Myerstown, PA 
Dunkle's Wetlands Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #3 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cross-Stitch

1    6/15/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two 9-hole loops.

Interesting location, primarily bordered by a housing development
Cons:
A bit repetitive.

Overlapping fairways, to say the least! :-)
Other Thoughts:
While my measurements might be a bit off (my father was the surveyor in the family, not me), take a 350' by 1100' piece of flat, grassy land, Along the near 1100' side, plant a row of trees and bushes, with a few cutouts for tees/baskets. On the far long side, place a berm for most of it, with an overgrown farm field on the other side. Down the middle, length-wise, place another berm, running the near duration. Between the two berms, slightly closer to the far berm, add a smattering of tall but thin hardwoods, and scatter a few more trees along the right third of the course.

Given this landscape, throw from the near-side tee across to the far-side basket, at a bit of an angle, then find the tee on the far side, and throw to the near side basket, hidden in the treeline. Over the berm and missing trees late will be a common theme. From tees 8/17, you now have to return to the opposite corner, so most holes are longer, and play diagonally across the course. Holes 9/18 are a bit different, as you tee from atop the berm, and have to miss trees early.

Pads are mixed - tend towards natural on the far side, constructed on the near side. Good baskets, and scorecard/map available.

Given what the designer had to work with, the course is well done, but the natural resources limited the options.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Community Course

1    4/21/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As everyone has stated, the maintenance is fantastic. The fact that there are 18 holes, with a decent distance from box to basket in such a tiny area is commendable. All of the tees (that were rubber matted) were level, and offered a good run up.
Cons: I will always ding a course for the little things. There were no tee signs with distances during my visit. When shooting over the levies, you didn't know at which basket until you were closer. Also, an arrow on each basket pointing towards the next box is helpful for first-timers. I can see safety as a concern as well because of shared baskets, and the nature of the zig-zag layout. And I must agree, the zig zag gets boring. In the back nine you feel as though you've been playing the same 4 or 5 holes over and over.
Other Thoughts: I commend ALWAYS installation of courses. If I had this in my back yard growing up, I would have challenged neighbors, friends, parents...everyone. But because I traveled here, my biggest gripe was the mundane, repetitive zig-zag. kudos for the community course!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Donnie F

1    2/18/2012   2/19/2012
Review By: Donnie F
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well groomed common area in a home community. Good practice course to work on your wind game as the wind swirls through the tunnel created by the two levy's.
Cons: Tee pads need some work as some of them drop off the front on your follow through. Baskets are just ok. You spend to much time playing back and forth in a zig zag pattern seeing to much of where you just came from.
Other Thoughts: I can say that I can add this one to my list of courses I have play but will find no reason to travel over 2 hours to play it again.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice backyard practice

1    2/18/2012   2/18/2012
Review By: Obiwankaneobi
Played: 144  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Made the most possable of a tiny area. Well maintained.
Cons: Some holes have only natural tees. Other holes have huge drop offs at end of tees. I'm not even kidding hole two must have had an 18" drop, I followed through and will not soon forget it. You could seriously injure yourself if not carefull. Several holes crisscross and even share the same basket. There is a huge burm that bisects the property causing you to climb up and down it on almost every hole. Baskets are just ok.
Other Thoughts: A heck of a lot better than just having a practice basket in the backyard but not up to par with other courses. All holes are reachable. No reason to ever score higher than a 3 on any hole here unless you find yourself in the worlds smallest stream which comes into play on most holes. If my back door opened up to this course I would play there but it doesn't so I won't be back.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

fun, challenging, repetitive

2-4    6/13/2014   1/8/2012
Review By: big cat
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2014
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Allows usage for all discs.

Holes vary in distance.

Bridges for over water.

Great tee pads.

Great practice course.
Cons: Lack of signs can make navigating the course a bit confusing.

Much of the course is back and forth across open grass which can be a bit repetitive.
Other Thoughts: The course is very well maintained. Trees near tee pads and baskets create some challenge in an otherwise simple course. A good course to get practice in throwing your discs.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wetlands review

5+    11/16/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: ryandunk
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2012
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Well groomed
-Challenging
-Friendly
-Good mix of hole lengths
-First disc golf course in Lebanon County
Cons: -Not a lot of land for 18 holes but considering that it is very well laid out to fit 18 holes
-During rainy season is very wet
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 out of 5 is taking into consideration the amount of upkeep done to always have a good playing condition. Everytime I play this course it is well groomed, lots of time is spent in maintaining the course.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.