Disc Golf Store
Henrietta, NY 
Monroe Community College DGC Share
Uploaded By: jkanick38 Hole #15 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 298ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    6/25/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 33  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 0.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 2 sets of baskets. Black baskets are not listed on map or DGCR currently, but add ~50+ feet to each hole and often make the approach much more difficult.
- Nice, long concrete tees (a bit narrow though).
- Great use of water on multiple holes. Close enough to be on your mind and ready to eat an offline shot, but still fair with an option to play it safe (except #9).
- 1 nice water carry (hole 9) is a ~240' carry and slightly downhill.
- Course was very clean, the open fairways well mowed.
- Good variety of lines required.
- Good variety of open vs wooded, technical holes
- Good food @ the Bill Gray's at the iceplex.
Cons: - Mosquitoes. Wow. I normally don't comment on the skeeters because they are an occupational hazard of DG. I am commenting here because they were just plain ridiculous even with a very heavy coating of deep woods off - it didn't phase them. It was bad enough that it actually detracted from my round as I HAD to keep moving to not be eaten alive.
- The water carry on 9. I do love the hole, but if you don't have the distance to carry its a long ways around (not much they could do here with the shape of the pond). I ended up having my son start 1/2 way around the pond and throw the rest of the way from there to avoid frustration.
- No tee signs. Navigation was simple enough with a decent amount of next tee arrows on trees but I'd definitely grab a map as there are a few that are still tricky.
- The flow was funky in a few spots and w/o that map I'd have been a bit confused on some (like the 17-18 walk).
- Some of the wooded areas could use a good visit from a weed whacker and/or bush hog. Reading some other reviews I thought it would be much worse, and it is evident that some good strides have been made. But with that said, there were a few spots that had me wishing for some more. #4 was annoying as I put 2 drives within the circle (one ~10' from the pin) and still spent 5 mins finding my disc. There was another on the back 9 (I want to say 14) that was a L>R dogleg. The dogleg is enough that you can't see the latter 2/3s of your disc's flight. The issue is that although the fairway is ample - it needs bush hogged. It was knee high weeds / underbrush / grass. There were other holes like this, but this was particularly bad because you can't watch the disc go in. I again spent time looking for a disc that was dead center fairway.
- 390 is loud
Other Thoughts: Overall this isn't a bad course, but it is overshadowed (to me) by other Rochester courses that do something (if not many things) better. The only positive that stands out here vs. other Rochester courses is the many water shots which were well executed. With that said, I will be back again later this summer and I hope the bugs die down.

A note on other reviews: I see a lot of mention of this being very wet. I played in late June after it rained last night and most of this morning. It wasn't wet at all on the fairways and only really saw swampy areas off the fairways on the wooded holes which seemed to breed the army of skeeters. I can see where in the early spring it could get ugly though in a few spots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Deserves a better rating

2-4    11/16/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: Schmankster
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I played this course last on 11-16-2013. They were in the process of adding "black baskets" (for the more advanced players) on a majority of the holes. I'm not sure if the course map has been updated. This review is based on playing the original course.
-Excellent use of the terrain/ponds
-Practice basket
-Minimal litter
-Plenty of parking behind the ice rink which has a Bill Grays and a bar inside!
Cons: -No benches.
-The constant traffic noise from 390. It's to be expected, but annoying. Let's move 390!
-Some of the holes on the back 9 need a little loving from a weed whacker/brush hog.
-Needs better next hole signs and/or hole description signs. BRING A MAP!! Some of the walks between holes are long and confusing.
-It can get swampy on the back 9. Bring boots/bug spray!
Other Thoughts: -I have played this course a few times and can't understand why it only gets a 2.6 rating. I believe it to be a great course for all skill levels. I always have a good time there, give it a try!
-Make sure you bring a water disc so you can fully enjoy the course. Discs under 140g will float. Don't be afraid of the water! I have launched my wahoo into the water a few times on 9. Then I finally made it across - what a great feeling!

-Here's how I see it:
-#1 Nice starter hole. Open to the left (yay!) and water on the right. The basket is pretty much right in front of you past the rocks.
-#2 Now it gets interesting. The basket is up on top of the slope in the trees a bit to the left. Water on the right.
-#3 Wooded launch chute with a nice open finisher. Be careful of the water by the basket on the right. It's closer than it looks! (R.I.P. my blue Championship Leopard)
-#4 Another wooded launch to a clearing. The basket is up on a small hill.
-#5 Straight on. Trees on the right, a small creek/drainage ditch with lots of reeds on the the left. The water is deep enough to hide a disc perfectly.
-#6 Elevated tee pad that throws over the previously mentioned drainage ditch with the disc eating reeds.Finishes up on the right just inside the treeline
-#7 Pretty much straight on. Tight, wooded fairway.
-#8 Another tight, wooded hole. Curves perfectly from left to right
-#9 The hole everybody came to play! Don't be afraid...you got this!
-#10 Tricky, sloping hole. Pond on the right. The basket is on the right of the pinbe trees in fron of you. Watch out for the water!
-#11 Straight on. A few trees guard your approach. Right beside 390
-#12 Wide open and straight in front of you. Go big!
-#13 A nice little hike (through the awesome looking ropes course!) takes you to 13. Wooded, tight fairway. Curves perfectly for lefties!
-#14 It starts to get a little "scrubby" now. Curves right.
-#15 Scrub. Watch your disc carefully. I saw some poison ivy there too.
-#16 Right to left. TIGHT, wooded.
-#17 One of my favorites. Kinda tight fairway. Nice straight shot
-#18 The walk to this can get confusing. Correct me if I'm wrong, but the only way is to walk beside #3 and 4. Kinda dangerous if you aren't paying attention. Another tight, wooded , curving hole.



