Pinehurst, NC 
Village of Pinehurst DGC Share
Uploaded By: chainmonkey Hole #9 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 316ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 New Home Course

5+    6/28/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: Manofcords
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So well laid out! I love it! The 9th brings you back to the "parking area" and you don't get the same play on any whole. The wood are nice, the terrain is great and it is the hardest course I can get to in under a hour. if you have a favorite throw you will get to use if here. I love s curving flicks and I get to use them at least twice with heart breakingly good effect. Its always nice to have one or two holes made just for you and it seems like this course has a couple for everyone.
Cons: TICKS,TICKS,TICKS!! This course just became a 18 holer about two weeks ago and doesnt get a lot of play because of its location and the locals dont like seeing how bad they really are when they leave Pine Cone Crush. The fairways are rough with lots of stumps sending up shoots and dead fall from all the trees that are still standing.
The course is owned by the Village of Pinehurst and is located on what will one day be a sports complex but that is many years off I am sure and therefore it doesnt get any love from town workers. The ticks are bad. 40% Deet doesnt touch them. The Best thing I have have come up with is two table spoons veggie oil, one table spoon aloe, and 28 drops of lavender oil all mixed together. Ticks hate lavender and the aloe makes it hard for them to move and the oil keeps it all on you. To be honest my buddies wife found that for us. Also POISON IVY/OAK big time. If you dont know what this stuff looks like make sure you check it out online or play with someone who knows because it is everywhere. On 13 you have to hop through a field of the crap.
Other Thoughts: The course needs love, big time, but you can just see what a great place it will be in the end. It needs bushhog and some herbicides to get ride of the undergrowth on the fairways and the poison ivy/oak respectively but I cant stay away because I know the first I shoot under par will be like the first time I... uh, well, nevermind

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Pleasure to Tame

1    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 111  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: UPDATE: I was prophetic when I rated this 9er a 4. As an 18, it is definitely that, no worse than a 3.5 at least. Excellent variety of hole shapes, extremely well placed and poured concrete tees, good use of elevation, and the back 9 is some great golf. This course offers a little for everyone except maybe a challenge for elite players but they can't have fun here then they might be Russian or something. The course still flows very well.

These are nice woods. Not Appalachian Trail pretty but still, pretty nice stroll.
Cons: Well, it's new so there is still some rough rough and nature is trying to reclaim the fairways in spots. Patches of briers exist here and there and a freaking horsefly accompanied my head practically the entire round. A couple of holes were a little tricky trying to discern which way the fairway went but not too bad.

^A lot of this should be greatly alleviated with traffic which, with the quality of this course is all but assured to come.

This park is super new, there is nothing else here but 9 quality holes and a port-a-john. Don't bring family members. For some reason, the parking lot is cordoned away from hole 1 and hole 10 is actually the first hole you'd naturally walk too. No biggie.

Other Thoughts: The guys working on this course did a bang up job. As far as design goes, they receive very high marks. There's not much that can be improved upon outside some additional multi-shot placement holes (obvious par 4's and 5's) to make it more of a gold level/championship caliber course, not that it really needs it. With some underbrush smoothed out and amenities like benches and other finishing touches like that, this course could easily be rated higher without much ballyhoo.

I wish there was a course or two as good as this one in the immediate area, it would make it a nice little weekender to drive too on the regular.

Fave holes: Hole 15 you just want to empty your bag on, super fun downhill ace run. Hole 10 is a very nice hole too.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Wild Pine, wild time!

1    1/7/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: SquaReSaltine
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a great mix of shots, for all (most) skill levels. Some very well thought placement shots and a great use of the topography For NC, it's fairly open (in the fairway!) I really like that it will have long (pro) pads also. Very easy to navigate and the front 9 brings you back to the parking area.
Cons: I didn't find very many cons. Off the fairways can be rough, but the trees are short and most rough can be powered out or over.
Other Thoughts: I have played NC for over 15 yrs and seen my share of courses. The 9 here were easily some of my fave golf. I have played Rennissance, Hornets Nest, and Sugaw in Charlotte and you can feel Stan's presence on every hole. The back pads are a beast! Some nice placements, around blind bends, up and down hills. It really has "every"shot out there. Plus its 15 minutes from me! Watch for this one over the years!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

