Tulsa, OK 
Oral Roberts University Share
Uploaded By: dontbl1nk Hole #1 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
ORU

1    8/30/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 253  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained course with more than ample tee pads, good signage, and logical flow. Uses what elevation is present.
The middle holes make you shape your shots and there are a few holes where you can run the chains as well.
If you like to grip and rip then Hole 9 will be to your liking.
Hole observations:
1-Short uphill shot with the basket in the open
2-Low ceiling shot
3-has a narrow gap to hit in order to score well
4-slightly uphill, right side is more open
5-downhill shot with the left hand side being more open
6-uphill shot with trees upon approach
7-downhill shot with a low ceiling upon approach
8-basket is close to the parking lot so be careful
9-longest hole with the hyzer route(RHBH)being open
Cons: A couple of the baskets appear to have been hit by a mower.
The walk from 7's basket to 8's tee and 8's basket to 9's tee are as long or longer than some of the holes here. I didn't understand why 8 was such a far walk, 9 I think they were trying to avoid throwing next to the parking lot. Whatever the designer's reasons it throws the flow of your round off.
9's tee marker is starting to peel.
Other Thoughts: This is a private course on a college campus so I really don't know the particulars about playing here. I stopped at the guard shack that was in the parking lot and no one was there to ask what the rules are in playing this course. I decided to play it and I enjoyed my round here. I think this course could use a trash can or two and some numbers on the baskets would add a little touch. Its a nice little 9 hole course on a college campus and its nice to see another activity that the college students can participate in. Not a must play by any means but if you are in the area and can get on then I say play it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great potential

5+    5/17/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: vancraft
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great player comfort due to well-shaded fairways on most holes.
A great course for beginners, family, and recreational outings.. It has well designed layout and no water traps. Great parking and fantastic signage.
The manicured lawn and consistent canopy are especially helpful to rollers and those who don' want to lose a disc.
Cons: The power golfer will not get as big of an advantage on this course. It's more of a finesse course where great putting will carry the day.
There is no public restroom around the course.
Other Thoughts: ORU's north parking lot is adjacent the course and no one objected to us parking there (the spring semester had already ended).
There is ample room to add another 9 holes and make this a top Oklahoma course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

nice, fun, short, maintained

2-4    11/8/2013   11/12/2013
Review By: McC.Alexander
Played: 34  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +concrete tee pads
+very well maintained park
+slight elevation
+not crowded
+only for discers
+nice tee signs
Cons: -short, only 9 holes
-navigation... hole 8 is somehow tricky to find
-sporadic trees dont force specific shots making luck the factor, not skill
-very little variation in hole length
Other Thoughts: this is a great course for a beginner. it offers slight elevation and plays around/through some trees. there course area is set up only for disc golf which means that you dont have reason to worry about any stray people walking through the course regularly. it was about a quarter of a mile walk from the Marriott I was staying at so I was able to walk over with the down time I had.

I mentioned that hole 8 can be hard to find. this is because after you play hole 7 you then have to walk to the corner of the park and play back towards the parking lot (instead of turning to the right at hole 7, keep walking straight). both the tee and hole are hard to spot from hole 7 and it is easy to mistake tee/hole 9 as the next spot to walk to.

I have also played Hunter Park and if you have time to enjoy a full 18 and have access to easy transportation I would highly suggest Hunter Park over this one but if not you wont be disappointed playing a quick round here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quick stress reliever

1    10/1/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent pads, baskets, signs, and navigation. Very nice upkeep.
Cons: Very little imagination. Its a long walk from the parking lot to the course if you are a visitor.
Other Thoughts: Play this course if you are an ORU student. Otherwise, don't waste your time - There are plenty of great courses in Tulsa.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 New course

1    10/24/2011   5/26/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets
-Cement Tees
-A little elevation
-Large Oak Trees
-Shouldn't be crowded as it is on a smaller private university's campus
-Safe
-Can get discs from there if you don't have your own
-Area for expansion if they decide to do so
-Nice area, very clean and upkept
-Beginner friendly
-Won't lose a disc here
-Scorecards available which will help with navigation
Cons: -Not enough trees to force any specific shots. You can work this course as you feel.
-Private, I'm not sure what their rules are for who is supposed to play
-Not the longest course in the world
-No signage when I played but that might change?
Other Thoughts: I played this course very soon after it was put in, maybe even before they intended it to be played. I was there for something else and stumbled upon it. It has potential to go up a bit in my book but won't ever be a truly great course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.