Newberg, OR 
Herbert Hoover Park Share
Uploaded By: Matt aka N.G.S.P. Hole #8
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 HH Park - Unique and Quaint!

1    6/5/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 206  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2011
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Established in 1998, Herbert Hoover Park contains a beautiful nine hole course within a heavily wooded gully located in the quaint city of Newberg, Oregon. What this course lacks in difficulty it makes up for in creativity, with plenty of elevation and OB's due to a meandering stream that runs along the bottom of the course.

What makes this course so inviting, with the exception of holes #4 and #6, is the way the designer incorporated elevation in to every hole. HH has a nice balance and shot variety, with three anhyzers, one hyzer, and five holes that are straight forward. Holes are all Par 3 and range anywhere from 177 to 295 feet, making the course length 1,909 feet. The DISCatcher baskets are durable, well maintained, and include black spray painted numbers on the top to help with course navigation.

The course seemed to be clean and well maintained. The local club and parks dept. seem to put a lot of time and effort in to the upkeep. The cinder blocks around a few of the tees was a nice addition as well. Locals seemed friendly and energetic.

Favorite hole/s: #7 and #8
Cons:
Because the course was installed at the bottom of a heavily wooded gully in the Pacific Northwest rainfall and mud can be a major issue. I imagine the course can become unplayable during the wetter months due to improper irrigation and elevation. Fortunately, there are a few other terrific courses nearby.

Most of the cement tee pads are in excellent shape with the exception of tee's four and six, which get swallowed during the wet season by the nearby marsh. Tee pad five is pointing the wrong direction as well, making players throw across the tee.

Hole #6 can be a hazard as well, having players throw across the fairway of hole #4. Just beware of pedestrians and other dgers.

Worst hole/s: #6
Other Thoughts:
HH Park is the perfect place for disc golfers to learn the sport of disc golf considering the longest hole is around 300 feet. Most players here use a putter and mid or maybe a fairway driver at most. With Herbert Hoover Park, along with Ewing Young and Champoeg (just right down the road within 15 minutes), they make for a complete round and offer great variety. Although individually they might not be championship caliber courses compared to their big brother courses in the Portland area (like Milo or Pier), together they provide some quality disc golf and make for the perfect day!

NOTE:
This is also the hometown of where our 31st president Herbert Hoover spent his childhood.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 PRESIDENTIAL!

5+    4/24/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: gethi.letitfli
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2011
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: alot of people play her in the summer. watch out for the locals, dont get in there way.
Cons: this course is short and alot of fun.watch out for discs flying towards your dome piece!
Other Thoughts: ya...ive seen blood shed at hoover.

sorry people i was drunk when i wrote this review so it came across a bit harsh, im not going to change what i wrote tho because its true, in mid summer this place gets packed, so keep a fast pace or people will get pissed, iv litrally seen blood shed at hole 5 by someone that wasnt moving fast enough. its a great course with short drives and good elevation changes awesome for beginners, i mean this is where i learned how to play. but if you cant throw and the parking lot is full chances are your just gonna be getting in the way.cool thing about newberg is that there are 3 courses all within 10 miles of each other. go play a round at ewing or champoeg and wait for the crowd to die down.

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Muddy but Amazing

2-4    2/12/2011   2/17/2011
Review By: CaptianTrilogy
Played: 73  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.8 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Well placed holes, challenging shots, awesome layout, calm environment. This is a great 9 hole course for anyone. Herbert Hoover is a must play for anyone in the Portland Metro area.
Cons: Always muddy and down in a bowl so wind can be an issue...
Other Thoughts: GO PLAY THIS COURSE!!!

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course!

5+    1/13/2011   1/13/2011
Review By: Miles Barow
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: -Lots of up and down/ creative holes.
-9 holes takes about 20 minutes to play.
-several hole in one opportunities.
-great for beginners.
Cons: -Very muddy in the winter.
-Friendly park=lots of pedestrians.
-hole #5 is a disc eater I recommend having a friend stay at bottom of hill to make sure you know where your disc lands.
Other Thoughts: Love playing it also if your going to play there you might as well play Shampoeg park course 5 miles out towards St. Paul.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course

5+    10/13/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: innova disc golfer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: a fun course to play with nicely placed holes. I have played here almost every day for the past 2 months and i love this course.
Cons: Floods bad during winter, Often verry muddy.
Other Thoughts: If you havent played here before, i would definately try to soon.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course for newer players

1    7/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: jnicola
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It keeps things interesting, that's for sure!
Lots of elevation changes
Hole three's hard right cut and a few other variations force newer players to think differently.
Quick, easy, and good times!
Cons: Poorly marked directions, and due to the condensed course, it's easy to get lost/confused.
Tee's aren't numbered, Baskets are numbered but often too far to see.
Other Thoughts: It can get muddy and swampy. I went after it had been raining a bunch though, so it's to be expected I suppose.

