Etowah, NC 
Tom Mantsch Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18   (Taken 6/2012)
Park Sign



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Repetitive but fun.

1    3/29/2014   3/30/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 48  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: Can play through it quickly. Fun to ace run. Baskets are decent.
Cons: Not much as far as variety here. A touch of elevation on 1-3...that's about it. Tee pads are gravel pits and aren't exactly confidence inspiring.
Other Thoughts: Mostly short, straight, open shots. Might be fun to run through if you're in the area, at least to see if you can hit some metal.

Quick Play, Wide Open

2-4    1/20/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 80  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is set up in a valley with mountains as your back drop.
-Baskets are in great shape
-Excellent use of available land.
-Fairly low probability of losing a disc (See cons for more info).
-Grass cut low
-Easy to navigate once you find hole 1 (Hole 1's tee pad is off to the side of the very last parking lot (opposite side of the parking lot from the tennis courts).
Cons: -The course was very muddy in several areas (Holes 4,5,7,8, & 9).
-You have to stop frequently for walkers as the walking path acts as part of the fairway on most holes.
-To the right of hole 2's basket there is a fence with a trailer park on the other side. If you happen to throw over there, it's VERY easy to lose a disc. I spent 15 minutes looking for my own (while also fearing for my life) and found 2 discs (neither of which were mine).
-Course is WIDE OPEN. I can count on two hands the number of trees that come into play on a 9 hole course.
-Does not play in a circle. There is a decently long walk from hole 9 back to hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course serves as a quick play off Highway 64. It is no destination course, but is worth it if you are looking to pass 20 minutes or so and are in the area.

For what it's worth, a guy stopped me while I was playing and said that either he or his wife walk the path everyday and said that this was the first time either of them had seen anyone playing the "frisbee golf" course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great for what it is

5+    11/3/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: MtnMan1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.2 Years
Pros: -clean, friendly park
-excellent course for introducing new players to the sport
-good use of available elevation and features
-short
Cons: -contained within a small park
-no wooded holes
-short
-tee pad design is not my favorite; for such a short course I think that just throwing from the natural grass would be sufficient
Other Thoughts: -nine hole pitch-n-putt
-this course is what it is: if you drive an hour expecting some championship 18 hole course you are sure to be disappointed, if you arrive with a putter to work on your short game or introduce a newby to DG you're going to love it
-course is very quick to play, waiting for a moment to make sure that you don't hit a little kid or a walker is not a big deal

 Shorty Ace Run Course

2-4    6/9/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean park setting with open green grass fairways. Short upshot practice course. You only need your putter & maybe a couple mid-range discs. There are a couple well paced trees on a couple holes that force you to shap your shots but no scary wooded holes. If you figure out where hole #1 is the course direction is apparent even without a map. Double chain DGA baskets in good condition. Very clean & tidy (no trash or junk laying about). A creek comes into play on a couple holes but you probably wont lose any discs here. Very good beginner's course.
Cons: Leave the long drivers at home. Only 2 holes are over 250' (average 197'). There is a paved walking trail that skirts the outer edge of the course. This brings the potential of hitting a pedestrian or two into play. Expect to wait on a walker or two. Benches are few & far between but its a pretty short, flat course so you wont really need them. Tee signs are missing on most holes. No maps. Small wood lined tee boxes with gravel base makes for loose footing. The design is a little redudant at first but gets a little more interesting as you play through the round. The course could be more interesting with multiple tee & pin locations but there is only one per hole.
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty close to my house yet I didnt even know it existed. There are people playing organized softball games. There are tennis & basketball courts & walking paths but nobody playing disc golf (?). I wasnt overly impressed when I first pulled into the parking lot but after playing the first couple holes quickly discovered that this is a great place to practice my approach shots & maybe hit an ace or two! One disc rounds & safari golf are real possibilities here. They could easily have an 'Ace race' here & they wouldnt have to change a thing!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/4/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 42  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good pitch and putt course, or great beginner/childrens course. short, wide open holes.
Cons: short, wide open holes. very windy
Other Thoughts: i was disappointed to drive 45 minutes to this course. wouldnt play it again, unless i was in the area

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a kiddie course

1    6/22/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - quick to play

- decent baskets

- good short game practice

- great entry-level course for kids or beginning adults.
Cons: - no signage

- hole 9 finishes at opposite end of park from where hole 1 starts.

- a few holes a little too close to other park amenities. Not much space to work with at this little park.

- not much for obstacles. Mostly flat & open pitch 'n putt. A few trees come into play on maybe 1 or 2 holes and the rest are wide open.
Other Thoughts: - If you live close by this is a great little practice course for your short game. No drivers necessary.

- Looks as though it can be played backwards for 18 but we did not try it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.