1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    10/21/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course at MCC is set away from the busy campus area. There are wooded and open holes. Water comes into play on several holes including a pond and a large ditch containing cattails. I visited in October so I didn't see the overgrowth or muddiness that others have mentioned. The course was clean and well maintained during my round.

Other Pros:
- concrete tees but a bit small
- variety of distances, turns, terrain
- water adds risk/reward
- scenic area away from campus
- ample parking at the Iceplex with eats & drinks
Cons: I needed to use the map because there is some backtracking and bridges to cross which can be confusing. Just bring the map and save yourself the aggravation. Beginners probably won't have a good time here.

Other Cons:
- highway traffic noise
- no tee signs
- not the best flow at some points
Other Thoughts: I read the other reviews but I did not experience the overgrowth or swampiness. My rating is based off of my time there but I'm sure those other reviews are accurate for a different season. If you're not from the Rochester area then you may want stop by Bill Gray's Restaurant/Bar in the Iceplex, they really do make great food.

I enjoyed the course and found the pros to outweigh the cons. Rochester has many good courses just make sure to play this one at the right time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Much improved

2-4    11/5/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: renoob
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees are in, which makes navigation a LOT easier.

Very nice mix of open/wooded/water holes.

It's not on the west side of Rochester. Nothing against the west side...but the east side really only has one course (Ellison).
Cons: No tee signs. The concrete tees are in, but some of them are pretty funny looking. I realize they were installed by volunteers, but did no one volunteer to bring a level?

The environment is not perfect--it's buggy in the summer, and the expressway noise sucks. Can be swampy.

Not beginner friendly.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time over the summer and did not have a good time. The bugs were terrible, and ultimately got so bad that we abandoned the round, but the real problem was that the layout was very confusing. This could still use some improvement (there aren't any tee signs, only numbers tacked to a tree near the tee, and some of these numbers are wrong anyway), but with the concrete tees in it's fairly obvious where to go next.

A lot of people kill this course because it's easy to lose a disc. I don't really have a problem with that. You never have to go over the water (well other than the creek/drainage ditch)--even on hole 9 you can go around the pond and still have a shot at a three.

I had a lot of fun this time. The length, difficulty and variety remind me of Parma a little bit in that when you're done you feel like you've been on an odyssey. Great job bringing this thing back from the dead.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

getting there

2-4    7/21/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - description: recently redesigned course that has water in play on many holes. hole 1 starts by the esl building, with parking around back.
- tees and signs: concrete tees are now in!
- hole designs: great variety. holes next to water, over water left to right and right to left, straight over water, baskets near water. water water and more water. for me, the water doesn't get old, but keeps the pressure on. some reviews have said that the new holes on the back 9 aren't that great, but they're now cleaned up and i think they're far better than the old holes. likewise, the front 9 holes are much improved. for many holes on the front 9, either the baskets are in new locations, holes are lengthened, or tees are moved.
- favorite holes: hole 1 gives you two fairways divided by a column of trees and rocks leading to the basket with a safe path to the left and a go-for-it fairway over water to the right. hole 8 is 257 feet long and has you tee off from under a tree all the way over the pond to the basket on the side of the hill.
- flow: white arrows at nearly every hole.
- difficulty: hard. difficulty comes primarily from risk of disc loss/o.b.
- uniqueness: nothing else like it in rochester, adding to the resume of our local courses.
Cons: - signs: currently no signs
- brush on back 9 off the fairway: i would advise having a spotter on many of these holes. not likely you'll lose a disc, but you'll lose time
- disc loss to water: discs that float are awesome. play conservatively. one friend brought a golf ball retriever which could extend and was useful (better than trying to find a long stick).
Other Thoughts: - again, spotters make rounds go great
- not beginner friendly
- mcc has always been wet in the spring time. Should be playable by June most years.
- new back 9 were extremely overgrown at one point, but grass/plants have now been cut/trimmed
- give mcc a chance! it's getting there

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Main Water Course in Rochester

2-4    8/31/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - New parking area (less problems with campus tickets)
- Bill Grays at the beginning and end of the course
- There are good directional signage to make navigation pretty easy
- Several water holes that add extra challenge and as long as they are played carefully disc loss can be prevented
- Holes 1,2,3,6,9,10,11,12, and 17 are nicely designed (9 of 18)
- There is plenty of chances for reward if you are willing to put in the risk
- There is a good variety of shots. There is a mix of anhyzer and hyzer shots as well as some holes that utilize elevation.
- The flow of the course is pretty good. Each tee follows logically from the last basket. When the next tee is not visible from the basket, there are directional arrows to get you there
- There are cement tee pads which not only provide a solid are for driving but also clarify where the tees are
Cons: - There are no actual tee signs that tell you what hole you are on and where the basket is. (I think there might be a plan to signs up in the near future)
- The course could use a more solid bridge for access to hole 1 from the parking lot
- As I mentioned in the pros there are 9 really nice holes. That means there are another 9 not so nice holes. Of the 9 I would say there are 7 ok holes and like 2 ick holes (in my opinion)
- Many of the holes on the back 9 can become overgrown awfully quickly. The Rochester disc golf site does a good job of keeping the holes cut down, but at times it can be pretty scruffy
- The course is not set up so that there is an easy way to just play the front nine or back 9. If you are going to play the course, you just have to play the whole thing.
- course is unplayable from March to July because it is extremely wet
Other Thoughts: There are many holes where water can be a problem especially for beginners so keep that in mind when playing. I am actually beginning to have fun at the course with all the improvements that the Rochester disc golf club has done. Also because of the land the course is almost unplayable wet from March until July. It is probably playable in the winter as long as the snow is not melting. Koodos to all the people putting the extra work into the course. I will revisit this review again when the tee pads are in.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.