Disc Golf Store
Benicia, CA 
Benicia Community Park Share
Uploaded By: jmp55   (Taken 11/2011)
Park Sign



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Some Parts I Really Liked, Others Not So Much!

1    6/22/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
Pros: Benecia Community Park is fairly large park with six softball/baseball fields, skate park, dog park, soccer fields and the other usual playground areas. The course circles the ballfields making a complete circle almost back to the parking lot.
There is a practice basket and course sign near the parking lot but then it's a fairly long walk to the first tee.
Here I found a kiosk with a small map. This tee pad was nicely landscaped. A pole was there, ready for the tee sign to be attached. The tee pads are rubber pads with a wooden border surrounding them.
I liked # 2. It was a cool tunnel shot throwing through a gap in the trees probably 30' apart. The basket was set about 275' out in the open.
# 3 is an uphill shot requiring a slight hyzer.
Holes 7 and 8, although windy as hell, were fun as can be. # 7 was throwing right into the force of a strong wind.
# 8 seems to be most player's choice as the signature hole here. The pad is surrounded by patio blocks. The view here is outstanding. others have talked about what mountains and oceans and straights they were looking at. I had no idea what I was looking at but I was certainly impressed by it. The sign says this hole is 420' although I doubt it's over 275'. The basket is set up on a dirt mound just completing the excellent design of this great hole.
Cons: I struggled a bit with my navigation. Don't think I ever found # 4. I hiked to the very top of the big hill here thinking this would be the logical place for the # 4 tee pad but still couldn't locate it. So I just skipped it. Threw a practice shot into wild brush below. After hunting for my disc in that,I think I realize why the tee pad is not located at the top.

I didn't find # 6 until after my round was over. I kinda half suspected it was down in that corner.

The more rugged areas of the course are pretty ugly, brown and dry and prickly. Finding your disc in this stuff can be a nuisance.

Gale force winds!
Other Thoughts: Like others have commented, there are some features that I really like about this course and some other things I'm not so thrilled with. I think the course would be much more esthetically pleasing during the wetter seasons.

Some interesting holes but flawed

2-4    12/1/2013   2/21/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 35  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Some interesting hole configurations (1, 2, 7 & 8) with elevation changes, adequate distance, and obstacles.
- Practice basket, easy navigation, mostly good quality rubber tees
- Low traffic
- Tons of parking and other nice park amenities
- Family and dog friendly
Cons: - Some short holes (3, 5 & 6) that have minimal or no obstacles. Basically throw short drives into wide open, sloped terrain for straightforward birdies.
- 4th tee is dirt
- long walk between 9 & 1
Other Thoughts: This is a young course aimed more towards beginners. I definitely had some fun rounds here but in the end, I left wanting more. I wish they had used more of the vast open land that borders this course because, as it stands, it can be disappointingly short and simple.

8 is definitely the standout hole here. You throw across a long flat valley and the basket is on the sloped backside of a ~20ft cliff. Very fun hole!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

New placements a plus

5+    1/21/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: dbdg707
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just went yesterday and there are nearly new pin placements for every hole. Some are a lot further or challenging.

Never crowds there as it's tucked back in the hills.

Let it rip. Several holes have the potential to chuck it.

Goats were brought in this fall and the grass is down to dirt in most spots.

Some cool views of Lake Herman, the Carquinez Strait and other cities.

Some birdie chances and even an ace chance on 5.

Top of the world shot on 4.
Cons: Wind on certain days. But I actually enjoy the challenge.

Some path walkers, but most are really nice and will talk to you about the game out of curiosity.

Beginners may have a hard time navigating between 3 and 6. Ask someone, locals are inviting and often ask you to play along.

Really wish they had more than 9.

Hole 8 is now ridiculously far. Good luck.
Other Thoughts: Love my home course, but understand the flaws. Great place to practice for weekend destination courses.

Course starts and ends on opposite sides of large park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wide open course!

