Pelham, NH
Muldoon Park Share
Uploaded By: philvil Hole #6 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 465ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

5+    9/25/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: Iamthemo11580
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: A nice mix of different types of holes so you can practice shooting in lots of situations. The course is easy to follow and loops back nicely to where you started. Muldoon Park is in a clean quiet community and there are fields where you can practice driving and there is an extra target where you can practice putting. They have put a lot of work into this course recently and if you haven't played there in the last month, you should give it another chance.
Cons: The fairways of 15 and 16 criss-cross one another and the fairways of 7 and 8 don't have much buffer between them. There is also a lot of dense undergrowth on this course so either pack a machete or play conservatively.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course - it's about 4 miles from my front door - so I have a real soft spot for it. I would like to see better tee pads, trash bags/cans at every hole, superficial stuff like that.

 Successful Redesign

5+    9/16/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 68  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What this course lacks in distance (very few holes over 300') it more than makes up for with creative hole design. There are very few holes that give players a straight look at the basket. Instead, curving fairways and well placed trees force you to consider every shot carefully.

Most holes offer multiple equally fair routes. So there is very little bias to one style over another.

Although the park can be quite crowded on weekends and evenings in the summer, the disc golf course stays relatively quiet. The course is built along walking trails, so there is some non-disc golf use of the space. But most walkers are aware of the course and make an effort to stay out of the way of players.

When the athletic fields are not in use, they are a great space for field practice.

Some nice signage was recently added. Distance, par, and a nice hole diagram at each tee.
Cons: The natural tee pads need some work. The ones made by 4x4s arranged in a square need to either be filled in or dug into the ground. Many tees are filled with roots making run-ups difficult.

Navigation can be a little tricky. There are some basic signs marking each tee number nailed to trees. If you keep your eye on those, you should be able to find your way around just fine.

There is a lot of trash. It's clear the park maintainers don't make much effort to venture into the trails for cleanup. A few trash cans could really help alleviate that problem.

There is a bit of overlap. The basket in view from the second tee is actually the third basket. If a group ahead is putting, you're throwing right at them. If you wait for them to clear, then they're throwing back at you since the fourth basket is right next to the second tee. And hole 15 just doesn't fit. The basket for 14 is just as close to 16's tee as it is to 15. The problem is that 16 then plays right back over the tee for 15. The good news is that this course is not very crowded, so this will rarely be an issue. But if activity picks up, it could become a big problem.

There needs to be quite a bit of work done to clear out underbrush. It is very thick with very little way out. If you get off the fairway even by a foot or two, it is tough to save par. Even good shots can be punished by sitting behind a tree clump close to the pin.
Other Thoughts: There has been significant work done to this course in the summer of 2011 (keep this in mind when reading other reviews). This course has definitely found an identity as a line shaping test. The more weapons (shot types) you have in your arsenal, the more success you will have here.

Bring bug spray. There are a couple ponds that attract mosquitoes and they can be bad if you're not protected.

Hole 1 is no longer the hole behind the baseball field. The basket is still there as a practice basket only. The first hole is now by the playground in the nature trails.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course through the woods

2-4    7/4/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: bankspeople
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course starts behind a baseball field and winds through the woods ending up back at hold #2. The course is very easy to navigate. Good for beginners but also some fun challenges for intermediate players. The front nine are very short and back nine stretch out a bit more. A smidge of water on the last two holes. Tee #16 was a littel confusing. The tee box faces right but the basket is straight ahead. All of the baskets are numbered and good signage to show you which direction the basket is in. There is also a map at the beginning of the course but we didn't need to rely on it for navigation as the course was well marked.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Easy Flow

1    6/25/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 324  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Course was a cinch to navigate, with a very natural flow, and plenty of "next tee" signs in the trees. If you couldn't see the basket from the tee, there would usually be a sign on a down-fairway tree, pointing you towards the direction to the basket.
Cons:
Natural tees were a bit muddy and tree-rooted. No tee signs. On the flat side. Mosquitoes were quite persistent!
Other Thoughts:
After the open first hole, woods on left, baseball field outfield fence on the right, the remainder of the course will play throughout the woods, with most fairways being quite generous in size. A mixture of left/right/straight shots will be required from the tee, with a few of the turns needing to be quite sharp, and quite near the basket. The course plays very short at first, averaging about 160' per hole on the front nine, but lengthens quite a on the back nine, with an average distance just under 300'.

Favourite hole(s): 12-14 is a nice combination, all in the ~275' range, requiring a sweeping right, an elongated-S, and a mid-fairway middling-left to reach the baskets.

