Pinehurst, NC 
Village of Pinehurst DGC Share
Uploaded By: chainmonkey Hole #1
3 / 255ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Rewarding challenge

1    8/17/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: ElevatedBill
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging but rewarding course
Pro/Am boxes
Isolated
Signs point to next hole
Cons: Tough undergrowth
Very very wooded
Lost a good disc (bad throw)
Needs more action to keep vegetation down
Other Thoughts: Hole one is found to the right of holes 9 and 10. One of my favorite courses that I've played. Will definitely return.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wild chicken bone yard plants

1    1/24/2013   1/24/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 138  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Yea the layout is totally bodacious. If I was ranking this course on layout alone it would be a 4 easy style.

Great lines that make you work the disc, the baskets all seemed in just the right place and distance. Multiple routes/options on holes.

Great mixture of hole types and distances. 2 pads; whites look to be good and fun for all players. I played the blues which are challenging but fair and still a ton of fun.

There's a good disc golf terrain out here with some nice elevation changes and fast greens. Really tricky pin locations on some holes that make you be accurate on approach.

Some solid par 4's out there where you have to hit a good placement shot off the tee to have a good look.

Course flows really well, basket to next tee is usually very close.

Atmosphere - Really good spot for disc golf, nice little area with some good looking holes. You get a nice remote feeling when you're out there and it wasn't even close to busy. Nothing else in the park except for disc golf so it's great.

Equipment - New large/level concrete pads for both tees. New baskets. New Tee signs which are great looking and informative.
Cons: Layout - There's a few short holes that kinda boring and don't offer that much of a challenge.

My main gripe with the course is it stays pretty technical the entire way through, a few holes mixed in to really let rip one would break that up.

The water in the pond is still absent, I hope they actually plan to put water in there although some may like the fact you don't lose a disc when you go in.

Equipment - Some of the pads can get very sandy, might be nice for the locals to stick some brooms out there to keep it safe.

Atmosphere - Again a lot of the stuff that got cut is laying around right off the fairway, looks a bit ugly. Still a raw area and needs some traffic to beat it in. There's a pond on the course that is utilized but no water is in it. When they fix it it will look bad arse.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in this area, when some of the cons I mentioned are fixed this course will be even better and I might bump it up.

I'll say again the layout is top notch, Stan did a good job with this one and kudos to everyone who helped get this in the ground.

UPDATE: The limbing and stick piles I complained about in my initial review have been taken care of, the course looks much better now.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 New Home Course

5+    6/28/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: Manofcords
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So well laid out! I love it! The 9th brings you back to the "parking area" and you don't get the same play on any whole. The wood are nice, the terrain is great and it is the hardest course I can get to in under a hour. if you have a favorite throw you will get to use if here. I love s curving flicks and I get to use them at least twice with heart breakingly good effect. Its always nice to have one or two holes made just for you and it seems like this course has a couple for everyone.
Cons: TICKS,TICKS,TICKS!! This course just became a 18 holer about two weeks ago and doesnt get a lot of play because of its location and the locals dont like seeing how bad they really are when they leave Pine Cone Crush. The fairways are rough with lots of stumps sending up shoots and dead fall from all the trees that are still standing.
The course is owned by the Village of Pinehurst and is located on what will one day be a sports complex but that is many years off I am sure and therefore it doesnt get any love from town workers. The ticks are bad. 40% Deet doesnt touch them. The Best thing I have have come up with is two table spoons veggie oil, one table spoon aloe, and 28 drops of lavender oil all mixed together. Ticks hate lavender and the aloe makes it hard for them to move and the oil keeps it all on you. To be honest my buddies wife found that for us. Also POISON IVY/OAK big time. If you dont know what this stuff looks like make sure you check it out online or play with someone who knows because it is everywhere. On 13 you have to hop through a field of the crap.
Other Thoughts: The course needs love, big time, but you can just see what a great place it will be in the end. It needs bushhog and some herbicides to get ride of the undergrowth on the fairways and the poison ivy/oak respectively but I cant stay away because I know the first I shoot under par will be like the first time I... uh, well, nevermind

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

wishing for 18

2-4    12/1/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: chainmonkey
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros: Great layout, unlike a lot of courses I have played it does not discriminate. This is a beautiful place for a course good use of topography. If you throw, back hand, sidearm, left or right handed it seems fair to all players. Concrete tees. It has a good verity of length, the longer holes require really accurate throws if you want a par The short tees are fair for the newer ankd or shorter distance throwers
The arrows that were put up are very helpful. The new back 9 offer some real challenges with #12 being a long down hill hole and 13 up hill all the way it may be the toughest hole there. Good news a 3rd layer of chains have been added to the baskets
Cons: Cons: Concrete tees are too smooth it dry weather and sand on the tees it is like you are on ball barings Still not the easiest of courses to find but the new entrance is very helpful, being as it is a new course the rough is thick, it needs a lot of play to break it Holes #12 & #13 have a goodly amount of poison Ivy in the fairways. The areas behind or to the side of the baskets on 12, 13, and 15 need more clearing and some of the small trees (saplings) around the 18th basket could be removed. The baskets are DGA's cheapest mach line basket the mach II have had several through putts. There is a goodly amount of brush limbs etc along some fairways. Numerous holes have low limbs that hinder flight of the disc, A few benches sure would be nice. The parking lot is a fair walk from the first tee. sure would be nice to have a practice basket so you do not have to interfere with anybody on 9 or 18

Other Thoughts: the course now has 18 holes but more work is needed on fairways, and other amenities



5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.