1    10/22/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: TimZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice change up from the other local courses for some completely wide open play! A lumberjack's delight, this place is going to have you placing big, long shots and seeing some wider results from your discs. And the wind is crazy! Some rad shots over valleys, and down hills. It was a really fun round to go big and test your distance limits, and capabilities of your different discs.
Cons: There is not a lot of guidance at all other than a google map at the start of the course. Take a photo. The tees do not indicate which number tee, which of 3 pin positions it is on, or any information at all. But you could usually see the pin from the tee, so that was less of an issue since this place is so open. Watch out for some trailers in play around 7-9 hole. I almost ended up pegging a dog with a big sky hyzer shot. He got quite a jump when the disc skipped by him and under the trailer! It was very hot on an october afternoon, I would advise bringing a hat, and sun block, water.
Other Thoughts: Hit it for sure if you are near, and worth a little bit of a drive if you're cravin' a big drive!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is the Delta...

1    6/23/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: beereakfast
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some signage, not much. As I read the rules, beers are permitted off of the paved trails and out of the sports complex. I could be wrong. Don't trust this. The signs seem to make exceptions but you wont see them until after hole 9. The walk back to 1 is not far and is a good way to ditch the trash. I picked up a little but this place is very clean overall. This was quite entertaining. No poison oak seen at all! Lotsa bees and this is tick and rattle snake country. Look out. The tees are fine, usually rubber but even the dirt tees are fine. (I come from Chabot with nothing but dirt) I think there are restrooms at the little league park, and water fountains, but I didn't investigate. Pure speculation. They may be closed during off hours but the local team was practicing when I was out.
Cons: Hole 4 has no tee pads or any indication where to play from other than the tiny map at hole 1. I still found both tee areas with no problem.
Other Thoughts: This is a course where the wind will make you its mistress. She is a wicked temptress who beckons you to just try the shot that you think will be easy, and then destroys your arrogance with a mere gust! Come prepared for a steady-ish delta breeze and bring water. The wind here is as much a factor in shot selection as the trees are on a wooded course. A shot that runs to the right off of the top of the hill on hole 4 can go a long way down the canyon. I got really lucky.
There is a pretty easy flow to the course. Next tee signs would be nice but I followed it on my first visit solo. I love what they've done with the available hills.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Commons

1    3/28/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: hydro5757
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Beautiful, muli-use park setting
*Plenty of Parking
*Good tee boxes (mostly!)
*Decent elevation changes
*Very few people midweek during the day

*Huge bonus, the practice hole right by the parking lot!
Cons: *Map was NOT GOOD. It was a small computer print out stapled to a HUGE board
*No real SAFE trail from tee to whole on 7&8 throuh the valley. VERY uneven.
*could not find the tee box for hole 4. Checked on top of the hill, bottom of hill. Map did not help!
*Long walk from hole 8 to tee box of 9
*if yo want to do 18, the walk from 9 back to 1 is about 1/5 mile.
Other Thoughts: This course was a fun course to play. there is a bit of walking traffic specifically on hole 1 and 6 so watch out.
Hole number 2 was my favorit. through the trees, dog leg right, and down. (I played it 4 times!)
The big thing about this course is not that there is a lack of tree or obsticales, most days the obsticales is the wind!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Free course

1    3/15/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: bassman87
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Free course, diverse layout with open fields and tree rows, to hilltop tee boxes. challenging holes, with clearly marked tee boxes.
Cons: dirt and wild grass fairway. can easily loose a disc if not careful. windy bay breeze can come and go very quickly.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 TICKS!!

5+    5/18/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: jmp55
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting shots with elevation changes
Great tee boxes
Free
Practice Basket
Beautiful park
Cons: Wind can be a problem at times
Only 9 holes (hopefully will expand to 18 in years to come).
Currently a lot of weeds, and increased disc loss potential (not usually a problem though).
Currently a TON of ticks!!
Other Thoughts: LOOK OUT FOR TICKS!!! I've played here a lot and it's never been a problem before this last round, but be warned, the ticks are out in full force. No exaggeration, on holes 7 & 8, I pulled around 20 ticks off of me, and my buddy had about 15 more. It was so bad that we blew off our usual second round of 9. So take precautions and check yourself diligently before heading home.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Start in a Beautiful Park