Least favourite holes: #15. A U-shaped under 200' right-turner, you just throw to the base of the U, then approach, then putt - hard to imagine anything else to try.

Navigation: The pond on the left as you enter the parking lot is NOT the pond shown on the map, so don't use it to help you find the start of the course. Tee-1 is down the leftfield line of the last baseball field on the left, with the basket behind centerfield. When you exit number-18, you'll come out behind the rightfield fence.

Decent course, worth a play, hopefully when it is dry and the bugs aren't out!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good Disc Golf Course in Southern NH

2-4    6/2/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: sm7476
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.6 Years
Pros: Finally a fairly decent disc golf course located in southern new hampshire.

The course is really starting to take shape and has come a long, long ways from a few years ago when I played it last. A lot of signage has been put up and the tee boxes and holes have been moved around so that most holes are a good length and provide an adequate challenge. A group of us went out and played a couple of rounds the other day and we had a very good time.
Cons: Some of the fairways are a little tight in places and the first couple of holes are a little short.
Other Thoughts: All in all Muldoon Park is a great place to get some disc golfing in when in southern NH and a number of us that live in this area are very excited to have a "true" disc golf course in our backyard

 A fun little work in progress

1    5/11/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: Anselm
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Don't let the 2.5 rating deceive you; Muldoon is a quality course, and really fun to play. It is located in a nice community park, and winds its way through your typical New England woods (I'm sure this place is gorgeous in fall). The layout is solid, making a nice loop with the 18th hole positioned close to the 2nd tee. While only hole 1 is truly out in the open, there were many wooded holes that weren't very tight and had just enough trees to keep it interesting, which I find much more fun and interesting than flat-out open holes.

There are a few memorable holes, like 8, which has you driving from an elevated tee to a low basket and demands a careful (but short) line through the trees. 18 is also very nice; it is one of the longest on the course, and though the fairway is mostly open, the handful of trees are placed just so that you must make a thoughtful, controlled drive to have a look at the pin on your second shot.

Despite the occasional lack of signage, navigation was pretty easy.

The locals were very friendly.
Cons: As the title, says, Muldoon is a work in progress; my buddies and I actually ran into a guy with a chainsaw who was cleaning up the rough while we played. Most fairways (~16/18) are very well defined, but others could definitely use some work. Also, the tee boxes are just squares of 4X4's with natural terrain under them - more an obstacle than any kind of help. However, the guy working on the course said that he was in the process of removing the back 4X4, which would allow for a decent run-up on most tees.

Not that you really need a run-up: most holes are under 300 feet. The designers made up for this with tight fairways, or fairways that demand articulated lines, or an accurate layup to a landing zone to set up an approach for par. While this made for some interesting holes, they were so short that the risk-vs-reward factor just wasn't there; even my worst drives resulted in bogies, and the pin was usually within reach with my second shot, regardless of where I landed. Furthermore, many of the holes follow the same formula; tight, short-medium length drive through the trees, with a little left-hand fade. While some holes favored lefties, this is definitely a RHBH course, and only once did I have to us my forehand (I'm RHBH). This course certainly tests accuracy, doesn't challenge you to throw a diversity of shots.

Another annoying thing; hole signs omitted tee-to-basket distances - I had no idea how far I was throwing!
Other Thoughts: Despite this long list of cons, they are being addressed; even as we played, we saw the designer (I assume) massaging fairways and adjusting tee locations. This is a course in flux, and with another year or two of work, it will be a real gem, deserving of at least a 3-disc rating. If you're stuck in Manchester and itching to play some disc (like me), Muldoon park is well worth the half hour drive. It is definitely a feel-good course; I shot +1, while on most courses I'd be thrilled with +5 or even +9. So go on down to Muldoon; I promise, it's a blast.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  New Layout

5+    4/23/2011   4/25/2011
Review By: LaR75
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good NEW layout. Much longer and more playable 1-18 now. A legit course now and very fun to play. Can really let it rip on most holes, but accuracy is a must...very tight!
Cons: Tee boxes still a little rough, but I'm sure help is on the way. Very "righty" friendly.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is on the verge of being one of the better courses around. The town has done great things with the layout...cleaning up brush, cutting down a few trees, moving tee boxes, etc. Hopefully rubber mats are in the works, but all in all great course!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 New Course Layout

5+    4/16/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: DiscGolfingGuy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This Course has recently been overhauled...the front nine has been stretched out and all the holes are legit par 3s...plenty of holes to stretch your arm out if you have the accuracy....if you liked the original course , youll love the new layout....

Cons: tee boxes could be in better shape
no trash cans
Other Thoughts: Very fun course to play!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.