Benicia, CA 
Benicia Community Park Share
Uploaded By: jmp55 Hole #7 (Taken 11/2011)
-- / --   3 / 327ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Some interesting holes but flawed

2-4    12/1/2013   2/21/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Some interesting hole configurations (1, 2, 7 & 8) with elevation changes, adequate distance, and obstacles.
- Practice basket, easy navigation, mostly good quality rubber tees
- Low traffic
- Tons of parking and other nice park amenities
- Family and dog friendly
Cons: - Some short holes (3, 5 & 6) that have minimal or no obstacles. Basically throw short drives into wide open, sloped terrain for straightforward birdies.
- 4th tee is dirt
- long walk between 9 & 1
Other Thoughts: This is a young course aimed more towards beginners. I definitely had some fun rounds here but in the end, I left wanting more. I wish they had used more of the vast open land that borders this course because, as it stands, it can be disappointingly short and simple.

8 is definitely the standout hole here. You throw across a long flat valley and the basket is on the sloped backside of a ~20ft cliff. Very fun hole!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is the Delta...

1    6/23/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: beereakfast
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some signage, not much. As I read the rules, beers are permitted off of the paved trails and out of the sports complex. I could be wrong. Don't trust this. The signs seem to make exceptions but you wont see them until after hole 9. The walk back to 1 is not far and is a good way to ditch the trash. I picked up a little but this place is very clean overall. This was quite entertaining. No poison oak seen at all! Lotsa bees and this is tick and rattle snake country. Look out. The tees are fine, usually rubber but even the dirt tees are fine. (I come from Chabot with nothing but dirt) I think there are restrooms at the little league park, and water fountains, but I didn't investigate. Pure speculation. They may be closed during off hours but the local team was practicing when I was out.
Cons: Hole 4 has no tee pads or any indication where to play from other than the tiny map at hole 1. I still found both tee areas with no problem.
Other Thoughts: This is a course where the wind will make you its mistress. She is a wicked temptress who beckons you to just try the shot that you think will be easy, and then destroys your arrogance with a mere gust! Come prepared for a steady-ish delta breeze and bring water. The wind here is as much a factor in shot selection as the trees are on a wooded course. A shot that runs to the right off of the top of the hill on hole 4 can go a long way down the canyon. I got really lucky.
There is a pretty easy flow to the course. Next tee signs would be nice but I followed it on my first visit solo. I love what they've done with the available hills.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Free course

1    3/15/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: bassman87
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Free course, diverse layout with open fields and tree rows, to hilltop tee boxes. challenging holes, with clearly marked tee boxes.
Cons: dirt and wild grass fairway. can easily loose a disc if not careful. windy bay breeze can come and go very quickly.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Start in a Beautiful Park

2-4    4/1/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A few interesting/challenging shots
Great tee boxes
Easy to find
Practice Basket
No real disc loss potential
Beautiful park overall with lots of activities, water, and restrooms. Baseball, soccer, football, skating, bocce, you name it. It even has a roller hockey court. A roller hockey court! I've never even seen one outside before!
Cons:
In spots, it's a bit tricky to navigate at first even with the map. Example: I accidentally threw at the #6 basket when I was on the #5 tee because I didn't see the #5 basket tucked off to the left behind the dog park.
A little pedestrian traffic on some holes
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
Do use the map.
There's a nice size practice area/basket at the entrance of the parking lot.

Random Thoughts:
This is a great start to what could be a great course one day. There's ample room around the park for as many additional holes that you could dream up and you can tell the course designer(s) have a love for the game. For the most part, the tee boxes are fantastic and the holes have some real thought put into them. There's an even amount of left-to-right, right-to-left, and wide open shots, with some possible thumbers if that floats your boat. I think the only real challenge with expanding the course is the lack of hazards. There are not a lot of trees around to work with and the nearest water hazard is a good ways away from the park. Not that these are deal breakers, but I could see that keeping this course from becoming great and presenting enough of a challenge to the advanced and above player. I think that's also what led to one of my cons above regarding the closeness to park goers. On #1 and #3 you are throwing right next to a walking path and picnic area. Even on a day where the park was fairly empty I had to wait, and if anyone had decided to kick back in these spots, I would have had to skip the holes. But I can see why they were designed this way: they probably wanted to use the few precious trees they had to make the shot interesting. I can also say that the wind here is a fairly constant presence and challenge. I did have opportunity to try this course a couple times a few weeks apart and both times the wind was hustling a fair bit and you can tell by the lean of the trees that it's around enough of the time. That alone makes the more wide open holes a significant challenge. An example and a design I like is on #8 where if you don't throw a perfect 300+ footer with a strong right-to-left wind in play, you're going to come short of a 15-foot cliff face giving you a completely blind second shot. Good times. And the #4 alternate tee 'Top of the World' shot is no joke when that wind is blowing right at you. I let go of the most overstable disc I had at a 45-degree angle and it still barely came back. The other times I lost it to the right in the nastiness. But guess what, it's a fun shot, and I look forward to the next attempt!

Bottom Line:
It's a good course for us beginners and a great park overall. It has tremendous potential and owners who love it. There's not much more you can ask for except maybe 9+ more holes. Good job!

P.S. to the Course Designers: As I live fairly close, do let me know if you need any help. I'd be happy to.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good course

2-4    1/2/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: dkfromthebay
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 1/11/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course. New, kept up nicely, I liked the rubber tee boxes. I loved hole 2 with a kind of tunnel shot out of the tee. I like the fact it challenges you with having to throw different shots with trees as obstacles.#4 has an okay downhill shot. Hole number 8 has a vall shot where you start on an uphill and try and make it accross a valley to another hill, was kind of a neat shot. #1,6 and 9 were a little challenging with trees to navigate through. The pins are brand new and in great condition with yellow on them which makes them very visable.
Cons: It needs signs, which I'm sure they will put in, still a new course. I got lost a few times and tee 1 was right next to a path where people were walking constanly(kind of dangerous). The whole course was on a path that looks like orignally was intended for hikers that is that is still used by them. Its very open and sometimes the next hole is far away from the last. The last hole was really far away from hole #1 and parking which is kind of a pain if you wanted to do it again.
Other Thoughts: All in all it was a fun new course and I'm excited to see what else they do with it. Its big enough to expand to 18 if they wanted(hope they do). Some challenging throws, also at this park there is a park for kids, outdoor roller rink, skatepark, baseball fieldscovered picnic benches, just a ton of stuff to do there if your traveling with people who arent disc golf players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.