2-4    4/1/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: Magiken
Played: 43  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A few interesting/challenging shots
Great tee boxes
Easy to find
Practice Basket
No real disc loss potential
Beautiful park overall with lots of activities, water, and restrooms. Baseball, soccer, football, skating, bocce, you name it. It even has a roller hockey court. A roller hockey court! I've never even seen one outside before!
Cons:
In spots, it's a bit tricky to navigate at first even with the map. Example: I accidentally threw at the #6 basket when I was on the #5 tee because I didn't see the #5 basket tucked off to the left behind the dog park.
A little pedestrian traffic on some holes
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
Do use the map.
There's a nice size practice area/basket at the entrance of the parking lot.

Random Thoughts:
This is a great start to what could be a great course one day. There's ample room around the park for as many additional holes that you could dream up and you can tell the course designer(s) have a love for the game. For the most part, the tee boxes are fantastic and the holes have some real thought put into them. There's an even amount of left-to-right, right-to-left, and wide open shots, with some possible thumbers if that floats your boat. I think the only real challenge with expanding the course is the lack of hazards. There are not a lot of trees around to work with and the nearest water hazard is a good ways away from the park. Not that these are deal breakers, but I could see that keeping this course from becoming great and presenting enough of a challenge to the advanced and above player. I think that's also what led to one of my cons above regarding the closeness to park goers. On #1 and #3 you are throwing right next to a walking path and picnic area. Even on a day where the park was fairly empty I had to wait, and if anyone had decided to kick back in these spots, I would have had to skip the holes. But I can see why they were designed this way: they probably wanted to use the few precious trees they had to make the shot interesting. I can also say that the wind here is a fairly constant presence and challenge. I did have opportunity to try this course a couple times a few weeks apart and both times the wind was hustling a fair bit and you can tell by the lean of the trees that it's around enough of the time. That alone makes the more wide open holes a significant challenge. An example and a design I like is on #8 where if you don't throw a perfect 300+ footer with a strong right-to-left wind in play, you're going to come short of a 15-foot cliff face giving you a completely blind second shot. Good times. And the #4 alternate tee 'Top of the World' shot is no joke when that wind is blowing right at you. I let go of the most overstable disc I had at a 45-degree angle and it still barely came back. The other times I lost it to the right in the nastiness. But guess what, it's a fun shot, and I look forward to the next attempt!

Bottom Line:
It's a good course for us beginners and a great park overall. It has tremendous potential and owners who love it. There's not much more you can ask for except maybe 9+ more holes. Good job!

P.S. to the Course Designers: As I live fairly close, do let me know if you need any help. I'd be happy to.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Looking good, still in development as of Spring 2012

1    3/4/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: jasonc
Played: 133  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New baskets and tee pads here as the course was still in the development stage for my round. Practice basket is always a plus. The course is located in a multi-use park with restrooms. I did not see any trash on the course. Hole #1 is a short walk from the parking lot. The course is far enough away from the rest of the park activities to avoid any conflicts except for Hole #1 which is close to a bike/walking path. Good use of the available elevation here to create some nice uphill and downhill holes, especially on #8. I noticed plenty of sleeves in the ground for alternate basket locations. I would love to come back here to see how the course plays in a different layout, as it appeared that all baskets were in the short positions. Finally, there is great scenery with plenty of mountain views.
Cons: The lack of signs, which is certainly a temporary con, as the posts are already in the ground. The bike/walking path next to Hole #1 certainly has some potential for danger. Please be mindful of people using the path. Outside of #2 and #9, everything is a hyzer shot for a RHBH player like me.
Other Thoughts: From my POV, #8 is the signature hole here. A herd of approximately 100 goats quietly watched from the gallery as I emptied my bag from #8's teepad. This was certainly a new experience for me.

Beginners will find this course challenging. Advanced/Pros may consider this to be an easy walk in the park from the shorts.

I had a lot of fun here and I would certainly come back when I make it back to the Bay Area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.