Pelham, NH 
Muldoon Park Share
Uploaded By: philvil Hole #4 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short and fun

1    5/20/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: Kinsman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Muldoon is a great little course in a relatively course-less part of New England.
-Rubber tee pads on every hole. Most were level as well.
-Clean and well defined fairways. No real pinball holes.
-Lots of signage directing you where to go, and decent and helpful tee signs
-Ace runs galore!
-Free to play
Cons: -Tight and compact. A lot of the fairways butt up right against each other.
-12 holes under 300 ft. All but 2 holes are deuce-able I'd say.
-Chains are showing some rust and wear on the DISCatchers, including one that had already broke.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Muldoon is a fun course, but it lacks challenge. I enjoyed getting out there and would certainly play it again, but the short holes can get repetitive after a while. There's just not many opportunities to bust out your bigger discs. Great course for practicing your short game though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 New Layout - June 24 2012

5+    9/2/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: KCole
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New Layout on holes 15 - 16. Holes no longer cross (hazard). New layout adds some extremely difficult (and much needed) length to the course. The new 15 would reasonably be a par 4, over 500 ft with some extremely varied terrain. Tight technical course overall.
Cons: No benches, no trashcans, only 1 set of tee boxes. Tee boxes could use some work. They are mostly hard pack earth, which tends to develop uneven holes over time. Course can be frustrating for beginners. While many of the holes are easily pared/birdied with experience, the tight wooded fairways do not lend themselves well to new players learning. Off the fairway is often very wooded, making recovery near impossible. This should thin out as the course gets more use.
Other Thoughts: This course has generated a strong core of players recently. Tags is now being played twice weekly. The new course redesign and improvements are very good and I expect the improvements to continue.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Muldoon Park

1    3/25/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: Lemony
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Neutral hole design (LHBH, RHBH, and sidearm shots required)
Interesting holes (9 and 10)
Maximizing use of minimal space.
Relatively easy to find from 93.
New course layout increases distances and is much more interesting.
Seemingly built for lefty thumbers.
Cons: Tight, overly technical fairways, if your line is errant, expect difficult recovery shots.
Most shots are flex shots, either make your disc helix or miss the line.
Many holes are on top of one another, e.g. 14,15,16. However it was not crowded so it is tough to say if this is a problem.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is a solid place to play, it's not on my top 10 but it is absolutely worth stopping by. Muldoon park will reward technical shots, and only technical shots, leave your high speed drivers in the car. If you want to avoid this predicament on many holes throw overhand, it will bring you over the trees and to the basket.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wow, what an improvement!

1    3/22/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: frizgolfkiller
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee signs and fairway markers helping locate the baskets. Good use of the land. Pretty good flow from hole to hole. Fun technical course.
Cons: Some tee boxes were in rough shape, they really need to be filled in and smoothed out. Criss-crossing fairways on 15 and 16 caused backups. There were a few holes that could use better paths to the next tee, I think 14 was one were you had to walk onto 14s fairway and go down to the tee box, this caused backups.
Other Thoughts: Reminds me of Devens, but with tighter fairways. Bring bug spray! I was getting eaten alive by mosquitoes and it is only March. Better tee boxes would definitely push this up to a 3 for me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Successful Redesign

5+    9/16/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 75  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What this course lacks in distance (very few holes over 300') it more than makes up for with creative hole design. There are very few holes that give players a straight look at the basket. Instead, curving fairways and well placed trees force you to consider every shot carefully.

Most holes offer multiple equally fair routes. So there is very little bias to one style over another.

Although the park can be quite crowded on weekends and evenings in the summer, the disc golf course stays relatively quiet. The course is built along walking trails, so there is some non-disc golf use of the space. But most walkers are aware of the course and make an effort to stay out of the way of players.

When the athletic fields are not in use, they are a great space for field practice.

Some nice signage was recently added. Distance, par, and a nice hole diagram at each tee.
Cons: The natural tee pads need some work. The ones made by 4x4s arranged in a square need to either be filled in or dug into the ground. Many tees are filled with roots making run-ups difficult.

