Herington, KS 
Father Padilla Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #4 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Basket up on hill, OB street beyond pin, OB memorial to left of pin



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    5/26/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: thaboss44
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: Baskets are placed well making it challenging to avoid the trees. Overall a very technical course.
Cons: No map. Took a while to find hole #1. However, once found, very easy to follow.
Other Thoughts: Go see the guys over at Disc Unlimited before you play. Get some new plastic and get some tips on the course. They were very cool.

 Thanks Discs Unlimited for the map

1    7/28/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 267  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little 9 holer in a well kept park. There was no trash open my visit, which is great. Short course for the most part and beginner friendly. Most of the baskets are next to trees to add a little challenge.
#1 Start in the center of the park, left of the playground, you will see the pole marking the tee box and shoot towards the basket that is by the trees just before the road.
#2 Cross the road and again shoot north, basket located next to the tree west of the pool.
#3 Shoot across the road to the basket that is just before the stream.
#4 Shoots uphill around the trees, or there is a tight window if you choose the righty path, and the basket is in between the canon and a house.
#5 Tee off south of the pool and shoot across the stream to the basket that is between the 2 trees southeast of the playground.
#6 Tee off by the sidewalk and again the basket is between the 2 trees that guard it.
#7 Is across the road and south of #2's tee box. If you make it past the trees that are right off the tee box it is a wide open hole.
#8 Shoots across the softball field. Make sure you clear the fence. If you don't there is a gate so you can get your disc.
#9 Tee off just north of #8's basket and shoot back towards the playground area.
I hope this info is helpful, and maybe upon your visit the signs will be back up.
Cons: As of my visit there were no tee signs, just the poles marking where each tee box was located. Upon arrival to the park we had no idea where to play from. Luckily with a phone call to discs unlimited, which is south of town by the way, we were able to obtain a map of the course and got to score some new plastic. Without this map for out of towners this course would be tough to follow.
If the park is crowded your round will most likely take longer.
Other Thoughts: I know this isn't the courses fault, but I just don't understand why people feel the need to tear things up. If the signs were here then you would have no problems navigating this course. Again if it wasn't for the helpful people at discs unlimited we would have had some trouble figuring out were to start. Overall the course flows logically when you know where you are going. If the signs were still intact I would've bumped my rating up to 2.5. We also happened to play on what appeared to be camp day of some kind and there were kids everywhere tossing frisbees around. This slowed play down some, but the positive thing is they were getting introduced to the sport, so I can live with 15 extra minutes of playing time. Advanced players will most likely be bored here, but beginners should score well. Not a must play by any means but it is a decent small town 9 hole course.
***Update: After playing some other nine holers this week, I feel I scored this course too low. I have bumped my rating up a half disc***

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Discs Unlimited is Awesome!

2-4    4/28/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: seymourdiscgolf
Played: 126  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2010
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Small town with a great 9 hole. Hit up the annual tournament there sponsered by Discs Unlimited (discsunlimited.net), the people who run it are great. There is a ledge you can throw off of near the statue by the road to make some cool shots if you are just making up your own back 9. Great mix of shots due to the scattered trees. There is a playground that the little ones can play in while you play some holes. You can make up many holes all within close eyesight of the playground with the help of the trees and terrain. Also stroller friendly.
Cons: Herington is quite a ways away from Kansas City. The 18 hole course is only set up for the annual tourney and it has some great shots across and around a pond located in the park. No pads. Watch out for the small creek running through the park, it doesn't look like much but it can easily hide your discs
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area I would recommend hittin up this course and if you happen to be by there during business hours on a weekday I would give Discs Unlimited a call and stop by and pick you up some discs, it is worth the tripjust to see a basement full of discs. HAPPY DISCIN'!! Go buy discs from discsunlimited.net.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.