Pelham, NH
Muldoon Park Share
Uploaded By: philvil Hole #1 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Fun Course

5+    11/6/2013   11/7/2013
Review By: jfurbs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: It's a fun course with a lot of narrow holes with a good variety of challenges that include water (in the spring and summer on two holes), trees and brush on and off the fairway, etc. With 18 holes and a couple of friends it can take over an hour. The course has been better marked recently and flows pretty well. The community and the league that play there are all very friendly
Cons: The course layout was changed in the past years (before I played) and from what I heard it fixed some of the fairways crossing each other causing unsafe play. However, a few holes you still need to exercise caution where you are throwing
Other Thoughts: The course is worth a visit and utilizes the space they have very well.

Great Afternoon

1    8/31/2013   8/31/2013
Review By: Maddog30
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course, helpful locals who allowed me to join in. Layout and maintenance were excellent.
Cons: Pads in rough shape, one net was pulled out of the ground (requires repair). On line information out of date, course location and layout has been changed.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Muldoon Park

1    8/3/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: adlacro
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 7.9 Years
Pros: 18 Holes of free disc golf in a nice scenic park. Discatcher baskets are easy to see. Good solid mix of left and right hand turning holes. Most of course is flat, but whatever elevation was there is well utilized. Fairways challenging but no pinball holes. Maintained rather nicely for the summer. Other amenities available. Starts and ends very close together, always a plus in my book. I like 11 the most, but 6 is a nice challenge.
Cons: The chains on the baskets are somewhat rusty. As is they are okay but probably should be replaced as soon as funds are available. Tees for the most part were dry, considering the rain we've had recently, but have dips and so a full run-up is harder without twisting your ankle. A few places could have benefitted from better signage.
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course, but in an area pretty devoid of disc golf overall and not too far from either 93 or 3, it is a good place to stretch and play 18 without taking a lot of time. It took me 1:10 to play the whole course.

Worth checking out

5+    12/15/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: AaronMonier18
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Muldoon is a free course located in a city park/athletic field complex in southern New Hampshire. It's about what you'd expect from a free course owned by a small community. I feel that it's in better shape than other free courses in the state (Pinnacle comes to mind). This is a fairly technical course that tests your mid range and fairway game. For me, there is also opportunities to throw distance drivers, though not everybody may feel that way. The signage is basic but it's informative and helpful. They make very good use of a small patch of land. The baskets are in good shape and the course requires a mix of shots and has varying lengths. It takes a few rounds to find what shots work as some holes have multiple lines and various obstacles to contend with. I enjoy playing this course and it's usually a relaxing and quiet day on the trails. The practice basket and ability to use the fields adds to the courses appeal.
Cons: The most glaring setback to Muldoon is that the teepads are in rough shape. When the frost thaws from a cold morning they can be downright sloppy and I have fallen on the second tee. Some will complain about the short "awkward" lengths of a few holes but I enjoy the challenge and think of it as an approach shot from the tee. Birdies require well placed shots and can be made on almost any hole. Unfortunately, some people feel the need to leave their trash and it reflects very poorly on the disc golf community. Because the lot of land is small some fairways are very close and caution needs to exercised in a few areas of the course.
Other Thoughts: For a state scarcely populated with disc golf courses Muldoon is a welcome haven for disc golfers in the greater Manchester area. I would LOVE to see somebody put a course near Manchester and believe it would do well since it's a most populated city in the state.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Woody

5+    7/4/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: PumaPaws
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good Challenge for most players. Easy Parking. Lots of trees/shade on sunny days. Overall a fun course.
Cons: Lots of woods, bring insect repellent. Some of the tee boxes are a bit bumpy but still usable.
Other Thoughts: Signage is not completely accurate but the course is still evolving. Much better than a few years ago where the front 9 was easy and the back 9 was tough. Hole 1 is no longer the hole behind the baseball field. The basket is still there as a practice basket only. The first hole is now by the playground by the nature trails.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

New Layout - June 24 2012

5+    9/2/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: KCole
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New Layout on holes 15 - 16. Holes no longer cross (hazard). New layout adds some extremely difficult (and much needed) length to the course. The new 15 would reasonably be a par 4, over 500 ft with some extremely varied terrain. Tight technical course overall.
Cons: No benches, no trashcans, only 1 set of tee boxes. Tee boxes could use some work. They are mostly hard pack earth, which tends to develop uneven holes over time. Course can be frustrating for beginners. While many of the holes are easily pared/birdied with experience, the tight wooded fairways do not lend themselves well to new players learning. Off the fairway is often very wooded, making recovery near impossible. This should thin out as the course gets more use.
Other Thoughts: This course has generated a strong core of players recently. Tags is now being played twice weekly. The new course redesign and improvements are very good and I expect the improvements to continue.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Muldoon Park

1    3/25/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: Lemony
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Neutral hole design (LHBH, RHBH, and sidearm shots required)
Interesting holes (9 and 10)
Maximizing use of minimal space.
Relatively easy to find from 93.
New course layout increases distances and is much more interesting.
Seemingly built for lefty thumbers.
Cons: Tight, overly technical fairways, if your line is errant, expect difficult recovery shots.
Most shots are flex shots, either make your disc helix or miss the line.
Many holes are on top of one another, e.g. 14,15,16. However it was not crowded so it is tough to say if this is a problem.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is a solid place to play, it's not on my top 10 but it is absolutely worth stopping by. Muldoon park will reward technical shots, and only technical shots, leave your high speed drivers in the car. If you want to avoid this predicament on many holes throw overhand, it will bring you over the trees and to the basket.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wow, what an improvement!

1    3/22/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: frizgolfkiller
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee signs and fairway markers helping locate the baskets. Good use of the land. Pretty good flow from hole to hole. Fun technical course.
Cons: Some tee boxes were in rough shape, they really need to be filled in and smoothed out. Criss-crossing fairways on 15 and 16 caused backups. There were a few holes that could use better paths to the next tee, I think 14 was one were you had to walk onto 14s fairway and go down to the tee box, this caused backups.
Other Thoughts: Reminds me of Devens, but with tighter fairways. Bring bug spray! I was getting eaten alive by mosquitoes and it is only March. Better tee boxes would definitely push this up to a 3 for me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 New Pelham Rules

5+    2/11/2012   2/18/2012
Review By: NH Disc Dude
Played: 40  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was revamped this past year. Roy D. put alot of effort adding length and difficulty to this course. The tee signs are brand new and well done. This is one of the closest to me and i play weekly in the summer. If you havevt played Muldoon recently than you havent played Muldoon at all.
Cons: Tee boxes are ruff and need work. Trash is scattered (pick some up if you play plz) Other than that its a friendly course with all different shots required to be successful.
Other Thoughts: This place is a tick heaven in the warmer months, use good bug spray and you'll be fine.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and comfy.

5+    2/11/2012   2/16/2012
Review By: chrisq
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Closest course to me that isn't Topsfield.
Hole 10.
Nice signage.
Quick and fun (multiple rounds).
Friendly people (usually).
Country store right down the street.
Cons: Dirt tees are abysmal when it's wet.
Needs more trash barrels/bags.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course, i usually end up here at least once a week. Seems like a pretty regular crowd here as i see more familiar faces than new ones, which is neither a good or bad thing, just an observation.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.