated tee signs and navigational arrows would quickly improve the flow.
Other Thoughts:
Edora Park was in tremendous shape when I played, offering variety and difficulty, especially considering its location in a multi-use park. The local club has done a tremendous job working with the city in regards to course maintenance and trash. Edora is well worth the stop if passing through as it is not overly draining on the body allowing for a nice walk in the park to stretch out or multiple rounds.

Other Ameneties:
Playground, Restrooms, West/East Ballfields, Tennis Courts, Horseshoe Courts, BMX Track, Spring Creek Trail, Ice Skating, Swimming, Spring Creek, War Memorial, Shelter.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The grass is greener

5+    7/25/2009   1/31/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With well manicured green grass and scenic evergreen and large deciduous trees scattered throughout this is an inviting course. This has become one of my favorite types of terrain. It's hard to lose a disc, and you don't have to fight much shule. I've been playing here since 1999, and I always a enjoy my rounds. By and large, the course is relatively open, and there are a few open field holes where the big arms can watch it fly. There are many birdie opportunities out there, even for shorter throwing Intermediate players like me. A creek and small reservoir come into play on 6 holes.
*There is one set of tees and up to 3 basket positions per hole, so that make for a lot of fairway and length variety. (A few holes have 4 to 6 basket positions!) Lengths vary from 172 to 582 ft. Overall, the majority of the holes are in the 200-399 ft. range. I've always seen the course have the basket layouts mixed around between A, B, or C. While this adds endless variety it loses the purity of being able to play just the A, B, or C layout all in the same round. There are some moderate elevation changes and some scenic shots.
*I'm always in Fort Collins in July and I love the clear, low humidity air; this a big change from humid North Carolina and a real plus for me. I really enjoy playing the course on a cool clear morning.

Basics-
*Tee signs have hole maps and layout lengths. Tee pads are first class! They are 20 ft long wide trapezoids.

Amenities-
*There's a pretty good map on the internet and hole maps on the tee signs. There's a restroom at hole 9. There's also a warm up basket (it's a little old), a pretty good message board, and many trash cans. No benches on the course, though. The park is very clean with very little trash.
Cons: -With 3 or more basket positions per hole it would really help to have the current positions marked.
-Because there have been a number of changes to the course over the years the layout lengths on the maps often don't match the lengths posted in various places online, so it's very hard to tell which length is accurate and the most up to date to use.
-Some tees are hard to find. Tee 3 is across the parking lot. Tee 5 is a long walk down the road. Tee 6 is across the street and up the hill. Tee 12 is a really long walk up the hill by the skateboard park. It would help to have some signs to point the way.
Other Thoughts: Course Level = White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925)

My favorite hole = 11. There's a very scenic small reservoir all on the left side, and with 5 basket positions there are varying lengths and varying degrees of risk vs. reward.
Hole 3 is also fun. It's a fun downhill left curving shot. The drive is open so you can watch your disc fly, but the basket is strongly guarded by a small grove of pine trees.

I would enjoy being able to play the course with the baskets all using the same A, B, or C layout.

In summary, this is a fun course with a lot going for it that I enjoy every time I play.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.