Navigation can be a little tricky. There are some basic signs marking each tee number nailed to trees. If you keep your eye on those, you should be able to find your way around just fine.

There is a lot of trash. It's clear the park maintainers don't make much effort to venture into the trails for cleanup. A few trash cans could really help alleviate that problem.

There is a bit of overlap. The basket in view from the second tee is actually the third basket. If a group ahead is putting, you're throwing right at them. If you wait for them to clear, then they're throwing back at you since the fourth basket is right next to the second tee. And hole 15 just doesn't fit. The basket for 14 is just as close to 16's tee as it is to 15. The problem is that 16 then plays right back over the tee for 15. The good news is that this course is not very crowded, so this will rarely be an issue. But if activity picks up, it could become a big problem.

There needs to be quite a bit of work done to clear out underbrush. It is very thick with very little way out. If you get off the fairway even by a foot or two, it is tough to save par. Even good shots can be punished by sitting behind a tree clump close to the pin.
Other Thoughts: There has been significant work done to this course in the summer of 2011 (keep this in mind when reading other reviews). This course has definitely found an identity as a line shaping test. The more weapons (shot types) you have in your arsenal, the more success you will have here.

Bring bug spray. There are a couple ponds that attract mosquitoes and they can be bad if you're not protected.

Hole 1 is no longer the hole behind the baseball field. The basket is still there as a practice basket only. The first hole is now by the playground in the nature trails.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A fun little work in progress

1    5/11/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: Anselm
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Don't let the 2.5 rating deceive you; Muldoon is a quality course, and really fun to play. It is located in a nice community park, and winds its way through your typical New England woods (I'm sure this place is gorgeous in fall). The layout is solid, making a nice loop with the 18th hole positioned close to the 2nd tee. While only hole 1 is truly out in the open, there were many wooded holes that weren't very tight and had just enough trees to keep it interesting, which I find much more fun and interesting than flat-out open holes.

There are a few memorable holes, like 8, which has you driving from an elevated tee to a low basket and demands a careful (but short) line through the trees. 18 is also very nice; it is one of the longest on the course, and though the fairway is mostly open, the handful of trees are placed just so that you must make a thoughtful, controlled drive to have a look at the pin on your second shot.

Despite the occasional lack of signage, navigation was pretty easy.

The locals were very friendly.
Cons: As the title, says, Muldoon is a work in progress; my buddies and I actually ran into a guy with a chainsaw who was cleaning up the rough while we played. Most fairways (~16/18) are very well defined, but others could definitely use some work. Also, the tee boxes are just squares of 4X4's with natural terrain under them - more an obstacle than any kind of help. However, the guy working on the course said that he was in the process of removing the back 4X4, which would allow for a decent run-up on most tees.

Not that you really need a run-up: most holes are under 300 feet. The designers made up for this with tight fairways, or fairways that demand articulated lines, or an accurate layup to a landing zone to set up an approach for par. While this made for some interesting holes, they were so short that the risk-vs-reward factor just wasn't there; even my worst drives resulted in bogies, and the pin was usually within reach with my second shot, regardless of where I landed. Furthermore, many of the holes follow the same formula; tight, short-medium length drive through the trees, with a little left-hand fade. While some holes favored lefties, this is definitely a RHBH course, and only once did I have to us my forehand (I'm RHBH). This course certainly tests accuracy, doesn't challenge you to throw a diversity of shots.

Another annoying thing; hole signs omitted tee-to-basket distances - I had no idea how far I was throwing!
Other Thoughts: Despite this long list of cons, they are being addressed; even as we played, we saw the designer (I assume) massaging fairways and adjusting tee locations. This is a course in flux, and with another year or two of work, it will be a real gem, deserving of at least a 3-disc rating. If you're stuck in Manchester and itching to play some disc (like me), Muldoon park is well worth the half hour drive. It is definitely a feel-good course; I shot +1, while on most courses I'd be thrilled with +5 or even +9. So go on down to Muldoon; I promise, it's a blast.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center