Newberg, OR 
Herbert Hoover Park Share
Uploaded By: Matt aka N.G.S.P. Hole #5
3 / 260ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
approach Hole #5



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Elevated Fun

1    11/10/2013   11/12/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.3 Years
Pros:
-The course is in a beautiful park and makes great use of little space.
-Great use of elevation, retaining walls, streams and bridges.
-These are fun holes, albeit short, very fun.
-Cement teepads are another nice addition to this short and fun course.
-Nice short variety for only having nine holes and fairly RHBH/LHBH balanced.

Cons:
-Holes four and six have crossing fairways.
-Many of the baskets are crooked.
-Some of the teepads are not level and when muddy are very slippery.
-This course has no tee signs
-Hole five's teepad is about 45 degrees clockwise of where it should be.
Other Thoughts:
-Gets pretty slippery when wet out here, watch your step.

 

1    7/20/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 46  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Usesthe small area very well. Basically it's in a small valley. So lots of elevation changes. Park cared for well.
Cons: Two holes (4&6) cross paths so be aware of that. DO NOT GO LEFT ON 5!, heavy blackberries on a steep hill = lost disc.
Other Thoughts: 3 tee is blind so make sure no one is at the hole before throwing. Really like the land usage! I'll be back! Smaller course but fun.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course

5+    10/13/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: innova disc golfer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: a fun course to play with nicely placed holes. I have played here almost every day for the past 2 months and i love this course.
Cons: Floods bad during winter, Often verry muddy.
Other Thoughts: If you havent played here before, i would definately try to soon.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Entertaining coure for all abilities.

2-4    11/1/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation- This course has the best use of elevation of any 9 holer I've ever seen. Adds fun and challenge to a short course.
good variety of shots needed.
Fantastic course for beginners.
Entertaining shots abound.
Creek running through the course adds a little challenge.
Good teepads.
Course is generally very well kept up and a good place for a family to go and play.
Very nice setting for a short little practice course.
Cons: The course is quite short, only one hole tops 300 and most disc golfers won't need to throw much further than their putters.
Some of the holes lack much in the way of obstacles except for the elevation.
No teesigns.
Course does get pretty muddy after consistent area rain.
Other Thoughts: Herbert Hoover is a really lovely course. Sometimes I feel like I had more fun than a 3 star course experience. The only thing really holding the course back is the lack of difficulty. I'm from Portland so I would probably play the Newberg are courses 3 or 4 times a year, keeping this course fun for me, it doesn't have the variety for an every week kind of course for me. The course though, is a fantastic beginner or young junior course, fun, numerous interesting shots, but not daunting in any way, a course that's fun for all ability levels. Another big plus for the course is the fact the Ewing Young is only 3 minutes away and make a fun and moderately challenging 21 holes together. If you're coming out from Portland you can also head over to Champoeg State park to make it a 36 hole day trip. If you're traveling from outside of Portland I would probably stick to the big names though, Pier, Milo, but if you live in the area come and check herbert hoover out.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 located for publicity of the sport

2-4    11/18/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short/crammed course… so MANY ACE OPS. Holes # 3 and #8 are the best holes in my opinion as they make an almost 90 deg angle to the right from blind elevated tee box placements (once you learn them) they also provide birde shots w/in distances of 5 to 10 feet of the basket. If your skilled (pro) you should be able to ace every flat hole. It was a scenic semi wooded course that goes up and down and side to side. NOT CROWDED during winter time. Good exercise for your body and skill level of playing if a beginner.
Cons: Hole #6 runs horizontally across almost 3/4's the whole course also it was extremely muddy. I can see it as being a hazard to new and unfamiliar players to the course and sport. Holes # 3 and #6 tee boxes point in misleading directions for launches/ tee offs. The course map is misleading and should be improved w/ an image of how the creek runs through the course.

Other Thoughts: Googel map is misleading direction wise (when it says to go to 3rd street off of river st coming from hwy99 Portland area.) just turn left on river st go 50 feet and park to the left. when I went I wasn't impressed w/ the flow of the park due to paths and mud… but I am surprised that they fit 9 holes in such a small area.

I UPLOADED PHOTOS OF THE COURSE TODAY 11/30/08

Also the Newberg Food Mart across the street sells a small selection of Discraft and Innova discs they are priced 2-3 dollars more than normal but it allows for new players or ones w/out discs to get into the game walk across the street and play.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 2nd Of Newberg's Twin Pleasures!

5/24/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2008
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It sits in a compact little city park but one with lots of elevation changes and mature trees. The elevation alone sets this course apart from most typical little city courses. There's a big map on a sign at the street. Nice pads. There are no tee signs but they're not needed and you can get the distances from the big sign. Lots of ace opportunities. Easy to shot under par. Great little practice course. Great for family or younger players. Pleasant setting, shady.
Cons: No place to really let em rip. No tee signs. Only 9 holes. Not challenging enough for your main course.
Other Thoughts: It's just a great little throw! A couple of fun touch holes. When combined with EY and Champoeg both within 5 miles, this gives Newberg players a nice choice of fun intermediate type courses to choose from. Doktor John from San Diego, CA has played 169 courses rates this among his top 15 favorites. That must say something about this course!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.