wishing for 18

2-4    12/1/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: chainmonkey
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros: Great layout, unlike a lot of courses I have played it does not discriminate. This is a beautiful place for a course good use of topography. If you throw, back hand, sidearm, left or right handed it seems fair to all players. Concrete tees. It has a good verity of length, the longer holes require really accurate throws if you want a par The short tees are fair for the newer ankd or shorter distance throwers
The arrows that were put up are very helpful. The new back 9 offer some real challenges with #12 being a long down hill hole and 13 up hill all the way it may be the toughest hole there. Good news a 3rd layer of chains have been added to the baskets
Cons: Cons: Concrete tees are too smooth it dry weather and sand on the tees it is like you are on ball barings Still not the easiest of courses to find but the new entrance is very helpful, being as it is a new course the rough is thick, it needs a lot of play to break it Holes #12 & #13 have a goodly amount of poison Ivy in the fairways. The areas behind or to the side of the baskets on 12, 13, and 15 need more clearing and some of the small trees (saplings) around the 18th basket could be removed. The baskets are DGA's cheapest mach line basket the mach II have had several through putts. There is a goodly amount of brush limbs etc along some fairways. Numerous holes have low limbs that hinder flight of the disc, A few benches sure would be nice. The parking lot is a fair walk from the first tee. sure would be nice to have a practice basket so you do not have to interfere with anybody on 9 or 18

Other Thoughts: the course now has 18 holes but more work is needed on fairways, and other amenities



5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Killer x2

2-4    11/14/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: strangewayfarer
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of distances and turns keep you on your toes. Like the use of terrain throughout. Very unforgiving of mistakes, but nicely reward a good throw. For the sheer beauty of a walk in the woods in peace I would say it is worth it.
Cons: Brand new course so a lot if these things are probably in the works. Our group went out to play using vague directions from a friend. No one was playing it when we drove by the first time and as there was no sign we completely missed the course. Some tee boxes were rather hard to locate both the path to the next hole and the tee boxes themselves. Personally like natural tee boxes so just put a little gravel to mark the spot would help greatly. Also several of the holes had piles of brush/limbs etc just off the fairway. These can be a pain to throw from and also
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to this becoming another great Moore County course. Can't wait for it to become an 18. Hope I can help when that time comes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Close Course

1    11/19/2011   11/19/2011
Review By: pkbeast
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome layout, alternating shots for different handed players. Challenging approaches, you have to keep it on the fairway, the brush is so thick you really have no choice but to lay out on some of the holes. Really great course to reign in your control. # 1 is a straight 100ft dip right 50ft, straight for 75-100 feet. # 2 is much like the first hole but a bit harder turn, dont end up over to the right closest to the field, some HEAVY muscadine vines in there. #3 is a straight shot 100-150 then hooks right then up a 15 foot embankment to the hole. #4 is a good righty shot. just straight down and right to left. # 5 goes up and to the right 150feet then little more turn and 70ft to the basket. #6 is an AWESOME split hole, left route is shortest distance but harder bend, right route is longer but easier line. #7 is the cork-screw hole. approach to the left 100-125 feet then again 100-125ft then again 100 feet all to the left and u MAY be at the basket. #8 is a nice blind shot, shoot up over the ridge and let it float back down to the goal with dips downhill and to the right then back tot he left. "water at the end". #9 is a slight dogleg right, fairly easy play
Cons: Only 9 holes atm. Needs better road signs to indicate where it is. Maybe one on Linden road at the turn and one by the course entrance itself. A few holes could have a few different floral arrangements, but overall they did a great job in keeping the trees to a low reserve. Couple of the tees need to be reconfigured maybe to give the pro tees and better line, or vice versa with the AM tees.
Other Thoughts: Its also fairly private and unknown as of now, so you can always get a nice private game in.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Brand New

5+    11/15/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 296  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update:

After returning this course is even closer to becoming the Gem that I predicted.

Beautiful clean fairways that give room for shots to be thrown.

Teepads are large and very adequate

Signage has been put in so it's not as much of a guessing game anymore.

There does not seem to be a single weak hole on the course. They all have a lot of character.

The course is in a proposed park so currently the course is all that is there. Feels like an awesome private course where no other activities are taking place.
Cons: Still needs a little beating in but for the most part it's pretty darn solid.

The lake still doesn't have water but when that's remedied this course will be even more difficult and amazing.

The baskets are the 18 chain DGA's which at first I figured wouldn't be a big deal but after a a putt cut through the chains I was not as thrilled.
Other Thoughts: This course is a Gem in the Southeast that is not that well known. It deserves a higher rating than it currently has. It rivals some of the best courses in NC.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.