Newberg, OR 
Herbert Hoover Park Share
Uploaded By: Matt aka N.G.S.P. Hole #3
3 / 220ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
look back at hole #3 tee box



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun little course!

5+    1/13/2011   1/13/2011
Review By: Miles Barow
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: -Lots of up and down/ creative holes.
-9 holes takes about 20 minutes to play.
-several hole in one opportunities.
-great for beginners.
Cons: -Very muddy in the winter.
-Friendly park=lots of pedestrians.
-hole #5 is a disc eater I recommend having a friend stay at bottom of hill to make sure you know where your disc lands.
Other Thoughts: Love playing it also if your going to play there you might as well play Shampoeg park course 5 miles out towards St. Paul.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course

5+    10/13/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: innova disc golfer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: a fun course to play with nicely placed holes. I have played here almost every day for the past 2 months and i love this course.
Cons: Floods bad during winter, Often verry muddy.
Other Thoughts: If you havent played here before, i would definately try to soon.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course for newer players

1    7/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: jnicola
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It keeps things interesting, that's for sure!
Lots of elevation changes
Hole three's hard right cut and a few other variations force newer players to think differently.
Quick, easy, and good times!
Cons: Poorly marked directions, and due to the condensed course, it's easy to get lost/confused.
Tee's aren't numbered, Baskets are numbered but often too far to see.
Other Thoughts: It can get muddy and swampy. I went after it had been raining a bunch though, so it's to be expected I suppose.

Grab a local if you can. Some places will just have you wondering what's going on, and if you're throwing at the wrong baskes or what...

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 President Hoover would be proud!

1    4/4/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: President Hoover would be proud to have his name be aligned with this great park and disc golf course. It's located less than five minutes from Ewing Young DGC and right on the street, in fact if you shank one off of hole one you could have a local laughing at how bad you suck! This is a short course so don't look to be challenged too hard unless you have brought your ultimate disc with you but what it lacks in challenge it has made up for in fun, short holes.

Elevation comes into play on about half the course with equal throwing up and down a hill; the elevated tees were quite a hoot for my putter and sidearm disc.There is a little creek running through the course that protects one basket and runs under a small land bridge. Navigation is fairly simple especially if you take a look at the huge course map just to the right of hole one, looking from the street.
Cons: There is nothing to challenge advanced players here and they will get bored playing this course too often, I rate this just below Ewing Young and Champoeg, the other two courses in the area. I was there during a freak rain storm and slippery grass and elevation make a bad combo; I still have mud in my car that came from Herbert Hoover Park. This place could become extremely dangerous with multiple groups playing on it with some close and crossing fairways.
Other Thoughts: Like others have said before you can make a trip out of Ewing Young, Herbert Hoover Park and Champoeg State Park in one day and get three different but fun courses done and not have to drive far, just stay away during the rainy months.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Entertaining coure for all abilities.

2-4    11/1/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation- This course has the best use of elevation of any 9 holer I've ever seen. Adds fun and challenge to a short course.
good variety of shots needed.
Fantastic course for beginners.
Entertaining shots abound.
Creek running through the course adds a little challenge.
Good teepads.
Course is generally very well kept up and a good place for a family to go and play.
Very nice setting for a short little practice course.
Cons: The course is quite short, only one hole tops 300 and most disc golfers won't need to throw much further than their putters.
Some of the holes lack much in the way of obstacles except for the elevation.
No teesigns.
Course does get pretty muddy after consistent area rain.
Other Thoughts: Herbert Hoover is a really lovely course. Sometimes I feel like I had more fun than a 3 star course experience. The only thing really holding the course back is the lack of difficulty. I'm from Portland so I would probably play the Newberg are courses 3 or 4 times a year, keeping this course fun for me, it doesn't have the variety for an every week kind of course for me. The course though, is a fantastic beginner or young junior course, fun, numerous interesting shots, but not daunting in any way, a course that's fun for all ability levels. Another big plus for the course is the fact the Ewing Young is only 3 minutes away and make a fun and moderately challenging 21 holes together. If you're coming out from Portland you can also head over to Champoeg State park to make it a 36 hole day trip. If you're traveling from outside of Portland I would probably stick to the big names though, Pier, Milo, but if you live in the area come and check herbert hoover out.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!!

1    9/12/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: -Variety of hole types
-Short so you can play a quik round or a couple
-dosn't get boring very fast

-different elivations
-All around AWESOME!!!
Cons: -Hilly
-You can lose discs but it's not easy and it's part of the risks of having fun with disc golf...

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 The place for your ACE

5+    8/7/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: Reis Just Reis
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained, good equipement and tees, easy to navigate, lots of little trick shots, and a play ground is a great place to occupy the wife and kids while you play a quick 9. I love that it is right ON 99w as you go thru town. Great place to stop on your way to or from the coast.
Cons: Because it is a smaller park you do tend to be in closer proximity to the folks using the walking trails and such. But it is only a minor inconvienence. The other side effect of the small size of the park is the length of the holes. They are all pretty short. All par 3s but easily birdied by most experienced players.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't gotten an ACE yet, play here! Of the 9 holes all but one (imo) are good candidates (#7). Can be a great warm up course if you plan on hitting Ewing Young next.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 An alright course

2-4    3/22/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2009
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Most of the holes were short, making for a fairly quick game.
- The trees in the park are used well to require some pretty technical shots.
- Nice baskets
- Nice sign at hole one, definitely helpful in figuring out the course.
Cons:
- Hole 5 is just rediculous. You have to throw perfectly between 4 trees that are right in front of the tee
- There are no directions on the course showing where the next hole is.
- Since the course is basically in a bowl, the course was extremely muddy after it rains
Other Thoughts: In the summer, this course will be fun but until then I would advice you to stay away from this course.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Muddy

2-4    2/11/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: Hippy007
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: very nice small park course.
Has nice elevation and trees to make you think about your shots.
The creek that flows through also make you think about your shot
Cons: MUD. Lot of it and it is every where.
small unflat tee pads that are very muddy.
Other Thoughts: This will be an very cool course when it dries out in the 2 or so dry months of the year here in the nw. The rest it will be muddy and so be prepared to wipe your disc alot.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Short but with Options

2-4    12/10/2008   12/10/2008
Review By: Flies to the Left
Played: 55  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets have been there a while but work well. The grass appears to be cut on a regular basis and the leaves are raked.
Some the good things about this place are the walking paths, bridges, benches and a place for the kids to play.
If you like to play off camber and up hill this is the place for you. You can get some good practice for that. Of course you also get to practice your reverse rollers here. I ended up with three rollers away from the basket on the up hill shots.
I did get one disc deflected off a tree and into the creek. The water was clear and I recovered the disc with a stick.
Cons: Tee Pads are made of concrete and they are narrow and short. It is a short course though so most won't need any extra length. Right now they are rather slippery. Tee pad #6 is covered in mud. It looks like that area floods in heavy rains.
No tee signs at all. The course map sign is not much help because it doesn't have the creek on it. A printed map is a must for first time players. You can find that under the file section.
Unfortunately the bottom creek area is mostly mud with grass growing in it. This is a course where if its the rainy season, wear your boots.
Other Thoughts: I really think they were trying to hard when they set up this course in this tiny park. I would hate to be in the middle of this course on a nice summer day. All the fairways are so close together you definitely get hit.
This would be a fun course with a group of guys who are not to serious in their game. A couple guys who were there were throwing from Tee #8 to basket #9. That's a much better shot compared to the normal nine. Safari golf make this course better.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.