Grab a local if you can. Some places will just have you wondering what's going on, and if you're throwing at the wrong baskes or what...

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 President Hoover would be proud!

1    4/4/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 239  Reviewed: 229  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: President Hoover would be proud to have his name be aligned with this great park and disc golf course. It's located less than five minutes from Ewing Young DGC and right on the street, in fact if you shank one off of hole one you could have a local laughing at how bad you suck! This is a short course so don't look to be challenged too hard unless you have brought your ultimate disc with you but what it lacks in challenge it has made up for in fun, short holes.

Elevation comes into play on about half the course with equal throwing up and down a hill; the elevated tees were quite a hoot for my putter and sidearm disc.There is a little creek running through the course that protects one basket and runs under a small land bridge. Navigation is fairly simple especially if you take a look at the huge course map just to the right of hole one, looking from the street.
Cons: There is nothing to challenge advanced players here and they will get bored playing this course too often, I rate this just below Ewing Young and Champoeg, the other two courses in the area. I was there during a freak rain storm and slippery grass and elevation make a bad combo; I still have mud in my car that came from Herbert Hoover Park. This place could become extremely dangerous with multiple groups playing on it with some close and crossing fairways.
Other Thoughts: Like others have said before you can make a trip out of Ewing Young, Herbert Hoover Park and Champoeg State Park in one day and get three different but fun courses done and not have to drive far, just stay away during the rainy months.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Entertaining coure for all abilities.

2-4    11/1/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 147  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation- This course has the best use of elevation of any 9 holer I've ever seen. Adds fun and challenge to a short course.
good variety of shots needed.
Fantastic course for beginners.
Entertaining shots abound.
Creek running through the course adds a little challenge.
Good teepads.
Course is generally very well kept up and a good place for a family to go and play.
Very nice setting for a short little practice course.
Cons: The course is quite short, only one hole tops 300 and most disc golfers won't need to throw much further than their putters.
Some of the holes lack much in the way of obstacles except for the elevation.
No teesigns.
Course does get pretty muddy after consistent area rain.
Other Thoughts: Herbert Hoover is a really lovely course. Sometimes I feel like I had more fun than a 3 star course experience. The only thing really holding the course back is the lack of difficulty. I'm from Portland so I would probably play the Newberg are courses 3 or 4 times a year, keeping this course fun for me, it doesn't have the variety for an every week kind of course for me. The course though, is a fantastic beginner or young junior course, fun, numerous interesting shots, but not daunting in any way, a course that's fun for all ability levels. Another big plus for the course is the fact the Ewing Young is only 3 minutes away and make a fun and moderately challenging 21 holes together. If you're coming out from Portland you can also head over to Champoeg State park to make it a 36 hole day trip. If you're traveling from outside of Portland I would probably stick to the big names though, Pier, Milo, but if you live in the area come and check herbert hoover out.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!!

1    9/12/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: -Variety of hole types
-Short so you can play a quik round or a couple
-dosn't get boring very fast

-different elivations
-All around AWESOME!!!
Cons: -Hilly
-You can lose discs but it's not easy and it's part of the risks of having fun with disc golf...

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 The place for your ACE

5+    8/7/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: Reis Just Reis
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained, good equipement and tees, easy to navigate, lots of little trick shots, and a play ground is a great place to occupy the wife and kids while you play a quick 9. I love that it is right ON 99w as you go thru town. Great place to stop on your way to or from the coast.
Cons: Because it is a smaller park you do tend to be in closer proximity to the folks using the walking trails and such. But it is only a minor inconvienence. The other side effect of the small size of the park is the length of the holes. They are all pretty short. All par 3s but easily birdied by most experienced players.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't gotten an ACE yet, play here! Of the 9 holes all but one (imo) are good candidates (#7). Can be a great warm up course if you plan on hitting Ewing Young next.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.